Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

crash

• 23-11-2010 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭

hi all looking for some advice
    the wife had a crash yesterday into another lady both cars fairly damaged ,the wife is a learner and was on her way to work she has to drive to get there,anyway she crashed into the other car ,did everything right like call the gardas etc ,told her to show insurance in 10 days ,will the garda do anything because she was driving alone on a provisional
    thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Yes they could, and, hopefully, they will.

Nothing against your good wife, but the Law is perfectly clear about such conduct. If one is on a Learner's Permit, then one has to be accompanied.

What's the point in having Laws otherwise?

Realistically such an infraction should carry some sort of driving ban, until people wise up and do what they should. I don't think such drivers should be allowed on our roads, sharing space with others whose life and health are put at risk due to the inexperience of such novice drivers.

I have a young lad, on a Learner's permit. He is forbidden to drive solo. Any attempt to do it, he loses his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Sorry to hear that robbie1. It is down to the Garda really. If he didn't say anything at the side of the road -i.e. fine etc. you might be ok. That doesn't mean that he won't take action though. You might get a letter in the post. I do believe it is down to ther Garda though. Keep your fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

There is also a chance the insurance company may chase your wife for costs as she was driving illegally.
    It is up to the Garda in question, he may choose to take it further or ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Odds are your wife will get summonsed for driving unaccompanied as there was an accident.

You'd have to see the insurance policy to establish whether the insurer can have recourse to your wife and/or the owner of the vehicle if different and if the vehicle was driven by her unaccompanied with consent.

Presuming you would have said otherwise, glad everyone is OK after the accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Gophur wrote: »

Nothing against your good wife, but the Law is perfectly clear about such conduct. If one is on a Learner's Permit, then one has to be accompanied.

Realistically such an infraction should carry some sort of driving ban, until people wise up and do what they should. I don't think such drivers should be allowed on our roads, sharing space with others whose life and health are put at risk due to the inexperience of such novice drivers.

I have a young lad, on a Learner's permit. He is forbidden to drive solo. Any attempt to do it, he loses his car.

Good for you and your young lad, I have a young lad (son) who works all over the country and needs to drive to get to his work, If I forbid him from driving solo he'd tell me to get a life and stop interfering with his.

Was there really a necessity to turn this thread into a moral soapbox for you to lecture us from your lofty position?

Op, I hope all works out for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

The Muppet wrote: »
    Good for you and your young lad, I have a young lad (son) who works all over the country and needs to drive to get to his work, If I forbid him from driving solo he'd tell me to get a life and stop interfering with his.

Was there really a necessity to turn this thread into a moral soapbox for you to lecture us from your lofty position?

You seem to think that driving unaccompanied on a provisional is the business of the person driving alone? It's not - it's all our business, as we're the ones they might crash into.

OP - the only one who can answer your question is the Garda in question.

There's no moral soapbox.

What does it say that so many have no problem with novice, inexperienced, dangerous drivers being allowed drive on our roads?

This case, while unfortunate for those involved, is about someone operating a car while unable to do so. It is absolutely unacceptable that such a driver should be allowed drive unaccompanied. I don't fancy the idea of my children being on a public street/road with a driver on the same road unable to operate the machine she's driving.

As for your lad? What's his excuse for not having a driving licence? (Which is the assumption from your post.)

Going back to the OP. I hope the Gardai take action. I hope your wife gets a serious dose of cop-on and get's qualified, learning how to drive properly. She should have a look at her conscience and think about the harm she could have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Sorry to hear & do hope all works out ok.

Like everyone else says...it will be at the discrection of the gaurd in question attending. Usually with just car damage they leave it to the insurance to sort out. But if any injuries then it's taken alot more serious.

Hope everyone invloved is ok.

Sligo Metalhead

Anan1 wrote: »
    You seem to think that driving unaccompanied on a provisional is the business of the person driving alone? It's not - it's all our business, as we're the ones they might crash into.

