Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael O'Leary on the Right Hook

• 19-11-2010 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭

Michael O'Leary was on the right hook today giving as animated an interview as ever. One of the questions posed was: If you were offered a cabinet seat, no questions asked, would you take it?

I though it posed another interesting question of the irish people.
    Say we were offered a cabinet of the political elite, the best of the best in dail eireann (I know thats an oxymoron) vs a cabinet of cut throat business giants, guaranteed to give us the most value for money, which would you take and why?

(O'Leary said yes by the way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

Just ging back to your original point about M.O.L...apparently Jim Glennon is aware of a Constitutional mechanism by which certian figures of renowned capabilities are able to take on executive powers under a certain Sate portfolio.

best line was that he wouldnt give the current crop of P.Os in the CS a job delivering milk and that they were just a bunch of puddings.

TBH...I feel that we need politicans...my best are:
    Micheal Martin
    Willie O Dea
    Mary Hannifin
    Rurai Quinn
    Leo Varadkar
    Pat Carey
    Dick Roche
    Mary Harney
    Brian Lenihan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

M.O.L would make an excellent Minister, Problem is could he afford the paycut. Highly intelligent, he would bring Ireland Inc. back to profit quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

I would take the businessmen in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

alex73 wrote: »
    M.O.L would make an excellent Minister, Problem is could he afford the paycut. Highly intelligent, he would bring Ireland Inc. back to profit quick.

He said he is willing to do it for free, provided he has the ability to make decisions for a year. Has no interest in playing politics.

He said he couldn't be Taoiseach, the Taoiseach would probably have to be elected, but the businessmen would form a technocratic government and take over specific areas to try revolutionise them, such as Health, Transport etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

Voltex wrote: »
    Just ging back to your original point about M.O.L...apparently Jim Glennon is aware of a Constitutional mechanism by which certian figures of renowned capabilities are able to take on executive powers under a certain Sate portfolio.

best line was that he wouldnt give the current crop of P.Os in the CS a job delivering milk and that they were just a bunch of puddings.

Micheal Martin
    Willie O Dea
    Mary Hannifin
    Rurai Quinn
    Leo Varadkar
    Pat Carey
    Dick Roche
    Mary Harney
    Brian Lenihan

O'Dea, Carey, Roche, Harney and Lenihan are in your "dream team"?
    Name one decent thing that one of them has ever done for our country...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Michael O'Leary was on the right hook today giving as animated an interview as ever. One of the questions posed was: If you were offered a cabinet seat, no questions asked, would you take it?

I though it posed another interesting question of the irish people.
    Say we were offered a cabinet of the political elite, the best of the best in dail eireann (I know thats an oxymoron) vs a cabinet of cut throat business giants, guaranteed to give us the most value for money, which would you take and why?

(O'Leary said yes by the way)

My dream may come true yet! Ive been saying for years he should be running the country. Id give him a chance :). I'd love to hear the interview,has anyone a link? Plus...if he was asked,who would do the asking??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

ste_ryanair_anno_1543167_1227031463.jpg

Is that a nappy he's wearing? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

alex73 wrote: »

no he wouldn't.

if MOL was to even begin to implement some of his Ryanair policies on the Irish population, there'd be riots on the streets by the end of the week.

even if he was, it'd take a hell of a while to "bring Ireland Inc. back to profit".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭munzab

no he wouldn't.

if MOL was to even begin to implement some of his Ryanair policies on the Irish population, there'd be riots on the streets by the end of the week.

even if he was, it'd take a hell of a while to "bring Ireland Inc. back to profit".

20cents everytime you flush your toilet.

back in business in 1 year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

O Leary is great for Ryanair. That does not necessarily mean he would be a great politician. Maradona was a world beater at soccer as a player but he's not been a great manager.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

kazul wrote: »
    O'Dea, Carey, Roche, Harney and Lenihan are in your "dream team"?
    Name one decent thing that one of them has ever done for our country...
    I can think of one good thing O'Dea did.

He resigned from the cabinet! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'd like to hear it, is Jim Glennon a lawyer?
    7. 1° The Taoiseach, the Tánaiste and the member of the Government who is in charge of the Department of Finance must be members of Dáil Éireann.
    2° The other members of the Government must be members of Dáil Éireann or Seanad Éireann, but not more than two may be members of Seanad Éireann.

The Constitution is very clear there.

Fair enough, if MOL wants to go for this let him take his chance and stand in Westmeath.
    Or if he is so brilliant apply for Secretary of the Dept of Finance. I want the ministers elected, not drafted in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

I'm emigrating next February. But I would stay if MOL will be a prime minister. Unfortunately Irish people will never elect him. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

THe individuals could be given seats in the seanad by the elected taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Like Jim Dooge in the 80s, O'Leary could be apoointed to the Seanad and given any job except Finance.

