Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men and crying.

• 18-11-2010 4:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭

Im just curious, when is the last time you as a man, cried?

I myself am 20 years of age and despite my best efforts, cannot remember the last time I full on cried. The closest I have come to it was during the funeral of a guy I knew since I was 3 years old, I got that strange lump in the throat feeling, but was able to brush it off by simply distracting myself within my own mind. Now, last night I watched the movie '2012' and found myself having this feeling again, when the film focused on human bereavement and seperation from loved ones. I found myself most affected when my mind took its own spin of things and put myself and my gf in the position of the people in the film. Again.. I didnt cry, but I got that strange lump sensation in my throat.

Hmm.. Iv rambled.. Does anyone else do this? Do they find themselves offsetting a show of emotion? am I in for trouble? is it possible that bottling up this emotion everytime it comes to the surface means that some time in the future Ill crack and turn into a blubbering mess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

After losing a kickboxing match when I was 16 purely cause I knew I was much better then I actually performed.....hmmm 8 n a half years.....i think im due one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭TOOYOUNGTODIE

A few years ago i drank a lot of gin, cried myself to sleep. Dont remember what over, but I was bawling.

I have not drank Gin since, I doubt I will ever again

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

When i had to put down my dog and when Star Trek TNG and DS9 ended though i didnt shed a tear i was just sad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

When I was about ten. Theres been times many times when id like to but think non-crying was just beat into me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

not really sad crying but def had tears well up when my baby girl was born

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Uncles funeral in 06.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

21 and the last time I cried was my Grandads funeral last year, before that must have been 7 or 8 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Two years ago in the vet's after getting my cat put down because he was too sick. It was my birthday, I prefer to forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Once in a while I'll wake up with tears on my face like I've been crying. No recollection what I was dreaming about though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Ah Galvasean, i cried once during my sleep, though i blame the DART, myself and the granny were going into town she tripped up and the f**king doors start chopping her legs off! always made sure i minded the gap after that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

I'm a big pussy, and getting worse. I *wish* I could hide it, but the cracking voice is always a giveaway.
    - Cry at funerals (unashamedly);
    - Cry when Ireland win 6 Nations Grand Slams, apparently (luckily a rare occurrence);
    - Cry at uplifting music (try desperately to hide it, but a seasoned observer would pick it up).

It's seriously only a matter of time before I start crying at a dance that scores a 10 on Strictly. I'm expecting to grow boobs any day now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

I cried tears of joy when Liverpool won the Champions League in 2005.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I do also get that horrile lump in my throat when watching the Land Before Time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Can't particularly remember the last time I cried - I did get moderately emotional when I watched a documentary about Edwyn Collins (of Orange Juice fame) about his double stroke a few years ago, and since return to making music. The guy couldn't read/write/talk, and here he is, a couple of years later, just having released an exceptional new album and performing Rip It Up like he's 25 again :) If you're a music fan, I highly recommend watching it - amazing to see how powerful and motivational music can be for some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Last time I full on cried was about 2 years ago at my cousins funeral.He was 31 and died tragically St Stephens night.My younger brother went to Canada 2 weeks ago and I shed a tear saying goodbye to him.He is my best mate and I worry about him.I would never be embarrassed to cry in front of people for things like the above.My Dad cried like a baby when he walked my sister(only daughter) up the aisle.To see him like that,typical mid 50s strong,silent type Irish man brought a lump to my throat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I watched 'The Champ' back over the summer. I cried over the final scene.

I reommend the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Often enough I'm (semi) ashamed to say! Prefer to get it all out I guess.

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Last time would be watching the first Superman movie starring Christopher Reeve. It's tied up with a lot of bittersweet memories from when I was a kid.

It's almost a guarantee that I'll start crying as soon as the theme song kicks in.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

The only time I recall crying in the last 10 or 15 years was four and a half years ago when my son was born. Myself and his mother had broken up about three months previous, and he was 13 weeks early. I got a phone call out of the blue from her father at about 7.30 in the morning letting me know, and the second the phone went down I was bawling.

