Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Willie Casey v Rigondeaux

• 01-12-2010 6:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭

http://boxing-ireland.com/20101201_willie_casey_guillermo_rigondeaux_53.html
    There's talk of the Pride of Limerick city fighting Rigondeaux. With plenty of great fights at euro level (Kiko, Booth, Munroe), Is "Big Bany" crazy for contemplating this fight? Even Willie says he's still learning! Surely have those fights first (which will IMO pack out UL). After those fights bring on Rigondeaux then, but not now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

i'm sick of fighters stallin, haye the most glarin example. go for it willie, no doubt he will, reckon he would win too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I don't know if anyone has seen Rigo recently; I did, and to be perfectly honest, nothing stood out for me. He crept by Cordoba in his last bout. An absolute snooze fest. Great amateur, but so far he hasn't exploded or looked great as a pro. So, Willie should relish a fight with Rigo, he can win too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

walshb wrote: »
    I don't know if anyone has seen Rigo recently; I did, and to be perfectly honest, nothing stood out for me. He crept by Cordoba in his last bout. An absolute snooze fest. Great amateur, but so far he hasn't exploded or looked great as a pro. So, Willie should relish a fight with Rigo, he can win too.
    Cordoba v Rigo
    Both counterpunching southpaws. It was probably always going to be boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Yeah i saw that fight as well and i was hugely disappointed, he tried to impress early on but ended up winning the fight with boring point scoring although in fairness Cordoba is an akward opponent for anybody.
    He'd destroy Casey though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭pbffan

Absolutely awful fight for Casey imo, Rigondeaux potshots his way to a very wide unanimous decision. The styles are all wrong for Casey, there's such a gulf in class - I think if they fought 10 times he'd lose each one of them

http://www.eastsideboxing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=272294&page=5
    Willie fighting Rigo on Paddy's weekend in Millstreet, according to Vintagekits:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Maybe Rigo could win, will win, but I think Casey pushes him real hard.
    Rigo has yet to show me that he is a real pro. Great amateur, no doubt, but style wise he hasn't shown me real pro class. Casey has bags of stamina, a solid beard, heavy enough hands and throws a hell of a lot. That may well prove problematic for Rigo.

march 19 ireland england on that day too in rugby afaik, could be a crackin weekend for irish sport. didnt bernard beat cordoba around that weekend?

casey all the way! seen rigo cordoba too, snoozefest alright, rigo more to offer there but lacking in power. cant see him managing to counterpunch willie casey in his face all night. but can see him doin it for first 6 rounds or so and then casey's stamina will come up to scrutiny, though we said that about paulie.

casey ko 5-8 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

At first when it was nothing more than speculation i thought why would he, as there are so many good fights at euro level. But lads... and lassies, there is no gaurantee he will win any of them. If he loses to rigo then it was at a higher level and can still seel himself at top euro level. If kiko beats him where does he go?
    And if he was to get by rigo then he can beat any of the champions imo. So this could very well be a once in a lifetime chance.
    Most boxers get offered world title fights but wait for better options, caseys stock may never be so high again. Undefeated european champion thats a fan favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭pbffan

To be honest, I see it as a Hatton-Mayweather type fight. Like Ricky, Willie has bags of heart and will never quit, but he's bound to be exposed for the limited fighter he is against somebody as skilled as Rigondeaux. As much as I'd like to see Casey knock him into next week, it just ain't gonna happen if you ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

Oh no...

I'm a big fan of Casey. He has a tremendous amount of heart and a fan friendly style. I respect his courage in wanting to take a fight like this. However, I really feel it would be a bad move for him. Right now he should take the Martinez fight and get a few more fights under his belt before thinking of a fight like this. Rigondeaux had an illustrious amateur career and is more seasoned than most fighters are when they've had less than 10 fights.

Rigondeaux has a style that won't suit Casey. He will be outboxed for however long the fight lasts. I hate being a killjoy because characters like Casey are good for boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

I read Dunne's interview today about how he "fears" for Willie Casy against Rigondeaux.

Dunne seemed to try his best to make the interview about himself and that is something I have noticed quite a bit when he is talking about Willie Casey, but I am straying from the reason I am posting in this thread.

Rigondeaux has not been that impressive in his last few bouts, and certainly nowhere near as impressive as the hype machines would make him out to be.

I think that the fight will prove much closer than many make it out to be now, and would not be surprised to see Casey stop him in the later rounds.

Rigondeaux was an amazing amateur boxer, but he can be far too laid back in the ring at times, and likes to have the time to pick his punches. Give him that time and he can be deadly.

