Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do if your child wants to celebrate "the holidays"?

• 24-11-2010 7:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭girlyhappyface

I am agnostic, and don't celebrate Christmas, Halloween or Easter.
    I don't have children yet, but am wondering how you atheists or agnostics respond if your child wants to have a Christmas tree, dress up at Halloween etc.
    I'm imagining that most kids don'y give a hoot about attending Church so it's just the stuff that other kids are doing that I'm imagining that they may want to do.
    I absolutely could not have Christmas decorations in my house, as I never have had, but I am wondering about how I would feel if I had my child ask me.

So what do you do if your child wants to celebrate something you don't believe in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,358 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

I think the first step would be to recognise the difference between celebrating Christmas and celebrating AT Christmas.

I think for most people Christmas has lost the metaphysical meanings cynically injected into it to take over a date already used in Roman Times (remember Jesus' birthday is not actually said to have been in December) and has just become traditionally a day to celebrate Family. I am sure you believe in Family :)

Halloween too I think has lost any mystical meaning and has become a time where we celebrate the personification of aspects of the human condition. Fear, evil, war and other negative aspects of humanity are personified in creatures that children then dress up as and play with. To me it is a time to acknowledge the darker sides of humanity, bring them out as personifications that we can then mock, jeer and show they have no real power over us. A time to face, acknowledge and move past our fears.

Easter however... I can think of little use for Easter :)

In short... celebrate these times with your children, but use it as a time to give your own meaning to the festivals and teach them the lessons that you think are important. Facing your fears. Celebrating the joy of family. These are important things to make time for and Halloween and Christmas are as good as any time to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Zheiko

I am calling myself an Atheist, but that doesn't change anything on the fact that I do celebrate christmass - I just dont see them as celebration of Jesus being born, I celebrate them as holiday where family should be together and its more family tradition to me than what the real meaning of it is.

I probably could not live with myself, knowing that all kids at school are talking about what they've got for christmass and my kids were standing there speechless that they dont celebrate... they'd hate me for that, and I would probably hate myself...

I am not gonna raise my children to believe in God, but I will raise them to believe in holiday of happiness and time of year family should stick together.

And about Easter? There's no need of celebration, theres nothing to celebrate about that, but if the kids wants to see the show on city centre, why not, but it still doesnt meen they must believe in any religion..

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

What does celebrating Christmas have to do with Christianity?

5uspect wrote: »
    What does celebrating Christmas have to do with Christianity?

As far as I am concerned, Xmass is originaly celebration of Jesus Christ being born on night from 24.th to 25th. December

(un)fortunately this had changed during the times, and today we have Santa Clauss instead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

Zheiko wrote: »
    As far as I am concerned, Xmass is originaly celebration of Jesus Christ being born on night from 24.th to 25th. December

(un)fortunately this had changed during the times, and today we have Santa Clauss instead :)

Well it shows how wrong you can be doesn't it. Christmas is a catholic mass, celebrating the birth of Jesus, which was placed on Dec 25th to coincide with existing celebrations.

Everything else, the trees, decorations, cards, presents, puddings, turkeys and drink have nothing to do with Christianity, all stem from ancient pagan celebrations or are more modern commercial inventions.

It's time for Christmas to return to its original meaning, a party at the end of the year!

We already have New Years Eve for that. :) AND it's more accurately placed in relation to current calendars for doing so.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Zheiko wrote: »

And before that it was a Pagan festival, which is why the catholic church decided to coincide the birth of Jesus at the same time.

I remember as a child the utter excitement and anticipation of Santa.
    There was no way I could deny my daughter that.
    Christmas is fantastic if you have a child. Their excitement is contagious.

These days, it's a celebration of having a week off and spending time with your nearest and dearest.
    I will cook a 5/6 course meal on christmas eve that is very much looked forward to by us all and lots of wine will be consumed.
    Good food, wine, great company, candle light. What's not to like?

The Italians have a great saying: La dolcezza di non fare niente - the sweetness of doing nothing.
    My favourite way to spend time!

pH wrote: »
    Well it shows how wrong you can be doesn't it. Christmas is a catholic mass, celebrating the birth of Jesus, which was placed on Dec 25th to coincide with existing celebrations.

Everything else, the trees, decorations, cards, presents, puddings, turkeys and drink have nothing to do with Christianity, all stem from ancient pagan celebrations or are more modern commercial inventions.