My son is happy and healthy now by the way, but it was touch and go for a fair while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Diapason wrote: »
    I'm a big pussy, and getting worse. I *wish* I could hide it, but the cracking voice is always a giveaway.
    - Cry at funerals (unashamedly);
    - Cry at uplifting music (try desperately to hide it, but a seasoned observer would pick it up).

It's seriously only a matter of time before I start crying at a dance that scores a 10 on Strictly. I'm expecting to grow boobs any day now.

That's me all over. Didn't cry at the grand slam though. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Larkin91 wrote: »
    I watched The Champ back over the summer. I cried over the final scene.

Was just thinking that if there was ever a movie that might get a man to cry it would be 'The Champ'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I have a good cry every Tuesday morning about 5 a.m., when my alarm goes for my son's swimming. :D

Seriously though, I think the last time I cried properly was 8 years ago when I was called into A&E after my eldest son was knocked down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Gerry Manderer

I was VERY hungover one sunday evening a few weeks back and found myself welling up while watching the secret millionaire, the bit at the end where the guy reveals his true indentity hands over the big cheque to charity groups etc

WTF???!!!

I snapped out of it though and had a cup of tea to gather myself before anyone saw me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

This song never fails to put a lump in my throat. The music, the lyrics, sung by a great old man at the end of his life looking back on it all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Last time i cried i was 21, (26 now). The ex broke up with me. it was pathetic :o

Last time before that i was 16 when my best friend committed suicide. Cried everyday for about a week then.

It takes a lot to make me cry usually, but lately, like the last year or so, i get welled up at things a lot easier. Like 2 years ago when i was leaving Ireland, saying goodbye to my parents at the airport, not a bother on me at all. I was sad but no where near crying. Then about 6 months ago i met my brother and a few mates from home in Thailand for a holiday, saying goodbye to them i got all teary and lump in my throat. Had to fight to keep it together, the OH half was bawling.

Still havent cried yet, but it feels like there is a tidal wave being held back there and if i let it through it wont stop, ala Chandler in friends :(

I definatly dont like people seeing me cry, i suppose its a stupid macho man thing. I like to be the strong one that can hold it together when others fall apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I think it was about 2 years ago. My head was royally screwed up by my ex at the time as I wanted to get back with her and she decided to show up to a house party I threw. The week previous we met for drinks and ended up sleeping with each other again so I thought signs were good that she came (she wasn’t invited and came alone) but she was odd and let a sleezy guy try worm his way in. What should have been a cool night turned into a major headwreck which, all in all seemed to last forever. I had a quiet, drunken sob to myself in bed (which I had to share with a friend), couldn’t control it at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I was VERY hungover one sunday evening a few weeks back and found myself welling up while watching the secret millionaire, the bit at the end where the guy reveals his true indentity hands over the big cheque to charity groups etc
    Ah yes, all part of the fear. If the hangover is bad enough you can be reduced to a cowardly, blubbery pansy for two days.

Like everyone else, I'm getting a little bit worse as I get older.

Almost broke down into tears during "Up" when he opens the door and the dog is standing there telling him that he loves him. Actually welled up a couple of times watching that movie. In my defence, I was dying from a strep throat at the time and was fragile enough.

The only time I can remember properly wailing since being a child was making the decision a few years back to put my dog that I'd had since I was 12, to sleep :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

If the early part of Up doesn't leave you with moist eyes and a lump in your throat, you're hewn from solid steel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I'm a dog lover so even when warned not to, I watched Marley and me, didn't full on cry but that dreaded lump in my throat was there for a while :/

Reading about that 15 month old child that was beaten and filmed brought a tear to my eye, apart from that it's the usual, funerals and of course the grand slam!! Thought the bar was gonna fall apart we banged on the counter so hard and then, quietly sitting in the corner with a tear in my eye, me the big whinger

Ssshhhh I am a man!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Diapason wrote: »
    If the early part of Up doesn't leave you with moist eyes and a lump in your throat, you're hewn from solid steel.

