Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sniping in Black Ops

• 02-12-2010 6:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭

Iv been snipping in Black Ops for a few days now, I would categorise myself as not the best sniper around but im getting better with practise all time but this game really doesnt like sniping I think

I changed to sniping because im tired of using ak74u etc, its a real nice change and I love one shot kills, just gives me that warm fuzzy feeling :D

So anyone out there a regular sniper and share their experiences and tips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I'm trying a lot, and so are most of my RL friends.

It's very hard, but getting better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Ya Tallon if you get a good video of sniping upload it please. I would love to watch and get some tips from it

I will do, have a few good clips, bit no good full matchs

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Repeating myself here but it's easy to snipe *on certain maps* - Array, Villa, Jungle and one or two others I can't remember.

It maybe be easy but you wont build a high score with just sniping

I think the game could be more sympathetic to snipers like letting them have more than one claymore and not letting them show up on killcam

What's pissing me of lately is the L96AW is only getting hit marks, for example I shot someone twice with the gun and they didnt die, now that was just bs

Well I don't use claymores. I've only unlocked C4 in my time on BOPS and I still find it easy to progress.

It's harder in a party to get decent scores especially with the lads from here as they are going in all guns blazing nicking my kills :pac: But on your own, well it's feeding season more often than not :D

Said my piece on hit-markers, I find the closer I'am.. the more likely I'am to get a hit-marker even if I hit the upper chest on the enemy. That's my one irk about it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

Tallon wrote: »
    I'm trying a lot, and so are most of my RL friends.

It's very hard, but getting better

so you and one other is it ?:pac:

sorry i get bitter when i hear about people and their real life friends :P

Yeah, my mam :(

What perks and secondary weapons do ye use ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

Sniping just doesn't work for me. So many times i've had the cross hairs centered on an enemy and not even get a hitmarker. Im thinking it must be my connection as I do have a fault for the last few months which is due to be fixed friday at last(probably wont be now cus of snow).

Hopefully it gets better as I really like sniping.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Don't get too comfortable, they are patching it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

I hate snipers :(

I make it my personal mission to make their life a misery!

Rooney10 wrote: »

why ?

Liam O wrote: »
    Don't get too comfortable, they are patching it...

To make it worse? Probably. If so they are true cretins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Headshot wrote: »
    Iv been snipping in Black Ops for a few days now, I would categorise myself as not the best sniper around but im getting better with practise all time but this game really doesnt like sniping I think

I changed to sniping because im tired of using ak74u etc, its a real nice change and I love one shot kills, just gives me that warm fuzzy feeling :D

So anyone out there a regular sniper and share their experiences and tips
    Fn Fal+agog. =1 hit kill without the scope shake

To make it worse? Probably. If so they are true cretins.
    I've only heard this off my friend so don't take it as gospel I haven't looked it up myself but it's taking away the original patch and tweaking it slightly so fingers crossed they will make it slightly easier (or make it COD4/WAW standard hopefully)

btw Headshot are you using the variable scope? A must do at the moment anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

yeah 2 guys from treyarch were in the machinima live stream talking about patching it to find a happy medium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

I find it very hard myself but getting used it. No where near the same standard as I was in MW2. It really proves how Sleight of Hand made such a difference.

Yes Liam in using variable scope, iv also started using kimbo pythons today. Now I hate kimbo weapons but needs must when your sniping. Now I just have to figure out how to kill mid range.. kimbo pythons are really good and should defiantly be consider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Hutch was saying that they have already tweaked it slightly and I have to agree . Seems to me, with the standard scope anyways, that there is alot less sway when you ads first and and that randomising bullet time ****e has been shortened .

All and all sniping can be great on the right map due to the fact that most of the guns now have recoil and you have the advatange at range !

Yes Liam in using variable scope, iv also started using kimbo pythons today. Now I hate kimbo weapons but needs must when your sniping. Now I just have to figure out how to kill mid range.. kimbo pythons are really good and should defiantly be consider
    personally used the Python speed reloader before I prestiged, allowed me to take on longer range shots and more accurate than the Akimbo but obviously at the cost of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I love sniping in games but found Black Ops obviously a lot harder as quite simply the maps are not geared towards sniping with the exception of maybe one or two...
    Loved it in MW1/2 but hate the fact that a guy with a MP5 can take me out miles away while I'm scoping him...
    The best sniping game ever was in Battlefield 2 and the guns were well balanced..you wouldn't see some little bastard with a MP5 taking you across the map plus you had bullet drop etc..
    But I do love sniping the cod series as it's very easy especially in hardcore.
    And it's always fun to see some guy you killed taking it personally and coming after you...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭LukeQuietus

