Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

33 LOI to be shown on RTE during 2013 season

• 07-12-2010 12:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭

Seen this on the GAA forums (was a bit lost...wandered in by accident!)

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/rte-bashed-over-gaa-coverage-2450456.html
    RTE is in for a December bashing at GAA county conventions arising from the reduction in the number of games to be screened next year.
    The national station will show 31 championship games live in 2011, with TV3 screening a further nine.
    That's an overall drop of 10 in a move brought about by the GAA, who felt that the amount of live coverage in recent years had a negative impact on attendances at some games and on club fixtures.
    While there's general acceptance that the championships are well covered by TV, complaints have arisen over RTE's approach to Gaelic games other than in the summer-autumn period.
    Dublin CEO John Costello is the latest to attack RTE, claiming that hurling and football are "slipping down the decision-makers' list of priorities when it comes to scheduling".
    Costello claims that, by 2013, RTE will show more live League of Ireland soccer action than Gaelic games.
    "RTE screened 18 domestic soccer games this year, a figure that is set to increase to 33 by 2013. Likewise, rugby will eclipse Gaelic games in terms of live coverage, with our national broadcaster contracted to show Six Nations, autumn Tests as well as All-Ireland and Magners League," writes Costello in his annual report.
    "The attitude towards Gaelic games in Montrose seems to be that our national games are only played during the months of June, July, August and September."
    Costello is particularly critical of RTE's failure to carry a preview-style programme throughout the season.
    He accepts that it was a Croke Park decision to cut back on live championship coverage, but argues that RTE is not giving Gaelic games due attention for the rest of the year.
    "I am aware of recent comments by the Ard Stiurthoir (Paraic Duffy) that the GAA were overdoing the live coverage. However, it's my contention that GAA supporters are not getting a fair deal from the national broadcaster."
    RTE's live GAA coverage is confined to the championships, which they share (on a majority basis) with TV3. TG4 and Setanta share National League coverage, while TG4 also have the club championships and the International Rules series.

Would be cool to see a few more games on TV. Presumable every second match shown wont be featuring Bohs though!!! (probably Shams!!!)

Not sure what GAA are complaining about, they claim RTÉ showing the match is reducing attendances but don't want them to decrease the amount of matches shown...

How would attendances be at LOI games if more are on TV?

Will RTÉ have more than a 5 minute build up to games?

Overall is the GAA still more popular than Soccer in this country? From schools to professional level?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Lollymcd wrote: »

Not sure what GAA are complaining about, they claim RTÉ showing the match is reducing attendances but don't want them to decrease the amount of matches shown...

Becasue they are bigots and object with their very fibre of being that other sports get a fair share. LoI Tv figures are far better than you would think - beat Magners League Rugby for example.

They don't want their games on telly, but dont want the enemy on their either. Its more drivel from the masters of it.
    How would attendances be at LOI games if more are on TV?

No correlation I have heard. Die hards will be there anyway.
    Will RTÉ have more than a 5 minute build up to games?
    Depends on the game, but they generally do a decent job
    Overall is the GAA still more popular than Soccer in this country? From schools to professional level?

No. Simple as that. Football has more players than hurling and Gaelic combined these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Lollymcd

No. Simple as that. Football has more players than hurling and Gaelic combined these days.

This has been my opinion for some time but GAA loving friend disagrees and has loads of reason why,ie, GAA played in schools, local provincial games, attendances at matches being greater for GAA then soccer matches... I'm not convinced though...

I think RTÉ do an OK job but a 5 minute preview before matches is just disrespectful! MNS are more concerned with what people wear then analysis! I suppose I should be happy, could be a lot less!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Good to see, more exposure is only a good thing

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

This has been my opinion for some time but GAA loving friend disagrees and has loads of reason why,ie, GAA played in schools, local provincial games, attendances at matches being greater for GAA then soccer matches... I'm not convinced though...

There is no dispute. The ESRI and CSO do regular reports on sport and the numbers are as clear as day.

