Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Four found dead in Co Limerick house

• 16-11-2010 3:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1116/newcastlewest.html
    A man has been arrested in connection with the deaths of two women and two children in Newcastle West, Co Limerick.

The four were found dead in a house in the town this afternoon.

It is believed they were stabbed to death.

One of the women is thought to be the mother of the children, who were aged one and five.

All available garda units in Limerick and Clare are searching for the man.

Gardaí were called by a member of the public to the house this afternoon. When they entered the house at around 1.50pm, they discovered the four bodies.

The two children were found upstairs, while the two women were discovered downstairs.

It is believed the four died violent deaths. The bodies are still at the scene.

The house has been sealed off pending a forensic examination. The State Pathologist's Office has been alerted.

Also... http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1116/ballycotton.html
    The deaths of a man and his two daughters in the fishing village of Ballycotton, Co Cork, are being investigated.
    The alarm was raised at around 9.45am, after a man in his 40s died when his car crashed into a tree and burst into flames on the bog road just over 2km outside the village.
    Gardaí, the fire service and an ambulance crew attended the crash scene but the man was declared dead.
    Gardaí were then alerted when concerns were raised that one of the man's daughters had not turned up for school this morning.
    They went to the man's home and discovered the bodies of his two daughters, age two and six, in the house.
    A doctor and a priest were called and the doctor declared both girls dead. Both were aged under ten.
    It is not known how the two girls died at this stage.
    It is understood that the children's mother had left for work in Cork city at around 7.30am.
    The house has been sealed off and is being treated as a crime scene.
    Gardaí are awaiting the arrival of a state pathologist.
    A forensic and technical examination will take place at the house.
    The area at the bog road where the children's father died in the car crash has also been sealed off and a technical examination will also be undertaken there.
    It is understood that gardaí travelled to Cork city to inform the children's mother of what happened.
    Archbishop Dermot Clifford has called for prayers following the deaths.
    'My heart goes out to all concerned; the children's mother, to the extended family, relatives and friends and to the community of Ballycotton and to the people of the whole parish of Cloyne.
    'On behalf of the people and priests of the diocese, I offer my sincere and heartfelt condolences and I ask for prayers for the deceased and for those who are grieving,' a statement said.

I Hate stories like these, poor children, not even had a chance to live and their lives are cut short.

:( R.I.P

My deepest Condolences Go to the Family and Friends affected by these tragedys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Any jokes will be removed and user banned, just FYI like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Hope its not some pact :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Jesus thats harsh, RIP, poor kids :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WINDtlPXmmE&feature=related

Sums up my feelings on it all..

RIP to those involved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:( Crazy just plain crazy, the country is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭muff03

children hadn't a chance, RIP. this is a terrible day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Oh no! Thats terrible news. So sorry for the families and friends.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Seriously though. WTF.

I mean kids for feck sake....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

That is really scary, <speculation removed>. Something crazy is going on in this country.

Very very sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

According to RTE now the two women in Limerick were sisters and one was the mother of the children.

Heartbreaking for the families. God Rest them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

Balfie wrote: »

I Hate stories like these

Then don't post them. Especially not on After Hours. Give the people directly affected a chance to grieve/be told ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Putting aside the circumstances, or how and why.

RIP, condolances to those left behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Oh, it's one of these periods where a number of murders and people are found dead in houses. Horrible.

Kids being killed is just baffling. They're kids for fùck sake, not even a proper chance at life yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

Then don't post them. Especially not on After Hours. Give the people directly affected a chance to grieve/be told ffs.

both stories are on rte news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

I'd like people to bear in mind the depression that the bust has caused, and I can't help wondering how much of a factor this will be in causing tragedies like this in the coming years. I hope that David Drumm, Sean Fitzpatrick, Cowen, Lenihan, Patrick Neary and all the others realise that they may have played a part in this by bringing the country to its knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

Why take the lives of the kids? I can never understand that, let them live their lives ok I understand if you are finding it hard but there are systems (not great systems) but they could provide for your children.

Dont take their sweet angel lives at a young age.

RIP little ones.

scargill wrote: »
    both stories are on rte news

RTE news is a slightly different medium than AH where insensitive, inappropriate comments are almost always made about anything involving stories like these, mod warnings notwithstanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

I'm rather sure the familys affected would have been told before it was plastered all over RTE.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Snaggerman

Absolute crying shame, RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

Words are inadequate...

My heart breaks for anyone whose life is personally touched by these awful events. It's hideous to hear the news as an outsider, I can't imagine the horror of having to deal with in on a personal level.

Balfie wrote: »
    I'm rather sure the familys affected would have been told before it was plastered all over RTE.ie.

The Cork story was on breakingnews.ie and was being discussed on boards before the mother had been informed. That is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

I'd like people to bear in mind the depression that the bust has caused, and I can't help wondering how much of a factor this will be in causing tragedies like this in the coming years. I hope that David Drumm, Sean Fitzpatrick, Cowen, Lenihan, Patrick Neary and all the others realise that they may have played a part in this by bringing the country to its knees.

That is a crazy statement. We don't know any of the circumstances yet!

RTE news now reporting a man is being sought in connection with the Limerick deaths and all available Garda units are looking for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Shocking stuff. Sad for all the families left behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭North_West_Art

God help them, thats 7 people dead between Cork and Limerick in a matter of hours... r.i.p. <snip>

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Please provide links folks. We're at a delicate stage at the moment where speculation is not going to do anyone any favours.
    Folks if any posts cause offense report them.
    RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Recessions don't kill people. People kill people.

The perpetrator is guilty of the crime - nobody else. Do you know for a fact that the family had suffered hardship in the recession?

Does everything in this country have to be linked to the recession?

