Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snow burnout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

why help when you can just stand and video...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Exactly, those lazy ignorant feckers who would rather sit/stand there with their camera making fun of it all instead of helping out do my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Well it wasn't me, someone just sent me a link to the video the video. From the looks of it whoever filmed it wasn't outdoors but standing behind a window. He could have been in his jocks for all ye know, a man running out in his jocks wouldn't have helped the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Well it wasn't me, someone just sent me a link to the video the video. From the looks of it whoever filmed it wasn't outdoors but standing behind a window. He could have been in his jocks for all ye know, a man running out in his jocks wouldn't have helped the situation.

Could have been sexy though.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I also see nothing funny in sneering at someone stuck in snow.

I got stuck like that guy (am female) last week at the top of a hill in my Estate. My car had been getting stuck every day and needed a push. One morning everyone was gone to work, I tried digging it out, getting ice out from under wheels, etc. but no avail, had to leave it after trying to get it started in the snow for an hour, then walk to get a bus and a taxi to work. I waited an hour for the bus in -9.5 and could not feel my feet. I eventually got to work some 3 hours later.

It was very stressful and if I thought some twat was looking out the window and laughing at me struggling, I would have launched a massive ball of ice through their window.

Most people are lovely and will do their best to help (one guy saw me out the window one of the days and got out of bed and came from the next block to help) but I can't stand the smug one upmanship of laughing at someone elses misfortune.

There's some tulips out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

anewme wrote: »
    (one guy saw me out the window one of the days and got out of bed and came from the next block to help)

AKA Your Stalker or was it batman from the batcave?

Bazzy wrote: »
    AKA Your Stalker or was it batman from the batcave?

Haven't got the foggiest. But was good enough to help, so that makes him ok in my eyes.

If he was a stalker, he probably would have stood in his jocks filming me like the guy above when I was bending down trying to dig snow from under my wheels. lol.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

That's usually a sign of spring, so the weather should warm up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I got stuck like that 3 or 4 weeks ago and found that placing the foot mats in the car underneath the wheels to be a huge help.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Rubbish driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

How the hell does this guy have a licence? The mind boggles at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Does a time not arrive when you would think that maybe its better you don't take the car today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

He could have been in his jocks for all ye know, a man running out in his jocks wouldn't have helped the situation.

It might have helped. It would make me try harder to get away.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Why was there only one wheel turning at a time at some points??

Mister men wrote: »
    How the hell does this guy have a licence? The mind boggles at times.

Rwd on ice, flogging a dead horse, license or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

FearDark wrote: »
    Rubbish driver.

I'd say the driver never saw snow where he's from!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

An exercise in futility...

Yer man looks like he was having great craic.

lmao

sorry...

what a crap driver..! he should make a nice cup of tea and stop driving for good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

Why did he keep trying to go forwards, didn't notice anything parked behind, diff. lock would've helped . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Had to get a car out of a parking spot not so long ago and it was RWD - had some newspaper in the car laid it out behind wheels and drove out - suprised myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

antodeco wrote: »
    Why was there only one wheel turning at a time at some points??

No limited slip diff! Would the clown in the van not realize that when the wheels are slipping,that he is going nowhere.Then he gives her even more wellie:confused: which makes it worse.Get out and put maybe a mat under the wheels.Just siting there spinning the wheels is going to get you nowhere.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Lambsbread wrote: »
    why help when you can just stand and video...

Give a man a fish........etc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

RoverJames wrote: »
    Rwd on ice, flogging a dead horse, license or not.

Ah come on,RWD or not,the poor fella can't drive:D.Revving the nuts off it wont get him anyplace and he's doing himself no favours either by havin the wheels locked in any ways other than straight.It's comical to see some people's methods of driving.And fair do's to whoever videotaped this,might teach a few others on what not to do:)

Could have been worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Don't those Diesel granvias have selectable 4we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Could have been worse.

