Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cronin to Leinster,Keatley and Carr in talks with clubs

• 16-12-2010 12:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

AS CONNACHT head into the critical Christmas period, coach Eric Elwood has been forced to contemplate the possible loss of three key players next season.

Irish hooker Seán Cronin is reported to be close to signing for Leinster, but he is not alone. Former Leinster youths Ian Keatley and top try-scorer Fionn Carr are also in negotiations with other clubs, just days after the IRFU announced increased funding and contract extensions beyond one year for the province.

Elwood is aware the trio are in talks with other clubs, but accepts it is “the nature of the business”.

“Obviously we are trying to hold on to them, but it is a worry and concern for us,” he says. “We have been in this position before where we have developed young players but lost them – the likes of Jerry Flannery and Eoin Reddan. It has always been a difficulty for us because we are easy targets, but we are doing our best to hold on to them.”

And, Elwood says, with the World Cup taking place in New Zealand next summer, several clubs that will be missing their internationals are looking to bolster their squads.

Cronin, a former member of the Munster academy, has benefited from game time at Connacht since joining in two season ago. He won his first cap against Fiji in November 2009 but injuries to Flannery and Rory Best have given him opportunities to stake his claim. And with Bernard Jackman and John Fogarty retiring, it was expected Leinster would come calling.

Like Cronin, Carr and Keatley signed for Connacht in 2008 after failing to get recognition with their home province. Since then both have gained huge exposure with Carr becoming Connacht’s top try-scorer in the Magners League 2008/09 campaign.

All three are expected to feature in tomorrow evening’s Amlin Challenge Cup fixture against Harlequins which is set to proceed as scheduled after the Connacht branch used 80 bales of straw to protect the pitch from frost. Connacht chief executive Gerry Kelly says the bales are working, and with no frost in the soil and milder temperatures earlier in the week, the game is expected to go ahead as advertised.

Thats from the Irish Times

Looks like the men of the playboy mansion are moving on. Devastated,but always knew it was going to happen thought we might get one more year out of the lads.They've been great servants and if the deals do go through,they will be missed.

Just interested to see if Leinster fans think Cronin can take hooker spot off Strauss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

Cronin to Leinster???? What happened with all this talk of him coming back to us in Munster? Between himself, Varley and Fla the competition would be brilliant.

Would love to see Keatley come to Munster though. With RO'G retiring soon and Warrick going to SF we need a new 10. Keatley could become excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

cant really see him going to leinster,

hopefully we can keep the 3 of them, no point them leaving and sitting on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

IMO since it says clubs,they will go abroad.If it was another province, I would presume there name would be in the paper!Its too small an island!:p.But wouldnt be surprised if he did go Munster,with Warwick set for Stade.

And i just have this sneaky feeling Carr is going to Leicester,they love the Kildare fellas over there and i heard Leicester were interested in him a couple of years back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Heading Munster would be putting all his eggs in one basket for Cronin. When fit Flannery is currently the number 1 Irish hooker (by a distance in my book). Laying a claim to the Ireland shirt will arguably be more difficult from a situation where he starts as second choice to Flannery at Munster.

some_dose wrote: »
    Would love to see Keatley come to Munster though. With RO'G retiring soon and Warrick going to SF we need a new 10. Keatley could become excellent.

O'Gara has signed a contract with the IRFU until 2013. He won' be retiring that soon. Question is whether Keatley wants to be second choice outhalf to him at Munster. I doubt he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Cronin to Leinster???? What happened with all this talk of him coming back to us in Munster? Between himself, Varley and Fla the competition would be brilliant.

Said it a number of times before - Munster fans were in fantasyland if they ever thought Cronin would go to Munster with Flannery still there. And not just because it might mean Cronin could be down the pecking order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Didn't think I would be saying this a year ago but TBH I'm happy enough with Varley. He is turning into a fantastic player. His throwing has improved immensely and he is great in the loose. I also like the aggression of Sherry.

