Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats happened to X-MUSIC!!

• 13-12-2010 3:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

I'm not normally one to complain, but I went to x-music on Saturday to get a new guitar pedal and a load of strings, was thinking about getting a new amp too. While I was paying for the pedal and strings I picked up about 6 plecs - AND HE CHARGED ME FOR EVERY ONE!!!!!!!!
    I've a mate who works in the business and plecs are given to shops FREE, you should never have to pay for them, not least when you're forking out for a new pedal or guitar or whatever!!
    These guys were great when they were Musician inc. A few years ago I got an American Telecaster off them, beautiful guitar, they spent an hour and a half setting it up for me, the way I wanted it - with no charge, they couldn't do enough for me and were a pleasure to deal with.
    Most of us don't have shed loads of cash to hand out on extras for our guitars. We buy guitars, amps, pedals, strings, tuners, straps etc... you should be taking care of the customers who keep coming back, not pushing them away with petty charges.
    I will be getting a new amp, but I won't be getting it from x-music.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Moved from Fashion and Appearance.

Wasn't really sure where to put it, sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Plectrums aren't free. They have to pay for them, and so do you. How much were they? 50 cent a pop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Twee. wrote: »
    Moved from Fashion and Appearance.

Wasn't really sure where to put it, sorry!

****ing hilarious post! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭wild turkey

Last time i was in there i got 2 or 3 sets of strings & a few pleks & when i went to hand him the cash the assistant told me i was fine , put them in a bag for me & sent me on my way with my money in my pocket .
    You cant beat service like that !

mabye they didnt like the look of you!:P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭PaulieBoy

The last post which was critical of X music disappeared without a trace. Wonder how long this one will last!
    I was charged for plecks but I expected to be, they have them priced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Dublin Guitar

hairoil wrote: »
    I've a mate who works in the business and plecs are given to shops FREE, you should never have to pay for them, not least when you're forking out for a new pedal or guitar or whatever!!

To be fair to X Music OP, I've worked in this industry for 12 years, and every store I've worked with has had to pay for plecs, and every supplier I've worked for has charged for plecs. If your mate is getting them for free from a supplier then I, and all the other shops on here would love to know who they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 hairoil

Missed the point - It's not about the cost of the plecs. I've been going in there since they opened. In the last 2 years probably spent about 3 grand and last Saturday a further 90 quid on a pedal and strings. It's got nothing to do with the cost of the plecs - its the principal of taking care of the customers who buy a bit more than the odd set of strings!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Missed the point - It's not about the cost of the plecs. I've been going in there since they opened. In the last 2 years probably spent about 3 grand and last Saturday a further 90 quid on a pedal and strings. It's got nothing to do with the cost of the plecs - its the principal of taking care of the customers who buy a bit more than the odd set of strings!!
    To be fair, they cant remember the face of every customer. Unless your in there every other week. Its the biggest music shop in Ireland and therefore id assume he most customers. Add to that that I assume they have a lot of staff?

Yeah, a lot of assumptions here. But iv only been in there twice myself.

Point taken, but they don't really have that many staff. You could be there for an hour without anyone coming near you. The little shop on Drury street was fantastic and hand on heart x-music was pretty bloody good, for a while. I am looking for an amp, maybe I'll give them one more chance!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

and here's me thinking the Celtic Tigers greed was gone.
    When you go in to your local centra and spend €20 do you help yourself to a handful of pennys sweets and 10p bags and expect them to be free also?
    Nothing is ever free but good service and supporting local is priceless.

You're right, nothing is free. But good service keeps good customers coming back!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

You're right, nothing is free. But good service keeps good customers coming back!!

Ahem.... that's kinda what I said:confused:

Just agreeing with you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Bit of an over the top reaction imo.

They've given me free stuff before but I don't consider it my god given right to get free stuff everytime I go there...

No, its not a god given right. If your just getting a pack of strings and a couple of plecs, yep, sure enough. But went you're buying pedals etc... you'd expect a little more, that's what keeps people going back and spending more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

No, its not a god given right. If your just getting a pack of strings and a couple of plecs, yep, sure enough. But went you're buying pedals etc... you'd expect a little more, that's what keeps people going back and spending more...