It's time for Christmas to return to its original meaning, a party at the end of the year!

Exactly what I ment, today's xmass celebration we have has NOTHING to do with the celebrations few hundreds years ago...
    BTW: I am not Irish, so I am not entirely sure that you have what we have, in my country(Czech Republic), we dont have Santa Clauss, and we do really celebrate birthday of Jesus Crist, which is 24th Dec evening, then 31.Dec and 1.Jan is New Year, not sure what that exactly is, but we do celebrate that a way different than here in Ireland, and its one of the biggest day in a year. Then there is 6th January, which is the day when Three Kings came to see Baby Jesus. And Last of it is Eastern, which is the day Jesus got resurected...

Again, I am an Atheist, so all I know about this, is what my parents tought me, not sure if its correct, I might be wrong(and probably am:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

who'd want to deny the joy of the greatest capitalist holiday celebration to their children?

christmas has nothing to do with jesus and hasn't done for a very long time.

you call yourself an agnostic but have cut out all the good stuff relating to christianity so it seems like you're pretty certain about what you do and don't believe. are you sure you're agnostic?

i'm a die hard atheist but there's no way i'd let that get in the way of a good knee's up. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I don't have children yet, but am wondering how you atheists or agnostics respond if your child wants to have a Christmas tree, dress up at Halloween etc.
    I'm imagining that most kids don'y give a hoot about attending Church so it's just the stuff that other kids are doing that I'm imagining that they may want to do.
    I absolutely could not have Christmas decorations in my house, as I never have had, but I am wondering about how I would feel if I had my child ask me.

So what do you do if your child wants to celebrate something you don't believe in?

Don't be such a boring cheapskate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Ficheall wrote: »
    Don't be such a boring cheapskate.

I agree with the op.
    I refuse to recognise Wednesday as it is named after Woden in whom i do not believe.
    I hide in a dark cupboard on Thursday as i dont believe in Thor.
    Ditto Friday and Saturday .
    In fact Im staying in for pretty much all the months of the year as i dont recognise any of those pesky Roman Gods.
    Im soooooooo atheist it hurts!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Can I ask a question?

If you don't celebrate Christmas at all, how does this work with all those around you.

I'm thinking of family, do they buy you presents, invite you for Xmas dinner etc.
    Do you get involved in Kris Kringle things at work (if you're in that kind of environment) or do you refuse to participate.

I'm just curious and in no way am I criticising or trying to pick holes in what you believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭girlyhappyface

vibe666 wrote: »
    you call yourself an agnostic but have cut out all the good stuff relating to christianity so it seems like you're pretty certain about what you do and don't believe. are you sure you're agnostic?

Okay, I may have been mistaken. My understanding of the word "Agnostic" was someone who believes in God but not organised religion.
    I have never (even in my childhood) celebrated Christmas, Halloween or Easter. My family had a religion where this was the done thing.
    As an adult, I don't follow any religion, so will want to continue not celebrating these occasions. My partner was raised a Catholic, and would not want out kids to miss out on presents at Christmas so we'll do that, but in my mind, decorations are a definite no. I'm all for spending time with family etc., but you don't need it to be Christmas to do this, although with my partner's family, it will be a very family orientated occasion.

My reason for starting this thread was to ask, those of you who DON'T celebrate/ recognise those holidays, (ie- no dressing up or trick or treating at Halloween, no Santa or tree at Christmas)- what do you do if your kid says they want to fill your house with tinsel, or if they want you to take them trick or treating. Do you go along with it for your kid or do you struggle as it's not something you agree with/ believe in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭girlyhappyface

Mr Magners wrote: »
    Can I ask a question?

If you don't celebrate Christmas at all, how does this work with all those around you.

I'm thinking of family, do they buy you presents, invite you for Xmas dinner etc.
    Do you get involved in Kris Kringle things at work (if you're in that kind of environment) or do you refuse to participate

Sometimes we go to my partner's parent's house, sometimes we stay at home. When we're home alone, we don't have a traditional Christmas dinner. We do exchange presents (as he wants to- and I love presents!). I do get involved in his family's Kris Kindle and if there is one in work, will do the same.I know it's hypocritical, but presents are great, and it's nice to buy for people. It's all the other stuff I don't like!

Okay, I may have been mistaken. My understanding of the word "Agnostic" was someone who believes in God but not organised religion.

No that is deism not agnosticism.

