Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies Night in Clubs

• 06-12-2010 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭

Does this annoy anyone else? or is it just me....

Most clubs have a certain night a week where women get in for free and men a charged something like 6 or 7 euro.

Is this not fair? can you imagine if it was the other way around? Lads free in women to pay 6 euro. There would be uproar and rightly so.

Is this not illegal discrimination on grounds of gender.

They line you up going in, men one way the woman the other. Woman free, man whatever large sum of money!!

Ahhh, tis is so annoying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

It's complete and utter bollox tbh.

I know a self proclaimed "feminist" who just shrugs it off and laughs.

Complete hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Its usually done to get more women in, the more women in a club the more men will want to go there because of the high ratio of girls, ergo more money.

It is bollox though,just another sexist practice thats laughed off becuase its men who get hard done by instead of women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Nobody is forcing men to pay you know.If you object then dont bother paying in,ya know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

I know very few places that do this any more to be honest. In and around Dublin the only one that comes to mind is the club beneath Blooms hotel?? Club M I think... It's ridiculous though because the place is always about 50-50 ratio on other nights of the week anyway so its not as if they need to get more girls in to even the balance up. It doesn't make good business sense by what I can see.

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Nobody is forcing men to pay you know.If you object then dont bother paying in,ya know.

They usually dont let you into nightclubs without paying, thats not the point though, if there was one night a week where lads get in free and girls dont there'd be uproar as was already said, and rightly so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

or the girls would just go somewhere else?

At least thats what I would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Its great marketing though! I've been to ladies nights before, and there was no shortage of men. Yes they complain about it but they come in anyway!

If they had it the other way around, girls just honestly wouldn't pay in and would go and do something else.

Its just good business so nightclub owners aren't going to change it because its a bit unfair.

And I've seen the kind of lads who pay in on the ladies nights, I feel thoughts of gender equality may fly right over their heads :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

And I've seen the kind of lads who pay in on the ladies nights, I feel thoughts of gender equality may fly right over their heads :P

The usual lads who pay into ladies nights could be described as generally very, very desperate....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

TBH honest i rather pay $10 more than a girl on a night out if the place is full of girls.

Rather than have that extra $10 to spend in a night club full of dudes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

The usual lads who pay into ladies nights could be described as generally very, very desperate....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Schorpio

chivalry_sexism.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Hazys wrote: »
    TBH honest i rather pay $10 more than a girl on a night out if the place is full of girls.

Rather than have that extra $10 to spend in a night club full of dudes.

So single women don't go out on the prowl unless it's free in??

Riiiight....rolleyeballs.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

So single women don't go out on the prowl unless it's free in??

Riiiight....rolleyeballs.gif

Not to an absolute degree but look at it this way -

Women tend to go out with older guys. Therefore they are a scarcer commodity on the nightclub scene.

So to be more likely to have access to single women you can choose to pay in to one of these places.

Personally I never pay into any niteclub. Going a step further and paying for a lapdance makes more sense to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Schorpio wrote: »
    chivalry_sexism.jpg
    Let her carry the 80lbs box!
    As for the lad paying for things, aren most lads brought up this way from a young age either by their parents or grandparents. I always feel weird when herself pays for something.

Tbh I'm not arsed with that, I honestly don't remember the last time I paid into a club.

On a completely seperate note the armies exams and times should be the exact same for men and women *grumble*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

It doesn’t bother me – mainly cause I wouldn’t be one to go to proper niteclubs but ladies nights are to encourage groups of women to have a night out. By doing so this attracts men who want to go out on the pull. More punters, more money for the club.
    If it was Men’s night, it probably wouldn’t encourage women to do the same and it would. The clubs would end up with a sausage fest of a crowd and lads wouldn’t go as a result. Dead club, no money.

So ladies nights it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Call it good business sense all you like, it's still gender based discrimination.
    I doubt many would defend a 'white people get in for free' night even if it were good business sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Any club that has a "ladies night" is usually crap. The idea is fairly dated at this stage..

Galvasean wrote: »
    Call it good business sense all you like, it's still gender based discrimination.
    I doubt many would defend a 'white people get in for free' night even if it were good business sense.

That would be a disaster, all that uncordinating dancing doesnt bear thinking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

I have an idea.

You can have Ladies nights, but every lady that gets in free has to give a guy on his own a dance. ;)

I find all of this pretty laughable TBH.The over whelming majority of night clubs will always attract a large crowd of men irregardless of there been a cover charge or not.If its known that women get in for free more will go therefore more men will attend so it makes perfect sense for club owners to have ladies nights.Do you not think if men get in free nights ment bigger crowds that club owners wouldnt have them?The fact is men will invariably follow women so we have only ourselves to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

If it was the state imposing these rule's I'd be annoyed, but as it is it's just clubs employing policies to try and get more people into their clubs.

If you object to the practice then next time you are deciding where to go out, consider factors like atmosphere, music, quality of booze, price instead of just where has the most tail. In other words, think with your brain and not with your penis and you'll be grand.

