Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EB Licence

• 09-12-2010 4:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

Just curious...

Would everyone on here have the correct licence to pull a trailer (with a jeep)? (Gross weight of trailer over 750kgs)

Another thing I heard from a driving instructor yesterday was that a double axle trailer can only be pulled legally by a 4X4 vehicle(be it a car or a jeep)

I've been winging it for a while, but I'm doing it soon, not worth it if I had an accident, God forbid :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Muckit wrote: »
    Just curious...

Would everyone on here have the correct licence to pull a trailer (with a jeep)? (Gross weight of trailer over 750kgs)

Another thing I heard from a driving instructor yesterday was that a double axle trailer can only be pulled legally by a 4X4 vehicle(be it a car or a jeep)

I've been winging it for a while, but I'm doing it soon, not worth it if I had an accident, God forbid :rolleyes:
    yes thats correct you need ajeep but its just one of the many laws brought in and no one takes any notice .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Guards around here are checking big time for the EB licence if you are pulling a trailer after a vehicle and the combined weight is over 750KG. In reality you'd need to be driving a mini and pulling a wheelbarrow not to be over this weight limit. I got stopped a number of months back with the jeep and 12x6 cattle trailer without the EB licence. They let me away with it but warned me that I should have a minimum of a provisional EB licence and that I should do the test asap.

Biggest problem isn't being caught without it because you can bluff your way out of it by telling them that you thought the load had to be over 750kg as some people have done, but its if you have an accident and your insurance won't cover you because you don't have a licence. If someone got hurt or god forbid killed, it would be a definite jail sentence for you. On your insurance cert, it states that cover is provided under the assumption that you have the correct licence. If you don't, then you're not covered.

Currently have a provisional EB licence (which I had to do a theory test for) and have applied to do the driiving test. Have been stopped a number of times since and the provisional licence has been acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Upstream

Have full B licence for almost ten years, just got the provisional EB license this year so I can take a trailer to the mart. Had to take the car and work vehicle theory test before I could get the EB provisional.

I'd say most people don't even have a provisional in this category. Although I think it was easier to get in years gone by, lots of people seem to have this license without ever having to take an extra test. I think you could just tick the box after passing the main B test or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

Just curious...

If so, it has only been introduced very recently. I did an EB test last March towing a double axle trailer with a 2WD car.
    I had heard various stories about jeeps and 4wds etc so I asked the tester - he knew nothing of the sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Jack C

Just looked at mine. Have B, C1, EB, EC1 and W. Only ever done a test for a car. I think it was 1991 --- just before the newer "Euro-type" licence came in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Upstream wrote: »
    Have full B licence for almost ten years, just got the provisional EB license this year so I can take a trailer to the mart. Had to take the car and work vehicle theory test before I could get the EB provisional.

I'd say most people don't even have a provisional in this category. Although I think it was easier to get in years gone by, lots of people seem to have this license without ever having to take an extra test. I think you could just tick the box after passing the main B test or something like that.

how much was it to do test,,,

did you ever do the theory test before, i did 8 9 years ago, so i hope i dont need to do it again to get the provisional, its all a load of bollox really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Milton09 wrote: »
    If so, it has only been introduced very recently. I did an EB test last March towing a double axle trailer with a 2WD car.
    I had heard various stories about jeeps and 4wds etc so I asked the tester - he knew nothing of the sort.

Maybe you are right Milton09, just repeating what the driving instructor said. It's alot got to do with the weight of the towing vehicle too in relation to the weight of the trailer (and load) being towed.

Do you mind me asking you whether the trailer you used for the test was open or closed in and what size was it? I think the trailer has to be at least the width of the towing vehicle.

What kind of extra things do you have to do in the EB test over standard car test? The reverse is the main thing I presume? Do you have to reverse just using the mirrors or what? I presume you can't open the door and lean half way out?:D:D

reilig wrote: »
    Guards around here are checking big time for the EB licence if you are pulling a trailer after a vehicle and the combined weight is over 750KG. In reality you'd need to be driving a mini and pulling a wheelbarrow not to be over this weight limit. I got stopped a number of months back with the jeep and 12x6 cattle trailer without the EB licence. They let me away with it but warned me that I should have a minimum of a provisional EB licence and that I should do the test asap.

