Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did they do it

• 11-12-2010 12:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭

80s recession - i was born early 80s so was only a child during the 80s recession and things were ok. My mam tells me that the pubs were busy almost every night of the week. Now pubs are empty at the best of times.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Drink was dirt cheap back then.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,202 ✭✭✭bullpost

Unenforced drink/drive laws, smoking, no cheap booze in supermarkets/offlicences,Irish traditionally reluctant to entertain at home ........................

• Registered Users Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

I think alot of it has to do with the fact that back then, as said above, drink was cheaper, but also there was very little else to do for entertainment compared to the options we have today.
    Now when someone can't afford a night out, they will go to the cinema, go on the internet to pass the time or watch something like Xfactor.

There weren't as many options for people to socialise back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

It was a different type of recession ,back then people could work and be paid straight into the hand ,which was the case in a lot of places ,these days technology has put a stop to that kind of thing so it's harder to employ people and get away with it.Also people helped each other back then ,people don't give a fcuk anymore.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

All the above - also there was a factor for some of working in a "cash" blackmarket economy.
    There was a lot of undeclared jobs done which to some extent, also contributed.

There is a MUCH greater thinking now that one better hold onto what ever cash/savings ye have and so, there is a lot less spending, even on drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

People didn't have as much money borrowed back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Smartypantsdig

hiscan wrote: »
    People didn't have as much money borrowed back then.

You have it spot on there... people did not have 300% mortgages and negative equity, and credit cards maxed to the hilt. The 80s recession was bad, but this one is Armageddon in proportion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,919 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

It wasn't verging on €5 euro or their equivalent for a pint. In addition the pub was by far and away the most central social outlet. more so than it was today

Besides, they were probably too bust getting f*cked to worry about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

- People drank maybe 2 or 3 pints slowly and spent 3 or 4 pounds instead of drinking 6 or 7 pints and a short and spending about 35 - 40 euro.

- Deals on drink in supermarkets / off licenses weren't as readily available or good value as they are nowadays. They were only slightly cheaper than buying in a pub.

- Little else to do

probably other reasons aswell..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

We had the six million dollar man, Blakes 7 and 80's music on top of the pops and Corrie didn't have CGI. Such a classy recession then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

porn was something that only happened in foreign lands as well, therefore men had many more hours of the day to spend drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

More sense of community - people working together in factories or living in same area.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭vintac34

People are now drinking at home, alcohol consumption has increased by an alarming degree and Govt getting less in revenue and pubs are closing down particularly in rural areas...People now drinking every night rather than on w/ends as previously.

Any increase in duty will encourage cross border shopping which will cause further loss of revenue..
    Its the old story ....Close one door and another opens!!!

Sadly this is a trend which will be difficult or impossible to reverse!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Also, pubs back in the '80s were 'genuine' family run affairs instead of the theme/super/sports/karaoke pubs we have now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Those Vintners Association ads on the radio may be making people think 'fuck the pubs.' Every time I hear that smug bitch telling me how the pub is a place to gossip about people, I want to drive my car off the road just so I don't have to listen to it any more.

That, or I just switch channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

- People drank maybe 2 or 3 pints slowly and spent 3 or 4 pounds instead of drinking 6 or 7 pints and a short and spending about 35 - 40 euro.

- Deals on drink in supermarkets / off licenses weren't as readily available or good value as they are nowadays. They were only slightly cheaper than buying in a pub.

- Little else to do

probably other reasons aswell..

Hang on you saying people paced their drink and didn't get pissed in the eighties? Hard to believe that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

ilovesleep wrote: »
    80s recession - i was born early 80s so was only a child during the 80s recession and things were ok. My mam tells me that the pubs were busy almost every night of the week. Now pubs are empty at the best of times.

This is rubbish, I don't know what feckin pubs you're going to that are empty.
    Also people helped each other back then ,people don't give a fcuk anymore.

Myth.

Come on lads, stop talking sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,215 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Very misty-eyed all right - and some would say the 80s was the decade when people didn't care! :)
    Plenty of people still help others out, plenty didn't help others out back then. It all depends on the type of community, not the era. That said, there are far more anonymous transitional type communities (apartment blocks and the like) now than there were in the 80s.

Pubs being empty? the centre of Cork told a different story last night. And tonight will be even busier (not that I'm making a "Recession? What recession?" horse-sh1t claim by that). I'm sure at non peak hours, pubs are very quiet but I don't see how things would have been any different in the 80s.

