Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you love about Waterford ....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

I'm not a deiseman, but being from ross, spend a lot of time in waterford myself.

Friendly atmosphere around the place in general.
    Fish and Chips from Johnny Walkers or Brennans in Lismore Park.
    Dunmore on a beautiful day.
    Few pints in Geoffs or Masons with the lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭montec

For me :

The best fish & chips in the world (Johnny Walkers)

The best chipper in the world (The Cleaboy)

Blaas

Sausage Blaas

Rasher Blaas

Crisp Blaas

Our beautiful accent

Beautiful beaches

Beautiful countryside

Hoffmans (when we had it)

The Maryland

Our beautiful Polish women

Our beautiful Waterford wan's

The fact that Waterford is 100 times better than KK

I have travelled a fair bit around the world and when people would ask me what part of Ireland im from,i would always proudly say Waterford and then go on to explain how it is the best county in Ireland.

As a KK man, I would agree with most of the above and would add:
    some of my all-time favourite pubs are in Waterford (Downes, T&H's The Kings and Murphy's and the Forum when there's bands on).
    Definately the women but I don't think that they're that stuck up (I'm married to one so I'm biased!!!)
    Walkers Fish and Chips for definate!!!
    The Peoples Park.
    Bringing my son out to the RSC for the odd match.

Don't see the need to bring KK into it though, most people will argue that their own County is better than their neighbours for their own personal reasons, and thats fine and the banter is good.
    But this is a thread about things that you love about Waterford so it should be positive surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭warder6161

the road to cork :P:P

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

montec wrote: »
    As a KK man, I would agree with most of the above and would add:
    some of my all-time favourite pubs are in Waterford (Downes, T&H's The Kings and Murphy's and the Forum when there's bands on).
    Definately the women but I don't think that they're that stuck up (I'm married to one so I'm biased!!!)
    Walkers Fish and Chips for definate!!!
    The Peoples Park.
    Bringing my son out to the RSC for the odd match.
    Thats not bias. Thats fear :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Elbows22

ziedth wrote: »
    For me:

A Skittles Cocktail in Harveys

yep - gotta love them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Come on now, that's got to be a joke right??
    The town accent is the worst accent in the country by 1000 miles!

No its not a joke,we have the most unique accent in the world and I think its beautiful and I'm very proud of it.

As a KK man, I would agree with most of the

Don't see the need to bring KK into it though, most people will argue that their own County is better than their neighbours for their own personal reasons, and thats fine and the banter is good.
    But this is a thread about things that you love about Waterford so it should be positive surely?

Yes the thread is about what a person loves about Waterford,and i love that Waterford is at least 100 times better than KK,I cant be more positive than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭jimbojazz

No its not a joke,we have the most unique accent in the world and I think its beautiful and I'm very proud of it.

Better than that Louth /Cavan accent........like a calf bawling in a handball alley

• Registered Users Posts: 8,556 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Doesn't everyone :D

• Registered Users Posts: 28,291 ✭✭✭✭looksee

All the seasons on the Tramore Road - the reed beds, the coloured willows and the deciduous trees as the season changes.
    The Towers near Lismore
    Mahon Falls
    The coast road
    The new bridge
    My job.

Yes the thread is about what a person loves about Waterford,and i love that Waterford is at least 100 times better than KK,I cant be more positive than that.

Is it though? How did you measure that?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

tramore and dunmore east's huge crazy golf place :D

Look its my view on it and nobody else's,there is no point in ruining a good thread by going of topic,so leave it be, isn't there a kk forum around here somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

The metric Better Than Kilkenny Scale (BTKS). Its used to rank cities all over the world.

Waterford is 100 BTKS
    Limerick is 0.13 BTKS

Prague is 134 BTKS

You should be proud that Kilkenny was chosen as the benchmark.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

The Comeraghs (especially seeing it at sunset when the sun lights up nearly every stone on the mountain!)
    The water (it's so much nicer than that in Dublin, maybe because we have our own spring! :) )
    The peace and quiet,
    BLAHS! :p
    Going to Annestown, Clonea strand or Tramore to go to the beach - Annestown is my favourite!
    My family is down there - and was raised down there, it will always be a home from home! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

BLAHS!

/Facepalm.

I think you mean BLAA'S

dayshah wrote: »
    The metric Better Than Kilkenny Scale (BTKS). Its used to rank cities all over the world.

Waterford is 100 BTKS
    Limerick is 0.13 BTKS

Prague is 134 BTKS

You should be proud that Kilkenny was chosen as the benchmark.

Thanks for clearing that up I was wondering how it was measured.
    You might want to get the scale checked out though, as your results show Prague with a higher score than Waterford....Shurley Shome Mishtake??? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

In Waterford,
    Concrete jungle where dreams are made of,
    Theres nothing you can’t do,
    Now you’re in Waterford,
    These streets will make you feel brand new,
    The lights will inspire you,
    Lets here it for Waterford, Waterford, Waterford.