Biggest problem isn't being caught without it because you can bluff your way out of it by telling them that you thought the load had to be over 750kg as some people have done, but its if you have an accident and your insurance won't cover you because you don't have a licence. If someone got hurt or god forbid killed, it would be a definite jail sentence for you. On your insurance cert, it states that cover is provided under the assumption that you have the correct licence. If you don't, then you're not covered.

Currently have a provisional EB licence (which I had to do a theory test for) and have applied to do the driiving test. Have been stopped a number of times since and the provisional licence has been acceptable.

I'm in the same boat as you Reilig. Have the prov EB licence, but as you said unless you've a passenger with a full EB licence besde you, your insurance ain't worth the paper it's written on.

I got sense after I was pulling a 18mth old heifer back from the mart 2 years ago. Pulling twin axle cow box with a standard saloon car. Heifer moved suddenly in the box and we fish tailed down the road totally out of control. Thank God I hit no one. I spun and wrote off the car, the trailer catapulted down the road and overturned. Pins opened in the back door and we spend half the day with 15 people helping trying to catch and reload her. Nightmare stuff and something I never want to go through again.

We bought a jeep straight after. It's all very well taking a chance, but as Reilig said, when something goes wrong you could be up sh*t creek without a paddle:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

How does one actually do the test?:confused: I never heard of anyone doing a test with a trailer on the back of a car or van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Guards around here are checking big time for the EB licence if you are pulling a trailer after a vehicle and the combined weight is over 750KG.

"Vehicles with seats for up to 8 passengers and a maximum weight of 3,500kg (includes pulling a trailer where the maximum weight of the trailer when fully loaded is 750kg or less)"

For a B licence (car) The combined weight must be under 3500 kgs and the trailer including load not exceed 750 kgs

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/driver_licensing/categories_of_motor_vehicles_and_minimum_age_of_drivers_in_ireland.html

to answer op's query yes I have EB and EC,

Just to clarify, if you have a provisional licence, you are insured whether you have a full licence holder with you or not. Having a passenger with a full EB licence is not a requirement for your insurance company - just the guards.
    I'm in the same boat as you Reilig. Have the prov EB licence, but as you said unless you've a passenger with a full EB licence besde you, your insurance ain't worth the paper it's written on.

I got sense after I was pulling a 18mth old heifer back from the mart 2 years ago. Pulling twin axle cow box with a standard saloon car. Heifer moved suddenly in the box and we fish tailed down the road totally out of control. Thank God I hit no one. I spun and wrote off the car, the trailer catapulted down the road and overturned. Pins opened in the back door and we spend half the day with 15 people helping trying to catch and reload her. Nightmare stuff and something I never want to go through again.

We bought a jeep straight after. It's all very well taking a chance, but as Reilig said, when something goes wrong you could be up sh*t creek without a paddle:rolleyes:

kay 9 wrote: »
    How does one actually do the test?:confused: I never heard of anyone doing a test with a trailer on the back of a car or van.

Yes to be able to pull a trailer & load over 750kgs (which is not very much!) your standard B licence [EMAIL="WON@T"]WON'T[/EMAIL] cover you.

You have to have an EB licence, which requires you do the test with a trailer.

The reason you haven't probably heard of many doing it, is because many people haven't done it!! Which is precisely why I put up this post!:D

For example my Father has all his Cathegories (even artic!!) even though he never had to do a test in them (just the way things were years ago)

But what I want to make people (especially young people) aware of is that if you are of a certain age you would have had to do an EB test to hold a EB licence and if you haven't an EB licence you are effectively breaking the law pulling any sort of half decent sized loaded trailer (unless you bought your trailer in B&Q!):D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

I have my eb provisional now but was told have to wait 6 months before i can do the test, can anyone tell me what the test entails, i have a 12 by 5 cow box or a 14 ft flat bed beavertail trailer, would i be handier with just a little twin axle builders trailer ? are there 'tight' manouvers u have to undertake?

how much was it to do test,,,

It was around €35 I think. You have to apply online at http://www.theorytest.ie/ You need to have a valid theory test from the past two years (I had to do it as I'd never done one at all)

It's a bit of a pain having to do the test but my advice is get the Official Driver Theory Test CD so you only have to do it once.