The main reason I would like to see Cronin at Munster would be so we wouldn't have to play against him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Howlett is out of contract at the end of the season, Carr would be a brilliant replacement if he leaves. Great for Ireland if that happened. A move to Leinster would be silly, two Lions and Nacewa ahead of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Cronin to Leinster makes sense, Strauss is proving good but very light weight. Cronin would be able to build up a good relationship with Cian Healy & Mike Ross, not to mention the likes of Tonar, Heaslip, SOB, Dominic Ryan etc - it would be ideal from an international persepective.

Regarding Carr - Leinster have Horgan & Nacewa both of whom might be gone post world cup (especially necewa if Leinster need to free up money to pay increased wages to Heaslip, Sexton, Healy, SOB etc. however i'd nearly expect to see Carr & Keatley end up at Munster.

i've had a feeling for ages that Leinster have too many backrows given the emergence of Ruddock and Ryan, i wouldnt be at all suprised to see McLaughlin end up at munster also to replace the likes of quinlan & wallace.

Varley has been one of the irish players of the season for me so far so i cant see any point of Cronin heading to Munster, in saying all that i think unfortunately Flannery is banjaxed beyond repair.

would expect to see the likes of Nagle, O'Donnell, Holland, David Kearney, Paul O'Donogue, Michael Keating, Jack O'Connell, Stuart Maguire & Jason Harris Wright end up heading to Connacht next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

bamboozle wrote: »
    Regarding Carr - Leinster have Horgan & Nacewa both of whom might be gone post world cup (especially necewa if Leinster need to free up money to pay increased wages to Heaslip, Sexton, Healy, SOB etc. however i'd nearly expect to see Carr & Keatley end up at Munster.

Nacewa is going nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

danthefan wrote: »
    Nacewa is going nowhere.

Didn't he sign a new 2 or 3 year deal this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Therein lies the problem I'd say. Don't underestimate Kidney's involvement in this. There is no way he will want the three of them battling for one jersey at Munster when Leinster have only one hooker, and he isn't Irish qualified (yet).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

smurphy29 wrote: »
    Therein lies the problem I'd say. Don't underestimate Kidney's involvement in this

A player's agent/manager sends info out during contract negotiations and thats about all there is to it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭TKline

Varley is coming on well, used to be crappy thrower but must have been practising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Howlett is out of contract at the end of the season, Carr would be a brilliant replacement if he leaves. Great for Ireland if that happened. A move to Leinster would be silly, two Lions and Nacewa ahead of him.

Howlett has an option on another season (which is probably the closest Munster could do to give him a two year contract).

Carr would not be an adequate replacement for Doug Howlett (or Nacewa) imo. They are complete players. Carr isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Carr would not be an adequate replacement for Doug Howlett (or Nacewa) imo. They are complete players. Carr isn't.

/hears Connacht fans galloping towards this thread... ;)

While I agree that Carr isn't an 'equal' replacement to Howlett, I would be delighted if he came to Munster. I am getting giddy right now just thinking of our backline with Carr, Earls and Murphy in it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I don't see all three of them leaving but it is worth noting that since the announcement of the new Connacht structure 2 weeks ago, contract negotiations opened on the back of that so I'd imagine there's a few kites being flown by agents at this stage.

If Carr were to move, I'd imagine it's going to be abroad. There's too many players in the mix at Leinster and Munster have Ian Dowling, who Kidney rates so highly.

If any such moves were to be made between the provinces, I'd imagine there would a movement in the opposite direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

As a Connacht fan I'd be absoloutely devastated if these lads move. We want to improve and get Heineken Cup rugby in the next couple of years, losing these lads would kill off this hope. My understanding of it is that Keatley is being lined up by Munster, with Carr, Cronin and Hagan heavily linked with Leinster, and the Leicester Tigers are sniffing around as well.

Why would Keatley move? He's nowhere near the finished article and he can't get the 10 shirt in our team at the minute. It looks like Warwick is leaving Munster, but ROG is going to play 75% of the games and Declan Cusack will get a few run outs as well which leaves Keatley with very little. At Leinster the same goes for Sexton. Ian Madigan will get a few chances as well. Okay so Sexton gets injured, they aren't going to throw Keatley into a HC match, Nacewa will be brought into 10.

Obviously Cronin will get a look in wherever he goes, he's class. He will want to go back to Munster at some stage but I don't think Leinster would like this when he's on their books.

