Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Cowen on Prime Time

• 08-12-2010 9:49pm

Is anyone else watching this, this is the man we have running things :eek:

He's about to explode, poor Miriam, he's lost the plot not to mention any communications skills he may of had left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

hellboy99 wrote: »

He's about to explode, poor Miriam, he's lost the plot not to mention any communications skills he may of had left.

He was absolutely pathetic !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

looks like I missed it ..... :( ... some other muppet rambling on now

To call Cowen arrogant is an understatement !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

eigrod wrote: »
    He was absolutely pathetic !

Personally I thought he did ok. If anyone was pathetic, it was Miriam. She came across as totally condescending imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

He's fighting for his political life with all these interviews today. One wonders what's going on behind the scenes in FF.

He came across as rude, defensive and loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

ah sure, there both only a sideshow, walking away tonight with big fat healthy cheques. They are laughing away at us I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

Id love to know dohertys specific figures on balancing the books if we defaulted.

Personally I thought he did ok. If anyone was pathetic, it was Miriam. She came across as totally condescending imo.

She tried hard to get him to take some responsibility for the IMF being here but he downright refused to.

The world according to Brian Cowen and FF only commenced about 2 months ago and what went on the previous 15 years has nothing to do with them.

He makes me ill listening to him to be honest.

He's fighting for his political life with all these interviews today. One wonders what's going on behind the scenes in FF.

Only to stop yer one from making a bigger eejit out of herself by asking "tabloid" style questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭rkeano5

Totally agree, she always get's on my nerves.

She tried hard to get him to take some responsibility for the IMF being here but he downright refused to.

The world according to Brian Cowen and FF only commenced about 2 months ago and what went on the previous 15 years has nothing to do with them.

He makes me ill listening to him to be honest.

Simple solution then - change the channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

TBH I don't think she asked any great questions - she went for very emotive questions rather than focusing on actual policy.

I don't understand why it wasn't Lenihan being interviewed.

At the end of the day, Lenihan is the finance minister who should be answering for the banking guarantee and the budget.

Cowen may be former finance minister and an Taoiseach, but it is the current department of finance that is calling the shots money wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

zig wrote: »
    Id love to know dohertys specific figures on balancing the books if we defaulted.

No point going into a bank with a balaclava and a beretta to raise funds, the vault is empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Maybe that's because he is rude,defensive and loud.

All through today he's been bellowing like a mangy bull.

Not one ounce of humility. Truly the worst leader this country has ever produced,and he's up against some pretty stiff opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭rkeano5

I wouldn't blame him, he has lost his cool a bit recently

cml387 wrote: »
    Maybe that's because he is rude,defensive and loud.

All through today he's been bellowing like a mangy bull.

Not one ounce of humility. Truly the worst leader this country has ever produced,and he's up against some pretty stiff opposition.

Do you think Kenny or (un)Happy Gilmore would do any better? I doubt they would....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

zig wrote: »

Listening to Doherty and some of Sinn Fein's economic policies made me shudder. They haven't a clue. And Joan Burton isn't much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Zynks

Do you think Kenny or (un)Happy Gilmore would do any better? I doubt they would....?

There isn't much space left to do worse, is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Well Cowen has set the bar pretty low...

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Listening to Donherty and some of Sinn Fein's economic policies made me shudder. They haven't a clue. And Joan Burton isn't much better.

Sinn Fein's "philosophy" is that everything should be free for everyone. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

I won't lie, id prefer a default myself, but im not gonna pretend it wouldnt inflict a massive amount of pain on the short term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Cowen is being coached, I thought he was quite impressive, Miriam was at sea...he really showed her up as lightweight.

Clarehobo wrote: »
    TBH I don't think she asked any great questions.
    She couldn't get a word in for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Miriam O'Callaghan was interviewing our Taoiseach on our national broadcaster, one would be forgiven if she was freelancing for one of our many tabloids.

Remember, Fianna Fáil and Brian Cowen were elected democratically. Now we seem only too happy to point the finger even when the majority of this country gave them a vote.

I am not happy with the last few years and my vote will not be going to FF in the future, but we still must respect the Department of An Taoiseach, irrespective of our political opinions.

