Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chevron World Challenge

• 02-12-2010 6:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭

Top end field. Coverage starts at 9pm tonight on Sky Sports 3.

10:20 am Donald, Luke Kim, Anthony
    10:30 am Watson, Bubba Johnson, Dustin
    10:40 am Casey, Paul Poulter, Ian
    10:50 am McIlroy, Rory McDowell, Graeme
    11:00 am Mahan, Hunter O'Hair, Sean
    11:10 am Woods, Tiger Stricker, Steve
    11:20 am Furyk, Jim Villegas, Camilo
    11:30 am Kuchar, Matt Watney, Nick
    11:40 am Cink, Stewart Johnson, Zach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    Top end field. Coverage starts at 6.30 tonight on Sky Sports 3.

10:20 am Donald, Luke Kim, Anthony
    10:30 am Watson, Bubba Johnson, Dustin
    10:40 am Casey, Paul Poulter, Ian
    10:50 am McIlroy, Rory McDowell, Graeme
    11:00 am Mahan, Hunter O'Hair, Sean
    11:10 am Woods, Tiger Stricker, Steve
    11:20 am Furyk, Jim Villegas, Camilo
    11:30 am Kuchar, Matt Watney, Nick
    11:40 am Cink, Stewart Johnson, Zach

Starts at 9.0pm I'm sure - LPGA golf at 6.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Starts at 9.0pm I'm sure - LPGA golf at 6.30

Correct, my apologies. 9pm start

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    Correct, my apologies. 9pm start

We'll just have to watch the chicks until then! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

That's a lot of golf for the weekend.
    The camera has just switched from Paula creamer to Laura Davies , Jesus what a difference.:eek:

We'll just have to watch the chicks until then! :)

Not a bad problem to have!

We really are spoiled this week with the two tournaments on - the Nedbank and the Chevron. Two small tournaments (field size-wise) that are high on quality and so far, full of great golf.

We deserve it on this of all weeks in fairness - Snow. F*cking. Everywhere!! :)

EDIT: Oh, and so far, the Irish going very well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

mcdowell / rory -v- Tiger Woods

great weekend in store

conno16 wrote: »
    mcdowell / rory -v- Tiger Woods

great weekend in store

Yeah, I noticed golf channel had Rory listed above McDowell but I think Sky Sports had it the other way round so not sure which one partners Tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Yeah, I noticed golf channel had Rory listed above McDowell but I think Sky Sports had it the other way round so not sure which one partners Tiger.

Rory and Tiger are paired together according to PGA Tour.com.

Has Rory ever played with Tiger?

time for woods to teach that punk a lesson on the golf course..
    i hope tiger brings a scissors as well btw

time for woods to teach that punk a lesson on the golf course

Tiger has been know to react to things that were said in public about him:

http://www.thegolfblog.com/2006/02/tiger-delivers-smack-down-on-stephen.html

Although this is a stroke play event it will make interesting viewing regarding McIlroy's comments in the past:

http://sports.yahoo.com/golf/blog/devil_ball_golf/post/Careful-what-you-wish-for-Tiger-Woods-responds-?urn=golf-273112

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

A online link http://www.veetle.com/index.php/channel/view#4cf570d6387ea

you have to download veetle which only takes 30seconds or so

Tiger is creeping into some ominous form... McDowell is having two days like Harrington - great Thursday, struggling Friday! Rory ticking along nicely...

How about Bubba with a 280-yrd 4Wood for ALBATROSS?! Awesome stuff...

some albatross by bubba!! 283 4wood WOW

not to mention caseys hole in one....some golf being played

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Be_The_Ball

Rory playing a little erratically, some magical shots some suspect. Taking 4 to get down from 54yds, not the best. I hope he can just ignore Tiger and play his own game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Well Rory cant chip. Thats at least 3 or 4 shots left out there today because of it.

time for woods to teach that punk a lesson on the golf course..

as i suspected..
    back in your box rory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

Still, he's not bad for a 21 year old!! Give him time lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

McIlroy has a pathetic short game, equivalent of a single handicapper.
    He seems to be a bit of a celebrity golfer, he has won just 2 tournaments and regularly blows up even though he is blessed with the finest ball striking in the game. A bottler if you ask me and it's time to back up your considerable talent sonnie because dying the hair and fannying about on Twitter won't sort out your short game.
    Today is at least the 10th tournament that I have seen a major implosion from him.
    Compared to Graham McDowell he comes across as petulant & spoilt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

What was Rory at on 18?? Seems to rush his putts alot and not take his time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

Tobyglen wrote: »
    McIlroy has a pathetic short game, equivalent of a single handicapper.
    He seems to be a bit of a celebrity golfer, he has won just 2 tournaments and regularly blows up even though he is blessed with the finest ball striking in the game. A bottler if you ask me and it's time to back up your considerable talent sonnie because dying the hair and fannying about on Twitter won't sort out your short game.
    Today is at least the 10th tournament that I have seen a major implosion from him.
    Compared to Graham McDowell he comes across as petulant & spoilt.

