Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exams in Salthill

• 01-12-2010 1:44am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭

Not sure if they still use the Racecourse but I've an exam in the Galway Bay Hotel. Just wondering if the college have/will arranged transport out there?

I assume they'll be charging for it, as they did when I had exams in Ballybrit. How do they go about justifying charging us for exams, making us sit our exams off campus and then charging us for getting there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

lol galway is a joke when it comes to exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

It's a 40 minute walk to the Galway Bay Hotel from the college, and the weather is gorgeous. Ballybrit is only an hour and a half's walk.

But aye - having the exams off-campus is a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Fisher Calhoun

The SU usually organises buses from the Quad to the various exams venues but there is a charge, yes. Typically, though, it's up to the student to get there themselves. There are buses that run to both Ballybrit (Parkmore bus) and to Salthill, so it's not a huge issue. Just make sure to give yourself enough time in case traffic is bad. Taxis are always the other alternative if there's a few people going to the same place!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

That's nuts.

On top of all the registration fee hikes, we have to face these charges that we only incur due to the college choosing so. "Lost your student card? Oh well that will be €30, not because it costs that much, just because we decided". "What's that? We've sent you miles off campus for an exam? Pay for it yourself kid, we've decided its not covered by the exam fees you've already paid us".

Maybe next year they could require students to have an 'exam license' beforethey can sit exams, and it can cost €40 or somthing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

That's nuts.

On top of all the registration fee hikes, we have to face these charges that we only incur due to the college choosing so. "Lost your student card? Oh well that will be €30, not because it costs that much, just because we decided". "What's that? We've sent you miles off campus for an exam? Pay for it yourself kid, we've decided its not covered by the exam fees you've already paid us".

Maybe next year they could require students to have an 'exam license' beforethey can sit exams, and it can cost €40 or somthing :pac:

Now i'm not saying its right that they don't arrange free transport out to the exams, but I hardly think a €1.60 bus ticket is worth gettin into such a strop about...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Padkir wrote: »
    Now i'm not saying its right that they don't arrange free transport out to the exams, but I hardly think a €1.60 bus ticket is worth gettin into such a strop about...:rolleyes:

I know €1.60 isn't that dear, but in fairness its the principle of the thing! Surely if it was organised well there is plenty of space on campus! In my view, hiring out a hotel suite is a cost that could be avoided, and in these recessionary times and all...;)!

Anyway, I don't think there's any point in complaining now, but I do agree its daft having exams off campus, its hassle that you don't want when you're already stressed about exams!

That's nuts.

Well... the ID card is different as it has a RFID chip in it, thus the increase in the replacement cost (€30 against €13 in previous years).

In an ideal world transport should be arranged and be free for the students, but even in the good times, the buses were never free (iirc, I'm open to correction on that, but I think they were charged). In these times, especially, it'd be odd to think of buses being put on without the students incurring some cost. The buses don't pay for themselves!

Also, as pointed out above, if there's a group (3-4 or more?) going to the same exam or venue, then the cost is minimal. We've all been through the process of exams not being on-campus and we've survived it! Sure, it can be a stress if you leave it to the last minute, but if you're any way organised, it shouldn't be an added stress. Book a taxi or hackney the night before and arrange for it to collect you (at least) an hour before the exam. That should give you time to get out there and allow for traffic, etc. Ideally, you should aim to be out there at least 45 minutes beforehand so you have time to relax and focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭meeka

I don't think they usually organise bus shuttles from college to salthill - at least they didn't for my exams out there last year. It's not really that far ...