There are rumours on politics.ie from reputable sources that a heave on Cowen will start tomorrow - they need 18 signatories (I think) to force a leadership election.

Hence, the reason for all these defensive, "robust" interviews.

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Cowen is being coached, I thought he was quite impressive, Miriam was at sea...he really showed her up as lightweight.

Totally. She looked like she was ****ting herself!? She should be presenting stuff like "Xpose" on TV3 instead.

There are rumours on politics.ie from reputable sources that a heave on Cowen will start tomorrow - they need 18 signatories (I think) to force a leadership election.

Hence, the reason for all these defensive, "robust" interviews.

Only rumours. Not concrete stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Morebypasses

Can't wait for head to head between Cowen and Enda!!!!!!! Cowen will eat him up!! Should be entertaining!!!

Can't wait head to head between Cowen and Enda!!!!!!! Cowen will eat him up!! Should be entertaining!!!

He'll have him for breakfast.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I don't understand why it wasn't Lenihan being interviewed.

At the end of the day, Lenihan is the finance minister who should be answering for the banking guarantee and the budget.

Cowen may be former finance minister and an Taoiseach, but it is the current department of finance that is calling the shots money wise.

He was on last night.

I don't its unreasonable for our prime minister to answer these kinds of questions. Call me crazy :rolleys:

Can't wait for head to head between Cowen and Enda!!!!!!! Cowen will eat him up!! Should be entertaining!!!

Anybody who votes based solely on the leadership debate should have the right to vote taken off them.

Bertie was great on the tv. Meanwhile he was crucifying the country with the policies and practices he and his party were overseeing.

Only rumours. Not concrete stories.

That's kind of why I said it was a rumour.

It makes complete sense - I've never seen him so animated in any other interviews. He must know there's a serious campaign to oust him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

ive said it once but il say it again , cowen is a grumpy oul bollocks but thats all he is

Miriam O'Callaghan was interviewing our Taoiseach on our national broadcaster, one would be forgiven if she was freelancing for one of our many tabloids.

Remember, Fianna Fáil and Brian Cowen were elected democratically. Now we seem only too happy to point the finger even when the majority of this country gave them a vote.

I am not happy with the last few years and my vote will not be going to FF in the future, but we still must respect the Department of An Taoiseach, irrespective of our political opinions.

B0llox !

- why respect a department and a person who has been used as a pawn for years and is either at present either too ignorant to realise he was used or too stupid to acknowledge that his advisors are giving him bad advice....its almost as if he has no opinion and no idea on what to do.

Cowan should resign as Taoiseach and leave the country as punishment ...or at least resign from politics.... like pretty much ANYONE else currently involved in politics....they should resign from politics and let new people come in ....proper business leaders who will look at the figures and assess the situation properly before making decisions.

She couldn't get a word in for him.

She got plenty of words in and the questions she did ask were along the lines of "Do you see yourself in this job come Feburary?" and the usual "Are you sorry? Blah blah" tripe.

Ask him proper questions! If I got an opportunity to ask him some hard hitting questions, I wouldn't be asking the TV3/Sky news equivalent that Miriam rolled out.
    IMO Brian Dobson would have handled him better and asked more relevant questions than "Are you sorry?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

spoken like a true FF voter

She got plenty of words in and the questions she did ask were along the lines of "Do you see yourself in this job come Feburary?" and the usual "Are you sorry? Blah blah" tripe.

Ask him proper questions! If I got an opportunity to ask him some hard hitting questions, I wouldn't be asking the TV3/Sky news equivalent that Miriam rolled out.
    IMO Brian Dobson would have handled him better and asked more relevant questions than "Are you sorry?"

Bryan Dobson should have been doing that interview - you're bang on the money there.

irishh_bob wrote: »

Do you really think they would?

PCPhoto wrote: »
    B0llox !

- why respect a department and a person who has been used as a pawn for years and is either at present either too ignorant to realise he was used or too stupid to acknowledge that his advisors are giving him bad advice....its almost as if he has no opinion and no idea on what to do.

