Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WIT IT .. your opinion

• 28-11-2010 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭

I'd just like to point out the following as it concerns a decision I made and I feel I should reply to explain to nip any more rumours/misunderstanding in the bud. Seeing as there's a bit of criticism going on.

The reason why there is only a featured C&S section in WIT It is because it is unfair if the bigger clubs and societies are only getting featured and pushing the smaller C&S out of the picture. We encourage the chairs of every C&S to approach us about getting featured. As a committee, the journalism society believes that it is extremely fair that this is the case.

A point was made about the smaller clubs and socs not getting a look in with events and advertising. That's why WIT It features an equal amount of C&S. Regardless of popularity or size. The bigger C&S all have their own websites/Facebook to advertise their events. We would rather give everyone a chance of being featured instead of having it as a news source for big C&S.

We've been through this.

Also, WITSU's Education Officer's behaviour at events was mentioned. You mean to say that he was the only one drinking at a WITSU event?! Be realistic please. Everyone drinks at those events. Why single him out? A few lecturers go out drinking to student venues with students. They don't get slated on a thread on here. They are seen as "legends".

If WITSU's advertising is such a problem, have the courage to organise a meeting with Conor himself and discuss the issue.

I agree. It's not WITSU's responsibility to inform students of the government's stance. There is nothing stopping a student from picking up a paper, turning on the news or even just paying attention to current events. And in that regard, Facebook updates and links posted from the Irish Times etc kind of spell it out for them.
    Are students that incompetent?

(WIT It also says "for feedback, please email us". Just saying.)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

x3wiggles wrote: »
    I'd just like to point out the following as it concerns a decision I made and I feel I should reply to explain to nip any more rumours/misunderstanding in the bud. Seeing as there's a bit of criticism going on.

The criticism is mostly about WITSU, not the paper.
    The reason why there is only a featured C&S section in WIT It is because it is unfair if the bigger clubs and societies are only getting featured and pushing the smaller C&S out of the picture. We encourage the chairs of every C&S to approach us about getting featured. As a committee, the journalism society believes that it is extremely fair that this is the case.

But your not being fair. Because if a smaller soceity, or a big one struggling, wants to promote an event or put news in the paper (or pictures) -- they cant. Why? Because there either featured already or will be in the future. Thats not going to help. Big whop some people read about the society before - it will only grow and improve if there is a dedicated area with all C&S news.
    A point was made about the smaller clubs and socs not getting a look in with events and advertising. That's why WIT It features an equal amount of C&S. Regardless of popularity or size. The bigger C&S all have their own websites/Facebook to advertise their events. We would rather give everyone a chance of being featured instead of having it as a news source for big C&S.

In regards to WITSU, not WIT IT. They can plaster the place with adverts (windows of doors, walls, bathrooms, pocket pouches they got installed, big blue noticeboards, website, text system, etc.). WIT IT allows you to get in the paper once. So if your featured already, tough look. I proposed this idea, I was to do the features in the paper but it was taken over before I even got an attempt. There needs to be an area where people can put in news on C&S - big or small - and get featured. The idea of featuring a C&S was to create more awareness, not make it worse.
    We've been through this.

When I proposed the idea and said I would do it, there was never any question that C&S news area would be removed.

As for contacting Conor - who says nobody hasn't already? Not everybody is big into the SU and wants to speak with them. C&S will go to the C&S office about advertising and issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭x3wiggles

*you're
    *they're
    *that's
    *whoop
    *luck

That's all I have to say on the matter as I am not going to fully discuss this with you on boards.ie as I feel we are just going around in circles and nothing is getting resolved or achieved.
    So instead of ranting about it on an internet forum, how about we be grown-ups and talk about this face to face?:) Maybe then these issues will get to be resolved. Come to lunch on Friday. That way you can sort out your issues with the SU as well.
    I just hate keyboard warriors. Nothing ever gets achieved. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Okaaaayyyyy getting back to topic.

