Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi kinkstr, how about it, eh?

• 16-11-2010 2:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭

Apologies to all, but I thought I'd share a private message I received on arnies airsoft this morning from kinkstr. I realise that since it occured on arnies there's not much the moderators can really do about it - and indeed the charter does not cover other sites.
    kinkstr wrote:
    Sent Today, 06:53 AM
    J00 lover

So, care to comment Kinkstr? Not that I expect you to have any integrity with which to comment when you take to hurling insult at FireKitten & I based on nothing more than her religious status. But the least I can do to "help" you on your way is to show the Irish airsoft community what sort of sh*t you come out with when you think nobody is looking.

Have a nice life now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

According to his profile his last activity was on the 06-08-2010. Maybe he has moved on to other pastures? That being said I always believed J00 =you. http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/J00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

Lemming wrote: »
    Apologies to all, but I thought I'd share a private message I received on arnies airsoft this morning from kinkstr. I realise that since it occured on arnies there's not much the moderators can really do about it - and indeed the charter does not cover other sites.

So, care to comment Kinkstr? Not that I expect you to have any integrity with which to comment when you take to hurling insult at FireKitten & I based on nothing more than her religious status. But the least I can do to "help" you on your way is to show the Irish airsoft community what sort of sh*t you come out with when you think nobody is looking.

Have a nice life now.

Christ....pwned j00 n00b....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

According to his profile his last activity was on the 06-08-2010. Maybe he has moved on to other pastures? That being said I always believed J00 =you. http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/J00

Well, clearly he is still around. And "J00" is also used to refer to "Jew" - as your own link also suggests; I've seen it written as such in the past e.g. insulting/intimdating usernames or referring to someone in derrogatory fashion.

Lemming, you're wrong...get over it. I would bet 1000/1 on that it was not "Jew" he/she meant.

IITYWYBMAD wrote: »
    Lemming, you're wrong...get over it. I would bet 1000/1 on that it was not "Jew" he/she meant.

"You lover".

Yeah. Sure. Right. Of course that's what he meant. Never mind the past history of having to ban him repeatedly or all the sh*t stirring that went on.

Right. Tell you what; go take a look at his profile on arnies; can anyone say "trolly mc f*cking troll" fast enough?

"You lover".

Yeah. Sure. Right. Of course that's what he meant. Never mind the past history of having to ban him repeatedly or all the sh*t stirring that went on.

Right. Tell you what; go take a look at his profile on arnies; can anyone say "trolly mc f*cking troll" fast enough?

Grand....I have no idea of his history tbh...I'd just be flabbergasted if somebody could come out with something so lame in this day and age such as "Jew Lover" tbh....J00 has a meaning from IRC and gaming that I remember from years ago, maybe he meant something different...if he did...sheeeesh tbh.., and apologies to you Lemming if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

I have never liked this style of thread. People have problems with people in the world. It can be petty, it can be serious, it can be for all sorts of things. But in the grand scheme of things, you take it in your stride, move forward and get on with things. Or you take it to heart, spiral downward and descend into brute oblivion (to quote John Montague).

Life is too short to spread the hate. Instead try spreading joy, and fun etc...otherwise you slowly (or quickly) become A) what you hate and B) what you complain about.

Just my opinion on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Inari wrote: »
    I have never liked this style of thread. People have problems with people in the world. It can be petty, it can be serious, it can be for all sorts of things. But in the grand scheme of things, you take it in your stride, move forward and get on with things. Or you take it to heart, spiral downward and descend into brute oblivion (to quote John Montague).

Life is too short to spread the hate. Instead try spreading joy, and fun etc...otherwise you slowly (or quickly) become A) what you hate and B) what you complain about.

Just my opinion on the matter.

I have to disagree.

"Evil occurs when good men fail to act" - very few words are truer.

While I may disagree with Lemmings approach here I can understand it having received everything from verbal abuse to death threats via boards/youtube/email/phone calls etc (and thats just airsoft, it doesnt include my vocalising on theological and social issues) - sometimes there is nothing else to do but fight fire with fire. Kinkstr chose the internet as his battleground, its on his own head if it comes back to nibble his tuchous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

I presume that you have also reported this to the arnies admins, along with the fact that his profile is in breach of their site regs.

I am totally against any discrimination in the sport of airsoft be it racial / religious or sexual. I don't know if he is a player, but I would have no problem walking off a field (and telling the owner why ) rather than playing in his company. If enough people did that I'm sure the message would get through.
    People like that have no place in the airsoft community

BioHazRd wrote: »
    I presume that you have also reported this to the arnies admins

First thing I did was report the PM to them and explain the context.