Well, maybe because they were elected by the People of Ireland in a democratic vote (I don't seem to remember anyone complaining about the voting system prior to that particular election-so that was never an issue).

Passing the book is easy, isn't it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Heard him on the radio this morning and it was more of the same bluster. The hilarious thing is that he's actually in campaign mode now, and this is his way of attempting to win over voters. He's actually going to try and stand for reelection!

He was on last night.

I don't its unreasonable for our prime minister to answer these kinds of questions. Call me crazy :rolleys:

Sorry, wasn't watching it last night so missed that.

I agree with you that an Taoiseach should be answering questions, but the quality of the questions that were being asked were more suited to a tabloid(As someone said earlier). She could have asked some excellent questions but just wasted the interview.

irishh_bob wrote: »

He makes a very simple, yet extremely valid point though. As I stated earlier, I have no intention to vote for FF currently - but Enda and Gilmore inspire nothing. The last few months/years was an open goal for them effectively. All they needed to do was play it safe and they would be a popular vote - yet they've blazed it over the bar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Morebypasses

Anybody who votes based solely on the leadership debate should have the right to vote taken off them.

Bertie was great on the tv. Meanwhile he was crucifying the country with the policies and practices he and his party were overseeing.

You must be a blue shirt! Is that going to be your defence when ye have to pick Enda up from the floor after the debate! I won't be voting for FF by the way.

Doherty and Burton are like a couple of children in the playground.....God help us.

Well, maybe because they were elected by the People of Ireland in a democratic vote (I don't seem to remember anyone complaining about the voting system prior to that particular election-so that was never an issue).

Passing the book is easy, isn't it?!

Cowan as Taoiseach was not appointed by anyone that I voted for ....he was "choosen" by fellow Fianna Fail member.....and he only got the job because B-B-B-Bertie could see what was coming ...and jumped ship.

if you listen carefully you will ALWAYS hear someone complaining about the voting system prior to every election - mainly due to "re-zoning" of areas to include known areas of popular opinion of the part in power at the time....a lot of the complaining is pub-talk.

Just to Make sure you get my point ... Cowan was NOT voted Taoiseach by the public - he was given the job by his fellow Fianna Failures.

Heard him on the radio this morning and it was more of the same bluster. The hilarious thing is that he's actually in campaign mode now, and this is his way of attempting to win over voters. He's actually going to try and stand for reelection!

Totally agree there - he is on the offensive now since the budget has passed.
    It's down to his constituency to decide if he is what they want in a TD.

The country may be angry with him and Lenihan, but if their constituencies re-elect them we will still have to pay their wages.

You must be a blue shirt! Is that going to be your defence when ye have to pick Enda up from the floor after the debate! I won't be voting for FF by the way.

The Blueshirts ceased to exist 77 years ago. Why do people still hark back to Civil War politics? It's 2010.......GET OVER IT!!!!

You must be a blue shirt! Is that going to be your defence when ye have to pick Enda up from the floor after the debate! I won't be voting for for FF by the way.

Oh ffs. So you think the leader's debate is that important and that Bertie's tv performances were worthy of people voting for him without bothering to even scratch a little behind the teflon exterior ?

Never have voted for FG in my 25 years eligible voting years by the way.

Cowan as Taoiseach was not appointed by anyone that I voted for ....he was "choosen" by fellow Fianna Fail member.....and he only got the job because B-B-B-Bertie could see what was coming ...and jumped ship.

if you listen carefully you will ALWAYS hear someone complaining about the voting system prior to every election - mainly due to "re-zoning" of areas to include known areas of popular opinion of the part in power at the time....a lot of the complaining is pub-talk.

Just to Make sure you get my point ... Cowan was NOT voted Taoiseach by the public - he was given the job by his fellow Fianna Failures.

I get it, you don't like Fianna Fáil.

As Cowen rightly pointed out after Miriam made the same error today, he was elected to the Dáil by the public like every other TD, and then An Dáil voted for An Taoiseach - like EVERY other Taoiseach in history.

By your logic, nobody has ever been elected as Taoiseach

Wrong...he was elected by Dail Eireann in accordance with our Constitution.