Hagan probably won't move, he said earlier in the year he was treated very poorly in Leinster during his time there so hopefully he'll stay true to his word.

If Fionn Carr goes to Leinster, he'll be fighting it out with Fitzgerald, Nacewa, Horgan and Conway and even McFadden for a 1st team spot, and the likes of Morris and Kearney jnr will be given a few time as well. He's 25 now and he needs to be playing regular rugby, he won't get that at Leinster.

The problem for Connacht is that we can only gop backwards losing these players. The provinces have given a commitment to send players our way, but who are we going to get? AIL players more than likely who are nowhere near the calibre of players who left. Shane Monahan an Darragh Fanning came this year after playing in the AIL and they're very raw and need time. We can't afford that if we lose our best players, we need ready made replacements who are just as good and we haven't a notion of getting any. I said at the time of the announcement that the other provinces would help us out, that they were only paying lipservice and hadn't a notion. Elwood needs to fight tooth and nail to keep these lads becuase if not we're going absoloutely nowhere, and the commitment from the IRFU to help us move forward goes out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Cronin to Leinster is a prospect I would have jumped at a few months ago, but Strauss has stepped up to the mark. However, we would be in a very healthy position if we had the 2 of them contesting for that No.2 jersey for the best part of 10 years!

As for Carr, I think if he was to move the most logical move would be up to Ulster. It makes perfect sense for him and Ulster.
    He gets Heineken Cup gametime playing with them while still being based in Ireland so international prospects aren't taking a hit.
    While Ulster get a strong addition to their back three, especially with Danielli at 31 now there will be an available slot soon and Car is the man for it if you ask me.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

As for Carr, I think if he was to move the most logical move would be up to Ulster. It makes perfect sense for him and Ulster.
    He gets Heineken Cup gametime playing with them while still being based in Ireland so international prospects aren't taking a hit.
    While Ulster get a strong addition to their back three, especially with Danielli at 31 now there will be an available slot soon and Car is the man for it if you ask me.
    Ah you'll never see him move North, their pronunciation of his name would drive him demented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Carr to Harlequins. You heard it hear first!

CouchSmart wrote: »

There's been alot of movement of players from Connacht and Harlequins over the years like Gavin Duffy, Mel Deane, Andy Dunne, so I could see it happen.

Have you heard something we haven't?

CouchSmart wrote: »

With Conor O'Shea there I'm sure he's looking at bringing a few players across the Irish Sea. Don't really know would that be the right move for him at this stage of his career though.

Obviously hope he stays but if he does go I hope he goes to a team who'll be challenging for the league (be that ML, GP or Top 14) and in the HC every year and where he'll get game time otherwise its a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

One of the main attraction of Connacht to these players is game time. 2/3 are guaranteed their starting place at the moment with keatley getting plenty of opportunity as well.

If they leave they will lose their "big fish" status and will have to fight for places and if they dont get the game time they fall off the radar .

big decisions to be made by all three players. could be a bit of contract bluffing going on as well.

Hate to see them go but with connacht thats the nature of the beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Cronin would be a great catch for Leinster, losing Jackman and Fogarty has been a massive loss. I'm a big fan of Strauss, but strength in depth around the front row is essential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

In fairness, if I was Carr I'd be thinking the only way I was going to have a hope of making the Irish team would be to leave Connacht. And if that meant going to the English Premiership and fighting it out for a place in a very decent team and potentially Heineken Cup rugby or Amlin Cup contenders, then it's a hard one to turn down.

I don't like to see Irish players go abroad, but sometimes you can see where they're coming from.

The IRFU should have announced only Irish contracted players can play for Ireland after the world cup at the start of the season BEFORE Tommy Bowe commited 3 years to Ospreys (iirc) and in conjunction with the promise of sending good players to Connacht.

At the same time though, Connacht players have to have an oppertunity at international level, and barring injuries to regulars, this has never been given on merrit.

Other than Bowe, we wouldn't really lose any great players by only playing Irish provincial players as it stands, so now would be the time to do it (or before the season started).