Football is played in schools and at local provincial level too.

Attendences at matches is a moot point. Clearly the Gah can get more people out for cup finals and the likes, but attendences at international football games aren't shabby either. The LoI would swarf the Gah intercounty leagues in terms of attendences, so it all depends how you look at it. Week in week out, football wins, in terms of cups the Gah wins, and if you take Irish people who go overseas for games, its the same sort of gross number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Please for the love of god dont let us be on tv on saturdays at 1pm.

13 games will be sat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Oh good another thread for ONYD to regale us with his anti-GAA rhetoric.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Oh good another thread for ONYD to regale us with his anti-GAA rhetoric.

The head blazer of the Dublin GAA has complained that:

-RTE don't show enough cup games despite the GAA requesting they show less as it was hitting their crowds
    -RTE don't show league games despite selling the rights to Setanta and TV3

When they stop making prize planks out of themselves, I'll stop laughing at their amateurism.

The head blazer of the Dublin GAA has complained that:

-RTE don't show enough cup games despite the GAA requesting they show less as it was hitting their crowds
    -RTE don't show league games despite selling the rights to Setanta and TV3

When they stop making prize planks out of themselves, I'll stop laughing at their amateurism.

The details don't even matter, same old sh*t from you regardless. Last week you were trying to make a perfectly innocent thread about corner kicks into an attack on barstoolers. Yawn tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,931 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Wouldn't be a follower of the LoI, but its if on the telly I'll have a gawk.
    (facking couch supporter!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Same old GAA. They can fuck off.

Gaelic sports and tradition are strong, attractive and loved by enough loyal volunteers to always survive. No need to take the cudgels up against foreign sports again. And again. And again.

The details don't even matter, same old sh*t from you regardless. Last week you were trying to make a perfectly innocent thread about corner kicks into an attack on barstoolers. Yawn tbh.

What are you on about?

One of the head Gah blazers has launched an attack on the amount of football RTE show on TV. Within that attack are a number of contradictions.

My critique of this clown's statement is relevent and accurate.

If think I am being hard on your beloved Gah, defend his stance, rather than go on an ad homenioum attack on me and ignore what I said.

stovelid wrote: »
    Same old GAA. They can fuck off.

Gaelic sports and tradition are strong, attractive and loved by enough loyal volunteers to always survive. No need to take the cudgels up against foreign sports again. And again. And again.

Is there an election for grand wizard of the Gah coming up? Last time a Dub had ambition for the main gig we saw the TD debacle. Is this guy simply using the tried and tested 'attack sawker' approach to get himself in the papers?

What are you on about?

One of the head Gah blazers has launched an attack on the amount of football RTE show on TV. Within that attack are a number of contradictions.

My critique of this clown's statement is relevent and accurate.

If think I am being hard on your beloved Gah, defend his stance, rather than go on an ad homenioum attack on me and ignore what I said.

I'd rather argue with a child with ADHD tbh. Not biting.:)

Is there an election for grand wizard of the Gah coming up? Last time a Dub had ambition for the main gig we saw the TD debacle. Is this guy simply using the tried and tested 'attack sawker' approach to get himself in the papers?

Makes sense.

I agree re; attendances - I would have thought general LOI attendances compared favorably with the GAA once you count league attendances and not the people that just show up for a few championship matches a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

its a well known fact that people in this country love their football. i know of loads that wouldnt attend a LOI game but would watch them on telly and have a bit of an interest so more games been showing can only be a good thing and maybe bring a little bit of much needed money to the clubs.

Nothing against Gaa as a sport but the gaa have had the lions share of television and advertisement for years so its a nice welcome to see the domestic football game get a bit more exposure!!!.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Please for the love of god dont let us be on tv on saturdays at 1pm.

13 games will be sat.

Why?

I can understand why 13 will be on a Saturday, fans will go to their own clubs on Friday night and then watch other clubs on a Saturday (or Sunday... or is that the preserve of GAA???) At least that's what I'll do!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

Why?