It's your own responsibility to get yourself into college everyday, why shouldn't it be your responsibility to get yourself to your exam venue? It's two euro max, come on. This isn't unique to NUIG, either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Well... the ID card is different as it has a RFID chip in it, thus the increase in the replacement cost (€30 against €13 in previous years).
    RFID? I highly doubt it tbh. Especially seeing as there's no use for it in the first place.
    In an ideal world transport should be arranged and be free for the students, but even in the good times, the buses were never free (iirc, I'm open to correction on that, but I think they were charged). In these times, especially, it'd be odd to think of buses being put on without the students incurring some cost. The buses don't pay for themselves!
    Well, the students weren't the ones who decided to inconvenience themselves in the first place. And I'm sure if you multiply €226 by 17,000 you've enough money for a bus or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭red_fox

I remember that last year it was said to be the first year in which all exams were on-campus, it's a shame that's not the case now. The reason that there are external venues is simply to allow the exams to be over more quickly rather than starting during what is now study week and running up to the 23rd or similar, and similar for summer.

If the university were to hold more exams on campus it would mean taking up many more rooms, so you can forget about study space which is already in short supply, hell, there's a nice big room under the library that would save the university from the expensive hotel rates and we'd all save our bus fare too. Let's start a petition!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

Are you sure all the new cards have RFID chips? I know they installed the RFID scanners in place of the old "dippers", but I thought they worked with other cards altogether. Source?

Woo de doo. Tell me what use that is to me? Why do I have to pay €29 more than I should have just because it has a feature that a handful of students/staff require? I wouldn't mind but the new cards look terrible too. The photos are distorted and the design looks like they've asked some Junior Certs to make a fake ID.
    In these times, especially, it'd be odd to think of buses being put on without the students incurring some cost. The buses don't pay for themselves!
    How about the registration fee we pay? Or the €200 or so they charge students to repeat a single examination? When I had to repeat externally I paid €1600. €1600 for them to mark 2 exam papers.

Just how badly is the college affected by "these times" anyway? I know the poor feckers had to cut back on the private jets, but application numbers are up and fees are going up - they're receiving more money from students than ever before.
    Ideally, you should aim to be out there at least 45 minutes beforehand so you have time to relax and focus.
    Nothing more relaxing than waiting outside an exam hall...

I probably live closer to Salthill than the uni anyway, and I'll probably have a lift out too, I was more thinking about everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Or the €200 or so they charge students to repeat a single examination?
    Pro-tip: Don't fail?
    Just how badly is the college affected by "these times" anyway? I know the poor feckers had to cut back on the private jets, but application numbers are up and fees are going up - they're receiving more money from students than ever before.

That's a valid point. Wages seem to have been cut, so perhaps they've to make up the money they idiotically gifted to McNamara?

Ficheall wrote: »
    Pro-tip: Don't fail?
    Maybe if they charge more, less students will fail! That's apparently the logic they used for the student cards, and the logic the government use :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Maybe if they charge more, less students will fail! That's apparently the logic they used for the student cards, and the logic the government use :rolleyes:

Really a different arguement altogther, but in some ways they're not wrong. The dole is seen as a sustainable, easy lifestyle that in some cases pays better than work would. I know that at home, there's a couple of people who have never worked a day in their life, just continually claim the dole.

As for student cards/repeat fees, money is a very big motivator when it comes down to it. People see student cards as ID that can afford to be lost on a night out, as opposed to say, a passport or drivers license. Number of reasons for that but money is a big one - a passport is €80. It'd be interesting to see figures for this year vs last year on lost ID cards.

It's not entirely illogical when you think about it.

As for student cards/repeat fees, money is a very big motivator when it comes down to it. People see student cards as ID that can afford to be lost on a night out, as opposed to say, a passport or drivers license. Number of reasons for that but money is a big one - a passport is €80. It'd be interesting to see figures for this year vs last year on lost ID cards.

It's not entirely illogical when you think about it.

Nobody wants to lose a student card or wants to have to repeat an exam/year and I guarantee you that the costs involved are not the most significant factor for that.

It's not entirely illogical, no, but on the 'logical-to-bollocks' scale, it's there or thereabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Just how badly is the college affected by "these times" anyway? I know the poor feckers had to cut back on the private jets
    EDIT: Ah! ... just been linked to that! >.<

Totally crazy / scandalous, but budgets for research institutes are on a totally separate budget line, don't impact on students / student fees / funding available for student facilities at all.