I've gone off Keatley a lot over the last year, Munster can have him, he'll never make it, and Sexton really is light years ahead of him. As i said in another thread, I wouldn't turn Cronin down, but I'd prefer to stick with Strauss and give JHW his shot and as for Carr, given the latest injury crisis, it's at times like this you think how great it would be to have him back in the squad...I wouldn't mind bringing him back and sending Kearney jr west..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

[Jackass] wrote: »
    In fairness, if I was Carr I'd be thinking the only way I was going to have a hope of making the Irish team would be to leave Connacht. And if that meant going to the English Premiership and fighting it out for a place in a very decent team and potentially Heineken Cup rugby or Amlin Cup contenders, then it's a hard one to turn down.

QFT.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I don't like to see Irish players go abroad
    Says the Irishman in Canada!

If a player is good enough to play for the national side, they'll be included. Regardless of where they are.

JustinDee wrote: »
    If a player is good enough to play for the national side, they'll be included. Regardless of where they are.

So there's no preference to home-based players then?!

I would love to hear a response from the likes of Trevor Brennan or Bob Casey to that one!

So there's no preference to home-based players then?!

I would love to hear a response from the likes of Trevor Brennan or Bob Casey to that one!

Or James Downey, Roger Wilson, Neil Best and even Mike Ross when he was exceptional at Quins.

Remember the debacle with Geordan Murphy's release from Leicester for the Autumn Internatioals. I don't think abroad is the answer. At the end of the day, Carr is not going to start the big games for Munster or Leinster YET with Howlett and Johne Murphy at Munster and Nacewa and Fitzgerald and even Shaggy still hanging around at Leinster.

Or James Downey, Roger Wilson, Neil Best and even Mike Ross when he was exceptional at Quins

Its your opinion that all these players are deemed better than contemporary alternatives in Ireland.

Where certain players actually play might not be the reason they are outside the national coaching team's selection for squad. There are other reasons too such as how they are seen, their development, their attitude to the squad and systems in place, their behaviour.

Its your opinion that all these players are deemed better than contemporary alternatives in Ireland.

Where certain players actually play might not be the reason they are outside the national coaching team's selection for squad. There are other reasons too such as how they are seen, their development, their attitude to the squad and systems in place, their behaviour.

Granted it is opinion, and the reason I opted not to mention the ones mentioned above is because there are clearly some other options for those individual positions.
    The 'opinion' argument is always going to be there. However, at the same time I believe it would be truely naive to think that Casey or Brennan were seen as inferior performers to those of the same positions over the last decade in Ireland, rather they were ignored on the basis of where they were plying their trade.

I actually agree with a home-based policy for the sake of our provinces and national side. Otherwise we could have ourselves with 4 weak provinces and our international players scattered around different standards of rugby with some rotting on the bench and others being overplayed.

I'm not saying they're better than what's there, I'm saying they deserve an opportunity to show what they can do. Northampton performed admirably in the Heineken Cup last season and are doing so again this season, and the three lads were to the fore. Downey would be a different option at 12, we have no option at 12 that can straighten and bash it up the middle from time to time and consistently get over the gainline and give the forwards a target, Downey provides that. Neil Best has been known to be a pup in the past but he was playing very well over the past couple of seasons and bnever got a look in. His chance is gone now. Roger Wilson is the unsung hero of the Northampton pack and with no established out and no8 behind Heaslip, Wilson would have given us that option. Chris Henry is playing at 7 all season so he isn't it. We had a situation during the summer when we were down alot of back row forwards and ended up having to call up Rhys Ruddock from the u20s, and had Niall Ronan and Henry in the back row. This shows where English based players are in Declan Kidney's thinking and if Fionn Carr was to move to England he'd be doing hsi international chances no good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

Downey would be a different option at 12, we have no option at 12 that can straighten and bash it up the middle from time to time and consistently get over the gainline and give the forwards a target, Downey provides that. Roger Wilson is the unsung hero of the Northampton pack and with no established out and no8 behind Heaslip, Wilson would have given us that option.

Really, because I thought Darcy's strength was that he consistently gets over the gainline. He always breaks through the first tackler. Sure Downey is good, but he is simply a premiership player and does not offer enough to the international team. He's a big lad who tackles well and crashes up. Darce can crash it up and has on many occasions and as we are seeing now, he is one of the best tacklers on the team.

