Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster and Connacht: Cold spell and snow discussion (15/12/2010)

• 14-12-2010 11:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭

Please use this thread for cold spell discussion particular to these provinces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Just heard the later night radio forecast with David Rogers, he said the snow showers should begin in Ulster and Connacht during the afternoon on Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭Pangea

Guess Connacht is too small to have its own thread :P or maybe its because of a lack of posters from Ulster :)
    None the less this should be a good thread!

2085663646_2f3ff212a5.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

Pangea wrote: »
    Guess Connacht is too small to have its own thread :P or maybe its because of a lack of posters from Ulster :)
    None the less this should be a good thread!

It's because Connacht and Ulster it is where all the action will be Pangea. ;)

It would be a nightmare for all the snowless-wonders lusting after our snow if they had to keep going to two different threads to keep track of the action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Hopefully the weather forum will be somewhat readable now with Dublin getting its own thread! Inevitably the place will become a mess again over the weekend but this should keep some level of order at least

From what I can tell, Thursday wont be too bad for us. The rain will turn to snow but shouldnt really stick until later in the evening. We did quite well from the last spell but after all the build up I'm hoping for something memorable this weekend :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭irish1967

I'll put the owld kettle on lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

What I want to know is whether the connacht game will still be on Friday evening????

Mr and Mrs Pangea after being snowed in for a week :

286794773skYjQb_ph.jpg

What I want to know is whether the connacht game will still be on Friday evening????

If half of what could happen happens the I would guess. No chance. Walked past the ground yesterday morning and the paths were deadly even then. Most games are called off on public health and safety fears these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭wild handlin

Right lads,

I'm back online at last....let the fun & games begin!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭mountainy man

oooh aaah a "regional " thread , somebody has changed his tune.:rolleyes:

I just peeked into the other threads... and I actaully felt really sorry for them :pac:

It's bad enough that we live in the best part of the country, get the best weather and are better looking that them, without rubbing it in by them having their own threads. :)

I know, I know I'm a childish fecker

286794773skYjQb_ph.jpg
    ? lol

P.S I think me harps and Irish should have our own thread, dont want to upset the rest of yas with talk of our massive snowfalls :pac:

Pangea wrote: »
    ? lol

P.S I think me harps and Irish should have our own thread, dont want to upset the rest of yas with talk of our massive snowfalls :pac:

Watch it, or we'll demand an Ulster thread for ya! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭basillarkin

286794773skYjQb_ph.jpg
    Well our game is still on Thursday night under lights on the side pitch in the sportsground. We spent a good few hours covering the main pitch with hay on Sunday morning. Some im hoping it will get the go ahead.

Ah feck it Pang.. Ye have gone and jinxed it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Rodar08

Irish has the kettle on .. come on in, pull up a chair and tell us the craic ..... I am soooo looking forward to this!!! and our own regional thread ? Something's definitly brewing and it's not just the tay :D:D BRING IT!! Woo :)

irish1967 wrote: »
    Ah feck it Pang.. Ye have gone and jinxed it now
    yeah couldnt resist :D
    Think Snowghost already jinxed it for both provinces though :pac:

snow ghost wrote: »
    I just peeked into the other threads... and I actaully felt really sorry for them :pac:

It's bad enough that we live in the best part of the country, get the best weather and are better looking that them, without rubbing it in by them having their own threads. :)

I know, I know I'm a childish fecker

sure we all are. why else do we like snow so much:D

Should I set up a live storm cam on Thursday ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Just leave some for me and Deep Easterly and there'll be no prpblems;-)

Should I set up a live storm cam on Thursday ?

You should. :)

That sounds like a good plan!

I did the cam thing last year using Ustream and it worked well ... Well except for the fact that our snow shield kept firm the whole day.

Donegal County Council low on salt resources

Donegal County Councils salt levels are currently low, but they say they are trying to manage as best they can.

The gritter lorries will be out on the Countys roads tonight and over the next number of days as another cold snap is set to hit the NorthWest again.

Senior Engineer with Donegal County Council, Vincent Lynn, says this is the most prolonged winter weather he has experienced.

http://www.highlandradio.com/2010/12/14/donegal-county-council-low-on-salt-resources/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭davidsr20

iv to travel from galway to castlerea sat and sunday to work so im not looking forword to that :mad:

Check out post 26 in the Leinster forum, and you'll see why this regional thread is such a great idea. ;) :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

just posting to get the email alerts for thurs and fri id say it will be a busy day of reporting snow

heads off to the leinsher thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

I did the cam thing last year using Ustream and it worked well ... Well except for the fact that our snow shield kept firm the whole day.

Must remember that and try and set one up. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

Hey weather guru's, what do you think the chances are of seeing snow in Dublin on the 28th June 3014?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭john__long

These dudes are GREAT for forecasts.