Still, very bad press for the Univ. What the hell were the DERI senior people thinking?
    but application numbers are up and fees are going up - they're receiving more money from students than ever before.
    More students mean more costs as well as more "student contribution fees". And while they're receiving more money from students than before, they're receiving far less from government ... there's been cuts in both pay and non-pay budgets over the last few years, and another 5% cut in non-pay this year. The increased contribution from students won't actually cover the cuts for most colleges, or even near; I can't say for certain re: NUIG, but they're probably the same. Also, even in the good days financially, there tended to be a time-lag between an increase in student numbers and an increase in the per capita funding, and that's likely to be exacerbated now ... so in fact the more students admitted, the less average funding per student colleges have, even allowing for the student contribution fee.
    C'mon, using the word logic and government in the same sentence in Ireland should only happen in a stand-up comedy venue! :D
    Really a different arguement altogther, but in some ways they're not wrong. The dole is seen as a sustainable, easy lifestyle that in some cases pays better than work would. I know that at home, there's a couple of people who have never worked a day in their life, just continually claim the dole.
    Grand.

Show me the 440,000 job adverts / positions which are just waiting for people to get off their arses and apply for.

Hell, even show me the significant measures which this government are taking to tackle unemployment and create jobs. No? None? How could there be, when they're pouring every bob they can get their hands on into the bankers' black hole!

THEN tell me that what we really need are punitive measures to encourage people to stop being lazy and get back to work!

I wouldn't deny that there are a small core of hard cases who will comfortably sit on the dole, and always have done if they could manage it. These aren't really the problem at the moment though. First find replacements for the 100s of thousands of jobs which have disappeared over the past few years. Then worry about the hard chaws!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 beanseile

Regards of the less average funding per student a college may have, to me, it still begs the question: if the college can afford to pay for exam locations off -campus, why can't they throw in a bus or two with it?? on principle it doesn't matter how close these locations are to campus or that it only costs an insignificant amount to avail of the transport (if any) provided.

Though the current construction underway in NUI G has probably been in the pipeline for a number of years and may have specific funding, students can still walk past this and wonder where is our money being spent when we have to fork out for transport and suffer the inconvenience at a stressful time.

Taxi's may be an option, but there may be some students who can't for whatever reason, 'pool' with other students, and the cost incurred ends up being more than a couple of euro!

RFID? I highly doubt it tbh. Especially seeing as there's no use for it in the first place.
    Are you sure all the new cards have RFID chips? I know they installed the RFID scanners in place of the old "dippers", but I thought they worked with other cards altogether. Source?
    Woo de doo. Tell me what use that is to me? Why do I have to pay €29 more than I should have just because it has a feature that a handful of students/staff require? I wouldn't mind but the new cards look terrible too. The photos are distorted and the design looks like they've asked some Junior Certs to make a fake ID.
    Regarding RFID, I'm pretty sure (95%+) that the new Student IDs have them in them. Source is the grapevine for now, I'm afraid, and I can't go into any more detail than that other than to say there are use cases for it that will come out in time!

€29 more? The cards were traditionally €13 for replacement. €30 now is €17 more. Where did the €29 come from?

