Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Send FF a message (Hang a red rag)

• 10-12-2010 9:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭

Seeing other posters say they have no interest in talking to FF canvassers and hearing public opinion on how much the party is hated I starting thinking of the arrogance of FF in even contesting this election. They ..(insert all the sh1t they did)... And they still think they are worthy of a vote. I'd have nothing to say to them only abuse and they could say nothing to me to change my mind. It's best for them to actually in a tangible way, accept responsibility and go sit in the wilderness for 5 or 10 years while reforming their broken party.

So is there a way we can send this message to the canvassers, in a non violent/insulting manner? Is there a way we can stand in solidarity and say 'no thanks, don't even bother asking'.

I'd like to start a campaign, and I'd love some help, for people to hang a red rag from their door to indicate that they do not want to speak to FF canvassers.

How best to go about this plan? What think ye of the plan? Do people feel the same- i.e. All they'd have left for FF are swear words. It'd also stop canvassers pretending the reception they are getting at the doors is 'encouraging'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

yep, hang a communist red flag outside your door. that'll show FF what you think of their democracy. :D

What not just stick up a page of A4 asking them not to bother you, rather than a mystery red flag no one will know the meaning of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

From the complete opposite side, I can't wait for a FF rep to call, I've an awful lot to say to them.

That said I can't see the guttless wonders showing up at our doors, they weren't very bothered when they were doing well, I doubt they'll want to now.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Sounds like something dreamed up on Facebook.

Personally, I do want to talk to them. I want to explain to them how angry I am with them, their corruption, them allowing bankers and property developers to get away scott free with what they did, and I'm struggling to make ends meet, and then chat nicely to them about the budget, and how fantastic it is that instead of going after those that can afford it, they go after ordinary working people.

Either that, or I'm going to see who's outside the door, and if it's a particularly cold night and a Fianna Failure comes knocking, I'll throw a bucket of ice water over them and close the door.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

I'd rather get the chance to tell them to go **** themselves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

yep, hang a communist red flag outside your door. that'll show FF what you think of their democracy. :D

What not just stick up a page of A4 asking them not to bother you, rather than a mystery red flag no one will know the meaning of?

Well a sign could work but a red piece of cloth would be more visible and symbolic... And I'd hope if such a campaign got anywhere it's meaning would be well known. It's a very visible united message, rather than signs of all shapes n sizes... Is red still just automatically communist? Could be any colour once it's same for everyone

For the people who want to 'talk' to them, what's the point, they are there to ask for your vote, they obviously think they deserve it in some way. Ive been waiting for my chance to verbally abuse some FF canvassers but what's the point. This would send a more stinging message - you are not wanted here, you are political lepers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

I never did have any words for FF but this time it will be different. If they or the Yellows Greens call to my door I will politlely ask them to leave my property once.If they insist on trying to speak to me I wont be so polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

FF canvasers are welcome at my door.

I've the de-brain-washing facility all set up and ready to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Pick another colour and I'll join in. There is no way I'm going to disrespect the hundreds of millions of innocent victims who have died at the hands of socialist regimes around the world by hanging a socialist flag from my door.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

Well a sign could work but a red piece of cloth would be more visible and symbolic... And I'd hope if such a campaign got anywhere it's meaning would be well known. It's a very visible united message, rather than signs of all shapes n sizes... Is red still just automatically communist? Could be any colour once it's same for everyone

Blue is the obvious colour!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

If I hang that up and they simply pass by, how will I know when to go around to the houses on my road with the list of FF cock-ups and corruption ?

I was planning on doing it immediately behind them so that their canvassing got no chance whatsoever to sink in (and hopefully to piss them off a bit too).

Anyway, give FF's delusion of what the real people think of them, I reckon they'd brainwash themselves into thinking there was a Munster Rugby match on that day.

Wide Road wrote: »
    Blue is the obvious colour!!

Green might be more obvious......show you're acting on behalf of, and for the good of, Ireland, unlike them.