Agnostic THESE DAYS means that you are on the fence on the issue of whether there is a god or not. I prefer to use the word in it's original sense however. The person who coined the word himself defined it as someone who thinks that the answer to a question is itself unknowable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

oh yeah... i forgot that was a religious thing. :pac:

Seriously. Don't be afraid of enjoying yourself at christmas time. It has fug all to do with religious celebrations for the very vast majority. I'm not Canadian but I'm living in canada and I celebrated thanksgiving this year. Same thing really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I have never (even in my childhood) celebrated Christmas, Halloween or Easter. My family had a religion where this was the done thing.
    As an adult, I don't follow any religion, so will want to continue not celebrating these occasions. My partner was raised a Catholic, and would not want out kids to miss out on presents at Christmas so we'll do that, but in my mind, decorations are a definite no. I'm all for spending time with family etc., but you don't need it to be Christmas to do this, although with my partner's family, it will be a very family orientated occasion.

My reason for starting this thread was to ask, those of you who DON'T celebrate/ recognise those holidays, (ie- no dressing up or trick or treating at Halloween, no Santa or tree at Christmas)- what do you do if your kid says they want to fill your house with tinsel, or if they want you to take them trick or treating. Do you go along with it for your kid or do you struggle as it's not something you agree with/ believe in?

Hi OP

TBH your reasons for not decorating appear to come across as pureless selfish. All of your answers are me, me, me.

I cant see how decorating your house in a festive manner and placing a tree in it will affect your beliefs. It would be my opinion that you are taking it to the extreme. Its is a time of celebration for familys with particular emphasis placed on children. If that means spreading a bit of cheer by decorating your home with a tree and some decorations so be it. To me it would a very grim time if my parents didnt do this. Perhaps you need to compromise with your OH, It all seems very one sided. Your not exactly forcing religious views by decorating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

My Gf teaches a kid from eastern europe in her class. her parents are from a part of christianity that is very extreme and to the bible. They do not celebrate christmas as really it is an insult to the 'sacred time'. If I was you I would try to make it so decorated and material wealth based that you would be insulting the baby Jesus. That way you win twice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Sometimes we go to my partner's parent's house, sometimes we stay at home. When we're home alone, we don't have a traditional Christmas dinner. We do exchange presents (as he wants to- and I love presents!). I do get involved in his family's Kris Kindle and if there is one in work, will do the same.I know it's hypocritical, but presents are great, and it's nice to buy for people. It's all the other stuff I don't like!
    So you celebrate christmas, but you dont want your kids to. Think you are on a wind up here.

what do you do if your kid says they want to fill your house with tinsel, or if they want you to take them trick or treating. Do you go along with it for your kid

Of course you do. The only things you should ever deny your children are things that will hurt them.
    There is no need to suck the joy out of life for them just because you don't want these things.

If your child wants a tree or tinsel, what harm is there in that?
    The pagans/celts were the ones who started the tree tradition, another thing the catholics stole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Luckily, I do believe in fun, good food and presents, so I wouldn't have the least problem with my cihldren wanting to celebrate christmas.

If they wanted to attend church on christmas or easter, I'd probably take them there in the spirit of an educational outing ("This is what some people do" kind of thing) and I would of course happily answer all questions they might have about it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Considering none of these things have anything to do with Christianity/Atheism/Agnosticism you're kind of missing the point of the replies you're getting.

They do however seem to go against your own personal views. Perhaps you need to ask a group that actively avoids such things. Such people seem in a significant minority here.

I don't believe in zombies/ghosts/Santa etc but I'll happily enjoy the fun of it all. I'll even dress up like an idiot at Halloween for fun without any damage to my lack of belief.

If I think that such things are actively harmful, they're not, then I would have issues. Why do you see these activities as problematic?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,428 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

those of you who DON'T celebrate/ recognise those holidays, (ie- no dressing up or trick or treating at Halloween, no Santa or tree at Christmas)- what do you do if your kid says they want to fill your house with tinsel, or if they want you to take them trick or treating. Do you go along with it for your kid or do you struggle as it's not something you agree with/ believe in?
    I'll be celebrating Saturnalia this christmas -- the traditional Roman festival involving gift-giving, relaxation, enjoying good food + drink and having a good time with the family. It's the least we can do to celebrate our Roman heritage :)

I may also mention Jeremiah 10:2-4 to my christian friends:
    Jerry wrote:
    This is what the LORD says:

“Do not learn the ways of the nations
    or be terrified by signs in the heavens,
    though the nations are terrified by them.
    For the practices of the peoples are worthless;
    they cut a tree out of the forest,
    and a craftsman shapes it with his chisel.
    They adorn it with silver and gold;
    they fasten it with hammer and nails
    so it will not totter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Easter, Hallowe'en and Christmas? You mean the Spring festival, Harvest festival and Winter Solstice festival? I see no problem celebrating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Treat Christmas in the same way that the Americans treat thanksgiving - as a time to forget about the stresses and hassle of your day-to-day life, make time for the people that you love and enjoy your time in their company.

Forget about the symbolism or which institutions have hijacked what, when and how.

I fail completely to see the link between being religious and dressing up at halloween or decorating your home during the dark days of winter.

Embrace it. Your child will thank you for it when they get older (instead of complaining about how you've always been a grinch at Chrimbo), and you'll have a laugh too.

What exactly do you dislike about Christmas, if you don't go to mass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭spdmrphy

[/B]

Your understanding of the word "agnostic" is wrong.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

OP it seems to me that, ironically, your main issues are the same issues many Christians have with the whole season - the overbearing sense that you need to participate in merriment, wear Santa hats, and cover every surface with tinsel and flashing lights.

Yes, Christmas is over the top, but your enjoyment of "Winterval" doesn't have to be. That said, seeing a child's eyes turn as wide as saucers at the sight of a stuffed reindeer, or a tree with lights, goes a long way to forgiving that fact that Christmas ads start before Halloween.

Regarding Halloween? What a great excuse to dress up! And Easter is nothing more than a chocolate egg day. Harmless in the extreme. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

The Christian bible specifically forbids the decorating of a tree, that says as much as it needs to about modern Xmas as brought to you by coca cola, santa claus, and the vintners association.

You are sorely mistaken if you think that the winter solstice celebrations have anything to do with Jesus or his followers originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

You respect their right to free will and afford them the same respect that is afforded to you in not wanting to celebrate it.

Seriously though, Christmas in the majority of modern Irish households is somewhat similar to the American thanksgiving holiday. It's a time of year where the whole world agrees a truce on working and allows everyone a few days to relax with family and friends.

The magical element of Santa is great for
    small children and should be cherished. It doesn't last long and i know of nobody who doesn't have fond memories of those early years.

Christian holidays have lost their original meaning to nonbelievers over the years and now merely act as milestones in the calendar.
    Easter eggs, trick or treating and santa claus are childish activities that harm nobody. Even supposed believing Christians partake in these activities, when surely they are highly blasphemous and a mockery to their faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

With respect I get the impression you don't even know what you believe/ don't believe in yourself! Most of us here don't believe in the religious aspect of Christmas, that's fine. If you have an issue with the tackiness and materialism then that's fine too, I actually feel the same. But you say yourself you give and recieve presents? So why the issue with dressing up or decorating your house? People have been celebrating seasonal festivals since time began, regardless of religion or lack of it.

Believe me I am the first person to argue against being pressurised into celebrating the tacky and commerical aspects of these festivals. However if you continue as you're going, without even giving a resonable reason for it, it will inevitably lead to resentment from your child. Give the child some leeway to celebrate herself in her own way, you don't have to believe in or follow it yourself. You can still have control on the way it's done in your house and give her some guidance in how you think winter festivals should be celebrated. For example if you don't want it to be overly religious. Or if you dislike the tackiness or the santa aspect. Make homemade decorations and candles, bake with her etc.

A great teacher I knew once told me, that for children to grow up to be freethinkers, they first need to know what it's like to be conformists. Your child needs to know what it feels like to take part in the wider world, and the customs and norms that come with it. You're there to ensure the conformity isn't overly damaging, excluding her comepetly is counterproductive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Saying I'm not going to celebrate Christmas because I'm not a Christian is like saying I'm not taking the bank holidays off because I don't work in a bank.

Christmas is as much about Jesus Christ as Thursdays is about Thor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭Morbert

If my (hypothetical) child wanted to celebrate Christmas as a religious holiday, I wouldn't have any issue with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

So you enjoy some aspects of christmas if they're the bits you like? Yet you wouldn't allow your future children to enjoy easter/halloween/christmas even if they like stuffing their faces with sweets/stuffing their faces with sweets except this time with a costume on/stuffing their faces with sweets again and getting presents and having the house decorated, because you don't enjoy it?