I totally agree that the new look is arse and that there is no excuse for the photos being skewed. Someone dropped the ball on that one!
    Well, the students weren't the ones who decided to inconvenience themselves in the first place. And I'm sure if you multiply €226 by 17,000 you've enough money for a bus or two.
    Isn't the levy €224? I'm not 100% on the breakdown of that levy, but I believe there is a contribution towards the cost of the new sports centre included in that (there was a vote some years ago) as well as the annual fees to the Students Union. I'm sure there's other stuff too, but typically the Student Levy is a non-tuition element - i.e. it doesnt cover exam costs.
    beanseile wrote: »
    Regards of the less average funding per student a college may have, to me, it still begs the question: if the college can afford to pay for exam locations off -campus, why can't they throw in a bus or two with it?? on principle it doesn't matter how close these locations are to campus or that it only costs an insignificant amount to avail of the transport (if any) provided.
    Oh I agree... I think there should be buses included, of course. My point is that even when times were good they were never put on, so what hope do students have of getting buses for free now? (I'm still open to correction that they weren't free in the "good times", my memory is hazy there!). Honestly, the best thing to do is to contact the Students Union and get them to get off their arses and organise something for a change! It only takes a phonecall to a bus company and for the students to pay a couple of euro for it.
    Though the current construction underway in NUI G has probably been in the pipeline for a number of years and may have specific funding, students can still walk past this and wonder where is our money being spent when we have to fork out for transport and suffer the inconvenience at a stressful time.
    Indeed, I believe it has. I know that the Engineering building, for example, was originally meant to be completed by 2005. Construction started many years after that date, so go figure! You have to go back to Iggy and the Galway University Foundation (http://www.nuigalway.ie/foundation/) for the money for much of the capital expenditure (see the "Campus of the Future" stuff for that). My point here is that the funding is more than likely completely different to the fees (registration, non tuition and levy) that students pay. They're more "everyday" spending stuff... (such as buses! dun dun dun!)
    Taxi's may be an option, but there may be some students who can't for whatever reason, 'pool' with other students, and the cost incurred ends up being more than a couple of euro!
    Well, as has already been stated, if students can't afford a taxi (or don't want to pool, etc), then they can get the bus for ~€1.60. If they can't afford that (and, tbh, who can't?) then there's always their left and right feet! It is the most traditional mode of transport in and around Galway!

You will note that I deliberately did not express an opinion on that one! :p

Being honest, I can see both sides of the argument, and understand why students get irritated about it.
    Though the current construction underway in NUI G has probably been in the pipeline for a number of years and may have specific funding ...
    It has and it does. Universities have a number of different budget lines, and they normally don't have the luxury of transferring money between them, e.g. funding from government for a specific building project can only be spent on that building project, or handed back to the government.

€29 more? The cards were traditionally €13 for replacement. €30 now is €17 more. Where did the €29 come from?
    Because even at €13 they are clearly making a massive profit relative to the cost of them.
    Isn't the levy €224? I'm not 100% on the breakdown of that levy, but I believe there is a contribution towards the cost of the new sports centre included in that (there was a vote some years ago) as well as the annual fees to the Students Union.
    What?! I actually have to pay the SU? So they can print some ****ehawk of a magazine and organise rubbish events? This gets worse!
    Honestly, the best thing to do is to contact the Students Union and get them to get off their arses and organise something for a change! It only takes a phonecall to a bus company and for the students to pay a couple of euro for it.
    I'd like to assume that the SU wouldn't even need something so obvious to be suggested. After all, they ran for election because they want to make things better, not just because they're some rich kid who wants to dress up their CV ;)
    Well, as has already been stated, if students can't afford a taxi (or don't want to pool, etc), then they can get the bus for ~€1.60. If they can't afford that (and, tbh, who can't?) then there's always their left and right feet! It is the most traditional mode of transport in and around Galway!
    I walk most places, but a 7-8am walk along Salthill at this time of year... what a mange!

Suppose one could always just book into the Galway Bay Hotel for the night, pop downstairs in your PJs for the exam :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

Quick read of the thread and I don't see this mentioned, might be wrong...

The SU aren't putting on any busses for these exams. In the current Sin they tell people to Google Bus Eireann or City Direct Galway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

Isn't the levy €224? I'm not 100% on the breakdown of that levy, but I believe there is a contribution towards the cost of the new sports centre included in that (there was a vote some years ago) as well as the annual fees to the Students Union. I'm sure there's other stuff too, but typically the Student Levy is a non-tuition element - i.e. it doesnt cover exam costs.

Yeah the portion for the sports centre is €100 I think, there was a referendum where students were promised a better gym that would cost less. Instead we continue to pay €100 a year towards a sports centre that still costs €250 euro to join, with no options for short term memberships... this college has a history of trying to squeeze every penny it can from students, choosing instead to waste money on shiny new buildings that make the prospectus look slightly better.

