Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who else is not running in this weather?

• 01-12-2010 8:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭

Am sitting in work looking out at the snow and would love to be crunching through it for a couple of miles, however not really an option.

My only options for running from home are in the darkness (and the footpaths/road edges are simply to close to being ice rinks for that), and have no options running at lunchtime from work (too busy, no shower etc.).

Very frustrating.

Where do you run during snowy weather? 170 votes

Running Outdoors
    0%
    Running on Treadmill
    36%
    sixpack's little hatStarktunneyRuu_OldBambaataThe FoolgroovygfigsPWEIdapopeheffsarmyrobinphdarabbitchristebgeldessdeepetermijacksonronanmac911scmenoscemo 62 votes
    Running Outdoors and on Treadmill
    18%
    tHE vAGGABONDopusBeaumisty floydhousehunterlittlebugTec DiverRemmyAntiVirusjrarTheRoadRunnerOisin11178Mr Freezegreenplainbart simpsonIzoardBetsysquaredFoxx92Dantetunguska 31 votes
    Not running
    10%
    hollypinkDomerhf4z6sqo7vjngiCypher.Blueskyebo-scoSeresBeepBeep67MagnetEl DirectorBrianderunnerPVincentflying_scotsmancwgatlingBrokenManronnie085Corkie100tphelan 18 votes
    Was running outdoors, now injured
    34%
    yopCabaalSpossKilOitrainbow kirbyct_roykelleLIGHTNINGscargillmikemackincsemkippyrun_Forrest_runRacoonQueen[Deleted User]daraghmacksparemanthe_god_swanannieeeUntense 59 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Running on Treadmill
    Peckham wrote: »
    Am sitting in work looking out at the snow and would love to be crunching through it for a couple of miles, however not really an option.

My only options for running from home are in the darkness (and the footpaths/road edges are simply to close to being ice rinks for that), and have no options running at lunchtime from work (too busy, no shower etc.).

Very frustrating.

I suggest buying a head torch and running in a park in the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Anyone who runs in this weather is dicing with injury imo. Not because its cold and snowing, its the underfoot conditions. Baggot Street is like an skating rink in Dublin and a fella ran past everyone this morning at the lights where people had enough trouble holding their own footing.

Maybe running in the Park or a pitch is fine but not on a street.

No goal race or event is worth the risk of injuring yourself. Saw 3 cars this morning just skate along the road due to the ice. I'll take a slow time in a target race over injury every time.

And as i'm just back from injury, another week out isn't going to do any damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Running on Treadmill

Very frustrating.

Sit down, take some SIU pills, wash them down with a glass of hard and HTFU.

Did 1:15 off road in the dark in Cavan in a forest on saturday night. All you need is a headlamp. Its actually very good fun too.

As for running in the ice - get 40 9.5mm round head screws and a box of lock washers. Boom - you've got grip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Running on Treadmill
    +1 Headtorch and trail or forest, the snow reflects the light very well. Besides the obvious Phoenix, Marlay, St. Annes, and other parks, you could expand your horizons with:

Northside Dublin:
    Howth (access via GAA fields)

Southside:
    Ticknock (Luas/bus to Dundrum/Ballinteer, run up to entrance.

Best feeling in the world running through a dark snowy forest, makes you feel like Thoreau.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Not running
    Park running in the snow>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>threadmill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Running on Treadmill
    Just back from 2 weeks in Lanzarote where I was able to get plenty of runs in, first time out last night so decided on lengths of the west pier in Dun Laoighaire, conditions under foot were perfect but running head long into a Siberian, snow and hail storm made my lungs feel like bleeding after the warmth of the last couple of weeks! Having said that I felt f***ing fantastic afterwards.
    Running in bad conditions = extra endorphins = feeling good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

Not running
    Love running in the snow! Quite and peaceful, don't even bother with ipod as the crunchy sound is pleasing to my ears. Did a 10 miler in the Phen Park on Sat however it has got very icey around these here parts so it was an interval session on the gf's treadmill last night for an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Running on Treadmill
    Looking forward to the park tonight. Luckily i live close to it. I just have to be careful on the paths getting there/home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

As I stepped off of the trails on my local hills after completing my 2,000th mile of the year on Sunday, I slipped on compacted snow on the road. Laughed it off and went home and did my core work. Haven't been able to bend over since. Prolapsed disk. No running for a while (wish I could be out running in the hills and snow right now).

Lesson learned: If you slip and fall in the snow, maybe skip the push-ups!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

Very frustrated. Getting withdrawal symptoms.

I have very few options. Can't run to/from work, as the pavements are lethal.
    Stuck at home today anyway is the kids school is closed.
    Can't go out until the OH is home from work.
    Can't run in the parks, as they are closed in the evening.