The 80s recession was a struggle for many, but the cost of living was cheaper and people had simpler tastes and were far less extravagant. Going for a meal was a huge event, now it's run-of-the-mill. Lots of households didn't have a car or a phone or either. People didn't holiday abroad. A good summing up I think is Dunnes Stores: for those of you who only know Dunnes as it is now, back in the 80s, it was the epitome of dreariness and it was something that got joked about - the Lada of the retail world. It was utter greyness. There were those big steel basket things filled with socks and jocks etc, none of your fancy shelving lay-outs.
    Or even going for coffee - it was plain black coffee, none of your different coffee types; a sandwich was ham, salad, cheese or chicken and it was on sliced pan bread. Salad didn't have sundried tomatoes and pesto and rocket and hummus. It was plain as fook.

As someone else said, there was far less variety. But I'm not going off on a "Things were simpler but better in my day" one - that's bollocks, things are far better now imo. I'm just comparing now to when I was a kid - and the difference is enormous.

Dudess wrote: »

A good summing up I think is Dunnes Stores: for those of you who only know Dunnes as it is now, back in the 80s, it was the epitome of dreariness and it was something that got joked about - the Lada of the retail world. It was utter greyness. There were those big steel basket things filled with socks and jocks etc, none of your fancy shelving lay-outs.

Not to mention the state of crazy prices ,yellow pack everything and then the change to kvi brand ,just horrid and dark and like a feckin warehouse

• Registered Users Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

ilovesleep wrote: »

Few alternatives other than drinking in the pub, but still despite my kids thinking they must have been sad times, they were very different but actually great!

Now it seems the fun has been legislated out of life.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭BengaLover

People didnt pay for babysitters either.. lots of folk left their kids at home in bed whilst they went down the local!
    Think about it, no mobile phone bills, no internet bills, no gadgets..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,215 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Not to mention the state of crazy prices ,yellow pack everything and then the change to kvi brand ,just horrid and dark and like a feckin warehouse
    Lol, I still preferred Crazy Prices/Quinnsworth to Dunnes though as all that yellow gave it a bit of colour. Dunnes was just one bit block of drab.

But the 80s was pretty good if you were a kid/teen as youth/pop culture was fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Main reason was off licences weren't much cheaper than pubs I'd imagine. That and the fact that younger people these days just prefer drinking at home rather than in pubs, to an extent price isn't really a factor.

BengaLover wrote: »
    People didnt pay for babysitters either.. lots of folk left their kids at home in bed whilst they went down the local!

I remember my dad driving into dublin city centre to get a chinese the very odd time there was a few quid extra ,can't imagine that now ,take aways everywhere

Dudess wrote: »
    Lol, I still preferred Crazy Prices/Quinnsworth to Dunnes though as all that yellow gave it a bit of colour. Dunnes was just one bit block of drab.

But the 80s was pretty good if you were a kid/teen as youth/pop culture was fantastic.

Yeah I remember my mam bought NOW 4 and she would play it constantly in the car ,I think Elton John ,UB40 and U2 were on it:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭Jack Daniels I

BengaLover wrote: »
    funny isnt it.parents would get locked up now for leaving their kids at home while they went on the piss,common place back then

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Is going out for a meal/takeaway regularly the norm? Maybe its just my stingy family but even in the 'good times' we only went to a restaurant about twice a year lol. Not all of us 'went mad' in the celtic tiger years;)
    I would think takeaways and such should be more of a once off treat, not a once a week thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭upandcumming

The recession back then wasn't bad because we had nothing to start with.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

As well as the price of drink, the advent of communication technology etc, Irish society has become more insular and isolated in recent years, which mirrors what has happened elsewhere. The whole community spirit thing that was at the heart of Irish society is slowly peetering out.

People are just less inclined to be gossiping down the local than they were years ago. Its not directly recession related because I know that my local has been dead on week nights for about 10 years, whereas 30 years ago it would be have been fairly busy most nights.
    A good example would be the annual group water scheme meetings in my area. Its headed up by a bunch of pensioners and nobody else really wants to take on the responsibility. Similarly, the meetings are mostly attended by older people. Young people just aren't bothered, they just want to use the water! In a few years time, the admin of the water scheme will be handed over to the county council because of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

There was actually no recession in the 80's. Proper answer.