Lante Addy showed that a somewhat durable journeyman can frustrate Rigondeaux if he gets taken into the later rounds, and Addy also showed that Rigondeaux seems very wary of being hit even though Addy threw very little.

Now Rigondeaux won every round in that fight, but Addy took the fight on short notice and basically fought in a defensive style, but Rigondeaux was unable to do much against him other than to try and rack up points.

Casey for my money is far more durable than Addy and will bring a far great tempo to the fight than Addy, plus I cannot see him being the winnging target that Addy was.

Rigondeaux will start as favourite, but I don't think a Casey win would be any shock at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Casey has bags of stamina, a solid beard, heavy enough hands and throws a hell of a lot.

Im would actually question his stamina in a BIG way. I emembe in Pizefighter he seemed to blow his load very ealy on. I was impressed with his workrate against Hyland but watching it in Limerick i was sure that if Hyland could hold out for another 2 rounds that Casey would punch himself out, I guess we neve found that out but i still hold serious reservations about his stamina or his ability to pace himself over 12 championship rounds.

Im also not sold on him being a big hitter, he does get good success when he has the upper hand and swamps an opponent but in terms of being able to land a single big shot that will stop a fighter dead in his tracks....im not so sue.

I think willie is great for the game and a real carachter and I for one will support him but he needs much more exposure before this huge leap, i mean who has he beat???? a very average hyland for the euro title. He should really test himself against Kiko before moving any further, a fight with kiko would tell us a lot. Fair played to him for taking it but its wayyyyyy to ealy in my book and he will pay dearly for it, too much too soon willie boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

casey will get embarrassed imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

casey will get embarrassed imo

He may be out of his depth, but you have to admire him for willing to test himself against the top fighters. I don't see how that can be embarrassing no matter how the fight pans out.
    Regardless of the likely outcome it's not as if all avenues will be closed for him after this fight. He can still have a decent career at domestic and european level.

who knows he may even pull off an enormous upset, it has happened before.

its a silly fight to make, he has more to prove at british european level, i think he would be chasing shadows all night, ut yes i have respect for him taking the fight and would roar him on, but imo he not ready,dont read into that messy fight the last night cordoba is no mug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

its a silly fight to make, he has more to prove at british european level, i think he would be chasing shadows all night, ut yes i have respect for him taking the fight and would roar him on, but imo he not ready,dont read into that messy fight the last night cordoba is no mug

It's not a silly fight for him to make. If he was genuinely world class and a cut above the domestic and Euro level fighters it would be silly. There is a very realistic chance he loses to Kiko and his chances of fighting for a world title are over. At least this way, he can have a crack at the title, if he loses, there are always those good domestic/Euro fights waiting for him.

Casey isn't some superstar in the making. If he is offered a chance he'd be a fool to refuse it. This is a big pay day for him, and regardless of the outcome of the fight, more people will know who he is in the future. You have to remember this is his livelyhood also.

Lyell and Smichet messed things up for Duddy.

Vera messed things up for Lee.

Casey would be mad not to take this. So what if he loses, brilliant if he wins.

Btw, how is Rigondeaux's chin?

makl wrote: »
    Lyell and Smichet messed things up for Duddy.

Vera messed things up for Lee.

Casey would be mad not to take this. So what if he loses, brilliant if he wins.

Btw, how is Rigondeaux's chin?

Cordoba put him down with a jab. It was more of a flash knockdown though, his legs went for a split second, he was not hurt at all.

magma69 wrote: »
    This is a big pay day for him

That I doubt very much!

alanceltic wrote: »
    That I doubt very much!

7,200 in Mill Street. ESPN showing it in America, and possibly SKY in Ireland and the UK. It would be the biggest payday for a long time in Ireland bar Dunne v Cordoba and Poonsawat.

It's not a silly fight for him to make. If he was genuinely world class and a cut above the domestic and Euro level fighters it would be silly. There is a very realistic chance he loses to Kiko and his chances of fighting for a world title are over. At least this way, he can have a crack at the title, if he loses, there are always those good domestic/Euro fights waiting for him.

Casey isn't some superstar in the making. If he is offered a chance he'd be a fool to refuse it. This is a big pay day for him, and regardless of the outcome of the fight, more people will know who he is in the future. You have to remember this is his livelyhood also.

so you think he loses to kiko, but he should fight rigondeaux, thats a strange statement, lamb, slaughter, comes to mind,

No, I said there is a very realistic chance he loses to Kiko. I'd have Casey as slight favourite 60/40. I'm not going to repeat what I said in my last post so if you could justify why you think it's such a strange statement I'd love to hear it. I've already outlined the positives from this fight for Casey and why it's worth going for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

When will the tickets be on sale?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

CorkMan wrote: »
    When will the tickets be on sale?

