Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest 15th Dec 2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Lumen wrote: »
    Lack of legal consequences is irrelevant when you have a structural budget defecit.

And a structural budget deficit is irrelevant to the legality of a sovereign state defaulting on loans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

And a structural budget deficit is irrelevant to the legality of a sovereign state defaulting on loans.

But the entire point is thatt this was not a sovreign debt & FF/GP have no mandate to make the decision to adopt it given every poll has them without the support of the general population.

This is very simple, the cronyism that is rife in this Country & others has come right to the end when the state volunteered to take on the losses of Private banks, this is not a debt that belongs to every single person in this country, it belongs to the banks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

i'm not in a union - blah blah blah public service blah blah blah blah.

Have you ever heard of private sector unions,or does your poxy company not let you join one? I know McDonalds dont allow union membership..do you work in McDonalds?
    Maybe try somewhere else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭AntiMatter

But the entire point is thatt this was not a sovreign debt & FF/GP have no mandate to make the decision to adopt it given every poll has them without the support of the general population.

This is very simple, the cronyism that is rife in this Country & others has come right to the end when the state volunteered to take on the losses of Private banks, this is not a debt that belongs to every single person in this country, it belongs to the banks.

The people are being robbed, because the people are allowing themselves to be robbed.

AntiMatter wrote: »
    The people are being robbed, because the people are allowing themselves to be robbed.

So we return to my original post,

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=69534893&postcount=1

I live abroad, and have despaired at the attitude of the Irish when it comes to protesting what's been happening.

I'm home for Christmas, and tomorrow will be my first chance to put my money where my mouth is, and so I hope to be in attendence.

I live abroad, and have despaired at the attitude of the Irish when it comes to protesting what's been happening.

I'm home for Christmas, and tomorrow will be my first chance to put my money where my mouth is, and so I hope to be in attendence.

Please do & do let more people know also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

Saila wrote: »
    you owe me what now?

The two of you owe me the initial sum + 5%.

Now its 6%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Good man, live abroad when times are tough for everyone and then expect to come home to ireland and protest over a budget that you wont be here to suffer through! stay where you are the rest of us who are still living here and paying taxes to help the economy will sort it out for you.

connundrum wrote: »
    The two of you owe me the initial sum + 5%.

Now its 6%.

But hang on, i cant afford that & you only ever had 10% of the initial sum, surley we can come to an amicable arrangment in light of this.

Guill wrote: »
    Good man, live abroad when times are tough for everyone and then expect to come home to ireland and protest over a budget that you wont be here to suffer through! stay where you are the rest of us who are still living here and paying taxes to help the economy will sort it out for you.

I dont get into defending other people on forums at all as every one can speak for themselves but i have to respond in general to this,

You are working which have already let us know yet despite the blatant corruption, cronyism & crimes against the irish people over the last decade (yes i do say crimes) you think its right to level at someone who left the country for whatever reasons, pperhaps no work, that they dont deserve to protest at the way their country is being screwed & imminently sold out for the crimes of the few!!!!

You are unbeleivably arrogant & condescending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

But hang on, i cant afford that & you only ever had 10% of the initial sum, surley we can come to an amicable arrangment in light of this.

This is not my problem. You'll need to get your mates to give you a loan.

And if you even try to question my lending practices!!

:pac::pac:

The country is being raped up the ass, and that includes my family and friends, who'll be paying the bank's debts for a long time. My 4 week old nephew will probably be helping pay it off, when he's old enough.

Just because I live and pay tax abroad, I'm not allowed to be incensed by what's taking place here?

connundrum wrote: »
    This is not my problem. You'll need to get your mates to give you a loan.

And if you even try to question my lending practices!!

But my mates are looking for just as high an interest rate which i cant afford either, here this wasnt mine to begin with anyway.

How very kind. I'm away till it's all fixed in a few years and I'm glad there's people like you who are happy to stay and do it for me.

I dont get into defending other people on forums at all as every one can speak for themselves but i have to respond in general to this,

You are working which have already let us know yet despite the blatant corruption, cronyism & crimes against the irish people over the last decade (yes i do say crimes) you think its right to level at someone who left the country for whatever reasons, pperhaps no work, that they dont deserve to protest at the way their country is being screwed & imminently sold out for the crimes of the few!!!!

You are unbeleivably arrogant & condescending.

