Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who will you be voting for?

• 08-12-2010 10:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭

With 4 seats up for grabs who will you be voting for in the next general election?

Fianna Fáil
    Sean Gallagher seems to be the highlight, of the group while others want to go such as Declan Breathnach and Sean Bellew. Argus says there is four looking for the nomination.

Sinn Féin
    Gerry Adams who IMO will top the polls but will the run two candidates?

Fine Gael
    I read in the Demo today they want to run three candidates one each for South, Mid and North Louth. Fergus O'Dowd being the candidate for South and will more then likely get back in. TBH I say they would be lucky to get a second seat.

Labour
    Gerald Nash is going forward for his party.

Green
    I'd say Mark Dearey will put his name forward.

Independent
    Anyone heard who is going forward?

Other
    Will Peter Short go again? I really do feel for this guy he has gone for so many elections and never got in.

So I think Adams, O'Dowd, FF candidate and FG/Labour/Greens trying to get the last seat.

Who will get your vote 113 votes

Fianna Fáil
    0% 0 votes
    Fine Gael
    7% 8 votes
    Labour
    24% 28 votes
    Green
    23% 27 votes
    Sinn Féin
    5% 6 votes
    Independent
    27% 31 votes
    Other
    11% 13 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Gerry.L

Sinn Fein all the way... as usual of course :D

Yeh I cant see Peter getting in. Hes not really cut out for politics at all. Hes just too laid back. And in fairness to the man the only time you ever really hear about him is come the elections when his poster is everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

there are 5 seats this year afaik, it was changed since the last one

one is already filled by seamus kirk.

one will be one by the shinners
    one will be one by fergus o dowd
    one will be won by ged nash
    one will be one by ff, id say it'll be liam reilly

i dont think gerry adams will top the poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

A public poll..... How daft...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Yes possibly better off making the result of the poll private?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

draffodx wrote: »
    Yes possibly better off making the result of the poll private?

Dont know why I made it public, sending a PM to the mods now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭mattock

Thomas Clare Independent is getting my vote, done so much community work and opposed all the big developers and never put in for any expenses during his term as councilor, he was also shafted by FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Gerry will be getting my vote. The mind boggles that people will still vote FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 greenart

its only a poll not the actual voting why should the result be private?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,083 ✭✭✭furiousox

Can you add a 'don't intend to vote' option to the poll?

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

If i were in Co Louth , it would be Gerry getting my vote..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

can people state the reasons why they are voting for certain candidates in instead of just saying names?

makes it a bit more interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

why vote for gerry adams , he hasnt a clue on local issues?

whelan1 wrote: »
    We have CCs for local issues ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

why are you voting for gerry adams ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

if imelda munster also ran for sinn fein she would get a lot of support in the south of the county imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

Fine Gael. I can't vote for FF and I need to vote for something different in order to hold the FF party accountable in whatever little way that I can. I would not vote for Labour because, even though Gilmore is a far more impressive public speaker than Kenny, that is all he is; a rhetoric merchant. They also have Joan Burton who is far worse than Kenny in my opinion. I would gladly vote for the Sinners but they are genuinely non-existent in my constituency. As such, unless something changes in SF circles, I would say FG will be getting my vote.

I'm still yet to talk to any candidates thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭ingen

remember folks the broadband situation in drogheda is dire, I wonder what percentage of the town can get near the 24mb DSL speeds that eircom ****e on about that they say is available in Drogheda..

remember to metion to any TD's that call to your door, about the dire DSL broadband situation, and the lack of real competition.......in the area.

why can a housing estate in east meath get 24mb broadband and a town the size of drogheda left with piss poor DSL speeds!

so dont forget to mention to them when they call looking for vote!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Adam's move to be included on the electoral register and therefore be a candidate in Dáil elections has failed at the first hurdle, after the address he used to register was rejected as being his residence due to lack of supporting evidence.
    Maybe Morgan shouldn't have been as quick to get back to the old fishing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Mervyn Crawford

Adam's unprincipled move to stand in Louth expresses the cynicism at the heart of Sinn Fein.

Idealist youth long, long ago gave up on the militant nationalism.

Sinn Fein are peopled by carreerists and their lackeys. Are voted for by default and through inertia.

SF are pulling a fast one with regard to the bail-out and economic crisis.