Either buy it or borrow a copy from your local library, that costs about €2 to join so probably the cheapest way, and run through the questions on it and do some sample tests. It covers ALL the questions you can be asked in the exam. The questions aren't too bad, most are fairly obvious but some are tricky and the pass rate is 35/40 which is fairly high, and there are some questions like stopping distances that you can't really guess, you need to memorise them.

You also need an eyesight report and passport photos etc before you can get the provisional. I think getting the provisional itself cost around €15 once I'd the rest out of the way.

For example my Father has all his Cathegories (even artic!!) even though he never had to do a test in them (just the way things were years ago)

So does my father, everything up to a 50 seater bus with a trailer :eek:. I reckon if aeroplanes were on the same licence form, he'd be licenced to fly a jumbo jet (and probably jumbo jet with a trailer too :D). Different times I suppose.

I agree when you say there are probably lots of young people who don't realise they aren't covered to drive with a trailer after them. They see lots of older guys in the mart, who never did any more than the car test, driving around with trailers, and fully covered. So it never occurs to them that they're not covered in the same situation.

I remember after I passed the test for the car, when I applied for the full licence I ticked the box for the EB in the hope I'd get the trailer as well. It didn't work. :rolleyes: But that was all you had to do in times gone by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

im only 20 and always using trailers. was looking on that website that was metioned but cant find anything about eb lience. might just do the provisonal one cos somone said it will get u away with de insurance.gaurds around here musint inforce it cos they overtook me the other night and trailer had a flat wheel,no lights and was crabing up the road sideways~(wasnt my trailer;)) how do i bookthe theroy test

Dupont wrote: »
    im only 20 and always using trailers. was looking on that website that was metioned but cant find anything about eb lience. might just do the provisonal one cos somone said it will get u away with de insurance.gaurds around here musint inforce it cos they overtook me the other night and trailer had a flat wheel,no lights and was crabing up the road sideways~(wasnt my trailer;)) how do i bookthe theroy test

The theorytest site's not very clear about trailers but from their FAQ you should be looking at Category BW
    There are four separate driver theory test categories: Motorcycles and Mopeds (Category AM), Cars and Work vehicles and Land Tractors (Category BW), Heavy Goods Vehicles (Category C) and Buses (Category D).

Here's the link to book a test
    http://www.theorytest.ie/english/driver-theory-test/how-to-book.php

Ford4000 wrote: »
    I have my eb provisional now but was told have to wait 6 months before i can do the test, can anyone tell me what the test entails, i have a 12 by 5 cow box or a 14 ft flat bed beavertail trailer, would i be handier with just a little twin axle builders trailer ? are there 'tight' manouvers u have to undertake?

The instructor just told me that the trailer has to be braked, and have all lights working of course, and be at least the width of the towing vehicle.

He then preceeded to say there's some loop hole that if your towing car/jeep is Pre2004, you can use a flatbed/biulders trailer, but over '04 the trailer has to be closed in.

Maybe this is bullsh*t, but this is just what one instructor told me on Wednesday...:rolleyes: I'd prefer to do it with a builders type trailer alright.

I think the reverse is the main difference. You can reverse in to the left or the right, they give you the choice. I'm not so sure

It was around €35 I think. You have to apply online at http://www.theorytest.ie/ You need to have a valid theory test from the past two years (I had to do it as I'd never done one at all)

It's a bit of a pain having to do the test but my advice is get the Official Driver Theory Test CD so you only have to do it once.

Either buy it or borrow a copy from your local library, that costs about €2 to join so probably the cheapest way, and run through the questions on it and do some sample tests. It covers ALL the questions you can be asked in the exam. The questions aren't too bad, most are fairly obvious but some are tricky and the pass rate is 35/40 which is fairly high, and there are some questions like stopping distances that you can't really guess, you need to memorise them.

You also need an eyesight report and passport photos etc before you can get the provisional. I think getting the provisional itself cost around €15 once I'd the rest out of the way.

thanks

If you did the theory test for your b licence, then you don't have to do it again for the EB licence
    Dupont wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

The instructor just told me that the trailer has to be braked, and have all lights working of course, and be at least the width of the towing vehicle.

He then preceeded to say there's some loop hole that if your towing car/jeep is Pre2004, you can use a flatbed/biulders trailer, but over '04 the trailer has to be closed in.

