Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upc users

• Registered Users Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Enigma IE wrote: »
    I just got same call, 2nd call... looking for my tracert results to Shammy.

Just spoke to one of their techies on second level. He recognised it is most likely a routing issue on their side. Packets sent from Dublin to Limerick should NOT be going transatlantic, it should be traversing national network only.

I told him I was testing with Munster broadband user and he is doing to do some testing himself, I have him sample IP address. He also mentioned he's a COD player so he understands the craic. He is going to give me a call back tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

DemoniK wrote: »
    just got another phone call
    Apparently quite a few people have reported the same problem :)
    well done lads...

I've a lot of friends on the 360/ps3 with upc that want to kick my ass again :D.

Just like to say thanks to everyone who complained and hopefully it will be resolved shortly. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 951 ✭✭✭MiniNukinfuts

Hey, I just stumbled upon this topic while searching a solution to my tracert problem with UPC. Have UPC got back to anyone about the problem yet?

I've tried a tracert to my friend in Kerry, I'm in cork. And the route that my connection goes is: cork (me) -> Dublin -> Netherlands -> Austria -> new york - > Washington DC -> Kansas -> Kerry(my friend)

the full results are here: [PHP]traceroute to 88.151.27.238 (88.151.27.238), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
    1 192.168.2.1 (192.168.2.1) 10.316 ms 0.710 ms 0.616 ms
    2 * * *
    3 188.141.126.145 (188.141.126.145) 21.511 ms 22.011 ms 26.197 ms
    4 089-101-174126.ntlworld.ie (89.101.174.126) 15.135 ms 15.998 ms 47.756 ms
    5 84.116.134.134 (84.116.134.134) 104.656 ms 97.669 ms 96.120 ms
    6 84.116.132.230 (84.116.132.230) 128.315 ms
    84.116.132.226 (84.116.132.226) 126.433 ms
    84.116.132.230 (84.116.132.230) 135.357 ms
    7 us-nyc01b-rd1-pos-12-0.aorta.net (213.46.160.242) 98.201 ms 95.168 ms 96.199 ms
    8 us-nyc01b-ri1-ge-0-1-0.aorta.net (213.46.190.178) 95.340 ms 94.807 ms 98.022 ms
    9 xe-4-1-0.edge1.newyork1.level3.net (4.78.132.93) 95.746 ms 97.169 ms
    xe-8-3-0.edge1.newyork1.level3.net (4.78.164.221) 98.344 ms
    10 * * *
    11 te0-1-0-4.mpd22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.31.5) 134.266 ms
    te0-0-0-4.mpd21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.7.13) 134.482 ms
    te0-3-0-5.mpd21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.26.61) 135.968 ms
    12 te0-1-0-1.ccr22.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.42.106) 209.348 ms 210.428 ms
    te0-0-0-1.ccr22.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.42.102) 207.433 ms
    13 te3-2.ccr01.man01.atlas.cogentco.com (130.117.51.253) 231.401 ms
    te4-2.ccr01.man01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.36.58) 264.000 ms
    te3-2.ccr01.man01.atlas.cogentco.com (130.117.51.253) 211.233 ms
    14 te1-1.ccr01.dub01.atlas.cogentco.com (130.117.3.213) 217.561 ms 229.655 ms 214.528 ms
    15 88.151.27.238 (88.151.27.238) 214.678 ms 217.479 ms 216.154 ms [/PHP]

Thanks, Mark

• Registered Users Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Hi guys. Could this be the reason I'm experiencing problems with my connection too? (Dublin 8)

I've logged the issue multiple times and got it escalated so that they'll send out a technician.

Quick tracert to boards:
    1 27 ms 14 ms 10 ms 89.101.208.1
    2 9 ms * 15 ms 188.141.126.1
    3 * * 13 ms 89.101.174.62
    4 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms 84.116.238.34
    5 * 28 ms 12 ms 193.242.111.2
    6 56 ms 32 ms 14 ms 89.234.66.107

And a ping test to boards again
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=60
    Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=60
    Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=60
    Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=60
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 89.234.66.107: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=60
    Request timed out.

Smyth wrote: »
    Hi guys. Could this be the reason I'm experiencing problems with my connection too? (Dublin 8)

I've logged the issue multiple times and got it escalated so that they'll send out a technician.

Quick tracert to boards:

And a ping test to boards again

Most definitely. The tracert results are normal, not all routers will respond (by design), that would be represented by the asterisks. The fact you are dropping packets trying to ping boards.ie, certainly suggests an issue with your kit or provider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 TheMastero

1st i gotta say speedtest is never accurate, well its never been for me anyway
    but here are my results.

