Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hate christmas

• 08-12-2010 8:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

I hate christmas..stupid novelty ties worn by the boss. Taxi drivers with santa hats ready to rip you off. Pubs packed with idiots singing songs. Everyone in top form. Secret santa in work, everyone giggling like school kids. Houses lit up so much planes nearly land on them, oh and i hate turkey. The tayto christmas box because its tradition..please !! rant over i hate christmas..:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

godscop wrote: »
    I hate christmas..stupid novelty ties worn by the boss. Taxi drivers with santa hats ready to rip you off. Pubs packed with idiots singing songs. Everyone in top form. Secret santa in work, everyone giggling like school kids. Houses lit up so much planes nearly land on them, oh and i hate turkey. The tayto christmas box because its tradition..please !! rant over i hate christmas..:mad:

I hate that post!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Christmas hates you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Take it to the christmas forum. We dont care.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

Fair enough about the rest of your rant/bull... But why do you hate this???

syklops wrote: »
    Take it to the christmas forum. We dont care.

Even the Christmas forum doesn't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Merry Christmas OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I hate you, you are depressing me, Don't get taxis, Stay away from pubs, continue to depress people, stay indoors and don't eat turkey or Tayto.

If you really hate Chrostmas you would be doing this already.

oh janey mackers don't take that to the Christmas Forum, you'll be banned for life - on one hand that would probably make you happy - on the other hand I'm not sure anything would make you happy.

I have a word for people like you. Grumpalump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

Everyone in top form

misery guts :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I hate the vulgar christmas lights outside the working class houses. Is that what your dole money is being spent on?

If I was feeling annoyed about something & was called a "grumpalump", it would make even more annoyed.

I'm gonna start using that word. :D

Caoimhín wrote: »
    I hate the vulgar christmas lights outside the working class houses. Is that what your dole money is being spent on?

hmmmm, slight contradiction there. working class people don't get dole ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I bet you love Paddys Day though. I can just imagine you running around the town in your leprauchan suit pinching girls arses with a bottle of buckfast in your hand shouting "Kiss me I'm fekin Irish"

Steady on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

You gave your presents to me
    And I gave mine to you
    I need Santa beside me
    In everything I do

You know I love Christmas
    I always will
    My mind's made up
    The way that I feel
    There's no beginning
    There'll be no end
    Cuz on Christmas,
    You can depend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Go and spend the festive season in a country where Christmas is not celebrated if you hate it that much!

javaboy wrote: »
    Steady on.

hey, you can't tell me steady on, your name isn't in bold any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

inmyday wrote: »
    Fair enough about the rest of your rant/bull... But why do you hate this???
    Its all false. People hugging in pubs like they are just back from a war. When its january they wont say hello in the street. Christmas is for kids..

No. They're called the "nouveau poor".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You got burned Kev, Burned!!!

Its all false. People hugging in pubs like they are just back from a war. When its january they wont say hello in the street. Christmas is for kids..

I think someone needs a big hug.

Come 'ere ya big softy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

I Love Christmas...I love those novelty ties worn by the boss. Taxi drivers with santa hats ready to chat when you get in. Pubs packed with festive people singing songs. Everyone in top form. Secret Santa in work, everyone giggling like school kids. Houses lit up so pretty, planes nearly land on them, oh and i love turkey. The tayto christmas box because it's tradition..yummie!! Rant over i love christmas..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I was once attacked by a dwarf called Noel at Christmas!!! True story.

Memo to self : Under no circumstances, after any consumption of alcohol pat people of small stature on the head and slur "Who's a happy little elf". It's rude.

What the hell is a Tayto Christmas box?

It sounds very working class.

hey, you can't tell me steady on, your name isn't in bold any more.

I meant for your own sake. You'll give yourself a heart attack going around with all that simmering rage inside you.

What the hell is a Tayto Christmas box?

It sounds very working class.

its basically a box of 20 packets of crisps with a santa tayto man on it!

ah here....http://www.foodireland.com/images/christmas/601401.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

If I was feeling annoyed about something & was called a "grumpalump", it would make even more annoyed.

I'm gonna start using that word. :D

Be careful Dr. Bollocko might ban you for using a word to describe someone and he won't know what it means.

javaboy wrote: »
    I meant for your own sake. You'll give yourself a heart attack going around with all that simmering rage inside you.

just keep smiling just keep smiling just keep smiling

Working class is a term used to describe those employed in lower tier jobs, often extending to those in unemployment or otherwise possessing below-average incomes.

:p

I love rich Christmas...novelty Armani suits worn by the boss. Limo drivers with Santa hats ready to pour you champagne. Golf clubs packed with executives singing songs. Everyone in top form. Giving Santa a loan, everyone giggling like school kids after firing the help. Landing the planes near our fantastically lit up houses, oh and I love turkey stuffed with baby seal liver. I love the caviar Christmas box because...rant over i love Christmas...

No. They're called the "nouveau poor".
    Working class is a term used to describe those employed in lower tier jobs, often extending to those in unemployment or otherwise possessing below-average incomes.

You're kinda obsessed with that post of mine aren't ya? First you thanked it, then you quoted it, then you quoted it again, then you unthanked it. Interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

oh janey mackers don't take that to the Christmas Forum, you'll be banned for life - on one hand that would probably make you happy - on the other hand I'm not sure anything would make you happy.

Whoopsdaisydoodles versus the Grumpalump in the fight for Christmas in Never Never Land.

Now thas Christmas film begging to be made. See OP, your hatred of Christmas has inspired a new Christmas movie, which will proabably tick you off even more!