You could see that coming, but still hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Dunno much about them granvias, but have seen quite a few selectable 4wd vehicles on the news with only 2wd engaged, spinning away for the cameras. Bula bos lads, bula bos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

colm_mcm wrote: »

i thought those old yoks had 4wd aswell.maybe it was an extra, anyway any half wit would be able to get that yok out of there, just don't rev the ****e out of her for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭voteforpedro

cat litter is the way to go lads. no messing!!! its incredible the difference it makes. think the original video is hilarious when he has the front wheels fully locked to the left and flooring it. if he did manage to get out then what next lol:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

All I can say it YAWN to the "get out and help" brigade... Seriously, lol.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Lads, your missing the drivers logic which is pure genius; do a burn out without moving and the heat from the burning rubber will eventually melt the ice. The only reason he's driving a van is to hold the 4 sets of tyres that will get him through the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

This guy is some idiot. Would really love to know how he passed his test. Doesn't show much cop on with his driving.

Iv a RWD car and been in many similar spots over the last few weeks,, put it into 2nd and no bother at all. A bit of cop-on when driving will mean you will almost always manage in snow&ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

All I can say it YAWN to the "get out and help" brigade... Seriously, lol.

even " safe " cars get stuck... high end S class and m serise bmw's ( with the traction control molarky + rubbish driver )

can only push so much before you have to tell the eejitt to stop talkin on the hands free, put down the coffee ciggerette and sambo and cop on the fcuk.

seriously. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Lauder wrote: »
    This guy is some idiot. Would really love to know how he passed his test. Doesn't show much cop on with his driving.

Iv a RWD car and been in many similar spots over the last few weeks,, put it into 2nd and no bother at all. A bit of cop-on when driving will mean you will almost always manage in snow&ice.

I've a 3 series BMW Automatic and it has been behaving great so far. The auto box ofsetting the traditional problems causing RWD drivers to spin out. Once I release the footbreak the absolute crawl on the tick over will have her moving over plates of ice where most cars would just spin and sit there.

For yer man in the minvan a simple fix to get him moving would be plank the car mats under the wheels and that should have given him enough traction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Never mind cat litter, use the ashes from the fire. The same job and yes it works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Caddyvanman

I am still trying to figure out what he was at or which way he wanted to go ???
    Also when he did get out he probably went around the corner and put on his taxi sign.
    I am afraid this is what we have to face each day on our roads, you or i might know what we doing, but what about the muppet's coming the other way !!!

Yer man in the van should take a few lessons from this man in a van-

Our Ruski friends know a thing or two about how to drive on ice.

..Ok he was cheating..Here we go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

Whatever about the bloke's driving skills in the OP's clip.
    But I'm sick to death of smug, macho knobheads laughing it up at other's expense in driving threads lately.

If YouTube twat WAS in his jocks, he could have put trousers on and pushed the man. Lots of vehicles don't have mats either.

Not everyone is an experienced driver - especially in the present conditions.
    Cut people some slack out there, instead of reaching for your camera like a twunt.

Whatever about the bloke's driving skills in the OP's clip.
    But I'm sick to death of smug, macho knobheads laughing it up at other's expense in driving threads lately.

If YouTube twat WAS in his jocks, he could have put 'em on and pushed the man. Lots of vehicles don't have mats.

Not everyone is an experienced driver - especially in the present conditions.
    Cut people some slack out there, instead of reaching for your camera like a twunt.

After laughing his arse off the youtuber gave the man a spade to dig his way out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

Now ya tell me... ;)

Nevertheless, the twats still exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

I'd have great difficulty in helping someone like that out.

1 - Obviously ill prepared and clueless, if they did get out they'd not doubt get stuck again in no time and end up stuffing it to someone else.

2 - Me pushing alone would make exactly no difference, and I'd probably choke on the rubber smoke

3 - Why hasn't he/she got out and tried to clear the snow infront of the rear wheels causing the problem?

If have no problem helping out people in certain situations, but not this muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

I also see nothing funny in sneering at someone stuck in snow.

I got stuck like that guy (am female) last week at the top of a hill in my Estate. My car had been getting stuck every day and needed a push. One morning everyone was gone to work, I tried digging it out, getting ice out from under wheels, etc. but no avail, had to leave it after trying to get it started in the snow for an hour, then walk to get a bus and a taxi to work. I waited an hour for the bus in -9.5 and could not feel my feet. I eventually got to work some 3 hours later.