This is from Limerick to the Dublin server:
    1067992000.png

Limerick to Limerick server: lol
    1067994937.png

Heh i never take any notice of these test sites there a loda crap but thats my opinion....

My 30mb UPC bb i working fine :D

TheMastero wrote: »
    1st i gotta say speedtest is never accurate, well its never been for me anyway
    but here are my results.

This is from Limerick to the Dublin server:
    1067992000.png

Limerick to Limerick server: lol
    1067994937.png

Heh i never take any notice of these test sites there a loda crap but thats my opinion....

My 30mb UPC bb i working fine :D

Depends on who you are connected to , if to me , then it is 731 ms(maybe not that high) as its taking you to the states before it reaches me.

Limerick to limerick 100 miles....limerick to dublin 50 miles ???

edit : Brian, have you gotten word on when its going to be fixed , i'm getting nothing back off my crowd.

Shammy wrote: »
    Depends on who you are connected to , if to me , then it is 731 ms(maybe not that high) as its taking you to the states before it reaches me.

Limerick to limerick 100 miles....limerick to dublin 50 miles ???

edit : Brian, have you gotten word on when its going to be fixed , i'm getting nothing back off my crowd.

Local peering needs to be configured in Limerick by both providers. Basically, Munster BB need a UPC circuit themselves and then route local traffic over that circuit. UPC contacted Munster BB as far as I know, they (Munster BB) said it would be sorted in 7-10 days. That was late last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

Local peering needs to be configured in Limerick by both providers. Basically, Munster BB need a UPC circuit themselves and then route local traffic over that circuit. UPC contacted Munster BB as far as I know, they (Munster BB) said it would be sorted in 7-10 days. That was late last week.

you got so much further with them then i did :( oh well least its getting sorted i hate the days when shammy hosts :( cant wait to kick some limerick tail again ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 interpoint

This is correct. We are looking into the BGP peering arrangements that we have with UPC via INEX. We are also upgrading our backhaul out of Limerick to a 1Gb-1 circuit.

UPC are slow to complete the peering with us in INEX but we are trying. These things take time. I will post when we have this completed.

The end result will be Munster Broadband customers and UPC customers will be routed within Ireland and not via the USA.

Munster Broadband
    Support

interpoint wrote: »
    This is correct. We are looking into the BGP peering arrangements that we have with UPC via INEX. We are also upgrading our backhaul out of Limerick to a 1Gb-1 circuit.

UPC are slow to complete the peering with us in INEX but we are trying. These things take time. I will post when we have this completed.

The end result will be Munster Broadband customers and UPC customers will be routed within Ireland and not via the USA.

Munster Broadband
    Support

Hi, so can you tell us is the current issue a link saturation issue rather than a routing issue?

The issue is certainly routing between Munster Broadband and UPC.

Tracing route to 188.141.126.85 over a maximum of 30 hops
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Private
    2 2 ms 2 ms 1 ms Private
    3 9 ms 15 ms 8 ms Private
    4 55 ms 19 ms 13 ms 79.140.208.1
    5 43 ms * 28 ms te2-3.250.ccr01.dub01.atlas.cogentco.com [149.6.4.241]
    6 39 ms 23 ms 33 ms te1-4.ccr01.man01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.3.214]
    7 18 ms 20 ms 23 ms te0-1-0-4.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.51.254]
    8 92 ms 110 ms 99 ms te0-2-0-4.ccr21.ymq02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.0.70]
    9 135 ms 159 ms 129 ms te0-0-0-6.mpd22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.28.9]
    10 151 ms 150 ms 133 ms te0-2-0-3.mpd22.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.253]
    11 140 ms 130 ms 132 ms te3-3.mpd01.dfw01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.5.157]
    12 144 ms 136 ms 136 ms te3-3.mpd01.dfw03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.94]
    13 279 ms 237 ms 213 ms te-3-2.car3.dallas1.level3.net [4.68.110.109]
    14 180 ms 140 ms 153 ms ae-92-90.ebr2.dallas1.level3.net [4.69.145.243]
    15 146 ms 127 ms 132 ms ae-3-3.ebr2.newyork1.level3.net [4.69.137.122]
    16 140 ms 128 ms 132 ms ae-82-82.csw3.newyork1.level3.net [4.69.148.42]
    17 138 ms 146 ms 131 ms ae-3-89.edge1.newyork1.level3.net [4.68.16.142]
    18 145 ms 133 ms 133 ms upc-broadba.edge1.newyork1.level3.net [4.78.164.222]
    19 226 ms 233 ms 220 ms us-nyc01c-rd1-gi-0-0-0.aorta.net [213.46.190.97]
    20 220 ms 226 ms 228 ms uk-lon02a-rd1-pos-12-0.aorta.net [213.46.160.125]
    21 224 ms 229 ms 208 ms 84.116.132.245
    22 256 ms 231 ms 233 ms 84.116.134.129
    23 238 ms 230 ms 226 ms 089-101-175109.ntlworld.ie [89.101.175.109]
    24 239 ms 259 ms 221 ms 188.141.126.85
    Trace complete.