Populist demands for 'IMF out' are no different than Kenny's and Gilmour's posturing on the budget.

Fundamentally all the Dail parties are the same. They have all put forward programmes to repay the gambling debts of the billionaires.

Whatsmore, the antics of Boyd-Barret (SWP- People Before Profit, etc etc) and Higgins (Socialist party) in sowing mortally dangerous illusions in pressure politics ('people power') add more distractions to the mix.

The world capitalist system is in the process of breaking down.

The political establishment do the bidding of their masters in money-pots of the world. Sinn Fein want to be part of the top table in that establishment.

The only way for Irish people to move is through mass independent organisation. Both political and defence. As apart of a worldwide movement to end the capitalist system.

Dail machinations will solve nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

Wertz wrote: »
    Adam's move to be included on the electoral register and therefore be a candidate in Dáil elections has failed at the first hurdle, after the address he used to register was rejected as being his residence due to lack of supporting evidence.
    Maybe Morgan shouldn't have been as quick to get back to the old fishing...

Its not the huge factor that you are making it to be :rolleyes:

Adam's unprincipled move to stand in Louth expresses the cynicism at the heart of Sinn Fein.

Idealist youth long, long ago gave up on the militant nationalism.

Sinn Fein are peopled by carreerists and their lackeys. Are voted for by default and through inertia.

SF are pulling a fast one with regard to the bail-out and economic crisis.

Populist demands for 'IMF out' are no different than Kenny's and Gilmour's posturing on the budget.

Fundamentally all the Dail parties are the same. They have all put forward programmes to repay the gambling debts of the billionaires.

Whatsmore, the antics of Boyd-Barret (SWP- People Before Profit, etc etc) and Higgins (Socialist party) in sowing mortally dangerous illusions in pressure politics ('people power') add more distractions to the mix.

The world capitalist system is in the process of breaking down.

The political establishment do the bidding of their masters in money-pots of the world. Sinn Fein want to be part of the top table in that establishment.

The only way for Irish people to move is through mass independent organisation. Both political and defence. As apart of a worldwide movement to end the capitalist system.

Dail machinations will solve nothing.
    Idealist youths are the backbone of SF support and are backed up by oul cronies like me(45)
    SF TD'S do not take their full salaries and/or expences from Dail Eireann.
    Your argument is fully tilted against SF, and therefore regardless of what you say you have an agenda from the start against SF which renders your spiel null and void!!

why are you voting for gerry adams ffs
    Have you heard of this new democracy thing?? Catching on it is they reckon !!.!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭mattock

Well I do not want to be governed or led by ex-terrorists and I am sure the rest of the country dont.

mattock wrote: »
    Well I do not want to be governed or led by ex-terrorists and I am sure the rest of the country dont.
    And i sure dont want to be governed by the IMF for the next f*c*kn 20 years.Is Jacky Healy rae a terrorist of some sort do you reckon??Or Micky Lowry??
    The people will decide who leads them,i only express my opinion.

10greenbottles:

A political view which is against SF and against nationalism is not 'an agenda'. It is a democratic act. You claim to be for democracy.

Adams and the other SF representatives engage in stunts with regard to their 'salary, and/or expenses', they claim.

The salient issue however, is not their personal income; but their position on those who exploit the 'Irish people'.
    Morgan, and now Doherty's, Recovery Plan says it all in the title. It implies, and sets out a return to a recovered capitalist economic system.

SF are striking a left pose, as they have done on previous occasions, merely to try and keep a hold of working people who are actually moving to the left in search of a real answer to the world economic crisis.

Thee main lie that SF try to foist on Iirsh workers is that there can be an Irish soloution to this crisis - a la FF of the 1930s! And the removal of the border will release a tidal wave of economic bounty all on its own! Never mind that all the rest of the world is on the point of implosion. And that all the capitalist rulers, including the Irish, are secretly planning mass repression of political opposition to their rule. The only route open to the capitalist rulers is fascism and war. The few mebers in SF who have still to learn the lesson that Gerry Adams and the SF apparatus are cynics of the highest order will learn very quick;y that SF are no friends of the Irish workers; but are loyal servants of the real rulers of this country.

Mervyn,i think you are trying to start some sort of an argument here that dosn't exsist just to put your point across and to score points off SF.