While I would like to see some sort of handout or leaflet, I highly doubt anything like that will come about with only one weekof lectures left.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

*you're
    *they're
    *that's
    *whoop
    *luck

Do you really want to be the lame one on the internet who correct spelling of others just because you can write for a college paper?!?!

That's all I have to say on the matter as I am not going to fully discuss this with you on boards.ie as I feel we are just going around in circles and nothing is getting resolved or achieved.

The circle only started...
    So instead of ranting about it on an internet forum, how about we be grown-ups and talk about this face to face?:) Maybe then these issues will get to be resolved. Come to lunch on Friday. That way you can sort out your issues with the SU as well.

Iv spoken with the SU on this before, face to face, and with Clubs & Socs. As recent as Friday with C&S! Iv had cause to speak with Conor, whome I have a lot of respect for, in the past about issues with their campaigns pushing aside others. It continued.

A lunch isn't the place to discuss the paper, it should be just a "Thanks". A form of bribery even :p

At the next meeting I will raise it, whenever its called. Iv said it before at a meeting, over a phone call with yourself and ill happily repeat it again at a future meeting now that we are a few issues in.

Ya would be VERY surpised! Many campaigns are succesfully through the internet. Keyboard warriors was the term used for people insulting each other, not giving Feedback on a discussion forum that the effected party doesn't agree with. ;)

Improper grammar irritates me as much as personal attacks do, Kev. You know that. :)

I suggest anyone who has a problem with the SU and the way they handle things that they go to Conor himself and sort it out there.

Improper grammar irritates me as much as personal attacks do, Kev. You know that. :)

There was only one personal attack, which I removed when you commented on it.
    I suggest anyone who has a problem with the SU and the way they handle things that they go to Conor himself and sort it out there.

And for those who have and don't get anywhere?! :p

Sure. If you say so, Sully. But only because you say so, right.
    And it does get sorted out.
    Let's get back on topic, shall we?

Sure. If you say so, Sully. But only because you say so, right.

Who else was targetted and insulted? Its against Boards.ie rules, and I haven't had any complaints yet and I haven't seen anything else personal. So either I am missing something, and your going to point me in that direction so I can remove it. Seriously, its important you point me in the direction of personal attacks.
    And it does get sorted out.

Sure. If you say so, Wiggles. But only because you say so, right. ;)

Let's get back on topic, shall we?

We are. WIT IT is a WITSU publication and this topic is discussing WITSU, even if people expect a tad to much from the role of the union!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭celticutd87

*you're
    *they're
    *that's
    *whoop
    *luck

I tried discussing my opinions and annoyances over my article "the cobh comment" with yee and was basically told im wrong and was not listened to at all. That was all by text and i got passed off continuously. Thats all I have to say on the matter.

We have discussed the matter with you since September. We gave you valid reasons. Whether or not you choose to accept our decision is another matter entirely.

Can we get back on topic now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 WAFFLES10

ok 1. the union could do more for clubs and socs , let it be known that they are willing to team u on events or leave monday free every 2nd week to help socs get the crowds that their hard work allows for.

2. i dont believe WIT IT should refuse any content from a publication , regardless of whether its political or not, im very aware that last year their was alot of politics , but politics is part of evryday life and political societies shouldnt be penalised simply for being political, the WIT IT is a very different thing than the campus times (worse in my view) as it is totally a SU paper with some journalism society input, i dont believe the student population know what to make of it yet

3 backon point, the current status in our country directly affects students in WIT , the SU reresent those students and should therefore be more vocal on the issue.

4. Political societies are trying to inform but it is difficult as the SU wont support , the posters get taken down, and the paper wont allow it due to 'being fair to all socs' banner. rediculous, and before wiggles and sully have a go at each other again , il say this again the paper shouldnt refuse any content at all, have a politics corner or a update on clubs page, and that would be extra to the c and s bio page

We have a limited page content. But we welcome criticism. Thanks.

so lets have less pages fom the SU then

WAFFLES10 wrote: »
    so lets have less pages fom the SU then

Wait for January.

what is happening then??

When the new issue of WIT It comes out...