The issue will be resolved once the INEX peering has been completed.
    Hops will be shortened dramatically and latency will be dramtically different.

Cheers for the update. I fully understand that local peering will result in less hops and lower latency, hopefully solving the issue. The reason why I ask about saturation is because we were able to play online (UPC & MunsterBB) customers with no issues prior to about 5 or 6 weeks ago.
    The issue is certainly routing between Munster Broadband and UPC.

Tracing route to 188.141.126.85 over a maximum of 30 hops
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Private
    2 2 ms 2 ms 1 ms Private
    3 9 ms 15 ms 8 ms Private
    4 55 ms 19 ms 13 ms 79.140.208.1
    5 43 ms * 28 ms te2-3.250.ccr01.dub01.atlas.cogentco.com [149.6.4.241]
    6 39 ms 23 ms 33 ms te1-4.ccr01.man01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.3.214]
    7 18 ms 20 ms 23 ms te0-1-0-4.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.51.254]
    8 92 ms 110 ms 99 ms te0-2-0-4.ccr21.ymq02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.0.70]
    9 135 ms 159 ms 129 ms te0-0-0-6.mpd22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.28.9]
    10 151 ms 150 ms 133 ms te0-2-0-3.mpd22.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.253]
    11 140 ms 130 ms 132 ms te3-3.mpd01.dfw01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.5.157]
    12 144 ms 136 ms 136 ms te3-3.mpd01.dfw03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.94]
    13 279 ms 237 ms 213 ms te-3-2.car3.dallas1.level3.net [4.68.110.109]
    14 180 ms 140 ms 153 ms ae-92-90.ebr2.dallas1.level3.net [4.69.145.243]
    15 146 ms 127 ms 132 ms ae-3-3.ebr2.newyork1.level3.net [4.69.137.122]
    16 140 ms 128 ms 132 ms ae-82-82.csw3.newyork1.level3.net [4.69.148.42]
    17 138 ms 146 ms 131 ms ae-3-89.edge1.newyork1.level3.net [4.68.16.142]
    18 145 ms 133 ms 133 ms upc-broadba.edge1.newyork1.level3.net [4.78.164.222]
    19 226 ms 233 ms 220 ms us-nyc01c-rd1-gi-0-0-0.aorta.net [213.46.190.97]
    20 220 ms 226 ms 228 ms uk-lon02a-rd1-pos-12-0.aorta.net [213.46.160.125]
    21 224 ms 229 ms 208 ms 84.116.132.245
    22 256 ms 231 ms 233 ms 84.116.134.129
    23 238 ms 230 ms 226 ms 089-101-175109.ntlworld.ie [89.101.175.109]
    24 239 ms 259 ms 221 ms 188.141.126.85
    Trace complete.

The issue will be resolved once the INEX peering has been completed.
    Hops will be shortened dramatically and latency will be dramtically different.

Cheers for the update. I fully understand that local peering will result in less hops and less latency, hopefully solving the issue. The reason why I ask about saturation is because we were able to play online (UPC & MunsterBB) customers with no issues prior to about 5 or 6 weeks ago.

If you are a MBB client then PM me your Client ID. If you are a UPC client then PM me your Public IP and I will investigate further.

Once INEX is complete we can complete the tracert again and compare the hops.

The best way to communicate with Munster broadband is via support [at] munsterbroadband [dot] ie

We will always try and make things better for MBB customers as you can understand I cannot do anything to sort out issues UPC clients maybe experiancing once the data leaves the MBB network.

All we can do is reduce the hops. :)

PM'd, thanks.
    If you are a MBB client then PM me your Client ID. If you are a UPC client then PM me your Public IP and I will investigate further.

Once INEX is complete we can complete the tracert again and compare the hops.

The best way to communicate with Munster broadband is via support [at] munsterbroadband [dot] ie

We will always try and make things better for MBB customers as you can understand I cannot do anything to sort out issues UPC clients maybe experiancing once the data leaves the MBB network.