As for Wilson, I think having Heaslip and Leamy is good enough reason for him being left out. Sure there was that time during the Summer when we could have used him, but I think it was more appropriate to call up Ruddock who has a future.

However, at the same time I believe it would be truely naive to think that Casey or Brennan were seen as inferior performers to those of the same positions over the last decade in Ireland, rather they were ignored on the basis of where they were plying their trade
    Whats "naive" to have Eric Miller, Andy Ward or Simon Easterby ahead of Trevor Brennan, for example? (two of these players as you know were based outside Ireland, by the way). All good players too worthy starts for the national team.
    I don't agree with your presumptions.

Whats "naive" to have Eric Miller, Andy Ward or Simon Easterby ahead of Trevor Brennan, for example? (two of these players as you know were based outside Ireland, by the way). All good players too worthy starts for the national team.
    I don't agree with your presumptions.

Easterby was based outside Ireland because the PAG wouldn't let Leinster sign him.

danthefan wrote: »
    Easterby was based outside Ireland because the PAG wouldn't let Leinster sign him.
    I wouldn't know about that.
    He was, however, still selected while playing outside the country right until his retirement from international rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Reddan couldn't even get ahead of Boss when he was at Wasps. Though that could have been just because of EOS. Then he started getting picked after he went on the slide :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Granted it is opinion, and the reason I opted not to mention the ones mentioned above is because there are clearly some other options for those individual positions.
    The 'opinion' argument is always going to be there. However, at the same time I believe it would be truely naive to think that Casey or Brennan were seen as inferior performers to those of the same positions over the last decade in Ireland, rather they were ignored on the basis of where they were plying their trade.

I actually agree with a home-based policy for the sake of our provinces and national side. Otherwise we could have ourselves with 4 weak provinces and our international players scattered around different standards of rugby with some rotting on the bench and others being overplayed.

Casey is not/never was as good as Malcolm O'Kelly, Donncha O'Callaghan, Paul O'Connell or Leo Cullen.

His phantom-talent is a myth amongst Irish rugby fans who don't watch him play in the premiership and therefore don't see his lack of work-rate and clumsiness. Great leader though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

So how did Simon Easterby get a game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

[QUOTE='[Jackass]
    I've gone off Keatley a lot over the last year, Munster can have him, he'll never make it, and Sexton really is light years ahead of him. As i said in another thread, I wouldn't turn Cronin down, but I'd prefer to stick with Strauss and give JHW his shot and as for Carr, given the latest injury crisis, it's at times like this you think how great it would be to have him back in the squad...I wouldn't mind bringing him back and sending Kearney jr west..[/QUOTE]

People wrote off Sexton too.

Warwick improved a lot when he came to Munster. Keatley could only improve when playing with higher quality players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

The problem for Connacht is that we can only gop backwards losing these players. The provinces have given a commitment to send players our way, but who are we going to get? AIL players more than likely who are nowhere near the calibre of players who left. Shane Monahan an Darragh Fanning came this year after playing in the AIL and they're very raw and need time. We can't afford that if we lose our best players, we need ready made replacements who are just as good and we haven't a notion of getting any. I said at the time of the announcement that the other provinces would help us out, that they were only paying lipservice and hadn't a notion. Elwood needs to fight tooth and nail to keep these lads becuase if not we're going absoloutely nowhere, and the commitment from the IRFU to help us move forward goes out the window.

What if Connacht got about 7 young players with potential? They lose 3 or 4 and get 7 or 8 back. It'd mean they'd have a stronger squad and some of these players would want to stay with Connacht eventually.

Connacht gets players from Munster/Leinster and in return Munster/Leinster gets to choose the cream of them. I think thats a fair system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

It'll be really interesting if Connacht can sign some of the quality players who are not getting a game for their provinces, especially in a world cup year when resources of the other provinces will be stretched.

I'd love to see them sign players like Niall O'Connor and Ian McKinley to replace Keatley. Both are very good players, but Ulster and Leinster have so many other good options in that position.