Loved Up and I think the beginning is a fantastic opening and sad 10 minutes but on both viewings it never left me with so much as a lump in my throat and I would have a tendancy for that sorta a thing with the right movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I was a ridiculously over-sensitive child; anything could make me cry. :o Gradually grew out of it, haven't cried for a long time now.

Last time I shed a tear would have been a few months ago, saying goodbye to someone I wouldn't see for ages.

Last time I cried properly - probably two years ago. I had done a wretched set of exams and needed my final exam to go well. It didn't, and I just went home and collapsed on my bed. The combination of exhaustion and disappointment just got to me. (As it turned out, I passed that exam with 10% to spare; felt a bit foolish afterwards. :o)

Have never cried at films or sporting occasions or weddings. Or funerals, actually....kinda makes me seem like a cold bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

As men its ok to cry at sporting events, the playing of the national anthem in croke park,a kick in the bollocks, and thats about it :pac:

Really though, last time I did was in front of my (now ex) girlfriend, I was going through a sh1tty time in my life and I like your typical man, bottle things up instead of asking someone to sit down and listen to me rant for a while, so it got to the point where I was under constant stress and in a sh1tty mood all the time, and i dunno, when someone asks you whats wrong and you cant convince yourself nothing is anymore, on came the waterworks. Felt amazing afterwards though, I know girls who cry all the time about nothing yet can deal with the biggest problems without batting an eyelid, men are the opposite a lot of the time. Wouldnt deny anyone a good blub though, we're all human after all.

Oh and the end of Band of Brothers, for some reason I always have something in my eye..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Mackman wrote: »
    Last time i cried i was 21, (26 now). The ex broke up with me. it was pathetic :o
    Why is that pathetic? I don't see any problem with crying in this situation, it's kinda like grieving in a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

The last time? Listed in no particular order

I cried badly at Marley & Me, it was awful, tears streaming down my face, snot, gasping breaths, the works.

Was watching the Lion Man on Sky one day, and they had to put 1 or 2 white lion cubs down for some reason, and that opened me up too.

My Grannies funeral.
    My Dads funeral.
    Funerals in general up until my Dads, since then I haven't shed tears, but get the knot in my throat.
    When my childhood dog, a wirehaired Jack Russell called Hitler went missing. He was an old enough dog at this point, but there was a spate of dogs being lifted at the time, for fighting. I just hope he gave the bastards hell. Even now, I get weepy thinking about him. This evening one of my best mates came home from work to find his dog had been hit by a car early. When I heard, I was sad for him, and I got a flash back to Hitler, and one or 2 tears creeped out.

So yeah, generally grief sets me off.

Although one day, I was under a heap of stress, nothing was working out, fighting with herself, didn't want to talk, and I just sat in my chair, watching TV, I think Futurama was on, and the next thing I know, tears are dripping off my jaw, and my Tshirt is soaked. I'd been sitting silently crying for a few minutes, and hadn't noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Fathers funeral, watery eyes.
    And a few films when the music kicks in. *sniff*
    When I heard, I was sad for him, and I got a flash back to Hitler
    Sorry but that made me chuckle, just for being a weird name for a dog. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

BopNiblets wrote: »

Sorry but that made me chuckle, just for being a weird name for a dog. :P

Yeah, he had a little black spot under his nose, looked like a Hitler 'tashe. He was awesome. I always wanted to get a companion Bulldog for him, called Churchill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

I tend to well up a good bit but disguise it well. If I get emotionally invested in something I can be crying but it's not "proper" crying. The last time I proper cried, although it was with joy, was when I saw my daughter popping out for the first time. Was brilliant.

But.... I remember a disasterous crying session many years ago I had gone to see life is beautiful (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Life_Is_Beautiful) with a girl I was seeing for a few months, I really got into the film, loved the main character and the love story. Then about 1/2way through it gets all holocaust and I cried from then until the end of the film like a baby. Blubbering like a sap. Just couldnt stop! I think initially she was impressed by my "sensitivity" but after a while I could see that she was thinking "what is up with this wimp!"
    True enough, a couple of weeks later we broke up :) Not that I was bothered!

