Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saoirse Ronan in `Hanna`

Eric Bana and the Chemical Brothers? This movie should be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Shes billed over Bana and Blanchett, what a change an oscar nom can do for you. looks alright though, mini-Bourne!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Bourne meets Salt maybe?
    Might be worth a look.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

It must have been the red hair, because at first I thought that was Tilda Swinton playing the CIA queen-bee character. The movie itself looks so-so; I imagine most of the beats are going to be around the "look, it's a child doing the killin" without anything interesting or creative to say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Looks terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Wow looks good - Ronan is such a talented actress and she is picking really great roles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Don't let the Irish pride confuse you- she's suceeding because she's wonderfully talented, not because she's Irish. A common misconception when one from our fair isle makes it to the big time.

She really needs to make it up to me after The Lovely Bones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Huh? Nobody is implying she has made the big time only because she is Irish.

Seems like folk are just applauding a talented actress and are glad to see someone with such talent has come from their native country.

What a bizarre statement....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

is career based on the fact she's pale?

child with superpowers movie number 2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5djHG3hPu0&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Sorry to be dragging up an old thread,didn't want to start a new one if this one existed.

Anybody see this?
    Went to it last night,had been really looking forward to it since I saw the trailer. Really enjoyed it I must say. Saoirse is very good in it,excellent fight scenes in it too. Well worth a watch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I saw a trailer for it on imdb many many moons ago and was impressed. I'm glad I saw that trailer cos any of the ads I've seen for it on tv make it look dire. Will definitely be checking it out at some stage.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Been looking forward to this due to the good reviews stateside, will catch it during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Saw it last night and have to say I was kinda disappointed.

Have heard of comparisons to Leon, but it's not in the same class at all. Far too many plot holes and unrealistic scenes (and that's allowing for the obvious it's-a-child-with-superpowers-so-you-have-to-suspend-disbelief necessity).

Even the fight scenes aren't clinical enough - a lot of fast-moving up-close shots to make up for the very average choreography
    with the exception of the father's fight with the skinhead which was very well done

Left me feeling it could have been a lot better.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Saw it tonight. Really enjoyed it, some decent action, although I wanted more of Hanna kicking ass, she seems to do more running away than anything, Bana gets to be a bit of a bad ass though, particularly in the fight scene in the sub way. The thumping techno soundtrack courtesy of The Chemical Brothers reminded me a lot of Run Lola Run. Saoirse Ronan is really good in the title role, good to see a young Irish actress doing so well. It's not going to win any awards but well worth a look.

Oh, one gripe:
    there was no closure on the family that helped her, considering Blanchett and co murdered(seemingly for no reason) everyone they came into contact with I presume they did the same to them, but we never got to find out, I guess they thought it would be too harsh to show on film or something??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Wouldn't ye all be shocked if you thought she was reading this :cool:

GarIT wrote: »
    Wouldn't ye all be shocked if you thought she was reading this :cool:

huh?

Mickeroo wrote: »
    huh?

I was just thinking like, she is Irish, what if she was a boardsie and could see all of us talking about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

GarIT wrote: »
    I was just thinking like, she is Irish, what if she was a boardsie and could see all of us talking about her.
    Yeah, it's me. I'm moderately popular Irish actress Saoirse Ronan.

Please don't hurt my feelings.

I was in The Lovely Bones.. and was mediocre at best.

K thx bye!

Basq wrote: »
    Yeah, it's me. I'm moderately popular Irish actress Saoirse Ronan.

Please don't hurt my feelings.

I was in The Lovely Bones.. and was mediocre at best.

K thx bye!

I actually LMAOed, i dono y though:D I don't think she would quite say that, or anything like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

i thought it was a good show, and found myslef with a quiet retarded smile on my face a few times, more to the soundtrack than anything else, especially when the family are being held hostage and the boys are whisteling and jumping over containers, and the weird dude is flipping a crowbar or something, also when shes escaping the facility, it seemed a rather odd soundtrack, but for some reason it really has stuck in my head:D,
    :D:D

its a good show id definately recommend it, but as said its not gonna win any awards so go in with a clear head,

one thing ill say though is that the camera seemed to be having epileptic fits for a few days of filming, but he seemed to have steadier hand for most of the film,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Just after seeing it yesterday, great film, really enjoyed it, would've enjoyed even more if they hadn't
    come out with that super-child bullshít.
    . Would recommend it though, best film I've seen in the cinema since all the Oscar hopefuls.

THFC wrote: »
    Just after seeing it yesterday, great film, really enjoyed it, would've enjoyed even more if they hadn't
    come out with that super-child bullshít.
    . Would recommend it though, best film I've seen in the cinema since all the Oscar hopefuls.

Well I guess that was
    to make the whole beating the crap out of grown men somewhat believable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Was actually planning on seeing this, until I found out Cate Blanchett is in it.