EDIT : Sorry, you're probably right; blue it is, since everyone is feeling "blue" these days because of FF policies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

They all have phone numbers published on oireachtas.ie
    Phone up your FFer and tell them how you feel. Ask for a detailed explanation for their voting record or why they are adopting a position on legislation/budget..
    Telephone calls from constituents demanding answers affects your representative, this has been proven to work in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Yeah that'll show 'em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Seeing other posters say they have no interest in talking to FF canvassers and hearing public opinion on how much the party is hated I starting thinking of the arrogance of FF in even contesting this election. They ..(insert all the sh1t they did)... And they still think they are worthy of a vote. I'd have nothing to say to them only abuse and they could say nothing to me to change my mind. It's best for them to actually in a tangible way, accept responsibility and go sit in the wilderness for 5 or 10 years while reforming their broken party.

So is there a way we can send this message to the canvassers, in a non violent/insulting manner? Is there a way we can stand in solidarity and say 'no thanks, don't even bother asking'.

I'd like to start a campaign, and I'd love some help, for people to hang a red rag from their door to indicate that they do not want to speak to FF canvassers.

How best to go about this plan? What think ye of the plan? Do people feel the same- i.e. All they'd have left for FF are swear words. It'd also stop canvassers pretending the reception they are getting at the doors is 'encouraging'

No I think if they have the guts or rather the cheek to go out in support of such a pathetic traitorous party they should be challeneged and not given an easy ride.

Last time only one of them dropped in and then I told him what I thought of him and his party.
    The rest ran around like gutless chickens.

This time I hope it is nice and slippy as that way they can't run. :D
    Liam Byrne wrote: »
    If I hang that up and they simply pass by, how will I know when to go around to the houses on my road with the list of FF cock-ups and corruption ?

I was planning on doing it immediately behind them so that their canvassing got no chance whatsoever to sink in (and hopefully to piss them off a bit too).

Very good idea. :D
    I wonder will they canvass at Dart stations like they used to do ?

I am not allowed discuss …

snubbleste wrote: »
    They all have phone numbers published on oireachtas.ie
    Phone up your FFer and tell them how you feel. Ask for a detailed explanation for their voting record or why they are adopting a position on legislation/budget..
    Telephone calls from constituents demanding answers affects your representative, this has been proven to work in the US.

I don't want to hear excuses. I don't want to hear apologies. I want to send a message that says 'go away and sort yourselves out'.

Imagine how intimidating and disheartening it would be for a canvasser to walk into an estate and see a sign on practically every door.

It'd leave FFers with only their own to talk to, which is what they should be doing, only to reform the party rather than to scheme about lines to spin to win votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I don't want to hear excuses. I don't want to hear apologies. I want to send a message that says 'go away and sort yourselves out'.

Imagine how intimidating and disheartening it would be for a canvasser to walk into an estate and see a sign on practically every door.

It'd leave FFers with only their own to talk to, which is what they should be doing, only to reform the party rather than to scheme about lines to spin to win votes

do you really think theyll give a crap? hurt feelings? seriously, thats the worst thing you can think of doing to them?

jmayo wrote: »
    No I think if they have the guts or rather the cheek to go out in support of such a pathetic traitorous party they should be challeneged and not given an easy ride.

Being ignored/ostracised is not an easy ride. It's saying you won't bother expending any energy on them, they don't deserve the steam off your piss.

Lucky I piloted the idea here before going national as it's gone down like FFs approval rating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

This is the Political Party which has destroyed this country without conscience, and you think a red rag is going to upset them? I want to send a message too it goes along the lines of go away, but definitely doesn't have 'sort yourselves out' in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Already planning on giving a white feather to any Greens who call to my door.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Would you prefer that canvasser came to your door, without knocking, left leaflets saying "Sorry I missed you, your TD"

Demand an explanation, make them aware they work for you not just at election time, but year round, phone them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Green might be more obvious......show you're acting on behalf of, and for the good of, Ireland, unlike them.

EDIT : Sorry, you're probably right; blue it is, since everyone is feeling "blue" these days because of FF policies.

Blue again displays a dubious political legacy like Red (Blue, blueshirts, facist etc). Green is too like the Green party. White would be a sign of surrender.