One hand in the air for the little city,
    Street lights, big dreams all looking pretty,
    No place in the World that can compare,
    Put your lighters in the air, everybody say yeaaahh
    Come on, come,
    Yeah,

In Waterford,
    Now you’re in Waterford,
    Lets here it for Waterford, Watrford, Waterford,
    Welcome to the bright light....

Thanks for clearing that up I was wondering how it was measured.
    You might want to get the scale checked out though, as your results show Prague with a higher score than Waterford....Shurley Shome Mishtake??? ;)

Well Prague got 13 extra points for women, 7 for the metro system, 4 for the astronomical clock, and 12 for the palace. It lost two though for the drunken English stag parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Agree with all things mentioned, love just going for a stroll on Tramore beach in the summer in the evening and the obligatory melted chocolate doughnut (or 6) in the Holiday shop! Ice creams in there unreal too!
    Love the atmosphere around leading up to a Waterford match, before the '08 All Ireland final was fantastic, thought it really brought everyone together.

Used to work up the country last year for a few months and the feeling of coming over the bridge every weekend was special-just felt good to be home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Definitely John Roberts Square in the weeks leading up to Xmas.
    The smell of soggy chips and the Suir mixed together when you get off the bus at the bus station. Actually I'm not sure which is which! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

Was driving back from Dublin Airport early this morning and seeing the top of the Suir Bridge in the distance, when you see that you def know you are home!!
    And going to the Mahon Falls

STIG83 wrote: »
    Was driving back from Dublin Airport early this morning and seeing the top of the Suir Bridge in the distance, when you see that you def know you are home!!
    And going to the Mahon Falls

I used to feel that way seeing the aerial over Airmount, but now its the bridge. :)

I like to coming from Cork. I know I'm in Waterford since crossing the Blackwater, but when I come over that road by Ring and can see Dungarvan below, its like the whole county is opening before your eyes, from the sea to the Knockmealdowns. I remember coming home on a Friday evening in winter. There was a low full moon lighting up the sea and the mountains.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

In Waterford,
    Now you’re in Waterford,
    Lets here it for Waterford, Waterford, Waterford.

One hand in the air for the little city,
    Street lights, big dreams all looking pretty,
    No place in the World that can compare,
    Put your lighters in the air, everybody say yeaaahh
    Come on, come,
    Yeah,

In Waterford,
    Now you’re in Waterford,
    Lets here it for Waterford, Watrford, Waterford,
    Welcome to the bright light....

If you're having money problems I feel bad for you son, but I got 99 problems and the Ard Rí is one...

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

Helvik Pier & the Copper Coast on a stormy day

The total randomness of Dromana gate.

I love the city accent boi! The giftgrub when Mossy defends Waherford from yer man the American "comedien" is priceless.

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

Jim totally agree with you there, I never met so many stuck up women in Waterford but not all of them are like that, I was over in Liverpool last weekend and the ladies were very friendly and chatty, unlike if you chat a girl up in Waterford, Its like how dare you chat me up:D

The bitches! Hou dare they say no to you!!!

OR!

Maybe you turn their stomachs?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 mike rolite

Plenty of lovely places to take my kids at the weekend

Having two of Ireland's greatest sportsmen as our own ..... John Tracey & Sean Kelly

Harry de Bromhead, Pat Flynn, John Kiely
    & DAWN RUN

Showjumpers Francis Connors (Woodstown'ish) & John Ledingham (Clashmore'ish)

Jamie Costin, Kelly Proper, Seamus Power, Craig Breen, Geoff Curran & the guy with the great name Hilton Hincks!

John O'Shea, Eddie Nolan, Stephen & Noel Hunt, Brian Murphy ... more players on our national squad than any other county except Dublin

all doing the Deise proud!

not many counties could match those names

The fact that we live in "the SUNNY :rolleyes: South-East!!!! with its balmy winter nights!

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭chelloveks

A HUGE breafast roll from Freshways with puddin and rashers and sausies...no egg since thats bad for the cholesterol ffs
    Followed by a blaa with butter
    Anything to eat from Walkers
    A few hundred beautiful pints of Guiness, not the ****e they sell in the US
    A few hundred Jameson and Red Lemonades
    The smell of the air in the early morning
    A round of golf at the Castle followed by the obligatory pint and search for the elusive fox
    A nice drink of water from the tap, not a feckin bottle
    Drunk food at 2:00am before bed
    Mahon Falls
    Jack meades on a rare sunny Southeast day
    The Guilamene
    Newtown Cove in the rain...best swim I had in my life ANYWHERE
    The Tramore Races
    The dog races
    Getting to see my relatives that I like
    Goin on the piss with not a care!