Maybe this is bullsh*t, but this is just what one instructor told me on Wednesday...:rolleyes: I'd prefer to do it with a builders type trailer alright.

I think the reverse is the main difference. You can reverse in to the left or the right, they give you the choice. I'm not so sure

Yes this is correct ,after 04 reg the trailer has to be closed in.
    In my test I had to reverse around a left hand turn, no choice.
    I had a pre 04 car so used a 8.5 X 4.5 builders trailer.

You have to use mirrors only, you cannot look around or look out window.
    Its more difficult than you think, as it can be in a build up area with lots of
    traffic, people around etc.

Also got asked a few general trailer questions in the car park before setting off, like describe the procedure to safely couple/uncouple the trailer.

Milton09 wrote: »
    Yes this is correct ,after 04 reg the trailer has to be closed in.
    In my test I had to reverse around a left hand turn, no choice.
    I had a pre 04 car so used a 8.5 X 4.5 builders trailer.

You have to use mirrors only, you cannot look around or look out window.
    Its more difficult than you think, as it can be in a build up area with lots of
    traffic, people around etc.

Also got asked a few general trailer questions in the car park before setting off, like describe the procedure to safely couple/uncouple the trailer.

Thanks for info! I've sent away application for driving test. Will have to borrow a right triler though! Jeep is '97, so could use builders trailer. I think I might use a bigger trailer though, might be easier to reverse (can borrow a 10X5 IW cattle trailer)

Reverse with mirrors only will be tricky. I have a full D bus licence, had to reverse coach around a corner for that, but that was relatively easy, being rigid. I don't know many or seen many who could reverse a trailer just using mirrors. Just practice I suppose....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

I'm puzzled. :confused: The description of the trailer for an EB license is:

"The cargo compartment of the trailer shall consist of a closed box body which is at least as wide and as high as the motor vehicle, and have a length of at least 2.4 metres."

Whats the story with a car transporter then? Its essentially a flat bed trailer, with no body on it. The load weight is over 750kg, its wider than the car and longer than 2.4m so I would have thought i'd need an EB license to pull it. :confused::confused::confused:

I'm puzzled. :confused: The description of the trailer for an EB license is:

"The cargo compartment of the trailer shall consist of a closed box body which is at least as wide and as high as the motor vehicle, and have a length of at least 2.4 metres."

Whats the story with a car transporter then? Its essentially a flat bed trailer, with no body on it. The load weight is over 750kg, its wider than the car and longer than 2.4m so I would have thought i'd need an EB license to pull it. :confused::confused::confused:

You most certainly do vincenzolorenzo need EB for this. You are not insured just with a B and your insurance company would NOT be obliged to pay out if you were in an accident

And if you met a stubborn guard, not only would you be fined, but he could make you drop the trailer on the hard shoulder, as your not insured to pull it!! How long do you think it'd stay there? :D

Believe me I wouldn't be applying for mine if I thought I'd get away with it!:D Got a letter back to say applic received, now must book a lesson!

I'm borrowing a trailer off a friend to do the test. The funny thing is, when I quizzed him on it, he hasn't an EB himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭LCruiser Kid

Just came across this thread while looking through the farming section.
    It has concerned me as I being 21 is towing an 8x4 builders trailer and an 8x4 cattle trailer behind the jeep on a regular basis.
    Like one poster I ticked the box "EB" on the licence when applying for the full one when I was 18. Never worked out.
    Have passed plenty of gaurds witha loaded trailer and touchwood no problems yet. Depens on the Gaurd you meet though. :eek:

I must set about getting the provisional EB in the new year as with Dad working I'm the one who is sent off with the trailer or box when I'm home from college or whatever. Better to be safer than sorry what with insurance and everything. Not worth the risk if something happens.
    Like everything, it's grand until something happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I take it if you pull a trailor or cow box with a tractor you dont need an eb as the w will do.
    I think you might also need to insure the cow box these days in case it comes off the hitch and hits something

Lads

Just to update. Took a lesson on the EB.

The instructor informed me and after reading it on the RSA website, that from 4 April 2011 any person applying for a provisional licence (learner permit) will have to take out 12 compulsory driving lessons (€€€€ !!!) No, the lessons you did for B don't count, EB is separate:rolleyes:

Simply, get your prov EB before March if your towing a trailer and save €'s;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭candor

Thanks for letting us know.