Political stunts are one thing,isnt the country the way it is because of them? but the truth is that higher elected SF representatives only recieve a percentage of their salaries.That is a fact and you can do with it what you want.

SF arent "suddenly" striking a leftist pose,when where they never left??

The rest of your statement makes no sense,blah blah capitalist rulers,blah blah fascism and war,1930's FF etc..YAWN........Tis 2010 man,no one gives a **** about that these days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...And that shows just how little you actual know about Gerry!

To restate something I said in another thread:
    Actually, Mr Adams spends a LOT of time around Drogheda and its regions, even to Cloughterhead to aid local staff there, Danny Churchill and Ruth Tuite. Mr Adams been around this part of Louth for years.
    He's a regular on the streets of Drogheda sometimes.

....And I can say that as a definite non-Sinn Fein fan.
    He's always down in Drogheda. Has been for years and years (has friends/relatives/etc) there.
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056089139&highlight=gerry+adams

The man knows very well, local issues and is a regular face in talking to our local political heads down this direction. Its been that way for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Its not the huge factor that you are making it to be :rolleyes:

Hold on a minute...I'm just letting people know that Adams had an initial problem with his candidacy, in case they missed it on the news. I never said it was a major problem...I like to have a bit of craic on here...my jibe about Morgan was my bit for this thread.
    SF voters get very butt hurt on these forums at the slightest criticism...and I say that as someone who voted SF in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Gerry.L

Wertz wrote: »
    Hold on a minute...I'm just letting people know that Adams had an initial problem with his candidacy, in case they missed it on the news. I never said it was a major problem...I like to have a bit of craic on here...my jibe about Morgan was my bit for this thread.
    SF voters get very butt hurt on these forums at the slightest criticism...and I say that as someone who voted SF in the past.

He just said it wasnt a big issue.... your the only one that got "butt hurt"

10green

All you are expressing is narrow parochialism.

Sinnn Fein is a nationalist movement. That means it is comprised of persons from all classes who believe the over-riding issue in Ireland is the national question.

SF's 'left' pose is for appearances when it suits. Repeatedly reinforced by a slavish media who know exactly what stories to spin. Who know exactly what role SF are to play in the campaign by the ruling class to keep the working class away from revoloutionary socialism (www.wsws.org)

After the failed breakthrough at the last Dail elections did your leader, Mr Adams himself, not state that SF need to be more sympathetic to Business?

Adams' leftism, when it is not an out-and-out manufactured sham, amounts to a patronising pat on the head to 'poor people'.

SF's real constituency are not the working people of Ireland; but the small businessmen of Ireland who want a bigger 'slice of the action'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Gerry will be getting my vote. The mind boggles that people will still vote FF.

My mind boggles at the fact that so many people in Louth are going to vote Sinn Féin tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TommyT

Like many in politics, I am going to do a u-turn and throw my lot in behind the boul`Gerry. He`d make a great minister for finance and would have our financial worries sorted within a week. We seem to forget that he managed to get £26 million from the Northern Bank on very favorable terms. If elected Gerry will break the banks and not the country.

My mind boggles at the fact that so many people in Louth are going to vote Sinn Féin tbh.

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

why would some one want to vote for Sinn Fein? It is not that long ago that an unarmed member of the Irish Free State Gardai (as well as been a married father) was executed in Tallanstown, Co. Louth while - wait for it - chasing 4 armed robbers after, again wait for it - the gang had robbed the dole office in ardee, co. louth. I mean come on, first of all they rob the money intended for unemployed people (who Sinn Fein claim to represent) and then they murder an unarmed garda?

viztopia wrote: »
    why would some one want to vote for Sinn Fein? It is not that long ago that an unarmed member of the Irish Free State Gardai (as well as been a married father) was executed in Tallanstown, Co. Louth while - wait for it - chasing 4 armed robbers after, again wait for it - the gang had robbed the dole office in ardee, co. louth. I mean come on, first of all they rob the money intended for unemployed people (who Sinn Fein claim to represent) and then they murder an unarmed garda?

When did that happen? I've been in around Ardee for about 15 years and never heard of that.