I can understand why 13 will be on a Saturday, fans will go to their own clubs on Friday night and then watch other clubs on a Saturday (or Sunday... or is that the preserve of GAA???) At least that's what I'll do!!!

St. Pat's crowd (I can't compare to anyone else because St. Pats seemed to have ALL the 1pm games? :p ) doesn't be great on a Saturday at 1pm because all of their junior teams do be at matches, incl parents obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,743 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Becasue they are bigots and object

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

When they marginalise their fools, cranks and nutters to a point where they don't get to talk unmitigated nonsense to the press, I'll stop pointing it out.

Could you imagine a top rugby or football club chairman making such a specticle of himself and not getting ridiculed by the Indo? Why do the Gah get such a soft ride from the media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,743 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

When they marginalise their fools, cranks and nutters to a point where they don't get to talk unmitigated nonsense to the press, I'll stop pointing it out.

No you won't

You are just a broken record.

No you won't

Like a lot of us, it's a record that was forcibly broken by dealings with the business end of the GAA.

Any chance we can go back to talking about match attendances and whether they are effected by tv broadcasts?

When I asked which was more popular I didn't intend the thread to descend into bickering about how much of a numpty the leaders in either sport are... (it's not like the FAI are blessed with wonderful leaders either)

No you won't

So please feel free to tell me where I am wrong. Explain to me why Mr Costello's speech in the DCB annual report are worthy of the national press and I am misunderstanding his sage words.

Any chance we can go back to talking about match attendances and whether they are effected by tv broadcasts?

When I asked which was more popular I didn't intend the thread to descend into bickering about how much of a numpty the leaders in either sport are... (it's not like the FAI are blessed with wonderful leaders either)

The Gah felt they were, hence they asked RTE to show less games and gave the league rights to a smaller station.

The FAI have not found that live tv affects attendences, hence they pitched for and got a live game per week of the campaign on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Could you imagine a top rugby or football club chairman making such a specticle of himself and not getting ridiculed by the Indo? Why do the Gah get such a soft ride from the media?
    Its not often I'll agree with you but you're bang on here.

The GAA are objecting to RTE showing league of Ireland games? What concern is it of theirs exactly?

They simply can't deal with the fact that they no longer have total domination in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Honestly are there any other sporting body in Ireland that would criticise a broadcaster for showing 'too much' of another sport?

The GAA's arrogance is staggering, they tell RTE to cut back on the GAA they show because it's affecting their attendences and more importantly their finances. However, when the same broadcaster looks to other sports to fill the holes in their schedule, the GAA tell them not to show other sports, and especially not foreign sports.

As for the bigotry claim, as long as Rule 42 exists, they leave themselves open to it. In many ways the GAA are behaving like the Catholic Church - their long held dominance on the country is gradually corroding and their fighting tooth and nail for a return to the 'good old days'.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Likewise, rugby will eclipse Gaelic games in terms of live coverage, with our national broadcaster contracted to show Six Nations, autumn Tests as well as All-Ireland and Magners League," writes Costello in his annual report.

So what, Mr. Costello? Where's the big deal in that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭franglan

Slightly off topic, but I remember for about the last ten years these types of deals been announced between RTE and the LoI, "33 games exclusively live per season, etc", Which would mean a game been shown every weekend, but then what you really get is maybe 3 weeks of coverage at the start and two or 3 live games at the end of the season. Is it that the contract is up to 33 games,etc.?Then RTE see audience figures dropping after the first couple of weeks and cut it until the business end of the season?

franglan wrote: »
    Slightly off topic, but I remember for about the last ten years these types of deals been announced between RTE and the LoI, "33 games exclusively live per season, etc", Which would mean a game been shown every weekend, but then what you really get is maybe 3 weeks of coverage at the start and two or 3 live games at the end of the season. Is it that the contract is up to 33 games,etc.?Then RTE see audience figures dropping after the first couple of weeks and cut it until the business end of the season?