I got my full b license in 2007.

What tests do I take?

I presume I have to take the theory test for cars again? Then apply for the license? Or is there more I need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭dryan

I dont have the EB license either.
    first things first - what do i need to do to get the provisional one?

i see enough info in the above threads to see what i need to do to apply for the test.

Ta!

dryan wrote: »
    I dont have the EB license either.
    first things first - what do i need to do to get the provisional one?

i see enough info in the above threads to see what i need to do to apply for the test.

Ta!

First thing, get the application form for the provisional from your local motor tax office, it should give you a list of things you need before you apply, like eyesight report, photos, theory test, etc.

If you haven't taken the theory test for cars in the last two years, you'll need to retake it, some advice on how best to pass it on this thread, and more over on the motoring forum.

Once you have a pass cert from your theory test and all the other stuff you need, fill in the form and send it off to get your provisional.

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭candor

First thing, get the application form for the provisional from your local motor tax office, it should give you a list of things you need before you apply, like eyesight report, photos, theory test, etc.

If you haven't taken the theory test for cars in the last two years, you'll need to retake it, some advice on how best to pass it on this thread, and more over on the motoring forum.

Once you have a pass cert from your theory test and all the other stuff you need, fill in the form and send it off to get your provisional.

Best of luck

Thanks,

Will need to get the theory test again as mine will be out of date.

Lads

Just to update. Took a lesson on the EB.

The instructor informed me and after reading it on the RSA website, that from 4 April 2011 any person applying for a provisional licence (learner permit) will have to take out 12 compulsory driving lessons (€€€€ !!!) No, the lessons you did for B don't count, EB is separate:rolleyes:

Simply, get your prov EB before March if your towing a trailer and save €'s;)

I have mine for 4 months now. Don't you have to wait 6 months until you can apply for the test?

Don't you have to wait 6 months until you can apply for the test?

Your right. It was brought in apparently to stop people who haven't prepared, going for a practical test and wasting everyone's time.

The irony of it all is that not very many driving instructors out there ever did the EB test themselves,and they are the ones 'teaching' lads !!

My fella was giving me the whole theory of how I should reverse the trailer, but when he hopped in himself to do it he made a pigs ear of it!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭aristo

So before April its a 6month period minimum on a provisional before taking the test and from April on its the 6 month period and 12 lessons required before taking the test
    The theory test only has a validity period of 2 years but was told in the tax office today that they had on file that I passed it 9 years ago so it doesnt need to be sat again.

aristo wrote: »
    So before April its a 6month period minimum on a provisional before taking the test and from April on its the 6 month period and 12 lessons required before taking the test
    The theory test only has a validity period of 2 years but was told in the tax office today that they had on file that I passed it 9 years ago so it doesnt need to be sat again.

No, the 6 month waiting period before you can apply for your test has been in place for the last 2 years. Thought the theory test was valid forever???

12 lessons is only for those who apply for a provisional after april.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

I rang the motor tax office about the provisional EB license this morning. I told her that I had done the theory test back in 2002 (or thereabouts) and would I need to do a new one. She told me i wouldn't have to, just send in the application form and my current B license and thats all thats required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭leex

I got my B license in 1996 so am I right in saying to get EB now I need to do the following:

* Apply for a theory test before Feb 1st as the cost of test is rising by 5euro
    * Sit the test say sometime late Feb/early March
    * Apply for provisional EB before April 1st or I'll need to have done 12 lessons also.

Is this test material worth purchasing or is there anywhere it can be got cheaper, ie library : http://dttstore.prometric.com/

Is there an actual test for W category?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭robin3

hi, just interested to hear how this panned out... you had an accident with car and trailer with no eb licence, luckily no one was hurt but car and persumably trailer badly damaged, Did the insurance pay out for car? or for car and trailer, had you insurance for the trailer?
    Just heard something similiar happen to a relative yest and they don't know how they're fixed?

robin3 wrote: »
    hi, just interested to hear how this panned out...

As I stated, insurance is a none runner. We didn't/couldn't go down that route. Just lucky we didn't hit and injure somebody else or the claims could have caused us to sell the farm.

Best of luck to your relatives. It's a messy situation to be in. Hopefully no-one was hurt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

lads is there much to this theory test, i need to do it to get provisional eb, i see on the testing site they are trying to sell a cd kit for something like 30 euro, robbers..