Frankly it doesn't bother me because, as someone said above, nightclubs which have ladies' nights tend to be shyte and I've no need to pull anyway. So I tend to avoid those places like the plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭iptba

If it was the state imposing these rule's I'd be annoyed, but as it is it's just clubs employing policies to try and get more people into their clubs.
    But the equality movement/Equal Status act imposes all sorts of rules based on the 9 equality grounds. The State does interfere a lot in what people do.

It could make economic sense to do lots of things e.g. an employer decide if faced with a married man and woman who are 30 that there's a good chance the woman might get pregnant soon and that could be awkward. But you're not allowed do that and she can sue you.

Or somebody might say it would make economic sense not to let a Traveller or group of Travellers into a pub or wherever, but you're not allowed do that. Or have different entry prices for Travellers and non-Travellers. But you're not allowed do that.

Men aren't seen as "victims" as easily as women or other groups.

As for the lad paying for things, aren most lads brought up this way from a young age either by their parents or grandparents. I always feel weird when herself pays for something.
    If this was in reverse, many academics and feminists would be complaining about how society operates/socializes people.

So neither of the above ever happen I take it?

Jesus lads if the best examples we can compare to not getting a job or being refused entry to a pub to is been asked,not forced,asked to pay into a nightclub every now and again then I think we are doing alright.Id be a helluva lot more pissed off if I was refused entry because I wasnt wearing a pair of dress shoes tbh!

So neither of the above ever happen I take it?
    They're banned in case you haven't noticed. Business owners/managers can't use them explicitly and if they do, the person can get some money as recompense. You presumably know all this of course which makes me wonder why you made the point. You've probably been socialised to rush to defend these groups (women anyway) but not men.
    lads if the best examples we can compare to not getting a job or being refused entry to a pub to is been asked,not forced,asked to pay into a nightclub every now and again then I think we are doing alright.
    The important fact you are leaving out is that other people are getting in free at the same time.

How about: An employer says they'll interview men or women for a job, but women have to pay E5 to be interviewed.

Sigh.Im fairly well versed in the laws relating to discrimination.Jus because something is illegal doesnt mean it doesnt happen you know.Ive seen towns shut the doors of every pub when a travellers wedding or funeral was nearby.Is this illegal?Course not,they just all decided to do a stock take at the same time. :rolleyes: Discrimination happens ALL THE TIME.Just because its not as blatant as say asking a woman going for a job if she intends getting pregnant anytime soon doesnt mean it doesnt exist.

Discrimination happens ALL THE TIME.Just because its not as blatant as say asking a woman going for a job if she intends getting pregnant anytime soon doesnt mean it doesnt exist.
    I never said it didn't exist. I said it's against the law to do those things.

It seems some people and bodies will look with more zeal for discrimination, and discuss the significance, when it affects some groups e.g. women, than when it affects other groups e.g. men.

And, who knows, explicitly allowing policies having one line for women and one line for men could even play in to the vast disparity in suicide rates between the genders. Maybe I'm stretching and based on your previous posts, you'll probably rush to denigrate the idea but there are a lot of issues with regard to men's issues that could be explored in more depth if we had less biased researchers looking at gender issues.

I know that.The point I was making is that a man been asked they have to pay into a nightclub on an occasional night is not comparable to someone,male or female BTW,not getting a job based solely on their gender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

could someone email one of the clubs and ask what their procedure is for a man in drag .... would he be subject to free in? ....(as he may look like a she) ... or due to the meat and two veg ...is he stuck paying (and looking like a laydee in a club full to the brim of gagging for it lads :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

What if they said "Women under 120 lbs. free in"? Doubtless you'd be enraged.

Or at the cinema, is it still " I'll buy the tickets and you get the sweets".

goose2005 wrote: »
    What if they said "Women under 120 lbs. free in"? Doubtless you'd be enraged.

Didn't some night club get into a world of trouble recently for only allowing good looking people in?

Really?Imagine what a kick in the nuts it would be to be refused entry because some bouncer thinks you wernt attractive enough.There is a club in Manchester called FCNK (fur coat no knickers) and the signs outside it state "only the young,hot and loaded need apply".Its not subtle either,its like foot high red lettering.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

it's sad really, it's something that is used to exploit men and as usual we have certain people asking us to take it on the chin, it's our fault, others have it worse, laugh it off etc.

I know it's wrong and I can just say it's wrong, simple as that, i won't compare it to something else and say well it's not as bad as that, come on be a man about it, don't whinge, pay up etc

If something is wrong, I'll simply say it's wrong and it is.

However I personally would avoid these places like the plague as I'd be wary of the type of woman who'd go to a place just to get in for free (possibly prepare to buy drinks all night if you want her attention) and there are always other places that don't have a mancharge on the door and most importantly of all I ain't on the pull (but even if I was these places would be a last resort)

Really?Imagine what a kick in the nuts it would be to be refused entry because some bouncer thinks you wernt attractive enough.

