Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taoiseach will make a statement to the Dáil on the economy at 5pm

• 16-11-2010 3:58pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Goodbye Ireland, can the last person to leave, please turn off the lights....THANKS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

'Tis all over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Goodbye Ireland, can the last person to leave please turn off the lights....THANKS.

At this stage I couldn't give a shite if he plays for Trapattoni or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

*Starts inflating raft*

I've got room for one more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Hello, IMF my old friend...

We've come to beg from you again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Damn it, there's virtually no difference between the words "Ireland" and "Iceland" and yet I can't think of a single clever wordplay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

At least it'll put an end to the speculation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Duggy747 wrote: »
    *Starts inflating raft*

Women and childen first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I for one welcome our new German overlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

All he has to say is three words "We Fooked Up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

5:00pm
    Cowen: "Ireland's ****ed. You're on your own"

5:01pm
    Cowen last seen heading for the free bar in Leinster house

Duggy747 wrote: »
    *Starts inflating raft*

*shoots Duggy and takes raft*

*paddles out to sea*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

He is just going to announce the type of cheese we will be eating for Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Doom!!!!

*paddles out to sea*

Come back come back i stole all his supplies before you shot him.

*paddles out to sea*

*1 hand on wound, other hand shaking fist*

Curse you blindjustice, can't believe I fell for that again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Its an awful bad position to be in as a nation who only a few years ago were bigged up from almost every commentator.

That being said, its not much different to the "austerity measures" we would have to implement anyway, only now all the thorny rose bushes will have to be grasped and the whole country take a good while to get over it.

Ultimately we still have our rivers, lakes, mountains, coastlines - which I wouldnt swap for the world.
    If this is the point at which the Irish people realise we've a lot of work to do for political and financial reform then so be it. Theres nothing wrong with that in the history of a nation.

zuroph wrote: »
    Fúck our new overlords! banksters!!! :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Nothing to worry about, NAMA is the only game in town. Anglo is well capitalised and there will be a soft landing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

He's going to call a general election and step down as Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

kippy wrote: »
    Its an awful bad position to be in as a nation who only a few years ago were bigged up from almost every commentator.

That being said, its not much different to the "austerity measures" we would have to implement anyway, only now all the thorny rose bushes will have to be grasped and the whole country take a good while to get over it.

Ultimately we still have our rivers, lakes, mountains, coastlines - which I wouldnt swap for the world.
    If this is the point at which the Irish people realise we've a lot of work to do for political and financial reform then so be it. Theres nothing wrong with that in the history of a nation.

no mortgage huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Can we not just have the Brits back? We've proven we can't run our own affairs but it would be better to have a country were we have more in common with culturaly like England than someone like Germany running the state.

There's even a nice wedding coming up now, it'd be great to have a street party for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Cowen's speech in full:

*clears throat*

"Come down to Lake Pontchartrain.
    Rest your soul and feed your brain.
    That's where you will get to see
    Everything the water can be."

burp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

zuroph wrote: »

Hello..

What's going down, Ireland getting new owners then ? At this stage , who ever comes in to run the place cannot do any worse then they goons in there at the moment.

What's worse a bunch of clue gob****es (what we have now)

Or a bunch of people who actually know what they are doing...

Either way both sets of people are defo not about the people regardless, we just think they are about the people at the moment because they are Irish born, but don't be fooled.

Sign of the times, we need the Germans to come in and turn this badly storm beating off course ship back to dock for some serious repairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Dunjohn wrote: »
    Damn it, there's virtually no difference between the words "Ireland" and "Iceland" and yet I can't think of a single clever wordplay.

Iceland's now on the up and up, and we're on the down and down.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

jester77 wrote: »
    He's going to call a general election and step down as Taoiseach

If only....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

kippy wrote: »

How about 200billion quid then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Goodbye Ireland, can the last person to leave, please turn off the lights....THANKS.

hello

Phoenix cartoon from 1987 wants its joke back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Iceland to create jobs in Ireland - Fact!

At 5:01pm, Bethesda will begin development on a new game: Fallout - Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Meh, we were gonna have a restrictive 4 year plan anyway soI don't know if this will make a huge amount of difference. The Europeans are just pushing it for stability with is understandable

Main possible disadvantage : That they want us to adjust our corporation tax as a condition of the bailout , which we should pointblank refuse

Main possible advantage : We might find out what happened on the evening of the bank guarantee where our government decided not to take any of the advice it was given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

maybe its to announce our "national check down the back of the couch for change initiative".

no mortgage huh?

I've a mortgage alright, I dont know how a bailout will be any different to what the government had planned already in that respect to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

The rent's too damn high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

We're taking the bailout!!!

We're NOT taking the bailout!!!

We're taking HALF a bailout!!!

We're pulling out of the Euro!!!

He's calling an election!!!

He's going to sing a Duet with Mary Byrne on X-Factor next week!!!

How about 200billion quid then?

Again, thats not really the same thing.......and I dont get the relevance of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

I dont think its going be anything that serious, maybe more cheese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Him and Harney finally announcing that they are going to weight watchers in a last ditch effort to safe the economy buy reducing their beer and kebab expenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Slave, thou hast slain me: villain, take my purse:
    If ever thou wilt thrive, bury my body;
    And give the letters thou find'st about me
    To Edmund Earl of Gloucester, seek him out
    Among the British party: O, untimely death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Everybody stop panicking, it's probably nothing to do with the economy. Maybe he's discovered an exceptional object in our cosmic neighbourhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Can we not just have the Brits back? We've proven we can't run our own affairs but it would be better to have a country were we have more in common with culturaly like England than someone like Germany running the state.

There's even a nice wedding coming up now, it'd be great to have a street party for it.

Feck off, we don't want you back, neither do we want the six counties :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

[inserts downfall parody video here]

4 TV crews are on Grafton street at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

"Don't panic!"

Everybody stop panicking, it's probably nothing to do with the economy. Maybe he's discovered an exceptional object in our cosmic neighbourhood.

The fùck is Harney doing up there? More travelling expenses wasted I tells ya!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I heard he intends to announce his engagement to Kate Middleton.

That'll show the BBC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭bullpost

Its good news at last.

Compulsory Irish to be abolished in our schools.

However compulsory German will be introduced :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

IMO It will go something like this :-

Hi Folks ,

Remember when I said we had enough money to last the nation until the middle of next year .... well it was a big fat lie. We are actually broke right now, the good news is the EU believed that line of crap I spun.

They asked us for the good of the EU and the Euro to take a bailout and I played the bluff card and it worked. Fearing the Euro would collapse they gave into some of our key demands - we got a loan to cover our debt at a rate of 5% which is much less than what we would have got off the markets and our CT remains untouched.

Nobody pulls a con like FF

Ohhh sh*t did I say that out loud ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

bullpost wrote: »
    Its good news at last.

Compulsory Irish to be abolished in our schools.

However compulsory German will be introduced :D

Compulsory basic maths would be a start!