Plenty of issues to sort out before then mate. I'd say its still only 50/50 of happening.

Cordoba put him down with a jab. It was more of a flash knockdown though, his legs went for a split second, he was not hurt at all.

yea, don't think he's ever been really tested as a pro so it will be new for him.

read on another forum he's a bit of a fan of the nightlife, corkboys get to work :cool:

makl wrote: »
    yea, don't think he's ever been really tested as a pro so it will be new for him.

read on another forum he's a bit of a fan of the nightlife, corkboys get to work :cool:
    Corkboys?
    Surely it's the Cork Slappers you want to be sent to Rigo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

I think its a super fight for Casey. Rigondeaux has a huge reputation given his exploits as an amateur and beating him would shoot Caseys career into orbit. He has talent alright but he's very passive in the ring, hardly throws a combination and doesn't give me the impression he's going to dominate any fight. It was said he split from Roach because he's lazy and wasn't putting in the work training too. If this is true he'll always give less talented, fully committed boxers a chance against him.

Will he knock Casey out? Don't think a shot here or there will stop Casey so 'Big Bang' might have the rounds to catch him. Rigondeuax with the upper hand no doubt but no hopeless cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭megadodge

corny wrote: »
    It was said he split from Roach because he's lazy and wasn't putting in the work training too. If this is true he'll always give less talented, fully committed boxers a chance against him.

It was well publicised that the reason he "split" from Roach was because Freddy has too many boxers and hence couldn't give Rigondeaux as much attention as he was hoping for. Perfectly reasonable in my eyes. You don't win as much as he has by being lazy!

I have really got to like Casey and you have to admire his take-on-anybody attitude, but I really find it hard to see him with a chance in this fight. There's no doubt he'll be pressuring and pressuring but it's not as if Rigo isn't used to that. He has the class to keep countering and moving all night.

I'm still unsure about Willie's stamina too. If he throws as many punches in the early going as he did v Hyland, I'd find it hard to see him keep that pace up and he could tire badly later in the fight leaving himself open to an expert shot picker.

I'd love to see Willie win, but it's a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭NikNak8

Long Shot is better than no shot. Remember when Kiko fought Dunne no one gave him a chance. Think he should grab it with both hands if he can.
    If he doesnt take it and he beats Kiko then no one will want to fight him and if he loses to Kiko he will fall off the radar all together.
    Nothing ventured nothing gained. If he does loose to Rigondeaux he would still be able to fight Kiko at Euro level and at least be able to say he had a world title fight.
    I think people are not giving Willie the credit he is due, he has mixed it with good fighters even in his short career to date. I think he will be a serious test for anyone and Rigondeaux will have to make it past the 8th round to win which is no mean feat when you're up against Limerick's Finest.
    I'm still not confident that this fight will happen as it could be a bit risky for Rigond. i.e. casey is a big punching inexperienced fighter. Loosing to him would be career ending and he could land a lucky punch.

7,200 in Mill Street. ESPN showing it in America, and possibly SKY in Ireland and the UK. It would be the biggest payday for a long time in Ireland bar Dunne v Cordoba and Poonsawat.

Few points fo ya
    - Do you really think Casey can sell 7,000+ tickets??? I personally cant see it happening considering his euro title fight didnt sell out
    - I doubt ESPN or SKY would be prepared to pay decent money for this as Casey has no profile in the states and he is only known for winning Prizefighter in the UK.... they put fcuk all money into their friday night shows
    - Do you think Casey has the smarts to get his pound of flesh fom the table
    - This is only for the interim title, dont get me wrong a big fight for boxing fans but not enough to get the barstoll supporter (or TV networks & sponsors) to part with their cash and this is where the real money is ...joe public

megadodge wrote: »
    I'm still unsure about Willie's stamina too. If he throws as many punches in the early going as he did v Hyland, I'd find it hard to see him keep that pace up and he could tire badly later in the fight leaving himself open to an expert shot picker.

I'd love to see Willie win, but it's a long shot.