Yes but you must remember he is still only 21, lots to learn yet both on and off the course!

aster99 wrote: »
    Yes but you must remember he is still only 21, lots to learn yet both on and off the course!
    Yes but he's wasting his considerable talent, It's a shame he doesn't have the focus that is needed for him to be the best, remember Garcia?
    So far his career has been a plethora of implosions.

tang1 wrote: »
    What was Rory at on 18?? Seems to rush his putts alot and not take his time.
    He's always doing that, he's trying to impress by playing quickly and not thinking, braindead golf.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 markj2009

if this tournament is anything to go by his chipping and pitching appear to be very poor for a top professional. And putting not up to highest level either. What did he take at the 18th today double or triple bogey ?
    If he throws away shots like that I can't see him winning majors any time soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Took a triple, took two to get out of a greenside bunker and then three putted from no more than 15 feet.

tang1 wrote: »
    Took a triple, took two to get out of a greenside bunker and then three putted from no more than 15 feet.

6 three putts in 3 rounds. Really poor. Turn them into 2 putts and he's bang in contention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Qwert1

Tiger on track for his first win in a loooong time. what are the chances of him imploding and blowing his 4 shot lead tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

He's always doing that, he's trying to impress by playing quickly and not thinking, braindead golf.,

hard to change you're natural rhythem,give him a break,he will get his putting sorted before the majors next year,he may not win one next yeat but give him time ffs,
    you said he's wasting his talent?????????????? he's making a life out of it,earning millions,
    we'll see the best of him next year on the euro tour

Can only assume people here slating Rory are WUMs... he's number 10 in the world and he's 21!! Ha... he has the world by the b*llocks you f*cking idiots...

Please stop making spectacles of yourselves by saying things like "oh, he missed a putt, it's probably cos of twitter... now he'll only make $250,000 this week instead if $400,000... It makes you look silly... so it does :)

Can only assume people here slating Rory are WUMs... he's number 10 in the world and he's 21!! Ha... he has the world by the b*llocks you f*cking idiots...

Please stop making spectacles of yourselves by saying things like "oh, he missed a putt, it's probably cos of twitter... now he'll only make $250,000 this week instead if $400,000... It makes you look silly... so it does :)
    Your allowed call me a f*cking idiots now for stating an opinion? Thats a ban in any other forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Really enjoyed watching McDowell hanging onto Tiger last night. That escape at the par 5 15th (?) where GMAC hooked one 40 yards OOB and still go down in 3 from the tee was some par.

Re: McIlroy he really needs to see someone about his short game. Isn't Mark Roe credited for turning Westwood's green side antics around over the past couple of years? He also coaches Ross Fisher so must have something to offer. Whatever, McIlroy needs someone to take him aside, and fast. That blow up on 18 last night was embarrassing and topped off a succession of missed gettable putts and thinned chips over the previous couple of days. All that said, his long game is a joy to watch and it i all the more frustrating when you see him knock the ball close for an eagle/birdie opportunity only see him walk off with a par or worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Your allowed call me a f*cking idiots now for stating an opinion? Thats a ban in any other forum.

you're being defensive,sometimes you have to call a spade a spade,the mods probably had a look at the thread and agreed with him,i certainly do

"by their fruits ye shall know them"
    Matthew 7:16-20 (King James Version)

Gmac getting run together, only one off Tiger through 6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭ant043

Brilliant. Get to see how this new developing swing of woods stands up to a bit of final round nerves.

heavyballs wrote: »
    you're being defensive,sometimes you have to call a spade a spade,the mods probably had a look at the thread and agreed with him,i certainly do
    Shouldn't expect much else from a bunch of internet warriors, must be tough at the top of the post count :D

Anyway, onto a real golfer with bottle, GMac doing excellent stuff, Rory twitter struggling as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Shouldn't expect much else from a bunch of internet warriors, must be tough at the top of the post count :D

Anyway, onto a real golfer with bottle, GMac doing excellent stuff, Rory twitter struggling as usual.

where was that quality chipping from Rors on Friday:rolleyes: he would be right up there if he hadnt messed up 16. Go Gmac

It's easier to do it when your 10 off the lead, again he sticks it on 15, sensational iron player but no head for the game.

GMac slightly struggling at the moment, great stuff all the same and it would be so sweet to see him beat the greatest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

tomorrows a school day
    time for bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Tiger melting?? :D

Edit - Woods doubles 13 and GMAC birdies it. Our man 2 ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

Get in there G Mac :D
    What a turn around

sweetswing wrote: »
    Get in there G Mac :D
    What a turn around
    F*ucking Hero! Send that pimp back to his brothel. Awesome stuff.

Poor drive on 14 opens the door back for Woods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

That mcilroy is as good as he is as young as he is (3rd place in three of the last five majors) with a short game that is substandard shows just how far he can go in the game.

TIGER is completly human....he is absolutely BRICKING himself :D where did that shot come out of from GMAC...shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Go on gmac! Finish the job, cap an amazing 12 months since this time last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Gmac will do well to get out of here with a five

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Gmac 2 ahead after 13. Keep it up.

Great stuff by Mcilroy over back 9......Another week that could have been so much better but hopefully this is finish is a positive sign for 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Go Gmac!!!