Personally I'd go yellow. No party has it as their colour so there is no political agenda. It can mean all parties are welcome to call to my door and make their case EXCEPT FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

I think it's be a better use of time to print off one of their PDFs, wipe your arse with it & then post it to head office. Surely 10/20/30 thousand of these would give them a better message

It's not about hurting their feelings. Allowing them talk gives them your ear and your time- it gives them some power. Think of boards. If a poster has lost all your respect and you couldn't be bothered listening to their BS you hit the ignore button. It's a message that says you are not worth debating with, you are not worth my time. Shouting at them is paying them attention

touts wrote: »
    Blue again displays a dubious political legacy like Red (Blue, blueshirts, facist etc).

I'm aware of that, and I think that's why it was suggested by a poster, trying to imply that anyone who's against FF is a "blueshirt", rather than a concerned and battered citizen who has no political allegience and just wants someone capable of doing the feckin' job!
    ftouts wrote: »
    Green is too like the Green party. White would be a sign of surrender.

We'll go green and white, so! They go hand in hand!

touts wrote: »
    Personally I'd go yellow. No party has it as their colour so there is no political agenda. It can mean all parties are welcome to call to my door and make their case EXCEPT FF.

Pretty appropriate, actually, considering its association with cowardice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Put an A4 sheet up with it written on it in bold or nobody will know what the message your trying to bring across is.

Something like:
    If politician be you, here be demons :P

Or you could answer and say why you won't vote for them so they'll at least know your not found of corruption and bankrupting the state in future.

iMax wrote: »
    I think it's be a better use of time to print off one of their PDFs, wipe your arse with it & then post it to head office. Surely 10/20/30 thousand of these would give them a better message

FF have already fvcked my ass, they ain't gonna get me to wipe it with paper.

If anyone saw Gangs of New York, towards the end of the film people lit a candle and put it in their window if they supported more riots, it was a visible sign of support and solidarity.

FF could always deny receiving any ****ty protest. This'd be visible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

iMax wrote: »

Jesus, you must have a lot of it for 10/20/30 thousand. Hang on, you have a helper. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

I am going to make up a large sign, message to be decided yet. I will have it just inside my front door, when the Traitors Of Destiny or the Yellows call round I will promptly put on my jacket and follow them around my estate with the sign and stand outside each house until they **** off and not come back.

One for FF and one for the Greens.

Never forget what those parasites did to this country.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

If they call to my door, I'll have two printed A4 pages of questions and ask them if they can fill them in - the questions will pertain to they economy, job creation, social and electoral reform. And if they fill them in, I'll correct them with angry red pen like a peevish teacher - spelling corrections, grammar etc, and then mark them Zero.

F*ck I'm bored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

If they come to my door i'll give them a good smack in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Big Vern

When they call to my door ill have some serious questions for them...

One thing people could do is, when they get the literature from FF candidate posted to them, they should stick it back in the post return to sender..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I'm printing this out and sticking it to the front door

mugabe.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

I hope one of the traitors calls to my door , but I don't believe that any FF'ers will have the neck to come canvassing this time.

If they have any shame they will present themselves at the nearest garda station for questioning instead. Bunch of crooks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Seanachai

I'd pretend to be sympathetic and say that 'People don't appreciate how your backs are against the wall , you've had to make all the tough decisions' and 'We are where we are and we have to move forward'. I'd then invite the TD in and the lackey that they always bring with them and give them tea laced with crushed dulco-lax tablets and biscuits laced with a little chili powder and enough Senna to have them s**ting their brains out for three days. I'd send them on their way safe in the knowledge that there's a strong chance that they'll s**t themselves on somebody's doorstep an hour later. I'm serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Anybody who thinks giving your FF canvasser an ear bashing is going to do any good is wasting their breath, it'll be forgotten by the time they knock on the next door. They are not interested in people who are not going to vote for them, only in those who are.
    If you really want to get back at them, convince them they have your vote and then leave all FF candidates off your ballot paper. Convince everyone you know to do the same and then go and watch the faces of the tallymen as the boxes are opened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Mexicola wrote: »
    I am going to make up a large sign, message to be decided yet. I will have it just inside my front door, when the Traitors Of Destiny or the Yellows call round I will promptly put on my jacket and follow them around my estate with the sign and stand outside each house until they **** off and not come back.
    In fairness they'll probably just think you're just another loon.