If O'Leary was put in charge of something he would surely p|ss people off. But if he had a clear objective he would deliver that. Let's say that he was in charge of health and told to eliminate waiting lists then he might do this. Even if you had to pay for your cup of tea in the hospital, you might not have to wait for treatment. Which would you prefer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭fergiesfav

Micheal Martin
    Willie O Dea
    Mary Hannifin
    Rurai Quinn
    Leo Varadkar
    Pat Carey
    Dick Roche
    Mary Harney
    Brian Lenihan[/Q

Harney thats a joke right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Seriously; would you trust him to run the country? A man that registered his Merc as a taxi so he could speed around in bus-lanes?!

He does stuff to make things easier for himself.. yes he's a successful business man and fair fcuks to him.. he's funny at times too, and says what people want to hear but would he be as open about things if he was the one in charge? I doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Jibbs

One thing that always bothered me was ministerial appointments and cabinet re-shuffles.

"Now Brian, you're my bestest pal and the voters fekin' love ya! You can have finance".
    "Mary, you've proven yourself to be completely out of your depth so, it's tainiste for you. Just keep your mouth shut. Unless of course I'm otherwise engaged, then you speak for/to the people. Call all the shots like".

What utter piffle. Surely to God ministers should be appointed on the basis of relevant qualifications and experience rather than a feckin popularity contest. What you know not Who you know. The government should be allowed to make ministerial appointments from outside the elected TDs, provided they are leaders in their relevant fields and have no strong political ties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭AnonymousPrime

Having heard the interview, I'll clarify it a bit. As mentioned by others, the theme of the discussion was to have an elected taoiseach and to have those in industry in charge of several key departments.

Imagine what someone with a wealth of experience in large organisations could do with the sham that is the HSE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

The Constitution is very clear there.

The point is the Taoiseach, once elected by the Dáil, can nominate anyone (s)he likes to the Seanad and from there appoint up to two senators as ministers.

It has seldom been done, but there is precedent, for example Garret Fitzgerald nominated the late James Dooge as a senator and then appointed him Minister for Foreign Affairs.

(Sorry, I see this has already been pointed out . . .)

Jibbs wrote: »
    Surely to God ministers should be appointed on the basis of relevant qualifications and experience rather than a feckin popularity contest.

In that case I certainly know who would be minister for bicycle shops

Unfortunately Irish people will never elect him. :mad:

Longford-Westmeath is a 4 seater.
    So there is certainly room for a new candidate
    Went to seven counts for the 2nd, 3rd and 4th candidates once Willie Penrose got in.

This isn't Albert Reynolds terrority anymore ;)
    Shelflife wrote: »
    THe individuals could be given seats in the seanad by the elected taoiseach.

Sure can, but draft him as what. Minister of Social Protection I suppose due to the huge budget that department has.
    He cannot become Minister of Finance, it's in the Constitution.

gizmo555 wrote: »

It has seldom been done, but there is precedent, for example Garret Fitzgerald nominated the late James Dooge as a senator and then appointed him Minister for Foreign Affairs.

I accept your point.
    I've no idea about James Dooge but Minister for Foreign Affairs is an ideal place for a senator. Like maybe a retired diplomat who can come in and troubleshoot some crises.

Posters are recommending MOL to cut waste and save money. Realy, that's Health or Social Protection I suppose. It won't be Finance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

Posters are recommending MOL to cut waste and save money. Realy, that's Health or Social Protection I suppose. It won't be Finance

Why not an economic portfolio like Enterprise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭jayo99

Seriously; would you trust him to run the country? A man that registered his Merc as a taxi so he could speed around in bus-lanes?!

He does stuff to make things easier for himself.. yes he's a successful business man and fair fcuks to him.. he's funny at times too, and says what people want to hear but would he be as open about things if he was the one in charge? I doubt it

Personally I'd rather have a person that shows initiative (such as buying a taxi license so they can avoid traffic) running the country. His latest stunt today (hearse with coffin in tri-colour) was the cheapest, yet most effective publicity stunt.

- jayo

Certainly could

I picked the two departments with the biggest budgets excluding Finance.
    I didn't list every department.

The Department of Enterprise, Trade and Innovation has been renamed quite a few times in the last few years. And I've not heard from Batt O'Keeffe lately.

I don't like that for 3 reasons:
    1. It might be a bit too close to home, bringing competition.
    2. He is anything but charming, Enterprise needs to attract foreign direct investment
    3. It is probably one of the better performing departments as it is. I can't see them doing much more than they already are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

jayo99 wrote: »
    Personally I'd rather have a person that shows initiative (such as buying a taxi license so they can avoid traffic) running the country. His latest stunt today (hearse with coffin in tri-colour) was the cheapest, yet most effective publicity stunt.