Hivemind has hit things on the head; I really dislike what I've done, but to date I've had all manner of crap thrown at myself, or my other half, or at my other half in an attempt to get at me. And you deal with it - most of the time (I'm not perfect, sorry folks). But this is just on a whole other level of vile and it really is repugnant on the most base of levels and it really has no place in life, never mind the airsoft community either at home or abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,829 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Sorry to hear about that Lemming, some people are just ignorant. Laughing at them is the best option I've found:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I assume the Arnies guy is the same guy that boards here?

I might be confusing with another member, but if its the same guy I'm thinking off I've met him numerous times on sites and outside of gaming and he seems to be a straight up bloke and to be honest he didnt come across as the type.

Might be well of target here so I'll put my hand up saying I might be mistaking this for someone else.

And although as mentioned above I'm not totally in favour of the thread creation and open name and shame, I do sympathise with the situation and obviously those sort of comments are pretty harsh and uncalled for, it takes alot more effort to say that to someone you dislike rather then saying nothing.

Although we are all vets of the internet and know how this **** happens , but I'm just a bit cringy at the way the thread was created etc.

I know its a sensitive topic and **** if someone insulted my misses along those lines in that severity I'd be doing a bit more then starting a new thread.

But considering that the forum has a very large issue with naming and shaming, slander and libel ,I'd be weary that this thread will last much longer.

Again I dont want to disregard the point of the thread just the manner makes me cringe a bit since such a big fuss is regularly made about naming and shaming here.

Nevermind the fact if he comes along and says " O man, my account got hacked ages ago I dont use arnies, sorry to hear but it wasnt me" there isn't really much to proof for or against.

If he did genuinely do it, he is obviously a keyboard warrior cause as much as perhaps yourself and I or myself and your other half have had disagreements or arguements, I'd find it very hard to make such a piggish comment, knowing your a pretty big ****er and I'd have a handful to deal with ;)

I'm just weary that potentially someones reputation could be tattered and his sense of security playing the game diminished to zero, for potentially something that really we cant prove he did or did not do : /

And epic fail for your man who thought it was " You lover" , someone who has clearly only played The Sims online and read MyLittlePony.com

IITYWYBMAD wrote: »
    Man I totally pwned j00

That would be just about the only context I would use "j00".

I'd be probably be more concerned, if out of the blue, kinster simply sent a message to read

"You Lover"..... that is pretty weird, and if he actually did mean "you"(although I'll bet 100000000/1 he didnt) then its a serious fail of internet lingo.

Although that did give me a serious laugh, the thought someone would message Lem " You lover"

I will now slightly edit it in all responding posts to lem with

"O, you lover"

Fantastic!

Dont mean to derail the seriousness of the thread,couldnt avoid dishing a beatdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Bit OTT tarnishing his name before allowing him to respond? How long has it been like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

Just seen this now, all i ahve to say is yes that is my account on arnies that i cannot get into now because someone thought it woud obviously be funny to do stupid **** with it. I didnt send that to you, i havent logged on arnies in months and never had the intention to til now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Flecktarn wrote: »
    Bit OTT tarnishing his name before allowing him to respond? How long has it been like?
    Never has someone said something on this god forsaken forum that has been so true.

Lets all jump on the slandering bandwagon. Even better, Lets start a thread flaming someone with no evidence. Gives a lovely image of airsoft as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

They should have a one on one match. WINNER TAKES ALL INTERNETS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Horse84

If this had been said on this forum, I would maybe agree with the opening of this thread but it happened on arnies, nothing to do with boards whatsoever. i'm sure we're all aware how easy it is to have your accounts hacked, so i think it's just a bit premature.
    I'm not sure how i would react myself if this happened to me but i wouldn't deal with it like this.
    For the record i don't know either of you, and the nature of that pm is to be utterly condemned whoever sent it.

kinkstr wrote: »
    Just seen this now, all i ahve to say is yes that is my account on arnies that i cannot get into now because someone thought it woud obviously be funny to do stupid **** with it. I didnt send that to you, i havent logged on arnies in months and never had the intention to til now.
    MagicIRL wrote: »
    Never has someone said something on this god forsaken forum that has been so true.

Lets all jump on the slandering bandwagon. Even better, Lets start a thread flaming someone with no evidence. Gives a lovely image of airsoft as a whole.

Your account. In your name. Your responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Your account. In your name. Your responsibility.
    Not at all, Its rather easy to be hacked. As I recall boards itself was hacked not so long ago. You can't just claim that he is fully responsible because someone somehow obtained his credentials.

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Not at all, Its rather easy to be hacked. As I recall boards itself was hacked not so long ago. You can't just claim that he is fully responsible because someone somehow obtained his credentials.