PM'd, thanks.
    Got it.. Thanks

If you are speaking to your friend that is with MBB. Please ask him to PM me his IP or MBB Client ID and I will check to see what MBB access point he is connected to and check the internal latency for this user on the MBB network.

I would expect the UPC peering to be sorted in the next few days. However, sometimes around this time of year there can be config freezes where system managers do not want to make any new changes as they have reduced support capability and don't want to break anything.

I will raise the issue again in the morning and lets see how things progress.. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭ro2

UPC have a restrictive peering policy that is controlled by their NOC in Holland. Anyone having issues like the one with Munster Broadband should email UPC and ask them why they don't peer with the route servers on INEX.

If they peered with the route servers, most of their red boxes here would change to green. This would speed up access to the websites hosted by the providers they don't peer with for all UPC customers.

https://www.inex.ie/technical/peeringmatrix

Pm sent

Its been over a week since i pmed you and still no response , not to mention the phonecalls to mbb with no answers to my questions , i have left messages for a certain person to give me a call back on numourous occasions (the person supposeably dealing with this) and yet i have had no feedback.

Shammy, I got your PM. I have not had any response from UPC. Peering arrangements are on hold over Christmas as network freezes are in place at the moment. Our office is also closed at the moment too.

This process can take several weeks to complete at worse case. We are willing to implement our end within 24 hours of a contact in UPC organising their end of the peering.

Shammy, I got your PM. I have not had any response from UPC. Peering arrangements are on hold over Christmas as network freezes are in place at the moment. Our office is also closed at the moment too.

This process can take several weeks to complete at worse case. We are willing to implement our end within 24 hours of a contact in UPC organising their end of the peering.

I started this thread on the 24 th of november , i rang mbb at least a week prior to me putting up this thread , maybe i should have been clearer but i was talking about the response from about the 15th of nov until now .

I have rang looking for a callback from a certain person at mmb on numourous occasions over the last 6/7 weeks and still no response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 mastman

Hi Shammy,

We have complained to INEX that UPC has not responded to us. They must engage with us but seem to be busy fixing their network..

We send another email yesterday to UPC requesting the peering department to engage with us.

We are doing everything that we can to complete this request.

Date: 7 January 2011 11:30:35 GMT
    To: UPC Peering Team <peering@aorta.net>
    Subject: RE: Peering Request at INEX from AS47***

This was the date of the email we sent.

INEX (http://www.inex.ie/) is Ireland's neutral exchange association. This
    email was composed with the assistance of INEX's Peering Manager which is
    part of your member area

Regards

Interpoint Support

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭ro2

They can take a while to get back to you alright.

It looks like UPC have brought up a connection to Telia in Dublin in the past few weeks. Hopefully that should help with the connectivity to other providers in Ireland.

Tracing the route to 089-100-001001.ntlworld.ie (89.100.1.1)

1 dln-b2-link.telia.net (213.248.93.**) [AS 1299] 0 msec 0 msec 0 msec
    2 dln-b3-link.telia.net (80.91.247.70) [AS 1299] 4 msec 0 msec 0 msec
    3 213.46.165.57 [AS 6830] 4 msec 4 msec 0 msec
    4 089-101-185194.ntlworld.ie (89.101.185.194) [AS 6830] 4 msec * 0 msec

Any update ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭finipops

Here's mine.
    1126914293.png
    1126915630.png
    1126916612.png

Any update ?

Are Munster BB part of a larger entity by any chance? I can't see them listed here at all. UPC have only peered with a few, not many.

https://www.inex.ie/technical/peeringmatrix

• Registered Users Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Just posting my test for the sake of data, i know its an old thread... oh im on the 20mb package.

1127617603.png

1127618397.png

1127619373.png

NICE

oh and FWIW, im in limerick....

Any update ?

Shammy, I'll re-open the case with UPC. Did some testing from 3 different ISP's to MunsterBB.

Smart/Digiweb --> MunsterBB
    Eircom --> MunsterBB
    UPC --> MunsterBB

You'll see from the trace routes, packets sent from Smart & Eircom go through INEX and straight to MunsterBB.

Packets sent from UPC, goto Carlow, Austria, Holland, New York, Washington, finally back to Ireland and to MunsterBB.

We know the problem is they don't peer with each other locally, the question is will they?