We have discussed the matter with you since September. We gave you valid reasons. Whether or not you choose to accept our decision is another matter entirely.

Can we get back on topic now?

And I gave yee valid reasons. It seems obvious to me that yee did not accept them.

I thought we were aiming to have the new issue out the last week of college ie this week?

Didn't ye raise the number of pages for this edition? Also, YFG sent in pics to be included and a bit like the other poster here - when I raised the issue, I was fobbed off. The SU are not to blame apparently as its the Journo Soc who choose the content.

Its an SU publication and it seems to be the two fingers to C&S. "Only featured C&S, thanks all the same" seems to be the line.

It went to print last week? It wont take a printer a full month to print it? I assume the content that was submitted recently will be published in WIT IT this week with the next edition next semester in January. I take it thats what you meant.

so based on the last thread im posing the question 'What do people think of the new WIT IT publication????

my own view is the magazine doesnt work, there is too much SU content and also there is no critisism of any kind .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Sparkles:)

it's boring imo... i miss when the campus times had little controversial things writtten by "anon" whom had the exact same writing style as one avid FF-er whom I shant name...

It's pure pro SU propaganda, and I have absolutely no beef with the SU, I just believe the college paper should contain more than stupid ents pic and repetitive content

both issues so far have had the contact details for the clubs and socs... thats obtainable from the C&S office, or just put it on the SU fb or website and use that page for another 2 articles about C&S.
    the agony annie i thought was very preteen, we had it in out 3rd year publication in secondary school

Google maps while interesting, not very eh, i dont know maybe imo it's not interesting, how about a students opinion something else something topical that effects us in our every day life...

It just seems to me that WIT it is very filler, tries to be funnier than it is, and has very little intelligible content at all so far... Not really worth picking up off the stands as far as I see it...

Sparksxxxxxxxxxxxx

Sorry wiggles luff you x

Mod Note::

Okay seeing as there seems to be an interest in speaking about the WITSU WIT IT publication, which gets content from the Journalism Society, iv split the discussion from the previous topic which was discussing the union as a whole into the new topic created by WAFFLES10. It did serve a purpose originally but there seems to be a growing interest in creating a specific thread about Feedback for the college publication.

No personal attacks folks. If you have a problem with a post, please report it, and the mods will review.

Thanks!

no problem kevin,
    i agree there is little intelligible content, ive friends who are in the journo society , and they say opinion pieces and other content are frowned upon, if for example the paper wanted to critique the college or the su its frowned upon and yet articles like that agony aunt nonsense gets in, the paper needs to be a paper and the journalism needs to embrace journalism

Yeah. That's all grand. Rarely any of what comes in is actually serious, intelligent articles. This is of course not including clubs and socs news or personal columns.
    We had one for the December issue. That's from Sully. We encourage everyone to send in stuff. So by all means if you want more serious content, then send it in.

Ah now. If you're on about personal opinion in relation to Cobh Comment even Sully can back me up on that.

Yeah. That's all grand. Rarely any of what comes in is actually serious, intelligent articles. This is of course not including clubs and socs news or personal columns.
    We had one for the December issue. That's from Sully. We encourage everyone to send in stuff. So by all means if you want more serious content, then send it in.

What about a politics section, just smaller? Maybe more personal views rather then a repeat of what was in national press?

The problem with WIT IT is that is perceived as an actual WITSU publication rather then a "The Campus Times" paper. Even the name is fecking off putting.

Ah now. If you're on about personal opinion in relation to Cobh
    Comment even Sully can back me up on that.

Which now?