Ian Huntley didn't kill Holly Wells and Jessica Chapman because of a recession.

A man is being sought after two women and two children were found dead in a house in Newcastle West in Co Limerick this afternoon.
    It is believed the two women were sisters and one of them is the mother of the children, who were aged one and five.
    All available garda units in Limerick and Clare are searching for the man.

Gardaí were called by a member of the public to the house this afternoon. When they entered the house at around 1.50pm, they discovered the four bodies.
    The two children were found upstairs, while the two women were discovered downstairs.
    It is believed the four died violent deaths. The bodies are still at the scene.
    The house has been sealed off pending a forensic examination. The State Pathologist's Office has been alerted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

hope they catch who ever did this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Beyond words,

Sleep well little ones.

My heart goes out to all the families concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

I feel sick for the familys. <snip>

Twin-go wrote: »
    That is a crazy statement. We don't know any of the circumstances yet!
    You're right, we don't know the circumstances. But let's not pretend that tragedies like this will not happen due to the state the country is in. There is a real impact on real people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

The Cork story was on breakingnews.ie and was being discussed on boards before the mother had been informed. That is wrong.

It is understood that gardaí travelled to Cork city to inform the children's mother of what happened.

If you had read the story I'm sure that you would have seen that. Also it is a given that, no news outlet be it, RTE, BreakingNews.ie, TV3 whatever the case maybe, none of them can report on these things until the family has been informed. It happened at 7:30 this morning, it is now 15:45 I'm almost sure that it would not take over 8 hours to inform the mother of what happened.

Not all of after hours is about having a joke and a laugh. Serious things have been spoke about on here and people are not all heartless to make sick jokes about anything that is a tragedy like this. With or Without MOD warning, people actually do have a heart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Condolences to the families and friends of the deceased.. It's a tragic thing to happen
    Jimbob1977 wrote: »

The perpetrator is guilty of the crime - nobody else. Do you know for a fact that the family had suffered hardship in the recession?

Sad fact is that suicide rates increase in times of hardship.. of course it's too soon to say if these events are linked to depression in any way, but it isn't beyond the realms of possibility either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

You're right, we don't know the circumstances. But let's not pretend that tragedies like this will not happen due to the state the country is in. There is a real impact on real people.

This has nothing to do with politics.

Sad to say stuff like this happens the world over.

Some countries are run better than others it's people who did this not someone angry with the way the country is being run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

I don't see how online discussions is any different or worse than journalists reporting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

No matter how bad things get in life, children are just innocent and should never have their life taken like this.

RIP

People who are depressed do things that they wouldn't otherwise do. The current economic situation has put thousands of people in trouble. A lot of them will become depressed. I am not stating that this is WHY this tragedy happened, I'm saying that it MAY have been a factor, and certainly it WILL be a factor in the future. That's why I'm so angry about the economy - I don't care about shiny cars or flatscreen TVs, it's the damage that it is doing to people's lives that infuriates me.

On a related note, you may be aware that there was a spike in suicides when the Ryan report was published last year. Reports don't kill people either.

Monty Burnz, please do not speculate as we don't know what the reason behind these acts are.
    Once facts have started to be reported, then you can quote them and speculate, ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

It's heartbreaking. There are no words for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Such terrible news :(

RTE are now saying the 4 in Limerick were stabbed, a 5 year old and 1 year old, how could anyone do that.

biko wrote: »
    Monty Burnz, please do not speculate as we don't know what the reason behind these acts are.
    Once facts have started to be reported, then you can quote them and speculate, ok?
    Apologies. Just saw that now.

Some speculation and off topic removed.
    That stuff is for another thread sometime in the future.

nitrogen wrote: »
    I don't see how online discussions is any different or worse than journalists reporting it.

Then you mustn't be a regular in AH. I have no issue with tragedies being discussed online, I just feel it's a bit soon for it to be discussed on a public forum. There may be family members at work or abroad who will not have been informed and who could unwittingly learn of the news through comments on a thread like this one. I know the mods will be watching this thread very carefully as an earlier thread on the same topic was deleted so I don't doubt that people will behave themselves. However, that is not always the case and I would hate to imagine anyone directly involved finding out through the flippant remarks of strangers.

It's only my opinion but I don't think these sorts of threads should run until at least 24 hours after the story is first reported in the national media. Not out of any kind of censorship, just out of consideration for family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

Hi Monty,

I agree that the recession has driven people to their wit's end. Many normal people are on the brink of despair.

However, it is unfair to list the names of politicians/bankers as the reason for everything that happens in a country.

This appalling act was carried out by an individual. Irish people have to accept personal responsibility for their actions. It's not always someone else's fault.

+1. I'm really struggling to understand the mindset of people trying to blame it on Seanie Fitz and FF. Ok I know there will always be point scoring and propaganda, but this is just taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

RTE are now saying the 4 in Limerick were stabbed, a 5 year old and 1 year old, how could anyone do that.

sweet Jesus, I am completely shocked

+1. I'm really struggling to understand the mindset of people trying to blame it on Seanie Fitz and FF. Ok I know there will always be point scoring and propaganda, but this is just taking the piss.
    Nobody is trying to blame them for this. Somebody is trying to point out that there is a link between the outer world of the economy and the inner world of family life. Sadly, damage to the former causes damage to the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

Auvers wrote: »
    sweet Jesus, I am completely shocked

Also, there is a manhunt under way. The suspect appears to still be at large. I hope they catch him fast, God know what his intentions are-

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I cant undertand how anyone could stab a 1 yr old, hope the bastard is shot by the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

With the tragedies in Cork and Limrick, 4 children murdered, this has been one of the darkest days I have known. RIP.