Kevin McLaughlin as a short term loan from January to the summer would seem ideal as he's unlikely to get a lot of matches with Leinster to get his match fitness up, given how well the current back row are playing.

I'd also love to see them sign Ian Nagle from Munster. Against Australia he seemed ready for Magners level but isn't close to getting a game.

I guess Dave Kearney, Niall Morris or Munster's Barry Murphy would strengthen the Connacht back line, but they already have good backs coming through. I'd hate to see Conway leave the RDS, even short term.

Toner can't go as we need at least three good second rows. Ed O'Donoghue might be an option as I imagine he's unlikely to get a game for Leinster when everybody is fit, and he's a decent player.

Obviously Connacht can't put out a team of kids as they would struggle, but there are plenty of quality players in their early and mid twenties not getting a game for their provinces who could strengthen Connacht and therefore Irish rugby.

I'd be really interested in the views of forum members who know more than I do about second string players.

ambid wrote: »
    It'll be really interesting if Connacht can sign some of the quality players who are not getting a game for their provinces, especially in a world cup year when resources of the other provinces will be stretched.

I'd love to see them sign players like Niall O'Connor and Ian McKinley to replace Keatley. Both are very good players, but Ulster and Leinster have so many other good options in that position.

Kevin McLaughlin as a short term loan from January to the summer would seem ideal as he's unlikely to get a lot of matches with Leinster to get his match fitness up, given how well the current back row are playing.

I'd also love to see them sign Ian Nagle from Munster. Against Australia he seemed ready for Magners level but isn't close to getting a game.

I guess Dave Kearney, Niall Morris or Munster's Barry Murphy would strengthen the Connacht back line, but they already have good backs coming through. I'd hate to see Conway leave the RDS, even short term.

Toner can't go as we need at least three good second rows. Ed O'Donoghue might be an option as I imagine he's unlikely to get a game for Leinster when everybody is fit, and he's a decent player.

Obviously Connacht can't put out a team of kids as they would struggle, but there are plenty of quality players in their early and mid twenties not getting a game for their provinces who could strengthen Connacht and therefore Irish rugby.

I'd be really interested in the views of forum members who know more than I do about second string players.

I had thought about the prospect of McLaughlin as well, either him or Rhys Ruddock, depending on which Leinster feel they could do without. At the end of the day, Leinster have Heaslip, SOB, Jennings, Dominic Ryan, then comes McLaughlin and Ruddock in the pecking order. One of these will see very few games, and factor in that Nathan Hines can play 6 and Paul Ryan is there along with Jordi Murphy come through. It would make sense for both the player and the provinces if McLaughlin/Ruddock moved to Connacht for a year.

Don't really understand how McLaughlin is below Ryan in the pecking order. True, he will have to fight back for his place , but he is well capable of doing so. Let's not forget how good he is. Last year he was called up to the Ireland squad during the six nations and he played very well. I'm not saying he won't go to Connacht, but if he does go, it won't be because he can't get ahead of Ryan. He offers a lot more than Ryan does, like experience, line out option and he is a specialised 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Lawstudent1

jolley123 wrote: »
    Don't really understand how McLaughlin is below Ryan in the pecking order. True, he will have to fight back for his place , but he is well capable of doing so. Let's not forget how good he is. Last year he was called up to the Ireland squad during the six nations and he played very well. I'm not saying he won't go to Connacht, but if he does go, it won't be because he can't get ahead of Ryan. He offers a lot more than Ryan does, like experience, line out option and he is a specialised 6.