I came across like this guy:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

A few years ago when i heard my best friend's dad had died:(, i didn't cry at the funeral strangely enough or at my grannys funeral i think i hold it in to be strong for others.
    It did bring a tear to my eye today when i listened to Luke Kelly recite the poem "For what died the sons of roisin" hence the new sig.

demakinz wrote: »
    It did bring a tear to my eye today when i listened to Luke Kelly recite the poem "For what died the sons of roisin" hence the new sig.

Speaking of which, any chance you can get rid of the underline? It's a bit annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

fullstop wrote: »
    Speaking of which, any chance you can get rid of the underline? It's a bit annoying.
    Yes:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Shed a few man tears when the 3 little ones were born........looked up at the room light and "pretended" i'd something in my eye.

Stood to one side mumbling to myself about the fecking bit of crap that i can't seem to dislodge with my little finger much to the bemusement of the doc!!

demakinz wrote: »
    Yes:rolleyes:

Don't take it personally, it was just grating on the eyes, looks good now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

fullstop wrote: »
    Why is that pathetic? I don't see any problem with crying in this situation, it's kinda like grieving in a way.

It wasnt in the confines of my room late at night. It was in front of her just as she said it. turned into a blubbering mess:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I feel shallow but...

When Ireland lost to Spain on penalties in the 2002 World Cup. I was stone cold sober at the time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Can only remember two times recently. First was at my grandfather's removal. My grandmother had passed away a few years previously and since she had been sick for a long time, it was expected so it didn't affect me, but my grandfather was a healthy man that just passed suddenly, so I couldn't get over seeing him there.

Most recent was after I missed a job interview due to being held up in traffic for 45 minutes. I had been unemployed for 3 months at the time (2008, interviews were extremely scarce) and had done so much preparation for this interview but when something that was completely out of my control took this away from me, I lost it. I drove back from Galway to Limerick and was on the phone to my dad (who had helped me with the majority of my preparations) when I fell apart when explaining what happened. I just had to hang up at that stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

A lot of movies make me emotional I suppose, not crying but tears welling up. When I saw Marlay and Me I cried, probably because I have a dog just the same as the one in the movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭d.anthony

The last time? Listed in no particular order

I cried badly at Marley & Me, it was awful, tears streaming down my face, snot, gasping breaths, the works.

Was watching the Lion Man on Sky one day, and they had to put 1 or 2 white lion cubs down for some reason, and that opened me up too.

My Grannies funeral.
    My Dads funeral.
    Funerals in general up until my Dads, since then I haven't shed tears, but get the knot in my throat.
    When my childhood dog, a wirehaired Jack Russell called Hitler went missing. He was an old enough dog at this point, but there was a spate of dogs being lifted at the time, for fighting. I just hope he gave the bastards hell. Even now, I get weepy thinking about him. This evening one of my best mates came home from work to find his dog had been hit by a car early. When I heard, I was sad for him, and I got a flash back to Hitler, and one or 2 tears creeped out.

So yeah, generally grief sets me off.

Although one day, I was under a heap of stress, nothing was working out, fighting with herself, didn't want to talk, and I just sat in my chair, watching TV, I think Futurama was on, and the next thing I know, tears are dripping off my jaw, and my Tshirt is soaked. I'd been sitting silently crying for a few minutes, and hadn't noticed.

Was it this episode? Sorry for the quality.

I know it seems daft to cry at a cartoon, but if you watch the full episode it's really, really sad, and will strike a chord with dog-lovers everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭DevilsBreath

When i nephew died suddenly 3 years ago. Swore i would never have children at that point or let anyone to close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

if that doesn't get you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭kaiser sauze

When my dog was having a seizure and I was phoning the vet for an out of hours visit, I was balling. I felt so helpless.