Definitely head for a park on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

running in parks or around pitches is the way to go. Need to watch out for uneven ground though. The snow is getting a good bit deeper now so maybe harder to run in the coming days. I've just joined a gym. I've already had a couple of close shaves in the last few days. I will be pounding the poxy treadmilll until this has cleared up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Last time we has snow I went out a few times. Have been out once in this. The risk of a fractured ankle or worse isn't very enticing. Haven't been training much lately anyway so losing this week aswell won't do any harm. May go out later depending on conditions though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Grass is the way to go, i've been out the last few days, planned rest day today then a lunch time run tomorrow. No faster stuff going on but if I just keep getting out for a hour ever day i'll be happy. Have a 5 day gym pass to use and might do a session on the T-mill on friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Sorry to hijack with a stupid question but could someone tell me what speed I should have the treadmill at (in kph and mph as I’m not sure which way the treadmills in work work!) in order to be doing 8, 9 and 10 minute miles…I’m going a**e about face here with the calculator. There’s a very obvious reason I am not an accountant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Not running
    Glad I invested in a treadie last Dec, it has 530 kms on it and counting, the way the weather is going by the end of this week I'll be at a € per k ROI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Each to their own, but I wouldn't go out running in snow and ice for love nor money. I promised myself earlier this year I would keep running in the bad weather (cold wind and rain), but not if there was snow or ice.

The way I see it, unless you're training for the Olympics or something, missing a week or two isn't going to be the end of the world.

Parks and beaches may be ok but you're now getting to the point where the snow will be so deep, it will be very hard to know if the ground is even so while you might have grip, you could still easily go over on your ankle or something.

Don't get me wrong, I have that nagging voice in my head about my fitness level dropping but unless the snow lasts until the summer, it shouldn't take that long to come back.

Will probably get flamed and banned now but I really couldn't give two f***s :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Running on Treadmill
    BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Glad I invested in a treadie last Dec, it has 530 kms on it and counting, the way the weather is going by the end of this week I'll be at a € per k ROI.

What sort of threadmill I thought that the domestic ones are limited to a low max speed?
    Each to their own, but I wouldn't go out running in snow and ice for love nor money. I promised myself earlier this year I would keep running in the bad weather (cold wind and rain), but not if there was snow or ice.

The way I see it, unless you're training for the Olympics or something, missing a week or two isn't going to be the end of the world.

Depends - are you the type of person who looks for excuses or not? Do you actualyl enjoy running?

Not running
    tunney wrote: »
    What sort of threadmill I thought that the domestic ones are limited to a low max speed?
    ?

Horizon Adventure 2, max speed 16km/h, elevation 10%.
    Perfect for aerobic work, done a hill interval session on it last night, 60sec intrevals @ 15km/h with an 8% incline, worked well with the exception of the treadie moving half way across the room (need to pick up a carpet rem or something)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Running on Treadmill
    claralara wrote: »
    Sorry to hijack with a stupid question but could someone tell me what speed I should have the treadmill at (in kph and mph as I’m not sure which way the treadmills in work work!) in order to be doing 8, 9 and 10 minute miles…I’m going a**e about face here with the calculator. There’s a very obvious reason I am not an accountant!

8 min/mile = 12kph. 9 min/mile= 10.7 kph, 10 min/mile = 9.6 kph (I think).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Didn't bother last night as it looked fair too icey.

Will go out tonight though. Running in snow is far more enjoyable than running in the wet in December. At least until the novelty factor wears off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

tunney wrote: »
    Depends - are you the type of person who looks for excuses or not? Do you actualyl enjoy running?

I like it when I get out there but not enough to want to go out in that weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Patrick_K

claralara - here's a handy converter http://www.unitjuggler.com/convert-speed-from-minmile-to-kmh.html
    Will convert mins per mile to km per hour or whatever you like.
    Menoscemos numbers above are correct.

PK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Running on Treadmill
    Ran into work (Raheny - Dub CC, 6 miles) Mon and Weds morning, ran home last night (11 miles)

All on icy paths / roads. Wrap up, keep it slow and stay on your forefeet, you should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Eveyone is missing the huge bonus of running in the snow... my runners look brand new again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Maars

Ran home south-bound on the N11 last night at about 5pm. Absolute blizzard. I was wearing a pair of "Spikeys" a friend sent me from Sweden..basically rubber straps with spikes(not as kinky as it sounds); you hook them around the soles of your shoes. Works a treat...although I was about 10mins slower than usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Running on Treadmill
    christeb wrote: »
    Ran into work (Raheny - Dub CC, 6 miles) Mon and Weds morning, ran home last night (11 miles)

All on icy paths / roads. Wrap up, keep it slow and stay on your forefeet, you should be fine.