It's actually quite difficult to "hack" someone's account (fyi it's not hacking, it's cracking). Unless you either pick a blindingly easy password to guess, hand someone your password on a piece of paper or leave yourself logged in from a public PC before the session expires then it's actually quite difficult indeed. Most account cracking is down to carelessness and/or irresponsibility, not some machavellian sort lurking just behind your shoulder waiting to pounce.

As for the boards.ie thing, in the better part of a decade I've been on boards, that is the only time it's ever happened. Whomever did it was good. Very good in fact since they'd have to breach numberous safety protocols to get near database servers to lift copies of the database(s) involved. And that's excluding any cryptography that the databases employ to mask passwords; which are typically a one-way hash cipher (i.e. cannot be decrypted without significant * effort). Boards.ie issued the alert on the chance that whomever did it could extract any meaningful account data.

* By "significant" I mean mathematically painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

I'm sorry but in all fairness this is a tad bit childish, a nasty man on teh intrawebs called you a mean name and its somehow nescessary to tell people on an entirely different forum? Sounds like more of a conversation topic for Joe Duffy than Boards.

If this fella really did send the message he's more than likely an egotistical prick and all this thread will do is add to that ego, just report the dude and get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

I dont know whatelse to tell you, if youd pmed me instead of starting a thread whinging, i would of told you i didnt do and have no interest in doing that kinda **** and say sorry.
    Reading through this thread, well to be honest if you carry on like that its not even worth responding so cya.

On most sites there are rules that say "You are responsible for whatever is done on your account" to avoid the 'my brother did it' brigade. Simple philosophy - look after your account.

I understand the reaction here, and I respectfully disagree with Hivemind - I fully believe that no matter what, you should keep composure. If you don't, it weakens your perspective. Don't get me wrong, it is not easy. I never alluded to that. And the key word is shold. But fire with fire? No. I'm just glad that the Rescue Services don't have that motto.

The way I like to think about it is this:
    A heckler at a stand up gig - the comedian can shout him down, and respond likewise...or he can adapt and use it to his performance. Which tends to be more enjoyable? I know that I can't stand when comedians spend too long on people - it feels pathetic, and just seems to compensate for a lack of wit. Whereas when they just roll with the punches, and use the heckler in a slight way, it tends to be much more enjoyable, and memorable.

A heckler at a stand up gig - the comedian can shout him down, and respond likewise...or he can adapt and use it to his performance. Which tends to be more enjoyable?

So, if a heckler stood up and called someone ... I don't know ... say "n*gger", or "jew", or "paddy", or "nazi", "rapist", "child molester", or any number of incredibly crude insults, straight out of the blue you'd not react?

That sort of behaviour (this was no different) is utterly unacceptable beyond words. And Hivemind is completely right in his use of citation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

On most sites there are rules that say "You are responsible for whatever is done on your account" to avoid the 'my brother did it' brigade. Simple philosophy - look after your account.

I understand the reaction here, and I respectfully disagree with Hivemind - I fully believe that no matter what, you should keep composure. If you don't, it weakens your perspective. Don't get me wrong, it is not easy. I never alluded to that. And the key word is shold. But fire with fire? No. I'm just glad that the Rescue Services don't have that motto.

The way I like to think about it is this:
    A heckler at a stand up gig - the comedian can shout him down, and respond likewise...or he can adapt and use it to his performance. Which tends to be more enjoyable? I know that I can't stand when comedians spend too long on people - it feels pathetic, and just seems to compensate for a lack of wit. Whereas when they just roll with the punches, and use the heckler in a slight way, it tends to be much more enjoyable, and memorable.

Thats the trouble with pacifism. You are subject the whims of those who are willing to use force.

So, if a heckler stood up and called someone ... I don't know ... say "n*gger", or "jew", or "paddy", or "nazi", "rapist", "child molester", or any number of incredibly crude insults, straight out of the blue you'd not react?

That sort of behaviour (this was no different) is utterly unacceptable beyond words. And Hivemind is completely right in his use of citation.

What does more negativity solve? If someone stands up and shouts a crude insult, and you respond with an equally crude insult, what seperates you from what you're complaining about? Nothing. You have become the problem. So either you are big enough to rise above it, or you're not. I'm not saying I am...I'm saying I would like to be, I'm saying the best course of action is to be able to be. Hate breeds Hate. No point in adding to it.

While we are at it, I hear Moggy dresses up in 12 year old girls clothes and can be found on Henry St. offering to sing Justin Bieber songs for hash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

TheDoc wrote: »
    While we are at it, I hear Moggy dresses up in 12 year old girls clothes and can be found on Henry St. offering to sing Justin Bieber songs for hash
    That's not a lie either...:eek:

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

Have a nice life now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Have a nice life now.