If they are going to locate exams off-campus (considering all students pay a €1500 fee that's meant to cover exam costs, or the council/vec pay it for you if you get a grant) then there should be free buses, simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭click_here!!!

There should be a petition about each of the issues mentioned on this thread, to do with both the university and the SU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭MissMiami

I have an exam on Monday in Salthill and I was just wondering does the Bus Eireann bus stop outside Leisureland or how far is the place from the bus stop? Also, my friend has an exam in the tennis club and is that near the bus stop as well?

Thanks in advance!

I'm a bit stressed over exams so could do without the hassle of figuring out the buses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Its the bus 1s that goes out towards salthill. i think it goes from the bottom of eyre square just in front of the AIB. i'm not sure where the stop is but it'll take you most of the way at least.

This timetable from Bus Eireann seems to be for all the Eyre Square to Salthill routes, including the 1S one whiteman19 was talking about.

http://www.buseireann.ie/pdf/1202229915-Galway1.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

well i didn't bother looking at the bus eireann site, cos it doesn't give a route map.

http://www.galwaytransport.info/2008/11/1-salthill-route-map-is-this-map.html

besides, i'm sure other students will be getting off at the same point so just follow them :)

whiteman19 wrote: »
    besides, i'm sure other students will be getting off at the same point so just follow them :)

Great idea. But everyone doing what everyone else is doing... that's how Ireland got into the mess it's in. ;D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭HotDogger

I hate Salthill.

With a nick like yours, I'd have thought you would love it ...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Boo Radley

Yeah. Just sit back and let them treat us how they please, throw principles and fairness out the window as long as the managements lifestyle is propped up by the student. That's the spirit.

Attitudes like that contribute to the sickness of this country.

Boo Radley wrote: »
    Yeah. Just sit back and let them treat us how they please, throw principles and fairness out the window as long as the managements lifestyle is propped up by the student. That's the spirit.

Attitudes like that contribute to the sickness of this country.

Dude they have never paid for buses to exams off campus, andf no matter how much of a hissy fit people throw, they're not goin to start now, especially with the way things are! I'm not sayin its right, because its not, im simply sayin there's no point raisin ur blood pressure over it, people need to chill out a bit!!!

MissMiami wrote: »
    I have an exam on Monday in Salthill and I was just wondering does the Bus Eireann bus stop outside Leisureland or how far is the place from the bus stop? Also, my friend has an exam in the tennis club and is that near the bus stop as well?

Thanks in advance!

I'm a bit stressed over exams so could do without the hassle of figuring out the buses!
    The Galway Bay Hotel is beside LeisureLand. The tennis club is on Threadneedle Road, though, and is a bit of a treck from there (15 minute walk?). If you're both leaving from the same place, getting a taxi out is the best option, really. It can drop one of ye off at your venue on the way to the other person's one.

I have to say I'm surprised that they're back to using the tennis club, hotels, etc. I thought with the use of the Racecourse in recent years coupled with the new sports centre that they'd be able to cover all exams with those two venues (plus the odd other on campus venue).
    Dude they have never paid for buses to exams off campus, andf no matter how much of a hissy fit people throw, they're not goin to start now, especially with the way things are! I'm not sayin its right, because its not, im simply sayin there's no point raisin ur blood pressure over it, people need to chill out a bit!!!
    Exactly the point I was trying to make. If you really do feel strongly about it, contact the SU about it and at least get them to organise buses (bit late now probably...). That said, the SU probably couldn't organise a pissup in a brewery, so I wouldn't hold out much hope for getting free buses...

It seems the concept of debate is lost on you 'dude'. Nobody is throwing a "hissy fit", we're just discussing why they don't and why they should put on buses.

You strike me as the type of human who never bothers to vote because "what's the point nothing is going to change". Hate to be you son.

I think you're way off the mark there. Especially now with the introduction of raised fees and what not people will be expecting more bang for their buck. Like any paying customer in any situation.

In the next couple of years I see plenty of people throwing "hissy fits" when they realise the **** that NUIG is getting away with.