Trace Route from Smart Telecom to Munster Broadband

Tracing route to SHAMMY over a maximum of 30 hops

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 10.20.250.1
    2 2 ms 3 ms 3 ms fe0-2-2-141.edge1.deg.dub.stisp.net [84.203.201.113]
    3 3 ms 3 ms 5 ms ge1-3-0-109.core1.deg.dub.stisp.net [84.203.130.185]
    4 3 ms 3 ms 3 ms 212-126-37-249.digiweb-to-dc-customer.net.digiweb.ie [212.126.37.249]
    5 101 ms 202 ms 200 ms gi-6-1.dub-deg-br1.net.digiweb.ie [83.147.163.38]
    6 4 ms 4 ms 3 ms inex.bbnet.ie [193.242.111.64] biggrin.gif
    7 4 ms 4 ms 4 ms 88.87.166.2
    8 8 ms 11 ms 7 ms 79.140.208.6
    9 9 ms 8 ms 12 ms 10.200.5.17
    10 10 ms 10 ms 18 ms 10.200.1.2
    11 16 ms 11 ms 15 ms 10.200.1.59
    12 14 ms 20 ms 17 ms 10.200.1.14
    13 16 ms 17 ms 33 ms 10.200.2.60
    14 14 ms 18 ms 14 ms SHAMMY

Trace complete.

Trace Route from Eircom to Munster Broadband

C:\>tracert SHAMMY

1 * * * Request timed out.
    2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 159.134.95.9
    3 8 ms 3 ms <1 ms 159.134.95.1
    4 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms eircom-hosting-services-pe-ge2-0.edge1.cwm.dublin.eircom.net [159.134.120.33]
    5 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms ge2-1-0.coreb.cwm.dublin.eircom.net [83.71.115.4]
    6 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms ge10-1-0.corea.cra.dublin.eircom.net [86.43.244.229]
    7 2 ms 2 ms 5 ms tenge-3-1-1.core1.bdt.core.eircom.net [86.43.252.129]
    8 5 ms 3 ms 3 ms tenge-1-2-1.pe1.6cr.6cr-6cr.eircom.net [86.43.255.90]
    9 2 ms 2 ms 3 ms ge3-0-0.peering1.tcy.dublin.eircom.net [86.43.244.153]
    10 2 ms 3 ms 3 ms inex.bbnet.ie [193.242.111.64]biggrin.gif
    11 3 ms 2 ms 3 ms 88.87.166.2
    12 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms 79.140.208.6
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 45 ms 62 ms 44 ms SHAMMY

Trace complete.

Trace Route from UPC to MunsterBB

C:\tracert SHAMMY

1 9 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1 Netgear/Default Gateway
    2 29 ms 12 ms 19 ms 46.7.44.1 (Ireland)
    3 12 ms 13 ms 29 ms 109.255.249.241 (Dublin, Ireland)
    4 9 ms 14 ms 25 ms 089-101-174030.ntlworld.ie [89.101.174.30] (Carlow, Ireland) mad.gif
    5 147 ms 143 ms 137 ms 84.116.134.134 (Austria) mad.gif
    6 377 ms 218 ms 92 ms 84.116.132.234 (Austria)
    7 95 ms 133 ms 93 ms us-nyc01b-rd1-pos-10-0.aorta.net [213.46.160.154] (Holland)
    8 131 ms 119 ms 145 ms us-nyc01b-ri1-ge-0-1-0.aorta.net [213.46.190.178] (Holland)
    9 131 ms 122 ms 128 ms xe-8-3-0.edge1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.78.164.221] (New York)
    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 224 ms 307 ms 158 ms te0-0-0-4.mpd22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.49]
    12 232 ms 460 ms 306 ms te0-3-0-5.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44.34]
    13 534 ms 306 ms 305 ms te0-1-0-1.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.31.182] (Washington)
    14 387 ms 345 ms 306 ms te3-2.ccr01.man01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.51.253]
    15 328 ms 306 ms 306 ms te1-1.ccr01.dub01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.3.213]
    16 533 ms 308 ms 305 ms 149.5.33.226 (Ireland)
    17 332 ms 306 ms 279 ms 79.140.208.6 (Limerick)
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 397 ms 300 ms 311 ms SHAMMY

Trace complete.

Thanks mate from what i've heard upc will not peer , and none of the complaints that were made , made it to the peering dept.

I'll give them a call over lunch.

EDIT - called tech support, they're escalating the issue to data team. Pretty much what they did before. The latest comment on the case (Decemeber 2010) that this isn't a service issue i.e. there is no problem with my UPC service as such, which is only partly correct. I'm not sure how much success I will have but I will lodge is as a formal complaint.