You're very selfish.

I don't celebrate any of the above festivals religiously at all, however I will certainly enjoy them. I will stuff my face with chocolate at easter, I'll dress up at halloween and have the craic at halloween partys and I'll enjoy coming home at christmas and when all the lights are up and the tree is decorated and to give/get presents. And if my mum dragged us all of to mass then I'd go along as that's what she would want to do as that would be her way of celebrating it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

If there was ever a festive time made for kids Christmas is it.
    Like everything else in life you can pick and choose the bits you want to take from it. It seems a case of throwing the baby out with the bath water from where I'm standing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Gambler

I've never celebrated christmas (even as a child, I grew up in Ireland but never had christmas and never missed it to be honest, but I was raised with an alternative holiday in March so it wasn't like I had NO annual present giving festival) but this is a question I am considering myself as I have married someone who was raised as a christian and can't imagine not celebrating it with any children we may have..

My position at the moment is that it's a time for family and that's how we are going to celebrate it. There's no need for it to be treated as a christian holiday and I don't plan on making it one for my children.. The big issue for me is will there be a santa.. My wife says yes but I'm uncomfortable with the idea of raising my children to question things while at the same time lying to them about some bloke bringing around prezzies..

Gambler wrote: »
    The big issue for me is will there be a santa.. My wife says yes but I'm uncomfortable with the idea of raising my children to question things while at the same time lying to them about some bloke bringing around prezzies.
    My kid just turned four and while I've never pretended that there's a single Santa doing the gift-giving, I haven't told her that there isn't one either. So far, she's figured out that at least some Santas are fakes (beards not stuck on correctly seems to be the main issue), so I'm expecting her to notice that all of them are in the next year or two.

But all of that said, it's a pretty benign thing anyway -- a chubby, friendly guy in a red suit who drinks coke and shows up once a year with a present?

There are fictions out there that are less nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Probably mentioned, but in my typical and time tested fashion of replying first and then going back to read the thread:

What do decorated evergreen coniferous trees, the exchange of presents disguised by coloured paper, turkey, Irish coffees, obese red suit wearing fat men with magic reindeers who are propeitors of sweatshops in the north pole and trifle have to do with religion?

Similarly what does dressing up as witches or Freddie Crugers or vampires and walking around an estate holding neighbours property ransom in exchange for sweets (and occasionally fruit :mad:) and trying to pull apples out of water using only your teeth and watching horror movies have to with religion?

Once again, what does hiding chocolate eggs and then trying to find them and kicking grown men dressed as rabbits in the shins have to do with religion?

The 25th of December, the first Sunday following the full moon on or after the 21st of March, and the 31st of October are secular holidays for probably most people nowadays. Dated from Christian holidays, which were dated from Pagan holidays, which were probably dated from simple agricultural reasons tied in to harvests.

I'd say let your kids enjoy these secular holidays with all their friends. They are good fun for them and an excuse for a piss up for the parents.

I have no problem with Christmas trees and decorations; it's fun. It's perfectly possible to celebrate it while excising all of the religious nonsense. They'd also celebrate Pagan holidays like Hallowe'en because they're just excuses to have fun!

I wouldn't tell my children that Santa brings them presents every year. I'd actually like to see how long it'd take for them to figure out that it was me by being none-too-discreet about it. I have a cousin who's nearly 12 (starting secondary school in less than a year!) and she still believes in Santa and 'Holy God' because her parents are wishy-washy and refuse to 'spoil her innocence'. That's just pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭liamw

The big issue for me is will there be a santa.. My wife says yes but I'm uncomfortable with the idea of raising my children to question things while at the same time lying to them about some bloke bringing around prezzies..

I think you're overreacting. I'm atheist but I would definitely do the whole Santa Claus thing with my kids. Some of my fondest childhood memories and excitement came from the notion of Santa bringing presents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

pH wrote: »
    Christmas is a catholic mass, celebrating the birth of Jesus, which was placed on Dec 25th to coincide with existing celebrations.

It is if you are a Roman Catholic.

The stuff that involves effort? Putting up a bit of tinsel?

Oh and we celebrate christmas at home but I don't remember the last time we ever had a "traditional" dinner. I think we're doing beef this year. No christmas pudding either cos we hate it - but we'll make something else.