OP - the only one who can answer your question is the Garda in question.

The op requested advice not a lecture, He made it clear he was aware of that his wife should have been accompanied. Don't be telling me what I seem to think either I'm quite capable of aritculating my own though without your assistance thanks.

The op requested advice not a lecture, He made it clear he was aware of that his wife should have been accompanied.
    Really? Where?
    Don't be telling me what I seem to think either I'm quite capable of aritculating my own though without your assistance thanks.
    And you articulated that
    If I forbid him from driving solo he'd tell me to get a life and stop interfering with his.
    That might work for you & your son, but the rest of us have a perfect right to make our opinions heard on matters that directly influence our safety. Get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

this board is very onesided

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

If your son isn't capable of passing the driving test then he isn't capable of driving all over the country on his own, don't you think he'd be better off being shown how to drive?

i thought you were not allowed to slag off the posters!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Daisy!

Ok enough of the lecturing guys, he knows his wife did wrong but that's not what he's asking here.

If the Guard didn't say anything at the time robbie she should be fine. That's not definite but I'd say he would have said it at the time when he was telling her to show her insurance in 10 days etc. Similar thing happened to myself once and a couple of people I know, just brought in the insurance cert and provisional to their local Garda station and that was that. You never know but I think she should be okay judging by what you said. Hope she's okay, it's horrible crashing, I hope it wasn't too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

attack the post, not the poster is the general rule..

it is ok now they fixed the post

Personal abuse isn't allowed, but robust debate is fine. In simple terms, this means attack the post and not the poster. If you're concerned about the content of any post then use the 'report post' function and the mods will have a look at it.:)

it is grand the post was fixed after i commented. so it is grand now

Really? Where?.

Did you read the first line of his post? This one.;)

ie. he knew she could get into trouble for it and sough advice. That was my take on the post anyway

And you articulated that That might work for you & your son, but the rest of us have a perfect right to make our opinions heard on matters that directly influence our safety. Get used to it.

Have you any proof that unaccompanied drives directly influence your safety?

When one shares a Public Road, one must conform to the same rules and Laws as everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭iphone4g

All the tools out again!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I agree with you somewhat here

However, he law is anything BUT perfectly clear regarding this matter. It may state that this is nor permitted by law but its the lax attitude of the gardai that have its occurance as regular as it is.

And another thing, either the general standard of driving in Ireland is dreadfully low or else there are a load of learners driving around without L's, I don't know which, but I'm telling you - the roads are becoming a seriously stressful place to be here!

Having said that - it's not all learners. My own father has his licence about 10 years or more and he's terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

So many people on their moral high horses in here thread could be moved to the equestrian forum...Like they NEVER go even 1kmh over the speed limit or hog the overtaking lane ...Of course no body wants a dangerously inexperienced driver to crash into them or their family but bottom line in my opinion is that its impractical to expect learners to be accompanied at all times and not drive on motorways in this country .I cant think of much more spiteful than the OP asking will wife be prosecuted and next poster replying'I hope so 'and being thanked by three others ...

This thread is about one individual who, on a learner's permit, unaccompanied, was involved in a car crash. Now, car crashes are ugly, they are not pleasant and everything should be done to prevent them.

Allowing an inexperienced, unqualified, incapable driver, to drive unaccompanied, is, as seen by this case, dangerous. It does sound like this person could have killed someone, due to her inexperience. People like her need to be apprehended, people who show such blatant disregard for other road users (and the Law), to take to the road when obviously unfit to do so.

I take Road Safety very seriously. I wish others did the same.

(As for the ridiculous PM I have just received? Don't make me laugh!)

draffodx wrote: »
    If your son isn't capable of passing the driving test then he isn't capable of driving all over the country on his own, don't you think he'd be better off being shown how to drive?