Can't stand her, surprised she hasn't turned grey yet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭X-Calibre

Saw it today and really enjoyed it. I saw a reviewer describe it as an art-house action film - that's a pretty solid description. Some excellent action scenes coupled with a thumping soundtrack from the Chemical Brothers. But then surprisingly the film looked really really nice - some great cinematography.

Also, Saoirse Ronan was great in it. She's going to be massive (although you could argue she already is).

My only gripe with the film was that plotwise it was nothing special. But everything else more than made up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭blaa85

I thought it was good, wasn't the all out action film I expected from the trailer. I have to agree that the soundtrack is brilliant. My favourite bit:
    Eric Bana beating the crap out of the skinhead, and then giving the merry-go-round a little push

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭yammycat

Saw this the other day and oh terrible film, couldn't wait for it to end it was woeful, saoirse ronan did fine with what she was given but camp Nazi's in baby glow tracksuits and jackbooted accomplices tracking people for hundreds of miles by following them 5 yards behind bleuhh, and cate blanchett with a reprise of her ridiculous baddy in indiana jones , absolute joke of a character who blew any submersion, I've seen more realistic characters at a punch and judy. And as for Hanna having spend what 14 years alone with her 'father' then learns he isn't her biological father so doesn't give a toss when he is killed, um yeah.

Soundtrack was good though, first 10 minutes weren't bad, huge nosedive after button was pressed and cate hams it up

I'm pretty forgiving as far as films go but his one was bad, first time in years I would have walked out if alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Blanchett was terrible, so much missing back story. Terrible accent and really just an ott cartoon villain. There didn't seem to be any reasons given why she
    decided to 'shut down' the program or decided to kill anyone she came across.
    Completely farcical at times.

Also why the hell was the
    facility deep underground in the middle of the sahara desert??? They couldn't find anywhere nearer to debrief a supposed child?
    Oh and wtf with the button? Why alert Blanchett, what purpose did that serve. Surely they could have just tracked her down and shot her with an arrow or something.

If it wasn't for the fight scenes and excellent sound track I would have considered it mediocre. As it was, it was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Eric Bana and the Chemical Brothers? This movie should be good.

This is film is absolute pants!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I liked it.Bits of it were like a music video and I want an explaination as to why the 3 boyos were transplanted from early 80s' London to the present day...other than that though it was a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Stella89

Very enjoyable Movie . Saoirse Ronan excels , I think that Lady has a future in this business :p , Eric Bana is great as always . The first 1/4 of the movie is beautifully shot and sets the scene well for the more up tempo set pieces later on . Soundtrack by the chemical brothers is foot thumping good too .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

The story was very weak and full of holes even for something far fetched as this. Joe should have spent more time tweaking the script instead of some of the OTT cinematography. Thought the actors did ok with what they were given .. I dont think Cate had much choice in the way she was asked to potray her character .. there seemed to be this fairy tale theme running through it which indicates that director was directing her in a certain way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

thought it was crap.

but in fairness thats because the trailers sold me a totally different film.

someone posted that a reviewer called this an art house action film and if id known that going in i probably wouldve liked it alot more.

as it was i left thinking WTF , is that it ? which was the general vibe off the audience too.

its the first time i can remember feeling that kind of vibe off an audience, like its been collectively conned. usually you hear some kind of murmuring as people file out but stony silence was the order of the day in that theatre.

if your going to see this expecting a leon or a run lola run you WILL be disappointed.

its not that at all.

the film itself is nicely polished and the acting is good, but its more arthouse than anything else with only about 3 action sequences in a two hour film so wait till your in the mood of that before going in.

dodgy marketing strikes again.

thought it was crap.

but in fairness thats because the trailers sold me a totally different film.

someone posted that a reviewer called this an art house action film and if id known that going in i probably wouldve liked it alot more.

as it was i left thinking WTF , is that it ? which was the general vibe off the audience too.

its the first time i can remember feeling that kind of vibe off an audience, like its been collectively conned. usually you hear some kind of murmuring as people file out but stony silence was the order of the day in that theatre.

if your going to see this expecting a leon or a run lola run you WILL be disappointed.

its not that at all.

the film itself is nicely polished and the acting is good, but its more arthouse than anything else with only about 3 action sequences in a two hour film so wait till your in the mood of that before going in.

dodgy marketing strikes again.