"Good service" isn't giving you things for free. I don't think X Music have good service, and I don't shop there, but if the only thing they changed about their carry on was giving free plectrums, that wouldn't change anything with respect to how valued I feel as a customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

Customer appreciation, courtesy ( as in replying to emails, keeping you updated on orders ect ), and making you feel welcome when you enter their bricks and morter store, are free, though they dont seem very forth coming with these freebies..... which I think most people would prefer to a few plecks. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Shock horror - paying for goods and/or services!

I like XMusic. I've always found them to be easy to deal with.

Has anyone been out there recently? Is their website an accurate reflection of their current stock? I fancy buying something soon and I'd rather buy from them but if their stock is the same as what they have online I don't think I'll bother...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Why should you expect anything for free from any retailer?

Get over it man, its a shop, their fundamental objective is revenue - if they give you a freebie every now and again then enjoy it but don't get p1ssed cos you dont get it everytime.

Would you expect a free burger in a takeaway just because you bought loads of tucker? You'd be laughed out the door....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

Pfffft. Just do what the rest of us do and accidentally pocket a plec after you borrow one to try a guitar! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭gotBass

I'll give Xmusic the thumbs up, they have what i'm looking for most of the time.
    they are local, and are forcing other shops to up their game.

Anyone remember the bad ole days when getting "your" bass strings was a major excursion across cos nobody stocked the right gauge, and generally you knew more about equipment than most of the staff. God Love you if you wanted to try a decent selection of bass amps / Gear. I travelled all over the country.

they are not the cheapest in the world, but when I'm buying gear I'll give them and other Irish shops I like(there aren't many to be fair), a crack at hitting my best price. I'm due to make some more purchases soon if they are lurking ;-)

To be honest I've found the staff to be cool, even if they lads were new, they try hard to sort you out. the more experienced staff were generally cool too.

And I got a couple of plecs wheneve I'm there.

If XMusic are lurking - why not get branded plecs and give them away with every sale just to stop the occasional forum rants, then you are getting yer business cards out there, and keeping customers happy. - just a thought....

Keep it up Xmusic, things can be improved but you haven't made the worst of starts at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

gotBass wrote: »
    I'll give Xmusic the thumbs up, they have what i'm looking for most of the time.
    they are local, and are forcing other shops to up their game.

Anyone remember the bad ole days when getting "your" bass strings was a major excursion across cos nobody stocked the right gauge, and generally you knew more about equipment than most of the staff. God Love you if you wanted to try a decent selection of bass amps / Gear. I travelled all over the country.

they are not the cheapest in the world, but when I'm buying gear I'll give them and other Irish shops I like(there aren't many to be fair), a crack at hitting my best price. I'm due to make some more purchases soon if they are lurking ;-)

To be honest I've found the staff to be cool, even if they lads were new, they try hard to sort you out. the more experienced staff were generally cool too.

And I got a couple of plecs wheneve I'm there.

If XMusic are lurking - why not get branded plecs and give them away with every sale just to stop the occasional forum rants, then you are getting yer business cards out there, and keeping customers happy. - just a thought....

Keep it up Xmusic, things can be improved but you haven't made the worst of starts at all.

Thing is... Have you ever tried to get Xmusic to order anything in for you?

In the shop, they've all been very friendly and eager to help with whatever was to hand (except one guy who I caught out saying they definitely didn't stock something and I pointed the thing out to him behind the counter) and I do like going to the shop because they have a pretty good selection.

It's like that friend we all have - great guy to go for a drink with but you'd never ever lend him your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭darkvalley

I called to x-music for the first time last saturday and was very impressed with it.
    A decent selection of guitars, most of which you could just take down off the wall and play, no asking permission. A novel experience having only dealt with small shops in provincial towns. In my local shop you have to ask permission to try out the €100 guitars. In x-music at least 2 guitars costing over €2000 were there for the playing. Only two I noticed which were locked to the wall were a lowden and a CEO's choice Martin, both costing over 3 grand. I was only interested in acoustics so don't know about the electics or other instruments.