Pardon me if i think that people who live abroad should fly over here, March in a protest about things that they will not have to live with and fly off again. The decision and/or action to march should be held by the people who live here and who will live with the cosequence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

I think fundamentally, I can't take mid-week marches seriously.

If you're marching midweek, you're either skipping work or not looking for it. End of.

Pardon me if i think that people who live abroad should fly over here, March in a protest about things that they will not have to live with and fly off again. The decision and/or action to march should be held by the people who live here and who will live with the cosequence.

Arrogance personified,

Your not allowed protest & have an opinion on your own country if you unfortunatley moved away from it, despite the rest of your familys quality of life being affected.
    mloc wrote: »
    I think fundamentally, I can't take mid-week marches seriously.

If you're marching midweek, you're either skipping work or not looking for it. End of.

I work, protest is at 6pm.

Arrogance personified

Please look up the meaning of arrogance:

'unpleasantly proud and behaving as if you are more important than, or know more than, other people.'

At no point have i been unpleasantly proud. Maybe unpleasant in your eyes but not unpleasantly proud.
    Nor have i declared to know more than other people, note the words: 'I think' in my post, it's called an opinion. I am free to have one, as are you, which you will be airing in Dublin this evening (if it's not too cold).

Please look up the meaning of arrogance:

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/arrogance

You were displaying an attitude of superiority,
    Guill wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Degsy wrote: »
    Have you ever heard of private sector unions,or does your poxy company not let you join one? I know McDonalds dont allow union membership..do you work in McDonalds?
    Maybe try somewhere else?

something wrong with working in f'ucking mcdonalds now degsy? yer man of the people image isn't really served much by slagging people who work where and as best they can for a living.

i'm perfectly aware there's unions who service the private sector but these protests are organised and attended by mostly public service employees and their representatives. i will have no part in calling for any more concessions to be given to that sector because - make no bones about it - the numbers who turn up regardless of union membership will be claimed by those greedy ignorant f'uckers as being there to support their causes.

the unions are just as bad as the political classes - self serving c'unts who want to screw the rest of the country in the guise of standing up for the people. go ahead and support them degsy - you're exactly the kind of whinging mouthpiece they will very gladly welcome.

something wrong with working in f'ucking mcdonalds now degsy? yer man of the people image isn't really served much by slagging people who work where and as best they can for a living.

i'm perfectly aware there's unions who service the private sector but these protests are organised and attended by mostly public service employees and their representatives. i will have no part in calling for any more concessions to be given to that sector because - make no bones about it - the numbers who turn up regardless of union membership will be claimed by those greedy ignorant f'uckers as being there to support their causes.

the unions are just as bad as the political classes - self serving c'unts who want to screw the rest of the country in the guise of standing up for the people. go ahead and support them degsy - you're exactly the kind of whinging mouthpiece they will very gladly welcome.

That you Brian?

if i had a euro for everytime i've got that one here i'd be able to afford a reasonably sized steak in a mid-market resturant with a glass of house wine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Perhaps I'm missing something here, or it may have been covered in the few pages of the thread I haven't read, but surely a protest to encourage a no vote to the Bailout package would have been better held BEFORE the vote?

that is a very valid point indeed and one i would love to hear answered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

that is a very valid point indeed and one i would love to hear answered!

Maybe there's a 30 day refund policy on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Maybe there's a 30 day refund policy on it?

I hope Brian kept the receipt, then!

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I hope Brian kept the receipt, then!

tis in da top packat lads, grr, jaysus *sniff*. going farward, i think it's of the upmost impartance that all reciepts are keapt to ansure top laval transparancy on all fanancial daylings cancarned with the exchaquar *sniff*

stick us on a partar dare young falla i've a mouth on me like a septic boghole jaysus *sniff* grr.

tis in da top packat lads, grr, jaysus *sniff*. going farward, i think it's of the upmost impartance that all reciepts are keapt to ansure top laval transparancy on all fanancial daylings cancarned with the exchaquar *sniff*

stick us on a partar dare young falla i've a mouth on me like a septic boghole jaysus *sniff* grr.

Agh, Jaysus.

Sure it's yourself!

Caries later?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Mmmm. No response yet...

I went by the Dáil gates on my way home from work at 17:50 last night and had to struggle past the 11 people gathered at the barrier. That'll send the lads inside a message:

"Vote no in the debate that happened hours ago"

Of course, for all I know, thousands might have arrived in the 10 minutes after I passed by.