PLus they have a super responsive twitter team.

http://www.irishweatheronline.com/

They predict 10-15cm of snow in East Mayo near Knock on Saturday morning..

http://twitter.com/iweatheronline/status/14814752177917952

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭rilz

I wonder how active the cold front will be comin down on Thurs morn. Maybe we might see some embedded thunderstorms. Lookin good anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

So we might actually get PROPER snow this time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

Im not getting over excited this time, I couldnt believe that when we had barely any snow a couple of weeks ago, 15km down the road towards Claremorris was plastered. I was stunned. Also this talk of a Polar Low forming to the west, just panics me in thinking that warm moist atlantic air will be dragged in.

Look at the temps this morning around the country, not 1 report of a sub zero figure!! Infact at the moment its one of the warmest days we have had here for over 2 weeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

Latest HIRLAM (06hrs) cloud forecast for tomorrow night around midnight:

139487.png

Showers along western coasts and into Ulster. Equally, if not more importantly, there could be some thunder contained in those showers as they ram themselves into the headlands.

Yeah 5.1c here. Warmest morning in weeks. Low mist hanging over town in the valley below. My accuweather app on the phone here is going nuts. This time yesterday it was showing 1.8 inches if snow till midnight Sunday. That jumped to 9.3 before I went to bed last night and is now sitting at 13.6 !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭hotwhiskey

Lads I'm so happy first the snow now we have our OWN Thread! Fantastic.:D

Looks like this is the place to be.

HIRLAM model for Friday morning 4am at this stage this would be all snow.

Harlim.gif

I will try out the Ulster/Conn snowcam later on and see if I can get it working. Haven't a great connection speed here but it should be sufficient to show it snowing. Remembering my user name and password for Ustream could be fun. :) I think anyone else with a webcam and a good view should also set one up. I am almost dead centre of the area this thread covers so would be nice to have north end soutn end and far west covered too !! Let's make this the snazziest regional thread :)

I used to put the cam link as my signature when it was running. That way I didn't have to keep posting the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

I think anyone else with a webcam and a good view should also set one up. I am almost dead centre of the area this thread covers so would be nice to have north end soutn end and far west covered too !! Let's make this the snazziest regional thread :)

I'll try and find my usb webcam and usb extension. If not i'll just pop this netbook on the window sill. Is U stream easy to use?

Yeah. Register and it gives you your own channel. The URL for that channel is the link. When I set mine up and become familiar with it I will post the details here.
    Meanwhile. MT's forecast thread is giving us serious snow amounts.. Haven't added it up properly but must be well over a foot with days combined !!

The 00z GFS has the arctic invasion touching the North at around 9 am tomorrow:

5262522955_366a78cd3b.jpg

By 3pm it has it making inroads into Connacht:

5263111872_c30b8fce26.jpg

9pm:
    5263111918_b2f47d11ea.jpg

Hi Snow ghost i don't like the look of that wishbone effect but in saying i reckon the winds will be strong enough to push those showers well inland.

I just don't know. Lustened to Oceanfm news at 8 just now and there is absolutely no warning of what's coming. Why?? Do ME know something we don't. Surely it must be clear what's about to hit at this stage. Or are we all wrong on here ?? I'm a mystified. I really am and kinda annoyed if what we think will happen dies come to pass. (plus the fact it's making me sound like a paranoid eegit).

Here Irish1967 let me ease your mind!

UK Met Office Weather Warning

A band of rain and snow will move southwards across Scotland and Northern Ireland during the early hours of Thursday with widespread icy surfaces then rapidly developing, potentially around the morning rush-hour period. This risk will also extend into Northern England. Heavy snow showers will then spread to areas exposed to the strong northerly wind.
    Issued at: 1123 Tue 14 Dec

Snow showers will become increasingly frequent and heavy across western areas through Thursday and will then extend to some central areas on Friday. Accumulations of 5 to 10 cm are expected in general, but with possibly 20 cm of lying snow in places by Friday evening. Snow will be accompanied by strong north or northwesterly winds leading to some drifting.
    This is expected to cause disruption to travel networks.
    Issued at: 1144 Tue 14 Dec

hotwhiskey wrote: »
    Hi Snow ghost i don't like the look of that wishbone effect but in saying i reckon the winds will be strong enough to push those showers well inland.

That just gives an indication hotwhiskey of when its arriving, I wouldn't worry too much about its main boundaries at this stage.

This afternoon, early evening I expect them to start talking things up.

I must check what the British are saying about things.

Can everyone take a pic of their garden or street today with no snow so we can use as comparisons for later pics. Hard to visualise amount of snow in an area when we haven't seen it without snow first. Just an idea.

Just seen the bbc forecast ,says tempertures drop fast for rush hour morning and rain will fall in northern Ireland and scotland this will mean black ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭bandit197

I will try out the Ulster/Conn snowcam later on and see if I can get it working. Haven't a great connection speed here but it should be sufficient to show it snowing. Remembering my user name and password for Ustream could be fun. :) I think anyone else with a webcam and a good view should also set one up. I am almost dead centre of the area this thread covers so would be nice to have north end soutn end and far west covered too !! Let's make this the snazziest regional thread :)

I'm out for the day today but when I get home I will set up a HD cam looking northwest over the Ox Mountains from my house. Hope it doesnt kill my upload speed.....ahh what the hell, snow doesn't arrive that often. ;)