Well, you can test the water so to speak by seeing if they accept you here:
    http://www.beautifulpeople.com/index/en

I'll see ya'all on the inside! (if they let you in)

PCPhoto wrote: »
    could someone email one of the clubs and ask what their procedure is for a man in drag .... would he be subject to free in? ....(as he may look like a she) ... or due to the meat and two veg ...is he stuck paying (and looking like a laydee in a club full to the brim of gagging for it lads :P)

Interesting idea! Even if you showed up in your regular clothes and said I'm a girl let me for free, what would happen? Are they gonna ask you to whip it out for proof? :pac:

donfers wrote: »
    it's sad really, it's something that is used to exploit men

I'd be wary of the type of woman who'd go to a place just to get in for free (possibly prepare to buy drinks all night if you want her attention)

And the queue of guys going " Me , me , me , exploit me " :D

donfers wrote: »

However I personally would avoid these places like the plague as I'd be wary of the type of woman who'd go to a place just to get in for free (possibly prepare to buy drinks all night if you want her attention) and there are always other places that don't have a mancharge on the door and most importantly of all I ain't on the pull (but even if I was these places would be a last resort)

I've been to places that will let girls into free! I don't go because I expect there to be a line of desperate lads to buy me drinks, in fact I hate when guys do that. I just like to dance, and if I can do it for free, great!

Do they wear Exploited T-shirts :D

exploited-tshirt.jpg

CDfm wrote: »
    Do they wear Exploited T-shirts :D

exploited-tshirt.jpg

I wish! The lads in these nightclubs are more of the diamond earring in one ear, metal chain around the neck and collared t-shirts.

(no offense if you may wear these items)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

I often wondered why there weren't "gentlemen's nights" at events aimed at the over-35s where there's a shortage of men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

sorry im very interested in this topic and have read the posts but i didnt see one regarding the legality of this practice, now i imagine the person working the ticket desk or manager will tell you if you dont like the policy dont pay in, but lets say i was out with 3 women one night, all wanted to go to club X, which had a ladies night but i refused to pay based on gender discrimination, what are my legal rights here?

also i agree places that run ladies nights are awul, one popular place does it here in limerick, on a thursday i think, absolutely packed to the rafters with people, which i hate, but the worst are they droves of guys hounding them

Emme wrote: »
    I often wondered why there weren't "gentlemen's nights" at events aimed at the over-35s where there's a shortage of men.

Maybe there are.

There are the infamous "mickey money nights" in some clubs on childrens allowance nights.

There is rumoured to be one in Tamangoes, though I havent been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Maybe there are.

There are the infamous "mickey money nights" in some clubs on childrens allowance nights.

Do ladies or men get in free on mickey money nights? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Theres two ways to view this I think.

One is that nightclubs usually cost money whether theres a ladies night or not. If you want to go to a nightclub theres a high chance you're on the pull. Naturally you'll want to go to the place with the most women in it. Therefore you go to the place with the ladies night. In this scenario it works in the mans favour, as he is better off in that nightclub than any other.

On the other hand, this could be viewed as unfair if you wanted to go there for any other reason than to meet women, say if there was a band/dj playing there that you liked or its your favourite spot to head out to. In my experience I have never seen this to be the case.

These ladies nights are the result of the choices of the vast amounts of men who go out specifically to meet women. There's no point in giving all these theoretical arguments of how it's unfair, the fact is it's not unfair in the minds of the guys who attend ladies nights.

Emme wrote: »
    Do ladies or men get in free on mickey money nights? :D

The men hope they will :D

What about a club e.g. dating club or event for professionals where the men get in for free (on the basis that female professionals don't like to date/marry "down" but more men would be willing to/are less driven to look for another professional). I think there would be objections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

iptba wrote: »
    What about a club e.g. dating club or event for professionals where the men get in for free (on the basis that female professionals don't like to date/marry "down" but more men would be willing to/are less driven to look for another professional). I think there would be objections.

hehehe would love to see the response if men earning over 70K got in free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

WRT the legality issue, I've often wondered the same thing about clubs which have over-23 policies (for example) on certain nights. I know it's not exactly the same; younger customers aren't being asked to pay more than the older ones! But it's still not stricly adhereing to the age of consumption laws.

Clubs seem to get away with this by citing policy is at their discretion. I'm assuming this applies also on Ladies' nights. Which are always cack, anyway.

Jagle wrote: »
    sorry im very interested in this topic and have read the posts but i didnt see one regarding the legality of this practice,
    jokettle wrote: »
    WRT the legality issue, I've often wondered the same thing about clubs which have over-23 policies (for example) on certain nights. I know it's not exactly the same; younger customers aren't being asked to pay more than the older ones! But it's still not stricly adhereing to the age of consumption laws.

Clubs seem to get away with this by citing policy is at their discretion. I'm assuming this applies also on Ladies' nights. Which are always cack, anyway.

In relation to over23's nights, there is a law that that they may do so once the club has put up a clealy visible notice no less than 24 hours prior to the event/night.
    As for thing's likeladies nights I assume they are utilising a loophole that allows more specific rules in relation to 'private functions'. I'm pretty sure this is what The Furry Glen (a males only event speifically aimed at gay bears) do.
    Maybe there are.

They certainly used to do an "older people's night" (or 'grab a granny night' as the locals refered to it as) on a Tuesday night IIRC. I'm not sure if they still do it. what the stipulations were I am not certain (I was only a young fella at the time).