Sully wrote: »
    What about a politics section, just smaller? Maybe more personal views rather then a repeat of what was in national press?
    Then bring it up at the meeting ;) we'd be happy to accommodate. It was never suggested.
    The problem with WIT IT is that is perceived as an actual WITSU publication rather then a "The Campus Times" paper. Even the name is fecking off putting.
    Again, we asked everyone at the first meeting to suggest another title but no one came forward with any ideas. :)
    Which now?
    The decision with Cobh Comment.

the name is childish and it looks like a glossy mag that you read in a dentist waiting room, the campus times looked and sounded more professional...

and don't worry baby girl, when i start writing you wont know what hit you :P :P

then its up to te journo soc to work harder and promote these kind of articles , people see it as a student union magazine in fairness , what writer finds that attractive , and this isnt an su rant but its either a college publication or a su magazine rite now no 1 wants to write or the su magazine

Sparkles:) wrote: »
    the name is childish and it looks like a glossy mag that you read in a dentist waiting room, the campus times looked and sounded more professional...
    Because we didn't want the same rep The Campus Times did, we had to change the name. We had the option to change the title, same with the design

then its up to te journo soc to work harder and promote these kind of articles

Do you want to join? By all means.

Again, we asked everyone at the first meeting to suggest another title but no one came forward with any ideas. :)

I only recall that the name would be reviewed, not changed immediately. Suggestions were given but it was to be reviewed IIRC. I see no issue with the name "The Campus Times" either..
    The decision with Cobh Comment.

I know I agreed, but id need my memory refreshed as I can only recall that the author didn't want to change the content when asked. But I cant recall what the content was, when it was explained, as no copy was given IIRC. But I know I backed based on what was told and stand by that anywhome.

But there were other issues.. and the changing of the Soccer stuff and giving the author a template wasn't exactly welcomed :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭MacGyver

Improper grammar irritates me

This is probably completely off topic but maybe the editor of WIT IT could so a spell check on some of the articles as the last one was a farce. Now, as anyone who knows me, I'm not one for grammar usually but when its something being published like that it should be up to standard. This is more constructive criticism then an attack in case it comes across that way, but maybe some of the writers could mention it to the editor.

MacGyver wrote: »
    This is probably completely off topic but maybe the editor of WIT IT could so a spell check on some of the articles as the last one was a farce. Now, as anyone who knows me, I'm not one for grammar usually but when its something being published like that it should be up to standard. This is more constructive criticism then an attack in case it comes across that way, but maybe some of the writers could mention it to the editor.

The last issue of WIT It was rushed.

But there were other issues.. and the changing of the Soccer stuff and giving the author a template wasn't exactly welcomed :P

Neither was the discussion that followed that. :P

The last issue of WIT It was rushed.

it was four weeks late ?? thats ample time, btw the campus times didnt have a bad rep , people actually looked forward to the issues, and yes it was political but it had the voice and opinions of the student body ,

the editor and committee must remember its a JOURNALISM society and not a ' how can we make this funny' society

Was the soccer inut changed without the permission of the author????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Blaaa

I think the WIT IT is a very bad college newsletter. It doesn't inform people of the goings on in college or subjects that affect students.

Personally, it seem the editor is under the students union's thump and will only print what they want and not what the students would like to hear.

The stories and columns were not very interesting and it just seem to be a pisstake of a magazine !

It isn't a good publication at all and the whole thing just looks like a joke !

Yeah with regards to the google maps thing, it was written the week after the google streetview craze hit Ireland to be relevant, but delays got the worst of it.

Blaaa wrote: »
    I think the WIT IT is a very bad college newsletter. It doesn't inform people of the goings on in college or subjects that affect students.

Personally, it seem the editor is under the students union's thump and will only print what they want and not what the students would like to hear.

The stories and columns were not very interesting and it just seem to be a pisstake of a magazine !

It isn't a good publication at all and the whole thing just looks like a joke !

Mod Note

I warned against personal attacks - so please don't target specific people in the way that you have done. Thanks.

i think comments directed specifically at the editor are unfair, it is a stressful situation, and with regard being under anyone's thumb; WIT it is su funded (AFAIK) as well as gaining outsourced funding, the editor, the journalism soc and independents whom submit to WIT it cannot just disregard the input of the SU

Now for my 2 cents...

Anyone who is under the impression that the Editor, or for that matter anyone in the Journalism Society, is "under the student's union thumb" is welcome to join the society and see for themselves how possible content is discussed, and how the meetings progress. The Journalism Society, and the editor for that matter, have the final say on content.