People forgot very quickly. McLaughlin was the most in form 6 in the country when he was fit. Hes an excellent line out option, great carrier and was excellent on the ground. He was considered ahead of O'Brien and Jennings at one point. When O'Brien was playing too good to ignore much more longer it was Jennings not McLaughlin who made way. I believe he'll jump straight ahead of Ryan when hes fit. I think Munster should have done everything to sign McLaughlin especially with Quinlan coming to the end of his career. McLaughlin's work ethic and attitude on the pitch would be a perfect sync down in Munster. Leinster however have to give up someone in the backrow. Its unfair when the likes of Munster have key backrow players in their mid 30s and Connacht are trying to build a competitive squad for Leinster to hold onto class backrowers when they will rarely be used.
    Leinster have Heaslip, Jennings, O'Brien, McLaughlin, Dominc Ryan, Rhys Ruddock on their books and all of them are or are going to be international players. I think Leinster have to let go of one of them, its unfair to keep them all. The question is Rhys Ruddock or Dominic Ryan - Dominic Ryan is ahead right now but I've seen Rhys Ruddock play games where I am in awe at the level he is at at such a young age. I don't think its over the top to say that both are capable of going on to be not just international class but world class backrowers.
    If the IRFU are in charge of the provinces then its about time Leinster are forced to give up some of their youth products. Its really gotten to the stage where Leinster simply don't have space for them. I would love to see someone like O'Malley, McLaughlin or Fergus McFadden coming down to Munster. I think Rhys Ruddock or Ryan could learn a lot from getting game time down in Connacht.

McLaughlin to Connacht.

No.

The three lads are leaving its confirmed by Eric Elwood below as well as some bad injury news. Tough weekend for Connacht to have all three leave at once but I think all Connacht supporters will wish the three lads well. By moving to Connacht they made a statement to young players that they could advance their careers out west and they've given us three good years.

Hopefully we have lined up some quality to replace them. Hopefully young players seeing the likes of Fionn Carr who wasn't even offered a development contract at Leinster before he went to Connacht return to Leinster will give them encourage them to join Connacht, similarly with Cronin who was 4th choice at Munster when he left and now has 7 Irish caps under his belt, Keatley has learned an awful lot as well and will develop further at Munster.

Hopefully they can deliver some more big performances before they leave.

Connacht suffer multiple blows
    By BRENDAN FANNING

Sunday December 19 2010
    The imminent departure of star players Sean Cronin, Ian Keatley and Fionn Carr to other Irish provinces, and the injuries sustained by captain John Muldoon and back-row colleague Johnny O'Connor, are far bigger setbacks to Connacht than their exit from the Amlin Challenge Cup at the hands of Harlequins on Friday night.
    It's expected that Leinster will pick up both Carr and Cronin, while Keatley will move south to Munster to compensate for the loss of Paul Warwick to Stade Francais next season.
    While the departure of the three players, who moved west because they couldn't get a look in elsewhere in Ireland, was expected, coming on the back of Muldoon's injury -- and that of O'Connor -- makes for a very costly week for coach Eric Elwood.
    Muldoon has broken the same arm that cut short his Ireland tour of New Zealand last June when he was only minutes into his debut.
    And O'Connor, who had only just returned from a lengthy back injury, is to have a scan today after suffering further damage to it on Friday night. It is understood the Muldoon injury is not as serious as the original, which required surgery.
    "Coming on top of the lads leaving it's been a hard week," Elwood said yesterday. "In fairness they came into us during the week and informed us that they would be moving on at the end of the season and that they were talking to other clubs. And given that it's a World Cup season we're coming into we were always going to be an easier target from clubs looking to fill gaps in their squads.
    "We always knew these things could happen. If clubs are coming in looking for them then obviously the players are doing well and we must be doing something right. So we always knew that would be the case. But on the other hand it's disappointing because we had hoped to hang on to them for another while."
    Connacht's defeat by Harlequins ends their interest in Europe and they have Munster coming to the Sportsground in the Magners League on St Stephen's Day.

Agree 100%. Problem is, I'm sure none of them want to go. Not to put a bad light on the other provinces, but Ruddock/Ryan/McLaughlin won't want to leave Leinster. The club's in really good form and it is the club they aspired to play at from a young age. But, someone has to go. It's only right on the bigger scale of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

We are going to have ludicrous competition in the back 3: Kearney, Nacewa, Fitzgerald, Horgan, Conway, and now McFadden and Carr.

Something has got to give though, someone must be leaving, or maybe Shaggy retiring, but he's got another 2 years in him I'd say.

I'm actually annoyed that Carr is going to Leinster. I don't really want him. We are building a wing in Conway and I can see this signing as a set-back in his development.

Actually, considering he isn't coming till next season, I'm sure Conway will have got more gametime. So it will be Fitzy/Horgan/Carr/Conway. Christ, Leinster are getting some serious depth.