- jayo

It says a lot about what the man stands for and thrives on.. notoriety and profit. If he comes up with some sensible and balanced policies then he could be considered as a candidate for government. But is cheap stunts and self-preservation any different to what FF have displayed over the years?

But is cheap stunts and self-preservation any different to what FF have displayed over the years?

If you add the ability to efficiently run a business in a cut throat environment and still make an immense profit in recessionary times....then yes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

The constitutional mechanism is that anybody can be appointed to the Seanad ( up to 9) and made a minister. Not finance or taoiseach. So 6 ministers inc Taoiseach and Finance must be elected to the Dáil

Those lists above are (largely) crap :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

kbannon wrote: »
    I can think of one good thing O'Dea did.

He resigned from the cabinet! :D

Yep like the rest of FF he's a man of half measures and empty gestures. After the shameful, deceitful and many may say criminal actions on his part he should have removed himself completely from public office. He should also and be thankful that he is not facing criminal charges for his "massaging" of the truth regarding the baseless accusations he made against a political opponent.

Saying that though compared to the incumbent crop of gombeens, drunkards and eco-tards he had the wherewithal to know when his number was up and retire from the battlefield before he was kicked out.

The depressing thing about O'Dea and many of his FF cohorts is that they will no doubt be returned to office because while they may be FF they are first and foremost our boy and sure isn't he a great man of the people, not like the rest and you'd might as well give him your vote as any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 dachubba

we need aminister for referendums soon!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Talking about MOL or O'Brian or any other bunch of business men been awarded a ministers seat in some sort of fast track scenario is complete bollxo .

That's not to rule out the idea of our top business men having some clout in a Irish Govt. to assist us out of the crap we find ourselves in.

A better idea would be have them all in a think tank of some sort ..... Actually I have it - get rid of the Senate and replace it with our business leaders .

Seriously but I heard the interview and MOL came across as caring (shock horror) and did offer his services for free.
    If he had some political clout awarded to him then I would keep him away from Transport etc due to vested interest etc.
    Not that he wouldn't improve things but questions would be asked if he was trying to improve Ryanair profits.
    Same rule for other business men aswell.

It's time to bang heads together and get the country back on track .. If our top business men want to give a dig out we should bite their hand off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 oooomy

Images of the wolf in pulp fiction come to mind.
    he should be drafted in to fix all the goverment departments.
    i feel his talents would be wasted in the dail arguing with the fools in there though. On the ground Head of the hse and then move on to fas etc..
    bite his hand off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

It would be George Lee all over again. Good at one job - useless at another.
    Always much easier to be a hurler on the ditch.

I like George Lee but don't have him in the same bracket as MOL

One thing you can say about OLeary ... If he says he will do something then it's sure gonna be done .

oooomy wrote: »
    Love the Vid ..

Micheal;
    "Pretty please , sugar on top ... Clean out the fcuking Govt."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

It says a lot about what the man stands for and thrives on.. notoriety and profit. If he comes up with some sensible and balanced policies then he could be considered as a candidate for government. But is cheap stunts and self-preservation any different to what FF have displayed over the years?

The man does what he feels needs doing. In his current position that's notoriety and profit. Who's to say that's the only tune he can sing to? The man is enterprising and can think outside the box. That indicates to me there is more to him what you reduce him to.
    Fact is most our politicians haven't a clue what they're on about, aren't the least bit qualified in their field. I dare to suggest that most departments would actually run much better if left to their administrators and be run without political figureheads

What I'm saying is it could hardly get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭delonglad

I'd have him in anyday. Not as a politician but as an adviser. Look at the amount of money all the advisers to government get and look where that has got us and cost us!

Michael O'Leary would be just the job for our economy he'd get rid of the waste without batting an eyelid, might even reward himself with aer lingus seens as he's doing it for free :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I would have thought this is a perfect example of why you would trust him to do an excellent job ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭deise blue

Having heard the interview, I'll clarify it a bit. As mentioned by others, the theme of the discussion was to have an elected taoiseach and to have those in industry in charge of several key departments.

Imagine what someone with a wealth of experience in large organisations could do with the sham that is the HSE.

Allied to the fact that there are quite a few with time on their hands and the required wealth of experience :

Brian Goggin
    Liam Carroll
    Johnny Rohan
    Michael Fingleton
    David Drumm
    Seanie Fitzpatrick
    Eugene Sheehy.

The list is endless.

Just because someone has a wealth of experience in large organisations doesn't mean that they are up to the job of assisting the country at this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

is his intervew available anywhere? Always interesting istening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭LevelSpirit

And there was me thinking we lived in a democracy and elected our leaders.

And as for M O'L , he might sound great, but ask anyone who works for him and they'll tell you they would rather work for someone else.

He's fine until he is actually in charge of your life. Then you might change your mind about him.

