Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family Christmas Traditions

• 08-12-2010 3:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

So has anybody got any family Christmas traditions?

In our house, You had to stir the christmas pudding (obviously before it was steamed) and make a wish.

Also, you had to stay very quiet or else the Christmas cake wouldn't rise.
    (Prob more to do with me Ma's hangover).

On a more decent note, the curtains had to be taken down and a candle placed in the window to welcome the baby Jesus and let him know that there was room at the Inn.

So, AHers, any family traditions?

Btw, don't use brandy for effect unless you know how to handle a spirit like that.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Also, you had to stay very quiet or else the Christmas cake wouldn't rise.
    (Prob more to do with me Ma's hangover).

snap! except nothing to do with why yore ma said

also the war over cooking the christmas dinner :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Loads of whiskey followed by big arguments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Loads of whiskey followed by big arguments.

"yeah come here sarah havent seen you all year, and have been waiting for christmas to let me tell you what I really think"

something like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

We don't light the Christmas candles until Christmas Eve. Don't know if that's normal or abnormal....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Degag wrote: »
    We don't light the Christmas candles until Christmas Eve. Don't know if that's normal or abnormal....

Don't know meself man. But the essence of the thread is how we behave abnormally. We're not in the habit of being open and loving. Hence the curtain problem.
    The world is saved when a child is born.

*Now givvus a can*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

We weren't allowed out on Christmas Day. Never really minded it too much until the year I got a bike!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

We in the Fritzl family all used to head down to our cellar with our dad and play lots of party games. Oh, wait...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

We have a really traditional christmas, my uncle even hung himself one christmas and we didn't take him down till the 6th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I have the job of 'seasoning' the pan with the first dump of Stephens Day.

Very heavy traffic in the throne room on Boxing, lot of rich food has worked through the system of 'casa Flutt' and need to be disposed of carefully to avoid unseasonal blockages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Usually starts off with us all in bad form cause we are wrecked from running around all week. Family go to Mass after an Arguement cause i refused to go (Athiest). That night then the drink comes out, followed by sneaky 'picks' at the turkey. Next morning Kids go down for pressies and we all die of hangover. Ham sandwiches for brekkie. Visit relatives, more drink then a few sneaky Brandys. Dinner is usually savage with extra portions of everything. A good music DVD is put on then when we all fall asleep. Relatives come to ours for drinks then that night, we party till all hours. Up then at 11 (before GF's). Sneak down to Local for stephens day, create pot for backing horses and drink til the late hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

We all just sit around the table taking the piss out of each other but then again that’s a usual day in my house. There's usually between 12-17 of us for dinner.

Then the oldies fall asleep and we all crack into the drink and play the xbox/wii. Before they came along we’d drink and play board games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Well sneaky hot ham sambo's used to be a tradition for me on Christmas eve, go out to a sisters for christmas dinner now so miss that. All the family gather in one of our houses each Christmas day for my mother to give all the kriskindle gifts to the grandkids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I have the job of 'seasoning' the pan with the first dump of Stephens Day.

Very heavy traffic in the throne room on Boxing, lot of rich food has worked through the system of 'casa Flutt' and need to be disposed of carefully to avoid unseasonal blockages.

LOL :D

Trust you to nearly make me choke on a piece of toast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Since 2000 a drive up to relations in the North to spend Christmas there has become tradition. Also something freaky, every 2nd year since 2006, a granuncle/aunt of mine has dies every 2nd december.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

We usually have a tree in the house :eek: festooned with lots of trinkets and baubles. On Christmas Eve, a man squeezes down the chimney (not a euphemism) and leaves presents under said tree.

I dunno, sounds loony when written down, but it's normal for us :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Very heavy traffic in the throne room on Boxing

No such day as Boxing Day in Ireland my friend :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

We all pick a seperate room in the house (preferably one with a tv) and sit in it for the duration ignoring each other. Older sister usually starts the first fight over some trivial matter and then the pretense of the happy family is broken fro another year.

Oh and we buy the RTE guide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

Christmas morning Fry up. 3 sausages, 2 eggs and 4 toast each. Dont know why rashers never made it in there, but this goes back about 30 years now for me. Followed of course by the first bar in the selection box you want to get rid of, so usually a chomp or a curly wurly.

Then watch Top of the pops while the vegetables get boiled beyond recognition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well, me and the sister have been getting pissed together lately in the pubs on Xmas Eve. It's practically become tradition now for us :pac:

Then we're forced to go to Mass on Xmas Day at 9am :eek: The hangover is cruel but, for the sake no arguments and screamings, we silently go and die inside the church.

The mother used to be awful for wanting to set up a video camera on a tripod that just sat there and recorded us eat on Xmas Day. I couldn't relax at the Xmas dinner properly for years as it always bugged me.

Stephen's Day then we fry whatever's left from the turkey and make another lovely dinner / sandwiches.................mmmmm, can't fùckin' wait!!

Archeron wrote: »
    Christmas morning Fry up. 3 sausages, 2 eggs and 4 toast each. Dont know why rashers never made it in there, but this goes back about 30 years now for me. Followed of course by the first bar in the selection box you want to get rid of, so usually a chomp or a curly wurly.

Then watch Top of the pops while the vegetables get boiled beyond recognition.

Can't beat the Xmas morn fry up tbh!
    But the fudge has to be the worst bar in the selection box followed by Curly Wurly!
    Have Cadbury's taken out the coffee creams from the Roses tins yet?