My taughts exactly, especially when you consider how inexperienced he is over 8 rounds even!!!!!!

alanceltic wrote: »
    Few points fo ya

Do you really think Casey can sell 7,000+ tickets??? I personally cant see it happening considering his euro title fight didnt sell out

I think they would sell the majority of it. I don't know where you got that information but I was at the fight in Limerick and I can tell you that it was a full house.
    - I doubt ESPN or SKY would be prepared to pay decent money for this as Casey has no profile in the states and he is only known for winning Prizefighter in the UK.... they put fcuk all money into their friday night shows

I'm led to believe that the U.S tv is sorted, Rigondeaux is the reason ESPN are interested. It's the coverage for Ireland is where they are having problems as only Peters' promoted shows can be on RTE.
    - Do you think Casey has the smarts to get his pound of flesh fom the table

Yes.
    - This is only for the interim title, dont get me wrong a big fight for boxing fans but not enough to get the barstoll supporter (or TV networks & sponsors) to part with their cash and this is where the real money is ...joe public

Even though it's for an interim title, it will be billed as an interim world title and joe public will be none the wiser. You didn't hear the casual fan saying the Dunne fight wasn't a real world title fight because Caballero was the real champion. The casual fans are easily misled, check out the how well the Haye/Harrison farce sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭themandan6611

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

Great news.

Top Rank, Team Rigo and Team Casey have all come to an argreement on the fight.

No mention of a TV channel though.

http://boxing-ireland.com/20101218_guillermo_rigondeux_willie_casey_37.html

Top Rank, Team Rigo and Team Casey have all come to an argreement on the fight.

No mention of a TV channel though.

http://boxing-ireland.com/20101218_guillermo_rigondeux_willie_casey_37.html
    Willie on the 12th and Andy on the 19th I hope. They better not have them fighting on the same weekend.

provisional card

Guillermo Rigondeaux Vs Willie Casey
    Mark Heffron Vs TBA
    Levan Ghvamichava Vs TBA
    Alexei Collado Vs TBA
    Luis Garcia Vs TBA
    Anthony Fitzgerald Vs TBA
    Paddy McDonagh Vs TBA
    Dean Byrne Vs TBA

Brilliant, defo want to go to this. Everyone loves Willie.....Casey that is and i've been a big fan of Rigondeaux since he turned pro although he was pretty boring against Cordoba.
    Any idea when tickets will go on sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭NikNak8

Excuse the ignorance but what exactly is an interim title?

NikNak8 wrote: »
    Excuse the ignorance but what exactly is an interim title?

good question, who the feck knows these days?

well my understanding is that it was brought in when the champion was injured or hadnt defended in ages so other two guys would fight for the interim title and if the champion hadnt "returned from exile" in a period of time then the interim champion become the real champion - or sumert like that.

But with the WBA it seems like a permanent fixture - and they actually mostly have three champions - super, regular and interim. WBA = farce!

good question, who the feck knows these days?

well my understanding is that it was brought in when the champion was injured or hadnt defended in ages so other two guys would fight for the interim title and if the champion hadnt "returned from exile" in a period of time then the interim champion become the real champion - or sumert like that.

But with the WBA it seems like a permanent fixture - and they actually mostly have three champions - super, regular and interim. WBA = farce!

WBC have silver champions now, WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

provisional card

Guillermo Rigondeaux Vs Willie Casey
    Mark Heffron Vs TBA
    Levan Ghvamichava Vs TBA
    Alexei Collado Vs TBA
    Luis Garcia Vs TBA
    Anthony Fitzgerald Vs TBA
    Paddy McDonagh Vs TBA
    Dean Byrne Vs TBA

Do we have a date for this. 19th I presume seems likely. I think RTE might pull out a few stops for this fight. Lee and Magee are due to fight that night for World titles. We could have a triple header on RTE.

unknown13 wrote: »
    Do we have a date for this. 19th I presume seems likely. I think RTE might pull out a few stops for this fight. Lee and Magee are due to fight that night for World titles. We could have a triple header on RTE.

80% certainty is that it will be the CityWest and on the 19th.

Only potential sticking point is that it that there isnt a TV station on board yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 TicketGroup.ie

The fight will take place on the 19th March!!! Tickets on sale tomorrow!!

http://www.ticketgroup.ie/Willie_Casey_tickets

The fight will take place on the 18th March!!! Tickets on sale tomorrow!!

http://www.ticketgroup.ie/Willie_Casey_tickets

Sorry but you have got the date wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 TicketGroup.ie

Cheers!!!

Anyone know the price range we are looking at.

unknown13 wrote: »
    Anyone know the price range we are looking at.
    ringside 130 euro
    General admission 70 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Got mine, can't wait for it! Can see Willy getting the head pucked off him though, and at a very leisurely pace knowing Rigo...