Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guess...

• 21-11-2010 6:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭

...what i bench?

I'm 6'0ft, weigh 90kg..my deadlift max is 180kg and my squat 155kg and my press is 65kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

A million billion kilos?

115kg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭BrianD3

97.5 kg ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Teebor15

Both are quite close..which is comforting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

105-110kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Its 100kg isn't it.
    Did you get it today for the first time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm guessing at 120kgs or a little above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Teebor15

Remmy is the closest..its 107.5kg. The reason i'm asking is that i always feel i should be getting closer to 120-125. But i seem to be stuck at that. My other lifts are slowly improving. Maybe i'm over estimating what i should be at. Its just frustrating when you see some skinny 14yr on you tube benching more than you!

Thanks Lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Teebor15 wrote: »
    Remmy is the closest..its 107.5kg. The reason i'm asking is that i always feel i should be getting closer to 120-125. But i seem to be stuck at that. My other lifts are slowly improving. Maybe i'm over estimating what i should be at. Its just frustrating when you see some skinny 14yr on you tube benching more than you!

Thanks Lads
    i would be more concerned about your overhead press but hey thats just me as i never bench

Thanks Lads

You can overhead press just 5kg more than me but your bench is 30kg more than mine...you must have a sick arch.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Remmy wrote: »
    You can overhead press just 5kg more than me but your bench is 30kg more than mine...you must have a sick arch.:mad:

I'm in virtually the same boat. My bench is 110 and the most I've ever put overhead is 70kg and that was push pressed up.

I don't sweat about these "ideal" ratios that are always surely going to be affected by limb length, other leverages and above all my training preferences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Transform wrote: »
    i would be more concerned about your overhead press but hey thats just me as i never bench

How come?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

...what i bench?

I'm 6'0ft, weigh 90kg..my deadlift max is 180kg and my squat 155kg and my press is 65kg.

I thought 105kg before reading the rest of the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Transform wrote: »

I didn't bench until very recently either.

Then a by chance I met a member from here who was benching at the time, for the craic I got under the bar and hit 120+ for a few reps so got a little interested in where my bench lay.

Last week I hit a 170kg bench for one rep.

I'm back at my usual DB presses from this week, but its been nice laying under a heavy bar again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,228 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

grimloch wrote: »
    I don't sweat about these "ideal" ratios that are always surely going to be affected by limb length, other leverages and above all my training preferences.

What would these ratios be?
    Just for interest, I'm a whore for numbers tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

How come?
    its not done in (or very rarely) crossfit and delivers little to no transfer for what I want
    (note what I want as thats not what others want)
    i.e. a better overhead standing press in is various ways and healthy shoulders.

I still do weighted press ups, weighted ring dips, weighted muscle ups etc and to be honest i am more impressed by someone that can put their body weight overhead than bench it.

Plus i think from an injury prevention point of view putting stuff over your head is good for your soulders rather than all that front delt loading, excessive internal rotation etc on lots of benching.

The OP has a good solid squat and DL so fair play and not to worry on benching as it can take years and sorting out shoulder issues to get your numbers up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Then a by chance I met a member from here who was benching at the time, for the craic I got under the bar and hit 120+ for a few reps so got a little interested in where my bench lay.

I'm back at my usual DB presses from this week, but its been nice laying under a heavy bar again.

Lol. I thought you had that look in your eye that you were hooked afterwards.

Thats awesome.What weight db's are you throwing around to be doing that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Mellor wrote: »
    What would these ratios be?
    Just for interest, I'm a whore for numbers tbh

Not 100% but there's a few places on the internet where if you're not on track for 2xbw dead, 1.5xbw squat, 1xbw bench and something like .75xbw press they try to burn you at the stake.

It's been trotted out here a fair few times.