I spent about an hour and a half there and it was very busy throughout but on 3 different occasions I was asked if I needed any help. Twice I declined and once I engaged the staff in conversation about guitar I was playing (a very nice 000-15 martin). He seemed knowledgable about it and even offered to go in the back and bring out another example to try. I wasn't actually there to buy anything, only passing time so declined. There was no pressure from staff at any time. When the time comes that I am in the market for a guitar, I would definately go back to them to see what they have.

All in all a very pleasant hour and a half.

I should say I bought a metronome from them, but it does not seem to work very well. Certainly it is incapable of keeping proper time with me when I'm playing!!:D
    regards
    Finbarr

darkvalley wrote: »
    I called to x-music for the first time last saturday and was very impressed with it.
    A decent selection of guitars, most of which you could just take down off the wall and play, no asking permission. A novel experience having only dealt with small shops in provincial towns. In my local shop you have to ask permission to try out the €100 guitars. In x-music at least 2 guitars costing over €2000 were there for the playing. Only two I noticed which were locked to the wall were a lowden and a CEO's choice Martin, both costing over 3 grand. I was only interested in acoustics so don't know about the electics or other instruments.

I spent about an hour and a half there and it was very busy throughout but on 3 different occasions I was asked if I needed any help. Twice I declined and once I engaged the staff in conversation about guitar I was playing (a very nice 000-15 martin). He seemed knowledgable about it and even offered to go in the back and bring out another example to try. I wasn't actually there to buy anything, only passing time so declined. There was no pressure from staff at any time. When the time comes that I am in the market for a guitar, I would definately go back to them to see what they have.

All in all a very pleasant hour and a half.

I should say I bought a metronome from them, but it does not seem to work very well. Certainly it is incapable of keeping proper time with me when I'm playing!!:D
    regards
    Finbarr

I think, as a rule, most people have a pleasant experience when they go into the store to browse. A lot of the comments/complaints on numerous other X Music threads besides this one are about the absolute basics of running a business. For example, not replying to emails, not answering the phone, or failing to ring back with information on an order etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭darkvalley

Rigsby wrote: »
    I think, as a rule, most people have a pleasant experience when they go into the store to browse. A lot of the comments/complaints on numerous other X Music threads besides this one are about the absolute basics of running a business. For example, not replying to emails, not answering the phone, or failing to ring back with information on an order etc.

I accept that as that is what I have read here in terms of complaints, and my only other dealings with them was last february when I rang them. I was in the market for a Martin d28 guitar and rang and asked if they had one in stock. The person on the phone replied "No" and then silence. I was there thinking 'go on sell me a guitar' but nothing. When I realised no other information was going to be forthcoming I enquired if they had any plans to get one in and was told they didn't know!!
    I spent my €2000 somewhere else soon after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Quillo

gotBass wrote: »
    Anyone remember the bad ole days when getting "your" bass strings was a major excursion across cos nobody stocked the right gauge, and generally you knew more about equipment than most of the staff.

Gave them my first call there recently looking for some flat-wound bass strings for my brother - none and none on the way according to the less than helpful guy behind the desk.

Should mention that Waltons had none either and the guy there didn't even know what I was talking about !

Eventually found some in MusicMaker - choice between two brands in the same guage. Not great, but better than nothing. Would have bought on-line only we needed them that afternoon.

And Xmusic have never responsed to an email - I've sent them 3 (maybe 4) over the last year and nothing.

Quillo wrote: »
    Gave them my first call there recently looking for some flat-wound bass strings for my brother - none and none on the way according to the less than helpful guy behind the desk.

Should mention that Waltons had none either and the guy there didn't even know what I was talking about !

As a general rule, I find the selection of bass strings in Dublin to be very limited. Now that you mention it, I dont think I have ever seen a set of flatwounds here. The fact that the guy in Waltons did not know what you were talking about, speaks volumes.

Thank goodness for the internet. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭RedDragonJack

The people who work in music stores are all young self obssessed wannabe rockstars. If they hired 50 year old molly who doesn't really know much about music but it is nice to talk to, I would prefer this tbh than some arrogant young kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

didn't we get a response from xmusic on a similar thread before?