I used to canvass for a certain political party from a child up until my late teenage years when I went away to college. I always miss canvassing largely because would have had a field day with someone like you. One candidate I was canvassing with actually called some old lady a c--t to her face - and he got elected.
    You see a lot of sh*t on doorsteps, lots of funny people, lots of crazy people. But most canvassers like me are only there because they're natural talkers and enjoy having a bit of a laugh with constituents; when someone goes absolutely crazy the canvassers often just walk away and laugh about it.

It might be disheartening but it's true. Candidates and canvassers don't pay a lot of attention to what is said on canvassing outings. If you really want to show your disaffection, do it on polling day, not some petty revenge like hanging pantyliners on your door or chasing the candidate 'round the estate - that's the sort of thing a candidate will likely end up joking to his mates about in the pub later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Yes, but you canvassed in normal times.

The OPs idea is a good one (don't know about a red rag though) but the idea of 'shunning' them is a goody.
    I really do not want to wind myself up by telling them that i think every last one of them, lackeys and all are the lowest rats in the State - it is a waste of my breath because thick gangsters like that won't get it.

So shun them, let them know you won't listen this time, next time and every other time after that.

A poster in my living room window will do just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭superhooper

bmaxi wrote: »
    Anybody who thinks giving your FF canvasser an ear bashing is going to do any good is wasting their breath, it'll be forgotten by the time they knock on the next door. They are not interested in people who are not going to vote for them, only in those who are.
    If you really want to get back at them, convince them they have your vote and then leave all FF candidates off your ballot paper. Convince everyone you know to do the same and then go and watch the faces of the tallymen as the boxes are opened.

No you must lecture to them at the doorstep.We should make them fear ringing each door bell and when they open the ballot boxes then go there and berate them more!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Stroke Politics

I suggested a few weeks back that I'd have my camán reidh, ach fuair mé an carta dearg.

But after witnessing some protesters at Dáil Éireann last Wednesday, I'm thinking now that I'll have a pot and a large spoon ready, and bang them constantly in the general direction of the Fianna Fáil/Fianna Glas canvassers when they attempt to enter my property. Then I'll follow after them as they attempt to canvass my neighbours house, and the house after them, and the house after them each of us joining in with our soup pots, and spoons creating a cacophonous rattle that will force them to abandon our estate. Iceland created a fair bit of noise that way last year, and negotiated a settlement of 3 - 3.5% with their Dutch and UK creditors......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Feck that people in our area have more than a little surprise planned for them in the New Year. Can't wait till they come a knocking.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I just moved and I now have two FF TD's in my constituency... Lucky me. Not sure what I'd do or say but it wouldn't be positive that's for sure. I'm hoping I wouldn't get too angry.

Roisin Shortall (Lab)
    Noel Ahern (FF)
    Pat Carey (FF)

The people of Dublin North West have a lot to answer for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Gonna hang a used jam rag off my front gate for them.
    Although FF being the vampires that they are, they'd probably love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Are all of you outraged people hanging red rags, banging pots in unison and chasing Fianna Fail from your estates about to do anything else?

Considering, particularly, that many residents of these same estates have taken out ridiculously high mortgages and someone might even say that such people are themselves responsible for the rot at the core of the Irish debt problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

later10 wrote: »
    Considering, particularly, that many residents of these same estates have taken out ridiculously high mortgages and someone might even say that such people are themselves responsible for the rot at the core of the Irish debt problem.

Mortgage-payers didn't cause the bank crisis, the property developers did.

The overwhelming majority of people who took out massive mortgages are still paying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Stroke Politics

later10 wrote: »
    Are all of you outraged people hanging red rags, banging pots in unison and chasing Fianna Fail from your estates about to do anything else?