I sat up all night last night in Combat Training searching each map for a decent sniping perch. EVERY map has a good place. Even cracked has a nice window where people rarely spot you or sneak up behind you (of course a claymore or motion sensors always help avoid this). I think Launch is probably the hardest to get a cosy spot in. Array is the best though. That and the firing range. The only gun is the WA200 ACOG. PSG1 is dreadfully innacurate I find. Also I don't know how anyone can use a zommed scope. It's dreadful. You need to aim 2 feet blow them and then take a breath so it jumps up to the right place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Sniping is getting an upgrade as of the 4th of Dec (today).
    Headshot multipliers are being increased so that even silenced snipers will have a one-hit kill to the face.

CORaven wrote: »
    Sniping is getting an upgrade as of the 4th of Dec (today).
    Headshot multipliers are being increased so that even silenced snipers will have a one-hit kill to the face.

link ?

link ?

http://www.callofduty.com/board/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=313362&sid=8lm9ju7cf6gg0ufoik65c0tih0

Yays:
    Issues Addressed:
    • Resolved several issues with parties getting disbanded unexpectedly.
    • Updated handling for UPnP-enabled routers to improve matchmaking conditions where users had strict or moderate NAT types. Also added in-game communications so that all players are aware of their NAT type in the Player Match party lobby.
    • Addressed issue that prevented the “Load MP by Default” option from saving when other specific option combinations were set.
    • Prevention of exploit that allowed players to keep custom classes and killstreaks after prestige.
    • Addressed an issue where Flak Jacket Pro would not always protect against ground fires left by Napalm Strikes.
    • Prevention of users losing their killstreak reward when switching classes at the start of a new round in round-based game modes.
    • Addressed an issue where the incorrect perks would appear when spectating another player under certain circumstances.
    • Added round start explosive delay to China Lake grenade launcher to give it the same round start limitations as other explosives.
    • Contracts will now reset when the player Prestiges.
    • Prevention of Valkyrie rocket exploding upon release under rare conditions.
    • Prevention of Gunship failing to give player full control under rare conditions.
    • Prevention of an issue where a player will get teleported outside the map boundaries under very specific circumstances.
    • Additional security measures to enhance detection and banning capabilities.

Gameplay Tuning:
    • Limit the ability to re-roll supply drops using Hardline Pro to Care Packages only, no other killstreak drops.
    • Added a negative influencer to all spawn points to decrease the chances of spawning near an enemy. This will further improve spawning protection on top of previous updates.
    • Additional sound mix tuning for Ninja Pro users – increased ranges and volume of enemy footsteps, and removed player footstep sounds on concrete material types.
    • Increased headshot multipliers for sniper rifles. Sniper rifles with suppressors equipped will now always be ensured one-shot kill headshots.
    • Subtle increase in sniper rifle accuracy when scoping in.
    • Added a render delay to the red diamond player indicators that appear when controlling the Gunship, Valkyrie Rocket and Chopper Gunner. When a player first spawns, this will not appear for a period of time.
    • Additional minor reductions in knife lunge.

http://www.callofduty.com/board/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=313362&sid=8lm9ju7cf6gg0ufoik65c0tih0

Yays:
    Issues Addressed:
    • Resolved several issues with parties getting disbanded unexpectedly.
    • Updated handling for UPnP-enabled routers to improve matchmaking conditions where users had strict or moderate NAT types. Also added in-game communications so that all players are aware of their NAT type in the Player Match party lobby.
    • Addressed issue that prevented the “Load MP by Default” option from saving when other specific option combinations were set.
    • Prevention of exploit that allowed players to keep custom classes and killstreaks after prestige.
    • Addressed an issue where Flak Jacket Pro would not always protect against ground fires left by Napalm Strikes.
    • Prevention of users losing their killstreak reward when switching classes at the start of a new round in round-based game modes.
    • Addressed an issue where the incorrect perks would appear when spectating another player under certain circumstances.
    • Added round start explosive delay to China Lake grenade launcher to give it the same round start limitations as other explosives.
    • Contracts will now reset when the player Prestiges.
    • Prevention of Valkyrie rocket exploding upon release under rare conditions.
    • Prevention of Gunship failing to give player full control under rare conditions.
    • Prevention of an issue where a player will get teleported outside the map boundaries under very specific circumstances.
    • Additional security measures to enhance detection and banning capabilities.