It amazes me how few companys have availed of the talk to forum here, if you got stuck in here on the instrument forum and got a good rep i can only imagine your turnover would improve to say the least?

Is it prohibitively expensive to be in the biz section?

Come on xmusic, waltons, r'n'b, and all you independents, get on board and lets spend local and get great service with it!

It amazes me how few companys have availed of the talk to forum here, if you got stuck in here on the instrument forum and got a good rep i can only imagine your turnover would improve to say the least?

Come on xmusic, waltons, r'n'b, and all you independents, get on board and lets spend local and get great service with it!

X Music has had a few representatives on different threads ( nearly all of which were complaining about them ). These people promised to take on board all the feed back and act on it. Threads like this one have been on going since X Music first opened. I'll leave it up to people to decide for themselves if they have acted on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭slavedave

I actually enjoy going into X-music for a mooch whilst I am after gear - they have always competed against Th*****n's and UK dealers prices. Never a problem to play stuff either. However, I consistently get "no-shows" when they promise to call me back when I deal with them over the phone. Upshot of this is that I order from overseas. I have spent a fair bit over the last few years that I would have much preferred had gone to a fairly local retailer. But to give a current example, I phoned them on Monday to get a quote for an EWI USB wind controller. They had none in stock and the assistant informed me he would have to chat with their Akai suppliier. Fair enough. Promised a call back. No reply by Tuesday, so I called Absolute Music in Poole, UK in the afternoon and placed an order. It arrived this morning! Incredible.
    It makes it hard to make an honourable decision for local trade, to be honest. I hope X-music thrive and survive 'cos we need music retailers here. I will still buy from them if I go in to purchase on the off chance or at short notice but......
    .....you know what I mean.
    I am almost tempted to offer to help them put systems in place that would make a difference ( but that could be classed as arrogant, I guess).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭RedDragonJack

I don't think their prices are any better than waltons.

Are they still price-matching with UK and EU sites?

Ravelleman wrote: »
    Are they still price-matching with UK and EU sites?

I dont think they ever price matched the UK sites. Only thomann and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭BSOM

There are plenty of the retailers on here, X are here, Dublin Guitar, think there is a few more too.

Also not all shop staff (IMHO Barley any) are "wanna be rockstars".

X are doing great and fair plays to them, whom ever said that we get free plecs.... well its not true. I pay for everything that comes in (unless their is a deal, in which case I will pass on the deal to the end user) and yes I do give free plecs when someone buys a guitar are a fair amount of stuff or someone who is in all the time. But not for a packet of strings... or two. If someone buys a few packets of strings I would throw in a string winder.

Most of your retailers are trying to work hard for everyone !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I have to give a big thumbs up for Xmusic.
    I've always been threated with respect, I find the staff to be very helpful and the prices are great.

An example of the prices and good deals, I'm currently buying a bass head and cab from them. Said bass head on Thomann, the holy grail of good deals, are charging ~€620 and Xmusic are giving me the head AND cab for €548. AND I'm only paying in installments.
    Now if that's not good, I don't know what is.

I dont think they ever price matched the UK sites. Only thomann and the likes.

They did. I have direct experience with this.

Ravelleman wrote: »
    They did. I have direct experience with this.

Jaysis, fair play to them!

Yup, they were also matching special offers given by UK and German websites. I managed to get them to include a Fender Champ with the American Standard Strat my friend bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Guitar Center USA are now shipping to Ireland.

If they bring their full inventory on line it's bye-bye music shops in Ireland.

So far it's ridiculously spartan but I'm sure that will change. At least there is an outlet to enquire with for products, I'm sure they'd accommodate you.

I think the Irish shops can do themselves a massive favour and up their sales game and slash their prices significantly. The Celtic Tiger days are gone never to return it's time to adapt and die, we want massive choice at rock bottom prices nothing else will do.

I don't think that will happen.

Music123 already had the vast majority of its inventory available to European customers for years and nothing ever changed. It subsequently folded and was bought by Musiciansfriend.

Import tax, when applied, added to shipping charges frequently makes up for any difference in price.

Many manufacturers don't allow American sellers to sell directly to the European market as part of the terms of their licensing agreements. They do this in order to protect European suppliers and dealers. Musicman, in particular, sells to Europeans through European dealers only.