I've noticed this myself too, at the start of the season there's a big announcement which never really materializes! Don't the FAI forgo some advertising revenue for international matches so that RTÉ covers a certain amount of matches each year and broadcasts MNS?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I hope these games are not on Friday nights. There is no point in showing matches when everyone interested int he league are at their own teams. I would like to see games played maybe at 5 o clock on Saturdays (the premier league game is usually pants) or Monday night (same as)

And take a leaf out of ESPNs book when they show NFLs Monday night football. Even if the game looks one sided they make it look like the Superbowl :D

Why?

Junior football, as i found last season a surprising amount of pats fans are involved either coaching, playing or bringing kids to games. Plus the clubs own teams 19 or so? thats a of people who instantly cant go to a match.

Our attd vs Bohs was shocking barely a 1000 each.

Sunday 5pm wasnt bad vs Rovers but reckon they would have got a lot more if it was on a friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The irony of it all is that the bogballers seem upset by the amount of Irish football being shown but not bothered by the amount of English football on RTE.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    The irony of it all is that the bogballers seem upset by the amount of Irish football being shown but not bothered by the amount of English football on RTE.

Most of them support it probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,659 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

You know, obviously everyone here will expect me to side with the GAA, but when I read the bold part, I was thinking hadn't they said something recently about not wanting as many games on tv.

Way too easy not to care bout higher power every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

why am i paying rte a tv licence fee when they churn out this utter rubbish footie? ,33 games :eek: rather watch coronation street re-runs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Its not often I'll agree with you but you're bang on here.

The GAA are objecting to RTE showing league of Ireland games? What concern is it of theirs exactly?

...since when does this Costello chap speak for the entirety of the GAA?

Although I understand various Irish soccer fans refuse to move on and must get their fix of small-minded prejudiced attacks against the 'GAH' and the 'bogballers' as they so immaturely and embarassingly refer to them, it would be nice if these people would not confuse an individual's opinion with the opinion of the entire organisation, especially as the organisation asked for RTE to slightly drop the amount of games (incorrectly imo). This Costello chap is obviously a bit of an idiot, but conflating his views with the organisation as a whole is fallacious, and solely down to particular people's own prejudices and blindness.

Honestly are there any other sporting body in Ireland that would criticise a broadcaster for showing 'too much' of another sport?

The GAA's arrogance is staggering, they tell RTE to cut back on the GAA they show because it's affecting their attendences and more importantly their finances. However, when the same broadcaster looks to other sports to fill the holes in their schedule, the GAA tell them not to show other sports, and especially not foreign sports.

Pleae show me where the GAA has said this, as opposed to the opinions of one member.

stovelid wrote: »
    Most of them support it probably.

Absolutely nothing wrong with liking different sports stovelid. ;)

Love how the tedious LOI brigade are doing their best to get a reaction and no one can be bothered indulging them. When no GAA fan bites they extend the bitching to Englush clubs, but still no ones bothered. Sad little men.

BERBA wrote: »
    why am i paying rte a tv licence fee when they churn out this utter rubbish footie? ,33 games :eek: rather watch coronation street re-runs!
    Love how the tedious LOI brigade are doing their best to get a reaction and no one can be bothered indulging them. When no GAA fan bites they extend the bitching to Englush clubs, but still no ones bothered. Sad little men.

/taps monitor.

I wonder how I can turn this from a GAA-bashing thread into yet another LOI/barstooler civil war...

Orizio wrote: »
    Pleae show me where the GAA has said this, as opposed to the opinions of one member.

He is the Chair of the Dublin County Board and his comments are from the introduction to the DCB annual report. You make it sound like he is an average fan down the pub. They are official comments from a high ranking officer in the Gah.

This would be like saying a member of the FAI National Executive was 'just a fan'

Mushy wrote: »

Way too easy not to care bout higher power every day.

I stopped caring about the GAA 'higher powers' when...actually no wait I never gave a **** about them. The GAA is run by a shower of twats (as any GAA fan who gives a damn about them would acknowledge), although tbf this twattishness seems to extend throughout sports bureaucracies in this country.