Gameplay Tuning:
    • Limit the ability to re-roll supply drops using Hardline Pro to Care Packages only, no other killstreak drops.
    • Added a negative influencer to all spawn points to decrease the chances of spawning near an enemy. This will further improve spawning protection on top of previous updates.
    • Additional sound mix tuning for Ninja Pro users – increased ranges and volume of enemy footsteps, and removed player footstep sounds on concrete material types.
    • Increased headshot multipliers for sniper rifles. Sniper rifles with suppressors equipped will now always be ensured one-shot kill headshots.
    • Subtle increase in sniper rifle accuracy when scoping in.
    • Added a render delay to the red diamond player indicators that appear when controlling the Gunship, Valkyrie Rocket and Chopper Gunner. When a player first spawns, this will not appear for a period of time.

thats coming out in the next patch, I dont think that's a live live fix

You are correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

Rooney10 wrote: »

I agree with this, I really hate snipers- it steams from a hatred of squad spawning in bad company when a sniper is miles away from the action.

legitimate%20strategy.jpg

Granted snipers haven't bothered me as much in black ops. Probably cause by the sounds of it it's a bit crap being a snipper in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

I dont like the first one as its not a problem (except for maybe clueless idiots )

+ 1 on the second.

*facepalm*

Check final scoreboard.

His gamertag you can see btw :D

Says something about the vid being private Ade ?

Video is Private

Hmm. I watched it earlier anyway.

Basically your man goes 4-29 in Domination and basically tries to be grizz the entire match.

I seen it. Must of changed it to private earlier. He tried a 60000000000 degree cross map tomahawk too. Fail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 FeaRCaRBoN

BOPS has more hitmarkers than Mw2. The patch just made the hit box bigger or something and the big sway when you zoom in the scope. Treyarch just basically destroyed one of the most popular communitys on CoD. I snipe in black ops i think its pretty easy but i feel sorry for the people who are new to the series on Christmas...

Tommy_NDX wrote: »
    I seen it. Must of changed it to private earlier. He tried a 60000000000 degree cross map tomahawk too. Fail
    i try them all the time, it's not hurting my team and its the craic, if not only to see a guy throw a tomahawk an unreal distance :D

So happy that sniping is back, although I really am enjoying MW2 again

Hmm. I watched it earlier anyway.

Basically your man goes 4-29 in Domination and basically tries to be grizz the entire match.

I should have also added that his team got hammered and that there were long periods were his team had no flags despite him literally spawning beside them for an easy cap.
    i try them all the time, it's not hurting my team and its the craic, if not only to see a guy throw a tomahawk an unreal distance :D

See that does my head in tbh, but I think I'm in a minority(in the general COD community) in that I give it my all to win first and foremost. I'm not a grizz fan as some here will tell ya but the one thing I give him props for is that he doesn't resort to this BS(sorry trick shots) until he knows the game is in the bag. He used to be the opposite of that in COD4 as I can vouch for having played with him a few times(back when I had regular access to a 360).

Most people I see with a throwing knife/tomohawk/ballistic knife no doubt use it for their precious youtube moments. Fair enough some people find this fun. But when I'm doing everything to win it can get very frustrating especially playing with randoms.

I have tomahawks on most of my classes and always throw them across the map but theres no way i'd be trying that sh1te if we were losing.

Of course yeah, I'm regularly playing with friends who have a very little chance of losing because one or two of us will always have an outrageous game and it leaves time to have a bit of fun, when I'm playing on my own I'll only snipe against poor teams or on Array or Jungle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭JustPaddy1

It maybe be easy but you wont build a high score with just sniping

My best sniper game i went 33-1 and my first ever sniper game was 35-15 and i think that the snipers have been improved by the patch.

You played with grizz Ade ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I'm jealous.

And about messing around with tomos, that nice tomo I got last night was for the GWC when we were 7300-3600 up. Hardly going to mess like that if we're losing by the same amount

LakesKeane wrote: »
    You played with grizz Ade ?

Yeah, a few times. Twas in the days of working at XB Cafe here in Dublin.
    Lad I know played with him regularly in COD4 so had the chance to play a few games with him during the late night sessions in store we used to have.