It was very stressful and if I thought some twat was looking out the window and laughing at me struggling, I would have launched a massive ball of ice through their window.

Most people are lovely and will do their best to help (one guy saw me out the window one of the days and got out of bed and came from the next block to help) but I can't stand the smug one upmanship of laughing at someone elses misfortune.

Charming. Perhaps the local 'tw*ts' know you for your agressive attitude and left you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

I think this is hilarious. And it should be put with the thread on how to drive on the snow as an example of how NOT to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's amusing to look at how futile the efforts are, don't get me wrong!
    However it's a really sad thing to just sit there and not help.

I must have pushed 10 people out of their parking spaces/off roundabouts etc since this snow and bad weather started.
    It doesn't take much effort and is far more rewarding(to both) then sitting there and taping the bloody thing. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I wouldnt help him if he was not making any attempt to help himself. FFS, putting something under the driving wheels or indeed taking off in second would likely have gotten him out of there.

E39MSport wrote: »
    Charming. Perhaps the local 'tw*ts' know you for your agressive attitude and left you there.

No, not charming, have you any idea how stressfull and panicy getting stuck is? It would try the patience of a saint.

Am lucky really that we don't really have saddo's here who would look out the window in their jocks at someone not able to move their car. All of the neighbours are helpful and friendly and you can always ask a favour.

We live on a slight hill and on Wednesday, one of the neighours who lives at the end of the hill told me her elderly mother was visiting. Because she did not want to get stuck down the hill, she parked at the top and was trying to make her way down. The guy in the house at the very top saw the elderly lady trying to make her way down the hill and immediately went out and escorted her straight to the door. He did not know the lady, or indeed the neighbour at the end of the road. The girl told me she was so impressed and things like that definitely bring rewards to both as someone said above. He did not have to do that. He could have sat and an old woman skiddling and sliding so some more people could have a laugh at someone elses misfortune.

I've certainly gone out when I saw the girl next door having trouble getting up the hill. We were a bit slow at pushing as we were both a bit crap, but what the hell, but she got there eventually and off to work. Would never dream of filming it on my mobile in the "hee hee hee snigger snigger vein"

Anyway, no more snow problems for me. Borrowed a fantastic little 4 x 4 last week that is able to drive up the hill through almost 10 inches of snow. No bother to it. So happy days.

There will be no budding Francis Ford Coppola's in their jocks at the window having a sly laugh at me no matter where I travel.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Those hiaces are ba*tards for spinning on a dry road,and there automatic! ,the American type with the shifter by the steering wheel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Could have been worse.

I have not laughed as much in a long time.

Early in video, I was thinking these guys are inbred or something given the attempt at moving the car but I wasnt expecting that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I'd have great difficulty in helping someone like that out.

1 - Obviously ill prepared and clueless, if they did get out they'd not doubt get stuck again in no time and end up stuffing it to someone else.

2 - Me pushing alone would make exactly no difference, and I'd probably choke on the rubber smoke

3 - Why hasn't he/she got out and tried to clear the snow infront of the rear wheels causing the problem?

If have no problem helping out people in certain situations, but not this muppet.

The only way to help clueless drivers like that is to ask them to get out of the car and let you drive it ...they usually decline :D

Pointless risking a slipped disc for someone who will only get stuck again 5 meters further on ...you'd be pushing them all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

peasant wrote: »
    The only way to help clueless drivers like that is to ask them to get out of the car and let you drive it ...they usually decline :D

Pointless risking a slipped disc for someone who will only get stuck again 5 meters further on ...you'd be pushing them all day
    That's the first thing I thought of. That yolk is really hopeless, in fairness to the driver some of the moves he made were the right ones. He should have maybe dug it out, but even so that thing would be an all day nightmare with it's no grip rear. Probably has plastic tyres made from recycled industrial waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

What exactly was he hoping to do there other than wear out the tyres FFS :rolleyes:? The driver was not making much of an effort there other than "F**k this, I'll make this thing go if I have to burn the tyres off it to do so", :rolleyes:.

To be fair though, that van was absolutely useless to go anyway. He did have it in the clear a few times where it should have gone but it still wouldn't try.