The law prevents me from expressing the true level of anger I feel at the moment. The big joke is on us all of course, but the purpose of the thread is about sending a message to the government parties. They were the ones who designed and built this pyramid scheme, we were all scammed into it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

raymon wrote: »
    If they have any shame they will present themselves at the nearest garda station for questioning instead. Bunch of crooks
    I'm not so sure what I've done. Should I tell them to contact raymon and he'll give them a description of all of the laws I've broken?
    Seanachai wrote: »
    I'd then invite the TD in and the lackey that they always bring with them and give them tea laced with crushed dulco-lax tablets and biscuits laced with a little chili powder and enough Senna to have them s**ting their brains out for three days. I'd send them on their way safe in the knowledge that there's a strong chance that they'll s**t themselves on somebody's doorstep an hour later. I'm serious.
    It's an election, do you honestly think any candidate is going to come in for a cuppa??
    bmaxi wrote: »
    Learned that lesson in '07, never believe a voter, 70-80% of them are liars based on the doorstep response and the tally.

Protest all you like, but by ignoring only one party you're not participating in Democracy. I give other parties a grilling at the door, but I do listen to what they have to say and tell them from the start they're talking for a preference only, however the Christian Solidarity Party never knock, yer man just drives around at all hours pumping his "Vote Conor O'Donoghue, Christian Solidarity Party, for......................." I've phoned the Gardaí a few times on this ****e as it gives me a ****ing headache, and I'm sure there's small children trying to sleep after 9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

ninty9er wrote: »
    I'm not so sure what I've done. Should I tell them to contact raymon and he'll give them a description of all of the laws I've broken?

Will you be canvassing with Willie ( come here till I tell you a lie ) O Dea ?

Good luck - I hope it goes well

ninty9er wrote: »
    Protest all you like, but by ignoring only one party you're not participating in Democracy.

Pretty big claim, but since we're "ignoring one party" as a possible vote target because of their dire track record, it's a serious misdirection.

BTW, I'm "ignoring" 3 parties - again because of their track record and their ethos, and again I'm not actually "ignoring" them, I'm ruling them out completely - FF, The Greens & SF; but I'm pretty sure I'm participating in democracy in doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Pretty big claim, but since we're "ignoring one party" as a possible vote target because of their dire track record, it's a serious misdirection.

BTW, I'm "ignoring" 3 parties - again because of their track record and their ethos, and again I'm not actually "ignoring" them, I'm ruling them out completely - FF, The Greens & SF; but I'm pretty sure I'm participating in democracy in doing so.

So if, completely hypothetically, Fine Gael wanted to reduce the minimum wage to €3.50 and abolish the tax exemption limit, reduce the higher rate of PAYE to 30% and increase the standard rate to 24%, whilst all other parties were going to leave income tax rates and minimum wage unchanged, you would chose to listen to what they had to say based on a track record of 30 months in government in a 23 year period.

Manifestos have not yet been published by any party, so theoretically the above could be included.

To be honest, politics is about what you are going to do, and while you have every right to throw track record at Fianna Fáil in particular, in relation to inept supervision of regulators, the opposition is the government regulator.

This isn't a line I stole from a Prime Time interview, I've been using it for months, there are still more than 1.8 million people working in this country. That's is not a failure.

Were it not for Anglo, Ireland would be suffering a mild recession, and would in all probability have gotten out of it after 2-3 quarters.

The size of Ireland's fiscal deficit (the one created by government policy) is still extremely manageable.

I don't think you would find any TD among any of the parties that supported the guarantee (Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, Sinn Féin, Green Party) who would do the same knowing what we now know about Anglo. It would have been possible to recapitalise all of the other banks at the time, but Anglo was the iceberg that sunk the Titanic. It wasn't a policy of government so much as a decision taken at a snapshot in time to ensure people would be able to get cash from ATMs.

I don't think anyone knows what the "best" course of action is, even still.

To argue that on the doorsteps is partly unfair, as there was a belief that Ireland as an economy would cease to exist. The lights would go out, there would be no way of importing anything, oil, food, anything. We would have gone from developed economy to North Korea in the space of 3/4 weeks.