Weirdos! Curly Wurly from the fridge is YUM!

Kiera wrote: »
    Weirdos! Curly Wurly from the fridge is YUM!

That's just typical you, being different just for the sake of it :p

kfallon wrote: »
    That's just typical you, being different just for the sake of it :p

Ha! Says the oddball!

Look the curly wurly, fudge, strawberry and coffee creams are all left for the dog! I mean we don't even have a dog yet but when we do get one that fooker is gonna have a serious backlog of sweets to get through from previous years :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

bottle of champers xmas morning... might be replaced by a bottle of fizzy water this year tho:eek:

blaze1 wrote: »
    bottle of champers xmas morning

Ooooo well look how the other half live!
    Can of Dutch Gold not good enough for ye anymore? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Xmas eve is usually spent doing all my xmas shopping then to the pub with my mates that night. Wandered back to my Mams house drunk as feck and scoff some cheeky ham sambos.

Xmas day get woken up at 7am by my 22 year old sister who just refuses to allow a lie in despite us all being grown up. Open up our presents and grumble at my sister for having us up. Eventually shower and head off to one or other of my sisters for the xmas fry up. More presents exchanged, watch the kids get over excited about their crap toys.

After what seems a week we wonder back to may mams and have a nap or watch a movie before heading off to another sisters house who invited the non married/lazy of us over for dinner. Get wrecked drunk, play jenga followed by kings, the last few years I have left about 10 and gone off to a friends house to continue drinking.

Can't wait.

Xmas night is usually a few cans followed by checking out the racing for St Stephens Day, prob my fav day of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Xmas night is usually a few cans followed by checking out the racing for St Stephens Day, prob my fav day of the year

One man from each village is selected and we box each other for the right to select the best goose to eat on the day after Stephen's Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Especially the walk home from the pub while you wonder...'Why are the take aways not open, were they open last year?'

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Especially the walk home from the pub while you wonder...'Why are the take aways not open, were they open last year?'

Yeah there's a chipper next to our local and every year someone says, "We'll get a burger when it opens to keep us going" as we're out since midday! The chipper never opens on St Stephen's Day and we go hungry, happens every year :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

A few days before Christmas eve we all gather around the tree to watch the youngest child put the fairy Daniel O'Donnell on top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Ooooo well look how the other half live!
    Can of Dutch Gold not good enough for ye anymore? :p

more of a tuborg man meself

not the expensive stuff.. i lived with the inlaws for a couple of years so i needed an early fix to get me through the day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭hsanz114clayton

Christmas morning, Bucks fizz FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

xmas eve after 9pm mass our neighbour comes down to our house and we have ham and mustard sandwiches, alcohol, followed by cutting the cake. More mass is on the TV in the background and its nice and cosy with the heating on and the open fire. I love xmas eve more than xmas day

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    xmas eve after 9pm mass our neighbour comes down to our house and we have ham and mustard sandwiches, alcohol, followed by cutting the cake. More mass is on the TV in the background and its nice and cosy with the heating on and the open fire. I love xmas eve more than xmas day

That's an awful lot of Mass to be fair, could ye not just watch Indiana Jones like the rest of us :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

its xmas - the whole reason we celebrate xmas in the first place is church related. we dont watch it again though on the tv - its just in the background.

That's an awful lot of Mass to be fair, could ye not just watch Indiana Jones like the rest of us :p

Its Monsters Inc these days and is usually on 3 channels at the same time :)

No real tradition I think. We don't do traditional xmas food either, can't stand the pudding or mince pies and neither can mum. Turkey would be boring.
    I think we are having beef this year.
    We do get the doggys their own stockings :)
    And I do insist on getting up early!

Its Monsters Inc these days and is usually on 3 channels at the same time :)

I told you the other day, I'm not 'hip', I'm not 'down' with the kids these days and their 'jive' :p

bluewolf wrote: »
    can't stand the pudding

Throw a bit of warm custard on it, mmmmmmm.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Awkward silences and dry turkey.

Throw a bit of warm custard on it, mmmmmmm.........

I'd rather not ruin the custard like that :(

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'd rather not ruin the custard like that :(

Don't knock it til you've tried it trout!

I have, that's how I know I don't like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    its xmas - the whole reason we celebrate xmas in the first place is church related. we dont watch it again though on the tv - its just in the background.

Doesn't the term X-mas go against the religious aspect by cutting the Christ out of Christmas?

Also Christmas is no longer a religious festival, Our hero commercialism came along and liberated it from those nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The annual reminder that I'll never be as successful as my brother who owns and runs his own cave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Beers in the pub with all of the cousins and uncles to watch the match, The ladies usually stay in and chin wag over wine.

Love St Stephen's Day. !!

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Doesn't the term X-mas go against the religious aspect by cutting the Christ out of Christmas?

Also Christmas is no longer a religious festival, Our hero commercialism came along and liberated it from those nuts.

I think the tree itself went against the religious aspect in the first place :pac:
    Jeremiah 10:3 - 10:4

"For the customs of the peoples are worthless; they cut a tree out of the forest, and a craftsman shapes it with his chisel. They adorn it with silver and gold; they fasten it with hammer and nails"

Very few of us (family and friends) live at home so Stephen's Day is when we're all there together, no women so we're let to enjoy the debauchery of drinking too much, betting too much and generally actin' the micky!!!