And there was me thinking we lived in a democracy and elected our leaders.

And as for M O'L , he might sound great, but ask anyone who works for him and they'll tell you they would rather work for someone else.

He's fine until he is actually in charge of your life. Then you might change your mind about him.

Thats the typical Irish persona of giving out about the boss. Granted if he did take over, the PS would be giving out about their new boss because he'd be giving them a reality check!

mixednuts wrote: »
    If our top business men want to give a dig out we should bite their hand off .

Should not bite their head off?

I think Lee was given promises which were un-realistic given the status quo in irish politics, but again its apples and oranges: Lee is a journalist, a talker not a do-er.

(actually, i think mixednuts said this aready)
    delonglad wrote: »
    Not as a politician but as an adviser.

Wouldn't work: now that would be George Lee all over again.
    deise blue wrote: »
    Allied to the fact that there are quite a few with time on their hands and the required wealth of experience :

Brian Goggin
    Liam Carroll
    Johnny Rohan
    Michael Fingleton
    David Drumm
    Seanie Fitzpatrick
    Eugene Sheehy.

The list is endless.

Just because someone has a wealth of experience in large organisations doesn't mean that they are up to the job of assisting the country at this time.

But these guys have FAILED!!! They were shams propped up by an imaginary economy. They are not in the same league as an O'Leary or O'Brien.

By the way, having worked for Bank of Ireland for a while, and knowing his history, I can confidently say that Brian Goggin came to work every day during the boom, crossed his legs and watched youtube videos of cats jumping on babys. He made no contribution to the organisation and he was hired for that very reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭LevelSpirit

Thats the typical Irish persona of giving out about the boss. Granted if he did take over, the PS would be giving out about their new boss because he'd be giving them a reality check!

Oh I think that in the private sector we would have a bit of giving out to do too.

€500 to apply for your driving test.
    €100 to pay your ESB bill.
    €20000 to get married.
    €50 to walk down O'Connell street.
    €1000 for the pleasure of submitting your tax returns.

And then when you complained he would just say "Well go live somewhere else then"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

ragg wrote: »
    is his intervew available anywhere? Always interesting istening

You'll find a stream of yesterday's show here. I think he was on just before 6 O'Clock.
    http://media.newstalk.ie/listenback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Who do you think MOL's interest lie with?
    Do you really think he cares about people?

Consider this: Only a few weeks ago some looney threw red paint at Mary Harney. But, for what? Because she pushed co-location of privatization alongside public services. Yet MOL doesn't give a **** if you take one of his flights with kids - you can go pay for priority.

How does anyone envisage he'd run the health service for example? He'd be withdrawing cancer services on the basis that the patients would be dying anyway and it would be an un-necessary waste of money on palliative care.

He'd certainly balance our budget but he's also be the guest of honour at the annual bondholders xmas party.

Oh I think that in the private sector we would have a bit of giving out to do too.

€500 to apply for your driving test.
    €100 to pay your ESB bill.
    €20000 to get married.
    €50 to walk down O'Connell street.
    €1000 for the pleasure of submitting your tax returns.

And then when you complained he would just say "Well go live somewhere else then"

I don't think he'd be like that at all, I think he'd be more about efficiency than anything else, getting value for our money. He might make people work for their dole too, cleaning streets, some building projects etc. My public sector comment was all about efficiency which there is an extreme lack of!

Who do you think MOL's interest lie with?
    Do you really think he cares about people?

Consider this: Only a few weeks ago some looney threw red paint at Mary Harney. But, for what? Because she pushed co-location of privatization alongside public services. Yet MOL doesn't give a **** if you take one of his flights with kids - you can go pay for priority.

How does anyone envisage he'd run the health service for example? He'd be withdrawing cancer services on the basis that the patients would be dying anyway and it would be an un-necessary waste of money on palliative care.

He'd certainly balance our budget but he's also be the guest of honour at the annual bondholders xmas party.

I firmly believe he cares about the people. His reform of the HSE would have the patient in mind, he'd make it way more efficient, get rid of lazy administration who are overpaid and useless, the front line staff are the real faces of the HSE and deserve every ounce of credit they get(or most of the time don't). They work the long shifts and get paid the least while some pen pusher scratches their arse. MOL would get rid of this as it is a waste and the man doesn't like waste as any business man!

His biggest reform and what has to be done is get rid of the senate, what a joke that is and a waste of tax payers money. Getting paid to talk s***e and argue. He'd also cut a lot of gov agencies and merge others. He'd bring ps wages to eu and international levels. Hopefully he'd instruct the gardai to jail some politicians and bankers!

Michael O'Leary would give this country a reality check but it would be harsh to bare for a lot of people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭sellerbarry

If it wasn't for MOL, we would still be in the dark ages paying extortionate airfares.