If people do nothing, nothing will get done. In that much you are correct, but it doesn't mean "there's no point raisin ur blood pressure" because it's an accumulation of the small things that is a detriment to the students.

I really don't understand your apathetic views on things. Alas, like I alluded to earlier this is a nationwide trait/problem in attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

It seems the concept of debate is lost on you 'dude'. Nobody is throwing a "hissy fit", we're just discussing why they don't and why they should put on buses.

You strike me as the type of human who never bothers to vote because "what's the point nothing is going to change". Hate to be you son.

I think his point was actually what's the point in giving out about the college/SU/whoever not putting on busses this year when they never did? Why should OUR generation of college goers get different treatment to students who have gone before us?!

And, for the record, I think that's a dispicable assumption to make about somebody you don't even know.

If its assumptions we're looking for, you strike me as a very miserable person, and I and many others would hate to be in the company of you, nevermind hate to be you, SON :mad:!

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    Why should OUR generation of college goers get different treatment to students who have gone before us?!

It's called progress. Something the civilised world generally indulges in. Improve upon the past.

If we didn't, for example, kid's would still be labouring and the like.

So I think that just because everyone before us had to put up with sometihng doesn't make a good argument for continuing a practice. In this case scamming students.

But if you feel so strongly about it you shouldn't be on boards talking about it with people whose opinion you won't listen to, you should be takin it up with the SU, as I think it was Fisher Calhoun said. Sittin around givin out on Boards won't change it.
    and less of the attitude please!:cool:

It's called progress. Something the civilised world generally indulges in. Improve upon the past.

If we didn't, for example, kid's would still be labouring and the like.

So I think that just because everyone before us had to put up with sometihng doesn't make a good argument for continuing a practice. In this case scamming students.

Look I think that they should pay for buses too, or AT LEAST arrange them and let the students pay a quid or 2 then. But you talk about progress, in the last few years the country in general hasn't progressed, we've regressed. So until things improve, or at least stabilise, its unrealistic to think that they'll start payin for buses now.
    Perhaps in a few years.
    I'm just giving my opinion that in the short-term, I think they haven't a notion of paying for buses!

Look I think that they should pay for buses too, or AT LEAST arrange them and let the students pay a quid or 2 then. But you talk about progress, in the last few years the country in general hasn't progressed, we've regressed. So until things improve, or at least stabilise, its unrealistic to think that they'll start payin for buses now.
    Perhaps in a few years.
    I'm just giving my opinion that in the short-term, I think they haven't a notion of paying for buses!

Here's the thing. Unless the student body demands changes there won't be any. The Uni won't be losing out on that much in this recession. That's the point of student fees going up, so as to maintain standards.

When talking about progress you seem to equate it with money/economy. I'm more interested in fairness and rights. The Uni don't need to have exams off campus. Therefore the bus problem is a manufactured one.

Students just have to start giving a **** and stand up for themselves. People seem to forget that they actually do have power for change in numbers.

Here's the thing. Unless the student body demands changes there won't be any. The Uni won't be losing out on that much in this recession. That's the point of student fees going up, so as to maintain standards.

When talking about progress you seem to equate it with money/economy. I'm more interested in fairness and rights. The Uni don't need to have exams off campus. Therefore the bus problem is a manufactured one.

Students just have to start giving a **** and stand up for themselves. People seem to forget that they actually do have power for change in numbers.

I can see where you're coming from. Because fees went up, it should be reasonably expected that conditions improve, and buses to exams should fall into that category.

But the problem is that the increase in fees wasn't to benefit the education system, it was a way of getting easy money to shore up other parts of the Governments a/c's. So most likely, none, or very little, of the money raised from this is going back into the college.

It takes money to improve fairness and rights in this regard, so I think that these things can be equated to money/economy.

Not meaning to be argumentative, but how much power in numbers do you think students really have in these times? I went to the march last year, couldn't go this year because things were gettin hectic in college, final year and all that, but do you think any ministers give a damn about a few thousand students marchin around dublin? They still increased fees, and had that decision made and decided LONG before that march took place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

Perhaps in a few years.