He hasn't taken one yet so I don't know if he is capable of passing one or not. I'm hopeful the experience he has gained driving thousands of miles accident free will stand to him when he does take the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

He hasn't taken one yet so I don't know if he is capable of passing one or not. I'm hopeful the experience he has gained driving thousands of miles accident free will stand to him when he does take the test.

More likely it will have plagued him full of bad habits which will be nigh on impossible to remove and will make passing the test very difficult.

ytareh wrote: »
    So many people on their moral high horses in here ...................

This is about a driver who crashed. What does it take to take such carelessness seriously? It's irrelevant what others do, or did, this thread was about an individual who did wrong, whose only worry is a prosecution for breaking (knowingly) the Law.

Sometimes when one asks for trouble, one actually gets some.

ytareh wrote: »
    So many people on their moral high horses in here thread could be moved to the equestrian forum...Like they NEVER go even 1kmh over the speed limit or hog the overtaking lane ...Of course no body wants a dangerously inexperienced driver to crash into them or their family but bottom line in my opinion is that its impractical to expect learners to be accompanied at all times and not drive on motorways in this country .I cant think of much more spiteful than the OP asking will wife be prosecuted and next poster replying'I hope so 'and being thanked by three others ...

Why so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

actually he'll prob have loads of very bad habits

This thread is about one individual who, on a learner's permit, unaccompanied, was involved in a car crash. Now, car crashes are ugly, they are not pleasant and everything should be done to prevent them.

QUOTE]

It's also about you making an assumption that may not be correct ieyou automatically assumed the OP's wife was at fault in this accident .

Did you read the first line of his post? This one.;)

ie. he knew she could get into trouble for it and sough advice. That was my take on the post anyway
    This is the bit that I was querying - where did he say this:
    He made it clear he was aware of that his wife should have been accompanied.
    Have you any proof that unaccompanied drives directly influence your safety?
    Is it not simple commonsense that unaccompanied learners endanger those around them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

But do you not feel thats a bit risky? As in how do you know when he's actually experienced enough?

I know the current set up is a joke for learner drivers all the same. It feels like I've been harping on about it for years now but I still cant understand why teenagers aren't thought drivers education in secondary school and then taken on a test to prove there safe to drive on the roads.

That would cut out the need for learner's to be on the roads to learn.

He hasn't taken one yet so I don't know if he is capable of passing one or not. ................

And yet you have no problem letting your son do what he's doing?

Do you realise how dangerous roads can be?

Do you care?

guil wrote: »
    actually he'll prob have loads of very bad habits

Probably but sure once he's aware of them and doesn't do them for the half hour of the test he'll be grand.

It's also about you making an assumption that may not be correct ieyou automatically assumed the OP's wife was at fault in this accident .

She was at fault, by driving unaccompanied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

Probably but sure once he's aware of them and doesn't do them for the half hour of the test he'll be grand.
    thats alot easier said than done

Easier said than done. The problem is being aware of them; most of us dont even realise we do half the bad habit things we do.

And yet you have no problem letting your son do what he's doing?

Do you care?

No I don't, I live in a bubble,

My son is 21, he's a big boy now. what age is yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Come on lads lets stop fooling ourselves here. Its happening every day all over the country.

If a person is on L plates & on a waiting list for a full licence test & he or she needs the car to get to work, i think there are grounds for a pardon. Lets give them a break. However if said person has displayed gross neglegence while driving & caused the inccident then any leniency should go out the window. I suppose thats for the law to decide.

If its some idiot racing around in his/her exhuast with wheels & coudn't be arsed or has failed the full driving test a few times, then i say throw the book at them.

Gophur its not as black & white as one is making out. Yes technically she has broken the law but technically your also breaking the law enroute to paying for car tax with a disc that is a few hours out of date. If your unlucky enough to be stopped by the gards, technically they could fine you for having no tax. But thats not going to happen now is it.

Such an attitude is all too common unfortunately.