+1 im back after injury been running the last two days have to say was out and was grand the snow was powdered rather than ice. Only thing would recommend is stretching the calves bit more than usual as it has similar effect to beach running. Ended up tearing my calf on it last year due to lack of strecthing and flexibility with the calf so wont be making that mistake again. Slow is the key no point in killing yourself in that weather all about just keeping ticking over any bit of light running will be great for aerobic maintenance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

I think I'll stick to the sofa these evenings. Nearly fell down the steps in work yesterday so I'm threading carefully.

I admire anybody getting out there these days, but personally not going to risk injury for the sake of putting in a few miles.

On saying that though will probably will head to the park on saturday and do a few laps of the polo ground, which should be flat enough, and not have any hidden holes.

Not running
    I think I'll stick to the sofa these evenings. Nearly fell down the steps in work yesterday so I'm threading carefully.

I admire anybody getting out there these days, but personally not going to risk injury for the sake of putting in a few miles.

On saying that though will probably will head to the park on saturday and do a few laps of the polo ground, which should be flat enough, and not have any hidden holes.

Warning: Hidden holes found in Polo ground:
    polo-mint.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭misterdeeds

claralara wrote: »
    about 12.5-13kph and u will b fine, happy running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Those people that run in these conditions are mad ...and I am one of them. I've had 3 or 4 runs now in this weather and all have been enjoyable.

But be careful;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭a_non_a_mouse

there is another choice besides risking the icy or doing nothing.
    (unless u have treadmill)

plenty of exercises which can be done at home with very little space which would help keep fitness levels up.
    jumping jacks, pushups, lunges, squats...etc...etc...

all would help keep fitness levels up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Running on Treadmill
    I run at least one race each month so I always get in my training regardless of the weather, that and I would be on a downer if I didn't get out in the morning. Not a massive amount of snow but wind chill has been fairly brutal, -10C yesterday morning or thereabouts. I run on country roads as well so you are exposed to every bit of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Interesting that so many of you are ploughing* on with running on roads/footpaths. Personally I think that's mad, and the danger of hitting a slippery spot (especially if covered by fresh snow) is just simply too big a gamble to take. Fair enough if you have crampons or similar, in normal runners = madness.

Same goes for running on grass - not sure how you can read the terrain underfoot, to avoid twisting an ankle in some hole. Especially in the dark, even with a headlamp.

*pun intended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I injured myself last December under similar circumstances, I had finished my run and about to turn into my drive when I slipped and cracked my knee of the corner of my pillar, left me injured for a couple of months.

I ran on Sunday gone with screws in the runner and took my time but since then I've been walking the kids to school and have decided it's too dangerous and I don't want to risk injury again so treadmill for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

No way - walking is hard enough, let along running :)

I have done 30 to 40 mins running in the gym twice this week, just to keep ticking over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Running on Treadmill
    Interesting that so many of you are ploughing* on with running on roads/footpaths. Personally I think that's mad, and the danger of hitting a slippery spot (especially if covered by fresh snow) is just simply too big a gamble to take.

I've come close to slipping twice, while I was slowly inching my way across roads, but the paths (and the grass) haven't been slippy. They've sometimes been hard to run on because they've been so churned up, but not at all slippy. Last year was much dodgier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Running on Treadmill

Same goes for running on grass - not sure how you can read the terrain underfoot, to avoid twisting an ankle in some hole. Especially in the dark, even with a headlamp.

*pun intended

Look at KC, he steps off the trail and hobbles himself. Woddle gets home, lets his guard down, and -BAM! I've found that running on the flat can lull you into a false sense of security- somehow running on uneven ground you are more aware of stumbling (and so don't).

But that's easier to say for those who are used to offroad and have the ankles for it, and I'm turning into a snow-running Nazi, so treadmills for some, miniature off-road snow flags for others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

RayCun wrote: »
    I've come close to slipping twice, while I was slowly inching my way across roads, but the paths (and the grass) haven't been slippy. They've sometimes been hard to run on because they've been so churned up, but not at all slippy. Last year was much dodgier.

Off topic - nice plug for Dublin Marathon on Marathon Talk! I presume that was you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

I think anybody who got injured last December/January is unwilling to risk running in the snow. Those who escaped injury are willing to head out again this year.

As I've said before I find running in my local park grand. I know the terrain well and know where the majority of pot holes are. Few paths to cross so in general it it relatively safe. I do enjoy running in the snow but ice is the killer.

Snow is too deep up my way to get the car out of the drive way so I'm going to walk to the gym jump on a treadmill and go bonkers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Running on Treadmill
    I think anybody who got injured last December/January is unwilling to risk running in the snow. Those who escaped injury are willing to head out again this year.

As I've said before I find running in my local park grand. I know the terrain well and know where the majority of pot holes are. Few paths to cross so in general it it relatively safe. I do enjoy running in the snow but ice is the killer.