Run Lola Run and Leon were both arguably just as 'arthouse' as this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭yammycat

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Run Lola Run and Leon were both arguably just as 'arthouse' as this.

yea but they were good

yammycat wrote: »
    yea but they were good

ZING!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

yup.

this felt like ang lees hulk.

not BAD , but not what i thought i paid for either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Saw this last night, really enjoyed. Saoirse Ronan is great in it, completely immerses herself into the character. It's a very tough one to play but she completely convinces at playing this kid who grew up entirely in isolation from the world at large.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Dunno how people think this is any good? Was bored from start to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭scico rocks

I enjoyed it. The tempo of the film was just about right. Just enough action to keep it ticking over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Went to see it last night and over all thought it was just below average. The soundtrack is fantastic and I've already bought a copy of it but the film felt, for lack of better term, dated. I agree with earlier comments that the action/fights tended to be very close in and quick cuts so you didn't really see much which was ok for a few scenes but became more annoying as the film went on. Speaking of not seeing much alot of the action tended to happen off screen and we'd arrive when the evil german guy had already beat people up. Again worked for a few scenes but as it went on it just came across as lazy film making. The plot had way too many holes
    I liked what I thought was the story of crazy man in the woods raises killer daughter for revenage but when it started on the whole super baby thing I just didn't care and she suddenly felt a bit lacking if she was meant to be genetically enhanced. I honestly didn't get why they made him not her father, it didn't add anything to the story for me and the super baby project didn't make any sense whats so ever. Also the last scene when they shot each other I really didn't understand why Cate ran away, she still had her gun and clearly got up quicker then Hanna so why not shoot her? Even if she didn't have a good head shot, shot her leg and slow her down FFS

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Seen it last night, thought it was excellent!...a very different kind of action flick, fair bit of offbeat and weird editing, Saoirse was excellent, i thought Bana was good as well though Blanchet with her fake accent was annoying.

Definately got a more European/UK vibe to it...while the basic premise is thin it's got some good dialogue, lol @ that Sophie wan....the young English girl.

But did anyone pick up some weird peado vibes?....like when the two girls were lying in bed talking, very strnage scene, the closeup shots....kinda got weirded out by that.
    It's not your bog standard action flick, it's a bit quirky and different which i liked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

Have to agree with above. Really enjoyed this, its one of the better movies iv seen in a while.

Its not perfect by any stretch of the imagination but it definitely held my attention for the entire story and never felt like it dragged. Good performances bar Blanchete s (unfortunately for her). Hanna s english friend was quite funny at times and gave the movie some lighter moments. Story could probably have been fleshed out a little better but I didnt feel there was as many plot holes as mentioned by some previous.

Dont regret watching this film at all, unlike so many iv seen this year.
    From the trailer I seen, the movie was pretty much what I expected, so in that case, for me, it did eactly what it said on the tin.

Oh and the soundtrack was brilliant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Did it bother anyone else that as Hanna went on here travels
    Anyone who helps her is left to a grizzly fate, and she never tries to help. It kind of bothered me that after their purpose was fulfilled they were basically forgotten about.

I thought it was absolute tosh that tried to trick me into watching an arthouse film disguised as an action movie.
    Was it ever made clear why the Bana left her in the first place? Surely they would have been more efficient together? Also and on that note. Did anyone else think Bana was a total dick to leave her alone to face the SWAT team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

turned it off near the end

not that great-i like action movies to look like real action anyhow

I thought it was absolute tosh that tried to trick me into watching an arthouse film disguised as an action movie.
    Was it ever made clear why the Bana left her in the first place? Surely they would have been more efficient together? Also and on that note. Did anyone else think Bana was a total dick to leave her alone to face the SWAT team?
    Was it not the point that it looked like hanna was abandoned in order for her to be taken and then she would be able to get close to Blanchett s charachter in order to kill her. Bana had been preparing her for this day and it was up to hanna to decide when she was ready not Bana charachter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Fifty minutes in to this I was hoping it would pick up. There was a few good quick-cut fight scenes, but I hated each and every single one dimensional character that appeared. The script seemed to be two pages of A4 that were put through the "padding machine".

I was then asking myself what sort of movie this was. There were just way too many ingredients in the plot.
    So her mother takes part in this experiment to make super soldiers and then decides to take the child with Bana (the father?) and then gets hunted down and killed. So Bana then escapes and lays low for sixteen years to seek revenge?

Then on the revenge trail she meets up with this family and tries to feel love\music and all the other things that she's only been told in books?
    Feck off.

The soundtrack made my ears bleed too. Was very out of place.

karma_ wrote: »
    Did it bother anyone else that as Hanna went on here travels
    Anyone who helps her is left to a grizzly fate, and she never tries to help. It kind of bothered me that after their purpose was fulfilled they were basically forgotten about.
    The family that was left behind bothered me a little but unfortunately we never really find out exactly what happened. I guess we are to assume they met the same fate as the others. My explanation for her lack of emotion would be the fact she was genetically designed to have far less feelings than ordinary humans have. This is explained by Bana s charachter. She doesnt understand a lot of what it is to be "ordinary" and this seems to be a strong running theme true the whole movie. Again I do think it could have been fleshed out a little more but I still found it interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I watched this last night and the first thing that came in to my mind afterwards was this quote from The Departed;
    Unfortunately this shíthhole has more fúcking leaks than the Iraqi navy

Replace shíthole with plot and you get the idea. Having said that I still sort of enjoyed it, chiefly because of the performance of Ronan and the soundtrack.