If i changed the word GAA in your post to
    hang on

I stopped caring about the FAI 'higher powers' when...actually no wait I never gave a **** about them. The FAI is run by a shower of twats (as any FAI fan who gives a damn about them would acknowledge), although tbf this twattishness seems to extend throughout sports bureaucracies in this country.

interesting

He is the Chair of the Dublin County Board and his comments are from the introduction to the DCB annual report. You make it sound like he is an average fan down the pub. They are official comments from a high ranking officer in the Gah.

This would be like saying a member of the FAI National Executive was 'just a fan'

Please put up the post in which I used the quote 'just a fan'.

I know exactly who he is, I know he is a high ranking member of Dublin GAA (the DCB seems to be one of the worst in the country, which is saying something) but it is simply not GAA policy to attempt to coerce RTE into showing less LOI games. Its neither organisation policy or organisation opinion - it is this Costello chap's opinion and that is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

BERBA wrote: »

Hey BERBA, if you don't want to watch rubbish tele get rid of it!
    Everything you can watch on the tele you can watch online. and re: the football matches; bars will show most/all/more matches than what you get on the tele. Drink didn't go up in the budget so count yourself lucky. Also travel tax went down by €7 so it's that much cheaper to see your 'beloved' United(guessin by your name). You might even get to go to a match every two years at this stage. If not barstools are pretty comfy and with the money saved from the tele license, by you getting rid of the tele, you can buy a few drinks or maybe even be a true fan and buy one of those green and yellow. Don't wory you can still watch your re-runs online. Plenty of links also if you want to save more money, by not going to the pub, and be a proper true fan by 'aving the jersey.
    God bless you having the option to watch your own league on your own national broadcaster.

BOHtox wrote: »
    Everything you can watch on the tele you can watch online. and re: the football matches; bars will show most/all/more matches than what you get on the tele. Drink didn't go up in the budget so count yourself lucky. Also travel tax went down by €7 so it's that much cheaper to see your 'beloved' United(guessin by your name). You might even get to go to a match every two years at this stage. If not barstools are pretty comfy and with the money saved from the tele license, by you getting rid of the tele, you can buy a few drinks or maybe even be a true fan and buy one of those green and yellow. Don't wory you can still watch your re-runs online. Plenty of links also if you want to save more money, by not going to the pub, and be a proper true fan by 'aving the jersey.
    God bless you having the option to watch your own league on your own national broadcaster.

^^^^

Orizio wins.

The difference Dreamer, is that if a high ranking FAI official came out with diarrhoea like that in an official FAI publication, all football fans would lash him out of it and demand his head. The Gah heads close ranks immediately and attack anyone who criticises what he wrote.

Not one of them has commented on his statement and its contradictory nature

Thats the difference between us and then

BOHtox wrote: »

Good post. Its disapointing to see that so many Irish soccer 'fans' have such a patronising view of their sport on a local level. Although I don't mind playing soccer, I do find watching i on television often quite dull - however I've always enjoyed the odd Cork City match I've gone to in Turners, particularly the atmosphere and one can only hope Irish soccer 'fans' begin the support the sport properly (that is at the grassroots) because they are losing out.

Please put up the post in which I used the quote 'just a fan'.

I know exactly who he is, I know he is a high ranking member of Dublin GAA (the DCB seems to be one of the worst in the country, which is saying something) but it is simply not GAA policy to attempt to coerce RTE into showing less LOI games. Its neither organisation policy or organisation opinion - it is this Costello chap's opinion and that is it.

Its his opinion of a senior Gah officer in an official Gah publication.

Policy or not, its highly inappropriate and I find it hard to believe if, say, the Shamrock Rovers member of the FAI Board of Management demanded the Gah had funding withdrawn until, say, they allow women full membership (they don't) in an official FAI publication that it would be allowed pass as 'just an opinion'.

Its a double standard.