Who's kinkstr? Did I miss the part where boards turned from a playground for sleeve-chewers and their racist auld fellas into a public forum for how people are going to INTERNET PWN other people?

Honest to jaysis like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

TheDoc wrote: »
    I assume the Arnies guy is the same guy that boards here?

I might be confusing with another member, but if its the same guy I'm thinking off I've met him numerous times on sites and outside of gaming and he seems to be a straight up bloke and to be honest he didnt come across as the type.

Might be well of target here so I'll put my hand up saying I might be mistaking this for someone else.

And although as mentioned above I'm not totally in favour of the thread creation and open name and shame, I do sympathise with the situation and obviously those sort of comments are pretty harsh and uncalled for, it takes alot more effort to say that to someone you dislike rather then saying nothing.

Although we are all vets of the internet and know how this **** happens , but I'm just a bit cringy at the way the thread was created etc.

I know its a sensitive topic and **** if someone insulted my misses along those lines in that severity I'd be doing a bit more then starting a new thread.

But considering that the forum has a very large issue with naming and shaming, slander and libel ,I'd be weary that this thread will last much longer.

Again I dont want to disregard the point of the thread just the manner makes me cringe a bit since such a big fuss is regularly made about naming and shaming here.

Nevermind the fact if he comes along and says " O man, my account got hacked ages ago I dont use arnies, sorry to hear but it wasnt me" there isn't really much to proof for or against.

If he did genuinely do it, he is obviously a keyboard warrior cause as much as perhaps yourself and I or myself and your other half have had disagreements or arguements, I'd find it very hard to make such a piggish comment, knowing your a pretty big ****er and I'd have a handful to deal with ;)

I'm just weary that potentially someones reputation could be tattered and his sense of security playing the game diminished to zero, for potentially something that really we cant prove he did or did not do : /

And epic fail for your man who thought it was " You lover" , someone who has clearly only played The Sims online and read MyLittlePony.com

To be fair http://www.hasbro.com/mylittlepony/en_US/ is far safer than some of the stuff on the net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Seriously.... Where are the mods? If this farce of a thread was started by anyone else it would have been closed immediately and they would have been told to keep it to Pms.

The quality of this forum is piss poor lately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

While I don't condone any type of abuse , What does this thread have to do with airsoft (as per the charter)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Locky locky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

Locky locky?

I like cake.

qJekB.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

In before the lock:D

Lemming; just got off the phone with Jeremy Kyle. He has agreed to do a special show on Friday. In the mean time he suggests we offer a great big internet group hug :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭lux-et-veritas

oh god oh god oh god oh god,, what the smeg is going on with this thread, i mean come on lads would ya not all grow up, i cant believe that this has so many replys ( i know im doing it too) when right above it is a thread that should be a serious concern to us all (ie more negative press) jeysus this is not the place for this kind of c**p, its for talking about airsoft not who said what to who and when, come on

EPIC FAIL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

It's the big pile of poo in the corner that no mod wants to touch and hope it goes away. Yet all the while its stinking out what little is left of the airsoft boards members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

no need for this thread what so ever.
    lock this.

booman.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

jesyus,theirs a lotta nice people on the airsoft boards,eh?!****in calm the
    **** down,really.nice guys..the lot o ye.im sick of the gang up on
    someone bull**** that go's on here.bye,bye
    tbh. it has nothin to do with the mods of late,
    (an he is on airsoft boards,so it does belong here.ie the guy that sent the pm)
    its the posters that are puttin people off
    posting,ohh you say what??

**** you,im gonna run you into the ground!
    and so say all of us..
    i dont think it has anything to do
    with the mods,and all to do with the posters.
    that turns everyone off from postin...........
    let the slagin of me begin......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

Just to play Devils advocate here Lemming, I fully understand what you are saying but I think you're allowing your personal anger get in the way of your better judgement on this one,

I'm not saying it's not justified but when it involves your partner the immediate reaction is to strike out in a protective manner in what ever way you can and in your case it's this tread. Regardless to weather or not the lad did it or not don't stoop to this level and then with hindsight regret it, the lad said he didn't do it and carrying it on from there and saying well it's your account is a bit unfair and I'm sure if you were not directly involved you'd be the first to say the same.

let it go the guy has apologised even though he admits someone hacked is account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Ok now every cool down go take a cold shower.
    three pages of ranting and raving locked.
    As for where are the mods? Mods are not employee's of boards.ie Ltd and therefor have personal lives. if there is a problem with something the mods are doing pm the mods in question.

Any dispute being aired please keep to pm.