Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Potential severe weather, are you doing anything to prepare?

• 10-12-2010 2:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭

Folks in the weather forum are predicting potential bad weather, record below zero temperatures etc in 1 or two weeks time.

After the last little round of snow, are you doing anything to prepare or just living life as normal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

cabot wrote: »
    Folks in the weather forum are predicting potential bad weather, record below zero temperatures etc in 1 or two weeks time.

After the last little round of snow, are you doing anything to prepare or just living life as normal?

Yeah, I'm off to Africa for a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

stock up on cans of linx. attach them to my shoes, tape down the button and light. the flame will melt the ice directly in front of me preventing slipage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Amputating knackers hands now to stop them throwing snow balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Probably going to get my hands on those snow socks over the weekend. Just a good idea. I also need a spade and maybe a new pair of boots.

Otherwise I'm all set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Il probably just buy a scarf...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I'm looking forward to laughing at the complete breakdown of an entire nation due to a fairly small amount of snow again, that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I am going to buy a snowplow so I can clear everyones driveways and make a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i will prob do what i do every time it gets cold..............
    try to take over the world(and put on a coat)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'm gonna skin me a few pets, and make meself a big hairy feckin coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

Is there any links given to the source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

FatherLen wrote: »
    i will prob do what i do every time it gets cold..............
    try to take over the world(and put on a coat)

narf ;)

i will probably just live as normal.....well as normal as i can get! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭juma

JohnP199 wrote: »
    Is there any links given to the source?

Why dont you just look in the Weather forum....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I've just gritted the driveway. Not getting caught out again! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Ah Jesus its coming :eek:
    more hats, scarfs, coal etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

AccuWeather puts up 15-day forecasts: here's the one for Dublin. It doesn't look too dramatic - better than the last two weeks have been. If I need to stock up, I'll head to Lidl to for cans of ravioli and herring, rye bread, and digestive biscuits - plus a few cans of wheat beer for the evenings.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

juma wrote: »
    Why dont you just look in the Weather forum....

Why dont you just answer the f***ing question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭cabot

Look at the last pages of this thread and look at the charts too

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056114925

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

bnt wrote: »
    AccuWeather puts up 15-day forecasts: here's the one for Dublin. It doesn't look too dramatic - better than the last two weeks have been. If I need to stock up, I'll head to Lidl to for cans of ravioli and herring, rye bread, and digestive biscuits - plus a few cans of wheat beer for the evenings.

Bah, it doesn't go as far as Christmas day, stops on the 24th. Will it be a white Christmas or what?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

no and I doubt the local councils are preparing either!

they'll have enough grit for major roads only again and still be mixing it with sand!!

cosmic wrote: »
    Bah, it doesn't go as far as Christmas day, stops on the 24th. Will it be a white Christmas or what?!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056115246

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I've been happily strolling across all that snow and ice at a brisk pace for the last couple of weeks - while watching everyone else fall over.

Bought a pair of Yaktrax. -

http://www.jazebra.com/images/product-shots/yaktrax/yaktrax-pro-black-01-800x600.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

cabot wrote: »

Gonna stock up on extra lube and get the wife to bend over more so we can create our own heat to keep warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

JohnP199 wrote: »
    Why dont you just answer the f***ing question

What are you on about like, The weather forum is the source stop being a dick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

buy de-icer for my car windscreen instead of throwing luke warm water over it and then re-freezes again! doh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Biggins wrote: »
    Gonna stock up on extra lube and get the wife to bend over more so we can create our own heat to keep warm.

biggins ya duuuuuurty hoor ya:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

o1s1n wrote: »
    I've been happily strolling across all that snow and ice at a brisk pace for the last couple of weeks - while watching everyone else fall over.

http://www.jazebra.com/images/product-shots/yaktrax/yaktrax-pro-black-01-800x600.jpg

Where did you get those from???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Dribbling and ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I have just ordered "how to build an igloo" by iman eskimo
    I stocked up on beans, antibacterial handwash,
    bought snow shoes, ski's, one of those protection outfits from outbreak,
    a gas mask, and I have a tank on the way. Cant be too carefull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

Saila wrote: »
    I have just ordered "how to build an igloo" by iman eskimo
    I stocked up on beans, antibacterial handwash,
    bought snow shoes, ski's, one of those protection outfits from outbreak,
    a gas mask, and I have a tank on the way. Cant be too carefull.

expecting a nuclear attack?

no I would have ordered a missile defence system for that, just 3 inches of snow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Here's your bleedin forecast. Without the "AH BEJAYSUS ISN'T IT FIERCE MILD"-ness. Or something.