To my own knowledge, if something is submitted and it needs to be discussed, and if there is time, it is put to a discussion amongst the members as to whether or not it is printed. This would happen if the editor could not make a definite decision without consulting the other members. However if something is submitted at the last minute, there is no time to debate over it and it would not be printed. I've had stuff not printed and once turned back before because I submitted it 5 mins before the deadline.

Last year Tadgh provided a agreement signed by the SU to prove that it is completely up to the journalism society. Some of last year's content attests to that. I think its gotten to the stage where this needs to be done AGAIN. If that doesn't matter, anyone is welcome to walk up to Conor himself and he'll say the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭MacGyver

Sparkles:) wrote: »
    i think comments directed specifically at the editor are unfair, it is a stressful situation, and with regard being under anyone's thumb; WIT it is su funded (AFAIK) as well as gaining outsourced funding, the editor, the journalism soc and independents whom submit to WIT it cannot just disregard the input of the SU

Fair comment but I do think it is the editors job to check the grammar and spelling as they are the last line before publication. My comments had nothing to do with the WITSU or issues that there may be. I for one was glad to see some WITSU addresses in WIT It. Maybe for the next issue a mix of funny and serious articles would be good, how about some future events rather then photos of events that people may not have known were on ?

When it comes to submitting something deemed controversial e.g. argues against WITSU or Harvey's or the Journalism Society itself or ANYBODY that is criticised or ranted at in a submission.

I'll try and explain whats suitable and what isn't as best I can. Personally, I don't like Harveys, the current sponsor of WIT IT, so I'll use that as an example.

I don't like Harvey's. I think its a complete waste of space and should be burned down because I hate it.
    I submit this, it won't get printed. Its simply an attack on Harvey's because I don't like it. I don't raise any points. I don't back anything up, its simply a personal attack on Harvey's.
    I don't like Harveys. I find the prices are too high compared to Escape or Mason's. I don't enjoy paying nearly €6 for a bottle of Bulmers there when I can get it for €5 in The Front Lounge.
    I submit this, it gets printed. I've backed up my claim of high drink prices with comparisons to other clubs. If this was submitted early enough and was a decent argumentative article, a representative of Harveys would then be asked for a comment on my claims.

It's Leaving Cert English 101. If you make an argument or a claim against someone, back it up with facts and examples or comparisons. If there is something submitted, and a small piece of it is a bit controversial to print or isnt backed up, then the author is contacted and asked to support their claims so it can be submitted. In the case that they dont want to support it, they can either submit without the offending piece, or the editor would withdraw the submission.

It's a blurry area, but in my opinion it all comes down to journalistic integrity. You make a claim, back it up. The publication is no place for attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 nbd2

Sigh...

If I may just make a few little points here, and clear up a few things.

Firstly, Sully mentioned that a lot of the criticism was directed at the WITSU, and not the Journalism Society (JS). It seems like this is like any other thread on any other forum where people refuse to read the posts made before waffling on irrelevantly. Great.

Now as for the WITSU/WITJS breakdown of who does what, I don't really think it's entirely fair for some people to make comments like "WITSU do the whole payperr" unless you actually bother to get involved with the WITJS. Yes, it's true, the WITSU do have a big role in the publication. Is this really the first time you're hearing about that? They fund the whole thing, help us out with content, do ALL of our design work (which for anyone who has any experience in graphic design, there's a lot involved), so yeah, naturally, they're going to have some input.

By the way, at this point, my own 2c is that I personally don't like the design of the publication, or any of the WITSU posters for that matter.

On the issue of certain societies and clubs getting mammoth twelve page features on their fundraising session in the dome, lets be realistic. Firstly, the WITJS have had issues with the WITSU on numerous occasions regarding the reoccurring delay with printing. It is really tricky to get the timing right, which is something a number of our ACTIVE WITJS members have expressed their dislike on. I agree, it's crap.