Christmas is wonderful for children!
    Put up a tree and decorate it this year!
    You may even enjoy yourself :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

The big issue for me is will there be a santa.. My wife says yes but I'm uncomfortable with the idea of raising my children to question things while at the same time lying to them about some bloke bringing around prezzies..

This is an interesting one for me as well. Psychologists have been having a field day with this one for decades as well. "The first big deceit" and all that. One interesting and unique take I remember reading about, think it was by some German guy (it's always some German guy innit?), went along the lines of: The deceit can actually be extremely beneficial as a tool in terms of raising children to question things in so far as from a very young age they learn that authority, any authority, can not be trusted explicitly and therefore everything should be questioned before being excepted (*or accepted even, Jaysus, you have to be sharp around here).

Not sure what I think about his musings exactly but I thought it was an interesting take on it all the same.

strobe wrote: »
    This is an interesting one for me as well. Psychologists have been having a field day with this one for decades as well. "The first big deceit" and all that. One interesting and unique take I remember reading about, think it was by some German guy (it's always some German guy innit?), went along the lines of: The deceit can actually be extremely beneficial as a tool in terms of raising children to question things in so far as from a very young age they learn that authority, any authority, can not be trusted explicitly and therefore everything should be questioned before being excepted.

Not sure what I think about his musings exactly but I thought it was an interesting take on it all the same.

Before being excepted or accepted, as the case may be :D

loving the edit ;)

I have a cousin who's nearly 12 (starting secondary school in less than a year!) and she still believes in Santa and 'Holy God'

Unless of course, she's pretending....
    I know I was still pretending at 11/12 - due to the fear of the prezzies coming to a halt. :)

Beruthiel wrote: »
    I know I was still pretending at 11/12 - due to the fear of the prezzies coming to a halt
    That's the kind of thinking that lead to the EU/IMF bailout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭pH

LordSutch wrote: »
    It is if you are a Roman Catholic.

No, it is fullstop.

Protestantism* is primarily a rejection of those Catholic "traditions and practices" without biblical justification. A mass celebrating Jesus' birth on December 25th is exactly one of those practices - why protestants celebrate Xmas remains a total mystery to me - maybe they all secretly want to be Catholics?

* Not sure (and don't really care about) the Eastern Orthodox position on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Damn, I love Christmas! And I hate the term "the holidays". My holidays are in summer, preferably somewhere warm.

I celebrate Christmas as it's supposed to be celebrated: food, cake, chocolates, turkey, ham, a dinner with 3 different styles of potatoes, presents, drink, decorations, a tree, lights, more presents, cards, visiting family. The fact that christians co-opted the celebration for their little fable means absolutely nothing to me. Ok, so the name stuck, but as mentioned already, half our week days are named after equally spurious deities, and I'm not pushed about changing those.

And Santa? Santa's brilliant! I'm definitely bringing my daughter up with Santa. If you're going to have a fictional magic man, what better one than Santa? Gives you stuff, and only asks for a cup of milk and a biscuit in return. And get this - I get to eat the biscuit and milk!

I lie to my child every day (the pringles aren't really all gone, teddy isn't actually asleep, dolly wasn't actually hurt when she had her head bashed off the fireplace). Might as well have a big, nice lie at the end of the year, that all the family can enjoy.

Man, I'm all excited now. I can't wait for Christmas!

PS: Easter is chocolate egg sunday, and Halloween is dress up and eat sweets and nuts night. Paddy's Day is the only one I don't celebrate. Even the day off you get for it is pointless, because you can't do anything without being stuck in a crowd, behind a slow-moving parade, or standing in vomit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

phutyle wrote: »
    Damn, I love Christmas! And I hate the term "the holidays".
    I'm totally with you there, none of this Winterval rubbish in the hellfire household.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Epic amounts of fail in this thread.

Jesus Christ (pardon the blasphamy), but it's just a time to share gifts, have a few drinks and relax. Religious belief, or lack there of should stop you, and if it does, well, you're a bit of an idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Easter however... I can think of little use for Easter :)
    strobe wrote: »
    Once again, what does hiding chocolate eggs and then trying to find them and kicking grown men dressed as rabbits in the shins have to do with religion?
    phutyle wrote: »
    PS: Easter is chocolate egg sunday,

Are all you people vegetarians? Easter is about the ROAST LAMB! It's the best meal of the year. And then later you get roast lamb sandwiches.:)