http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=Dublin%2C%20Ireland

Not liking the look of thurs night, -16. Didnt go anywhere near that low here in the last round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

Saila wrote: »
    no I would have ordered a missile defence system for that, just 3 inches of snow

Im sure your safe enough seeing as your located on someones (.)(.)'s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Alright where are people buying Yaktrax? There like £20 on Amazon but do they have them in like Great Outdoors or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

They should give those guys in the weather forum their own slot on RTE ,every time I have gone in there to check the weather ,the guys are always right:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

smk89 wrote: »
    Amputating knackers hands now to stop them throwing snow balls

If you're in Glasgow, I think they're looking for you:eek:

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/2010/12/10/schoolboy-11-hospitalised-over-glasgow-snowball-attack-86908-22775043/

Schoolboy, 11, hospitalised over Glasgow snowball attack

A man attacked an 11-year-old boy - leaving him in need of hospital treatment - after having a snowball thrown at him, police said.

Police launched a helicopter and dog search to find the man, who was described as white and around 40 years old.

He is thought to have "seriously" assaulted the boy in the Riddrie area of Glasgow last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Checklist for the Christmas period:

1. Six bottles of Irish whiskey
    2. Freezer full of turkey breasts
    3. Four Kg of chestnuts
    4. 28lbs of spuds
    5. Selection of frozen veg
    6. Tank of heating oil
    7. Twelve bags of coal
    8. Two snuggle bags
    9. Two hundred fags

And in case anyone asks chestnuts make you fart, and that increases the pressure inside the house and stops the roof falling in under the weight of snow.

Hibernation is a wonderful thing and a mainstay of nature, and being a confirmed Green, I will adhere to that.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

o1s1n wrote: »

Yeah, I bought similar. I got some strange looks as I ran along an icy footpath on the way to work the other day.

These snow grip things work really well & I'd recommend everyone to pick up a pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

alexa5x5 wrote: »
    Where did you get those from???

Not sure where o1s1n got his, but I got similar from http://www.blacktoe.co.uk/

Good price & fast delivery (P&P was less than €2.50.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I've just gritted the driveway. Not getting caught out again! :cool:

Won't the fresh snow just cover the grit? Speaking of fresh snow,may put new handle in my yard brush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Getting a large jar of Vaso to smear on me knob.

Just recovering from an attack of chillblains in that area:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Well it was down to -14c out my way with proper ice and snow, so bring it fcuking on I say!

zerks wrote: »
    Won't the fresh snow just cover the grit? Speaking of fresh snow,may put new handle in my yard brush.

[tssss] and you should really get a longer brush, your back will be at you when its all gone, you'll thank me for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

Nothing, but hopefully I'll be flying out of here on December 21st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Nothing really, the cold and snow (the bit that we did get) didn't really stop me from doing what I normally do.

In fact, the snow made things look all nice and clean and pretty so I was outside more, walking and stuff.

Opened the door this morning, and everything was fierce gray. Depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Nothing really, the cold and snow (the bit that we did get) didn't really stop me from doing what I normally do.

In fact, the snow made things look all nice and clean and pretty so I was outside more, walking and stuff.

Opened the door this morning, and everything was fierce gray. Depressing.

I'm asuming you've lived in Ireland for most of your life, how can grey still be depressing to you? I think it causes so much of our blandness as a culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I'm busy writing everything down so that when I am an old man, I can regale the youths with my stories about the hard winter of '10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Svetti Arss

Gonna fill a bucket full of nuts and curl up into a ball and hibernate. And when I awake in the spring all the snow and ice will be gone and a new shower of incompetent eejits will be running the country.

I bought some of those shoe grips a couple of weeks ago for my DH but we didnt get bad icy pavements/roads so he cycled to work as usual. Not sure whether to get some for the whole family or not. Might get some for my Mum for Christmas. Will be clearing out some cupboards tomorrow to make room for some extra tins and UHT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

smk89 wrote: »
    I'm asuming you've lived in Ireland for most of your life, how can grey still be depressing to you? I think it causes so much of our blandness as a culture

While this is true, this morning looked horribly gray. Moreso than normal. Think it was possibly because all the snow was mostly gone, and what was left was just gray watery slush. You can see the chewing gum stuck to the road, the patches of grass that's dead, litter.

The last couple of days with the snow, nice blue skies, shiny white cleanness.

Hah. Bring on more snow. :D

@Setti Arss: Did you really have to go and bring the Gubbermint into this?