It's a problem that the university seems to lack any motivation to innovate to help improve things. Granted at the moment finances are a big issue, but why not make the effort to keep exams on campus? I know they'll argue there simply isn't enough space but that could be overcome with a few simple changes, certain faculties could have exams after Christmas, they could start using the space in other buildings like Aras na Gael, Cairnes, Moyola, even some classroom's could be utilised. even spreading the exams over an extra few days would help. If extra space is still needed then they should make sure it isn't too far from college, such as the black box or the westwood. Sending people miles away for exams is unfair on students when the stress of exams is enough to be contending with.

It takes money to improve fairness and rights in this regard, so I think that these things can be equated to money/economy.

Disagree. If they have the facilities to host exams already existing then why spend money renting other locations? There is no viable reason for this problem regardless of the changing economic circumstances.

Apparently they just want everyone to get off early for xmas, or maybe some dodgy dealings with people who benefit from renting space to the Uni. This is Ireland after.

Disclaimer: I'm not saying there is dodgy dealings, but it is always a possibility. When something unnecessary and expensive is happening like this you have to look at who is benefiting, financially or politically.

Until management take a drastic cut in their wages/living standards they can't expect us to go footing the bill for thier arbitrary decisions.

Predalien wrote: »
    It's a problem that the university seems to lack any motivation to innovate to help improve things. Granted at the moment finances are a big issue, but why not make the effort to keep exams on campus? I know they'll argue there simply isn't enough space but that could be overcome with a few simple changes, certain faculties could have exams after Christmas, they could start using the space in other buildings like Aras na Gael, Cairnes, Moyola, even some classroom's could be utilised. even spreading the exams over an extra few days would help. If extra space is still needed then they should make sure it isn't too far from college, such as the black box or the westwood. Sending people miles away for exams is unfair on students when the stress of exams is enough to be contending with.

That's true and i completely agree with you! If a bigger effort effort was made by the college we wouldn't need to have this debate, and some people, @Fionn McCool, wouldn't need to resort to cheap personal insults!

Not meaning to be argumentative, but how much power in numbers do you think students really have in these times? I went to the march last year, couldn't go this year because things were gettin hectic in college, final year and all that, but do you think any ministers give a damn about a few thousand students marchin around dublin? They still increased fees, and had that decision made and decided LONG before that march took place!

A couple of token marches by a largely ineffectual SU were never gonna make a difference.

A bit more, sustained, effort would be required to change things at governmental level. We're talking administrative level in the Uni. Hardly the same thing.

A couple of token marches by a largely ineffectual SU were never gonna make a difference.

A bit more, sustained, effort would be required to change things at governmental level. We're talking administrative level in the Uni. Hardly the same thing.

Apologies, I thought you meant SU level marches, etc. As I said in my last post, changes in opinion higher up the ladder are what's needed!

The principle is the same on any issue. Get the numbers, sustain the effort (the UK made a better effort and the French are something to be admired even if it doesn't always work) and **** can change. Never any guarantees. It worked in the past when people cared enough about things.

People just got to get rid of the "what's the point?" attitude. I mean, ultimately, what's the point in anything? It's what you make of it.

While we're on the topic of getting things changed, head to the following thread:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056076329

It concerns Desk Reserve (whether you use it or not it is an essential service for students who follow recommended readings etc.) and outlines the current push to have it returned.

Details on what to do are included.

If you think bitching solves nothing then follow the steps outlined and do something about how badly we're being treated.

It'll only take you 2-3 minutes. Let's do away with the apathy.

I think his point was actually what's the point in giving out about the college/SU/whoever not putting on busses this year when they never did?
    So because students in previous years (which includes me) were made to pay for buses, we shouldn't demand better now?
    Why should OUR generation of college goers get different treatment to students who have gone before us?!
    ... I don't even know where to start with this... what sort of logic is that?

Why should this generation of immigrants get equal rights when those before them did not!

That's a very dangerous attitude seeing as "OUR generation of college goers" are now facing far higher fees than "students who have gone before us". In fact, it's basically the opposite to progress...