You're kinda obsessed with that post of mine aren't ya? First you thanked it, then you quoted it, then you quoted it again, then you unthanked it. Interesting.

I must have drank some estrogen this morning by mistake. I can't seem to make up my mind today.

what's that?
    Is it like oestrogen only less decisive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

consider that the average industrial wage is something like 35 grand. that means the snobby toss pot who served me in jo burger last week was working class and the plumber who came around to my house was middle class living in his middle class estate in walkinstown.

Income is not the definitive characteristic of working class imo, its more a culture, identity aswell as means and what you do with it.

2 people earning 35 grand.

one buys a spoiler for his fiat punto
    one buys a fixy bike.

which one is working class?

I can't seem to make up my mind today.

ah now admit it its a christmas thing....

it starts at 5 am with "will i get up, won't i get up?"

it continues at 7am "will i have a selection box for breakfast? won't i have a selection box for breakfast?"

onto midday "will i go to mass?, won't i go to mass?"

and dinner "will i take that extra bit of turkey? won't i take that extra bit of turkey?"

Op You'll Love this!!!!!

Dashing through the snow
    In a one horse open sleigh
    O'er the fields we go
    Laughing all the way
    Bells on bob tails ring
    Making spirits bright
    What fun it is to laugh and sing
    A sleighing song tonight

Oh, jingle bells, jingle bells
    Jingle all the way
    Oh, what fun it is to ride
    Jingle bells, jingle bells
    Jingle all the way

A day or two ago
    I thought I'd take a ride
    And soon Miss Fanny Bright
    Was seated by my side
    The horse was lean and lank
    Misfortune seemed his lot
    We got into a drifted bank
    And then we got upsot

Oh, jingle bells, jingle bells
    Jingle all the way
    In a one horse open sleigh yeah

Jingle all the way

read it once, you'll be immediatly reformed and love Christmas forever!
    Either that or it will get stuck in your head and slowly drive you insane over the next 13 days until you can't take it anymore and head for the nearest bell tower because all you can see are Santas everywhere. they're all laughing at you, (God Damn happy, cheery people). How dare they, how ****in dare they...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

ColeTrain wrote: »
    I bet you love Paddys Day though. I can just imagine you running around the town in your leprauchan suit pinching girls arses with a bottle of buckfast in your hand shouting "Kiss me I'm fekin Irish"
    Dont get me started on Paddys day.Paddy whackery at its finest. Pubs packed with drunken fools thinking they are Shane mc gowen. Stupid leprauchans ! Proud to be irish, dont make me laugh. I stay in paddys day to stay away from the madness.

ah now admit it its a christmas thing....

it starts at 5 am with "will i get up, won't i get up?"

it continues at 7am "will i have a selection box for breakfast? won't i have a selection box for breakfast?"

onto midday "will i go to mass?, won't i go to mass"

and dinner "will i take that extra bit of turkey? won't i take that extra bit of turkey?"

Eh, easy :rolleyes:

it starts at 5 am with "I'll get up and see if santa has been yet"

it continues at 7am "I'm gonna have a fry including steak and then something out of the selection box"

onto midday "I won't be going to mass"

and dinner "I'd love another slice of turkey if there's one going, and some ham, oh and stuffing if it's there, and if there's a roasty going begging I'll take it off your hands"

Shopping. I feckin hate christmas shopping. people elbowing each other out of the way, running you over with prams, using prams as a weapon, making you hate children when you normally dont.

hearing the same goddamned 30 year old songs in EVERY shop.

the pushing and shoving does not lend itself to the spirit of giving. face it, its the season of rampant consumerism.

sometimes I'd try and make something for people, but usually you get that look.

if present giving was banned (and i didnt have to work) id enjoy christmas much more

Shopping. I feckin hate christmas shopping. people elbowing each other out of the way, running you over with prams, using prams as a weapon, making you hate children when you normally dont.

well you seem to have gotten the hang of using the interweb, so problem solved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Caoimhín wrote: »

I better not invite you around to mine so!

Dont get me started on Paddys day.Paddy whackery at its finest. Pubs packed with drunken fools thinking they are Shane mc gowen. Stupid leprauchans ! Proud to be irish, dont make me laugh. I stay in paddys day to stay away from the madness.

I bet you only leave the house for Funerals.

Guill wrote: »
    I bet you only leave the house for Funerals.

and goes home before the sing song begins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Grumpalump.

Best word I've heard all year!! :D

well you seem to have gotten the hang of using the interweb, so problem solved!

yeah, i could do the internet shopping if i didnt feel guilty for not spending in irish shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

To be honest OP, I hate that secret Santa rubbish in work meself, expected to buy a present for some cnut/clitbag you can't stand! Other than that tho I love Xmas so lighten up and get out there and enjoy yourself :D

and goes home before the sing song begins!

Let's have a sing song in Memory of dear old Johnny!

Op gets up, Storms out.

yeah, i could do the internet shopping if i didnt feel guilty for not spending in irish shops

I see your predicament. But there are lots of online Irish stores. However, I will agree that these type of stores do employ less people so it's a fair point.

For what it's worth:I hate shopping too but ssshhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭scorpioishere

You have the right point, peoples are such hypocrites here, they will sit at a table with you on christmas and the next day they stab you in the back. They will hug you, having a drink with you and the rest of the year they ignore you. Also one point i would like to make is lot of peoples pretend to be catholic but doesn't even go to chuch. So why celebrate christmas, such hypocrites.