Getting back to shameless advertising of society sessions in the dome, maybe they're not aware that the 3 plotters in the T-Block are available for use by ANY member of the college with a valid login. They print up to and over A0 size, so you can plaster the place with posters. If you're not too skilled with the likes of photoshop, publisher or indesign, at the very least, myself or other members of the WITJS would be most happy to help you out.

As my last point, regarding specific articles. I'm not picking any article in particular, but at the end of the day, we aim to publish articles that are fair, NOT OFFENSIVE to anyone, and relevent to students. We got in a lot of trouble last year over things being offensive. If we were going down the route of printing anything we get, I personally, would submit an article listing a number of organisations that annoy the hell out of me. I have a feeling cursing is disallowed in this "fine establishment" but it would probably be something along the lines of:
    Funk Playstation 3
    Funk Man United
    Funk when you get to the end of your pint
    Funk the snow
    Funk the bailout
    Funk running out of bread when you really want toast
    etc etc etc

Now that is not good reading.

My work here is done.

Edit:
    Mitch explained so much in that last post. Kudos.

nbd2 wrote: »
    Sigh...

If I may just make a few little points here, and clear up a few things.

Firstly, Sully mentioned that a lot of the criticism was directed at the WITSU, and not the Journalism Society (JS). It seems like this is like any other thread on any other forum where people refuse to read the posts made before waffling on irrelevantly. Great.

No idea what your on about but there was another thread giving out about WITSU where this topic was split from. WIT IT is considered a WITSU publication, not a WITJS.
    On the issue of certain societies and clubs getting mammoth twelve page features on their fundraising session in the dome, lets be realistic.

There were feck all C&S news in the last paper because nobody contributed. Was there really big societies taking it over with lengthy articles? I don't recall it and I was active last year... as I am this year..
    Getting back to shameless advertising of society sessions in the dome, maybe they're not aware that the 3 plotters in the T-Block are available for use by ANY member of the college with a valid login. They print up to and over A0 size, so you can plaster the place with posters. If you're not too skilled with the likes of photoshop, publisher or indesign, at the very least, myself or other members of the WITJS would be most happy to help you out.

You cant. A3 is the max size for any society in the college. WITSU seem to have been given an exception for this. Secondly, you cant plaster the place with posters as its not permitted. Its against the colleges rules.

Would be nice all the same to accept some of the feedback at least, without going hell for leather at everyone...

At this point, I wouldn't mind a rename to "WIT Campus Times". I'm getting sick of saying "WIT IT" to people. I feel like I'm talking about some creature on CBBC. Its already getting old, its not catching on in the way it should.

yeaaah but like everyone had the opportunity to change it. No one stepped up to the plate. We heard zilch back.

Sully's right the C&S office won't stamp posters bigger than a3, well haven't in my exp. my little college street managed to find the plotters in the t building, they're not a secret they're just pointless really

yeaaah but like everyone had the opportunity to change it. No one stepped up to the plate. We heard zilch back.
    That's because everyone was looking for a new name, to try and lose the controversy over Campus Times last year. A new name would have meant a new start. WITSU suggested WIT IT, said we can come up with another one if we want. I'd just rather go back to WIT Campus Times at this point.

Ooookay, TJ :D Point accepted. Come to the meeting in Jan and we'll have a pow-wow about this. :D

I know I agreed, but id need my memory refreshed as I can only recall that the author didn't want to change the content when asked. But I cant recall what the content was, when it was explained, as no copy was given IIRC. But I know I backed based on what was told and stand by that anywhome.

Ok I see now. I wasnt able to attend that meeting as I had a match. I had several back and forth texts and e-mails with Neil where I explained the opinions I expressed in my article the cobh comment. I agreed to take out 1 piece but would not take out others and outlined my reasons for this. As I was unable to attend the meeting I sent Neil a message outlining my objections to my article being omitted and requested my comments and reasons be put on the record in the meeting. Now I read the minutes from the meeting that were sent to me and nowhere was my reasons on the record. It just said I was asked and refused. I think that is completely wrong.
    And now I have put in my article for this month, containing some of the same pieces as i had last month, and have not had any objections. Wondering what will happen?