You can borrow a copy of the CD from your local library, only costs around €2 to join.
    Or find someone who's recently sat the test and has a copy.

Definitely get the CD, could save you €35 retest fee:eek: You can go through each section and get an idea of what the questions are like, then do a few sample tests to make sure you know enough to get a pass on the day.
    All the questions they can ask are on the CD, so if you do them all you'll be well covered.

Good luck

leex wrote: »

Is this test material worth purchasing or is there anywhere it can be got cheaper, ie library : http://dttstore.prometric.com/
    Yeah, the local library is your best bet
    Is there an actual test for W category?

It's the same test as for the car I think

From their site
    http://eu-securereg3.prometric.com/programinformation.aspx?mode=schedule

Theory Test Certificate Category
    Driving Licence/Learner Permit Category
    AM (Motorcycle, Moped)
    A, A1 and M

BW (Car, Work Vehicles/Tractor)
    B, EB and W

C (Trucks)
    C, C1, EC and EC1

D (Bus)
    D, D1, ED and ED1

Category
    Details
    A
    Motorcycles
    A1
    Motorcycles with an engine capacity not exceeding 125 cubic centimetres and with a power rating not exceeding 11 kilowatts
    B
    Cars (and other vehicles) having a design gross weight not exceeding 3,500kg and having passenger accommodation for 8 (or fewer) persons. Motorcycles, mopeds, work vehicles and land tractors are not included)
    C
    Trucks (or other vehicles) having a design gross weight exceeding 3,500kg, and having passenger accommodation for 8 (or fewer) persons. (Work vehicles and land tractors are not included)
    C1
    (Trucks or other vehicles) in C having a design gross weight not exceeding 7,500kg
    D
    Buses having passenger accommodation for more than 8 persons
    D1
    Buses in D having accommodation for not more than 16 persons
    M
    Mopeds
    W
    Work vehicles and land tractors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Redmac

A mate was talked into trying for a C licence, and it would cover him for towing and another feather in his cap. Was thinking of doing it myself. Could cost a couple of hundred quid!

Redmac wrote: »
    A mate was talked into trying for a C licence, and it would cover him for towing and another feather in his cap. Was thinking of doing it myself. Could cost a couple of hundred quid!

It won't cover him or you. It will have to be an EC or an EC1 as even a c licence on its own won't cover you to pull a trailer after a car or jeep. You will have to do the C test first, then apply for the EC provisional licence and then do thh EC test. The EC test is very difficuly if you don't have an articulated lorry to practice on for at least 20 hours before going for the test. You will also require several proper driving lessons on the correct use of mirrors etc. You could be looking at several thousand quid depending on your current driving experience and ability.

Redmac wrote: »

Your not totally right there Redmac. He'I need to have a EC, and as Reilig said, he'I have to have a FULL C first before doing the EC!!

It costs roughly €400 to just get to do the C test believe it or not. That's not counting lessons! You've the two CPC tests, theory test, photographs, provisional licence and full licence fees etc etc.

Lessons are around another €100 a pop, depending on who you do them with and how long lesson sessions are. You'I at least need 10-12. You'd really want to want it!

Personally, I think if your not going to need a C or EC, it's easier just do the EB test

If that's not bad enough, I read in the paper today that the cost of applying for a driving test and doing the theory test has gone up!

I think it's €85 now to do the practical test and just over €40 to do the theory test!

It's all bloody money!

I'm still waiting for a date for my EB test:rolleyes: I'm sending a letter today stating that I need to do it asap for 'farming purposes', hopefully it'I speed things up!!:D

If that's not bad enough, I read in the paper today that the cost of applying for a driving test and doing the theory test has gone up!

I think it's €85 now to do the practical test and just over €40 to do the theory test!

It's all bloody money!

I'm still waiting for a date for my EB test:rolleyes: I'm sending a letter today stating that I need to do it asap for 'farming purposes', hopefully it'I speed things up!!:D

Get a vat number from a friend, colleague, local hardware etc. Send a letter with the vat number on it to say that this person has provisionally offered you a job on the condition that you have the EB licence. Get the Vat number provider to stand by your claim of the employment if he/she gets a call about it. You'll have a test date very quickly.