And Sinn Fein were found guilty of carrying out the robbery and then capturing and executing a garda!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

very sorry to hear you have been around ardee for 15 years. Noel Callan is the name of the murderer and he was convicted in 1985 of the murder of Sergeant Patrick Morrissey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

What I cant seem to understand is if these sort of allegations (that SF get) were put to any other party it would destroy them but for some reason it nearly makes SF stronger.

Although these allegations may not able to be proven it seems that among its supporters that unless their party comes out and confesses they will never believe it. But the fact they are continuously linked to such terrorism would make me question supporting such a party.

On a side note one of the guys I grew up with and we got talking about Gerry going for the Dail in Louth and he was telling me that he was going to vote for him which was fair enough but when I questioned him about why he was voting for SF his answer left me speechless. The reason he was voting for SF was because its a part of the IRA, like seriously why would someone vote for terrorism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Mr_Hat

Is Biggins still planning to run in the Dail elections. He made a lot of noise about it on the Childrens hospital thread. I hope he is

not1but4 wrote: »
    What I cant seem to understand is if these sort of allegations (that SF get) were put to any other party it would destroy them but for some reason it nearly makes SF stronger.

Although these allegations may not able to be proven it seems that among its supporters that unless their party comes out and confesses they will never believe it. But the fact they are continuously linked to such terrorism would make me question supporting such a party.

On a side note one of the guys I grew up with and we got talking about Gerry going for the Dail in Louth and he was telling me that he was going to vote for him which was fair enough but when I questioned him about why he was voting for SF his answer left me speechless. The reason he was voting for SF was because its a part of the IRA, like seriously why would someone vote for terrorism?
    One mans terrorist is anothers freedom fighter.

You could ask why did people vote for Collins and co using your logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TommyT

viztopia wrote: »

Wasnt that the INLA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

I really hope this poll is not indicative of results, I would hate to see Sinn Fèin get in. How can people vote for Lisbon and then for Sinn Fèin, I don`t get it.

Big mistake people on both accounts, sure just sway with the common breeze why not?!

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    One mans terrorist is anothers freedom fighter.

You could ask why did people vote for Collins and co using your logic.

Very different. I think anyone supporting terrorism with regard to the North at this stage is very backward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

I'm going to go with Richard Pryor on this one and vote ''None of the above'' :pac:

Our vote is important and we always vote for someone. It is usually for people who say they will do one thing and do just the opposite when they finally get to sit on their little throne of falsehood.

Voting for politicians is like doing the lottery and the chances of voting for someone worthwhile are always slim.

I'm going to go - :D - with this election though, seeing as I must vote.

Mervyn i will wait until your party posts its manifesto before i comment any further on your posts.

This thread is rapidly turning into a Shinners V the rest debate and its getting pretty boring TBH.

As was said by a poster earlier,post who your voting for and the reasons that your voting for them??

Very different. I think anyone supporting terrorism with regard to the North at this stage is very backward.
    Thats the thing, is it very different?

Not really.
    Just make sure you don't say they are delusional! :D

These days yes, I would agree that it is foolish to support any form of armed campaign in the north.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I'll be voting O'Dowd no. 1 and probably second and third preferences to the other FGers. I hope FG only run 2 candidates though, Gerry is guaranteed to get in along with whoever FF decide to put up. I'd imagine O'Dowd will get in and the last seat is up for grabs for either FG, Lab or an Independent, hopefully FG.

TommyT wrote: »
    Wasnt that the INLA?
    T'was indeed,Dessie O'Hare et-al.
    But sure its close enough for some people here!!:rolleyes:

draffodx wrote: »
    Why?

Where do you start? Their economic polices are off the wall, the possibility of a Lab/SF coalition is scary. They'd tax all the successful people out of the country.

They're a bunch of backward lefties. What's actually making people here support them?

Hopefully Adams running is exactly what some have analysed it to be, a desperate last attempt and an admission that they have few acceptable candidates after the compete failure Of Mary Lou.

SF are imposing cuts in the North.

Is there anything else to say about SF than that? If you believe that the only soloution to the world economic crisis is a world palnned economy, socialism.

You have to ask yourself what are Sinn Fein.

True champions of the oppressed as they claim?

But how does that fit in with what they do and propose?

Fianna Fail claim to be for the 'little man'. Labour claim to be for the working class, as do the unions. The Greens claim to be for progress.
    None of these claims are in the remotest way true.

SF are imposing cuts in the north.