Snow is too deep up my way to get the car out of the drive way so I'm going to walk to the gym jump on a treadmill and go bonkers

Unfortunately some of us are too stupid to learn from our mistakes:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

christeb wrote: »

+1 Christeb....I did 8 on Monday and 8 yesterday,mostly on the road ( which was near perfect ),when i was on paths i ran forefoot like you said and slow...its no problem,i didnt slide once.
    I plan on running to and from work tomorrow...3.5 each way...nice and handy.I will walk if i think its to bad but i doubt it,at that hour of the morning there wont be many cars so i would imagine i will be out on the road :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Running on Treadmill
    Off topic - nice plug for Dublin Marathon on Marathon Talk! I presume that was you?

Yep, that was me. Dublin has to be the friendliest marathon - it says so right there on the web page!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Folks for all those running the trails in the Pheonix Park b very careful to avoid tripping on the roots of trees that might b snow covered.I got a nasty fall last year and am staying indoors during this f!!king weather..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Running on Treadmill
    Abhainn wrote: »
    Those people that run in these conditions are mad ...and I am one of them. I've had 3 or 4 runs now in this weather and all have been enjoyable.

But be careful;)

Same here, I've been running every morning and have loved every single step. I don't want to say anything about not slipping in order not to jinx myself. ;)

Did the same last December/January. Yup, too stupid to learn from past mistakes, especially if I managed to get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

menoscemo wrote: »
    8 min/mile = 12kph. 9 min/mile= 10.7 kph, 10 min/mile = 9.6 kph (I think).

Patrick_K wrote: »
    claralara - here's a handy converter http://www.unitjuggler.com/convert-speed-from-minmile-to-kmh.html
    Will convert mins per mile to km per hour or whatever you like.
    Menoscemos numbers above are correct.

PK

Thanks guys, I managed 5miles at lunchtime there. Had it at an average at 10.7kmp/h I’d say – a little faster at times. I would so easily have faffed along at 9kmp/h thinking I was doing great. It wasn’t as horrendous as Monday’s attempt but it’s really no comparison to the great outdoors!

about 12.5-13kph and u will b fine, happy running

I only have wee little legs, 12.5/13 kmp/h would kill me after a couple of miles. Sometime. Maybe. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I went for a beautiful run around the Phoenix Park this morning, not a sinner to be found and the place was beautiful, particularly the Furry Glen which was picture postcard perfect with the frozen lake. Wasn't too cold, had a short sleeved tech top, long sleeved tech top and a running hoody over that with a buff, then leggings and my trail runners which had perfect grip.

Underfoot conditions were fine but I stuck to the trails which meant there wouldn't have been as much ice under the fresh snow as there would be on the paths. Crossing the roads were the worse as they were just solid compact ice. A change of tops and a cup of tea waiting in the car for me finished the run off perfect.

liamo123 wrote: »
    Folks for all those running the trails in the Pheonix Park b very careful to avoid tripping on the roots of trees that might b snow covered.I got a nasty fall last year and am staying indoors during this f!!king weather..

I have a regular route and have a fair idea of where the bad roots are, this morning I altered it slightly to avoid running along the park wall at the back of the Ordnance Survey where the worse of the roots can be but the rest was fine. The only slight slip I had was crossing the road to go down the Furry Glen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

Not running
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    I went for a beautiful run around the Phoenix Park this morning, not a sinner to be found and the place was beautiful, particularly the Furry Glen which was picture postcard perfect with the frozen lake. Wasn't too cold, had a short sleeved tech top, long sleeved tech top and a running hoody over that with a buff, then leggings and my trail runners which had perfect grip.

Underfoot conditions were fine but I stuck to the trails which meant there wouldn't have been as much ice under the fresh snow as there would be on the paths. Crossing the roads were the worse as they were just solid compact ice. A change of tops and a cup of tea waiting in the car for me finished the run off perfect.

Sounds perfect! Off tomor (again!) so that is how I will start my day tomorrow. The Glen was amazing on Sat too, might even bring my camera actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It would be worth bringing the camera if the scenery stays like this. I thought about bringing mine with me but left it in the car and regretted it around the glen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

It's very awkward for me to get out for a run during the week at the moment (the amount of snow in Firhouse at the mo is quite frankly ridiculous). I really, really don't want to risk injury, but I'm starting to get the twitches. I've got to join a gym near work, even though I hate treadmills with a fiery passion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭MaroonTam

I went out for 9.5 miles on Sunday. Was very hard work but very enjoyable as there was no one around. My route took me around some back roads were there was still some grip.

My issue now is that everything around my house has frozen to glass. Walking is a hazard and the car looks like it will be in place for the rest of the week.
    I could get to a field, but have not ran there before.

So last night I stuck the bike onto the turbo trainer and attempted to do an interval session that way. Was OK, but as I very rarely cycle now I found it much more difficult than running...

Hope to make it up to the club track on Thursday, if public transport allows me to get out of town on time, but its not looking good. So alternative arrangements might be required again...