Irish shops will always struggle to slash their prices, given high overheads (wages, import charges etc etc)...

Guitar Center USA are now shipping to Ireland.

If they bring their full inventory on line it's bye-bye music shops in Ireland.

So far it's ridiculously spartan but I'm sure that will change. At least there is an outlet to enquire with for products, I'm sure they'd accommodate you.

I think the Irish shops can do themselves a massive favour and up their sales game and slash their prices significantly. The Celtic Tiger days are gone never to return it's time to adapt and die, we want massive choice at rock bottom prices nothing else will do.

Guitar Centre will not be selling the everyday products which you see here in Ireland or on Thomann.de etc.

As for your comments about slashing their prices, well most of us have.

Tell you what, im going to go into your job and tell you your over priced, you have nothing I want, your ripping me off, You should get on the net and slash your prices.

Music Shop owners, like any other business have to make a living. Now if I buy a guitar for €100.00 and its on the internet for €100.00 or €110.00 should I sell it at €110.00 ? Sure why not, when the ESB man comes to me to get the money ill tell him to head off and price match the internet.... or when my landlord comes over and asks for my money ill tell him to go onto Daft.ie and tell him he can price match my rent.

You want Rock bottom prices, and a hugh selection ? Well it will get like that when more people spend their money in Irish shops so they can afford to expand.

You have no idea how hard it is to run a business like this ! I work as hard as I can to get decent prices for my patrons !

BSOM wrote: »
    Guitar Centre will not be selling the everyday products which you see here in Ireland or on Thomann.de etc.

As for your comments about slashing their prices, well most of us have.

Tell you what, im going to go into your job and tell you your over priced, you have nothing I want, your ripping me off, You should get on the net and slash your prices.

Music Shop owners, like any other business have to make a living. Now if I buy a guitar for €100.00 and its on the internet for €100.00 or €110.00 should I sell it at €110.00 ? Sure why not, when the ESB man comes to me to get the money ill tell him to head off and price match the internet.... or when my landlord comes over and asks for my money ill tell him to go onto Daft.ie and tell him he can price match my rent.

You want Rock bottom prices, and a hugh selection ? Well it will get like that when more people spend their money in Irish shops so they can afford to expand.

You have no idea how hard it is to run a business like this ! I work as hard as I can to get decent prices for my patrons !

Sorry if this came across poorly, but its frustrating to be constantly told that I do a rubbish job (even though the majority of people here have never been in my shop). Most Irish music shops are trying to give good value but sometimes we cannot slash prices to internet prices because we need to keep the lights on etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

the Music Outlet in Swords price match anything on the net aswell. They ordered me in a Takamine a few weeks ago for €569, Goodwins on Capel Street were looking for €720. I got a set of strings for another guitar which he threw in and responded to my emails quickly when I was enquiring about ordering and the guy that runs it is dead sound. If I was looking for picks i'm sure that wouldnt have been a problem either :D. I'd recommend them over the likes of Waltons, Music Maker etc, theyre a small shop so they dont stock a lot but will order in anything

Dotsey wrote: »
    the Music Outlet in Swords price match anything on the net aswell. They ordered me in a Takamine a few weeks ago for €569, Goodwins on Capel Street were looking for €720. I got a set of strings for another guitar which he threw in and responded to my emails quickly when I was enquiring about ordering and the guy that runs it is dead sound. If I was looking for picks i'm sure that wouldnt have been a problem either :D. I'd recommend them over the likes of Waltons, Music Maker etc, theyre a small shop so they dont stock a lot but will order in anything

Aye, now thats what im talking about ! Heard the lads are bang on! Great to see small shops getting a good rep !

I agree. It's the small shops that are a pleasure to go into. Goodwins are really good, I got a case for an EJ200 recently and a full set of harmonicas, all keys. They are very helpfull and know what they are talking about, if they don't have what you're looking for they will get it for you - and when they say they'll call you back; they do. There is another small guitar shop, on Liffey street, cant remember the name, but the guy who runs it, Paddy, is very good, and he'd talk the hind legs off a donkey!!!!