21 is far from "big", he's still only a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

I wish people would get off their soapbox about this lady, driving the car unaccompanied, there are very few people in Ireland who have never driven a car unaccompanied while they were a learner, and I generally find it is not the learners who drive me off the road, but middle aged men.

Come on lads lets stop fooling ourselves here. Its happening every day all over the country.

If a person is on L plates & on a waiting list for a full licence test & he or she needs the car to get to work, i think there are grounds for a pardon. Lets give them a break. However if said person has displayed gross neglegence while driving & caused the inccident then any leniency should go out the window. I suppose thats for the law to decide.

If its some idiot racing around in his/her exhuast with wheels & coudn't be arsed or has failed the full driving test a few times, then i say throw the book at them.

Gophur its not as black & white as one is making out. Yes technically she has broken the law but technically your also breaking the law enroute to paying for car tax with a disc that is a few hours out of date. If your unlucky enough to be stopped by the gards, technically they could fine you for having no tax. But thats not going to happen now is it.

I dont agree. Just because someone is waiting on a test doesnt mean that they are competant, or capable of passing. I dont care what someone needs a car for; until they have passed their test they have no shown that they are capable of driving alone and therefore should not be on the road on their own. Necessity is not a reason to put other roads users in unnecessary danger.

Do you care?
    No I don't, I live in a bubble,

My son is 21, he's a big boy now. what age is yours?
    With respect, that's not much of an answer to Gophur's question. Do you care, or don't you?

If a person is on L plates & on a waiting list for a full licence test & he or she needs the car to get to work, i think there are grounds for a pardon. Lets give them a break.
    Why not give drink drivers a break too, if they can prove that they tried and failed to get a taxi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

It's also about you making an assumption that may not be correct ie you automatically assumed the OP's wife was at fault in this accident .

robbie1 wrote: »
    the wife had a crash yesterday into another lady both cars fairly damaged ,the wife is a learner and was on her way to work she has to drive to get there,anyway she crashed into the other car ,did everything right like call the gardas etc ,told her to show insurance in 10 days ,will the garda do anything because she was driving alone on a provisional
    thanks

If, as it appears, the OP's wife was at fault, I would expect the guard in question might take it further.

Given the two cars were "fairly damaged", there is also the chance the insurance company may come after her for costs.

iphone4g wrote: »
    All the tools out again!!!
    Banned for a week for personal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

What excuse does a 21-year-old have for not taking their test yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

djimi wrote: »
    I dont agree. Just because someone is waiting on a test doesnt mean that they are competant, or capable of passing. I dont care what someone needs a car for; until they have passed their test they have no shown that they are capable of driving alone and therefore should not be on the road on their own. Necessity is not a reason to put other roads users in unnecessary danger.

So your telling me you don't know/ have known one person who is or has drivin a car on L plates without a person with a full driving license? If yes, have you chastised them vigorously?
    Why not give drink drivers a break too, if they can prove that they tried and failed to get a taxi?

See i refuse to respond to such dramatic sensationalist remarks. Its a lose lose situation for me. Nice way to try to back me into a conversational corner though. Not taking the bait.;)

My remark was no more or less ridiculous than your own.;) If you need to drive a car unaccompanied then you need to pass your test.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I drove unaccompanied many times while on my 2nd Provisional licence which at the time was a perfectly legal thing to do, not anymore though.

There is thousands of people doing this and the amount of L-Plates on display has dramatically shrinked since this rule came into force, alot of learners are driving unaccompanied without even displaying L-Plates which is even worse.

It concerns us all and really the guard will make the decision and most likely will prosecute if she caused the crash. We all have to obey the laws and I bet the opinions of some people here would be totally different if it was a 19year old male driving something like an Impreza.

The amount of L-plates I see on the motorways is shocking despite it being illegal for a learner driver to drive on the Motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

Because traditionally in Ireland there is a ridiculous wait for a test date ...passed 12 months at one stage or certainly came close .