Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did no one WARN ME!!!!

• 15-11-2010 12:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭

As the thread says......WHY DA FOOK DID NO ONE TELL ME PRESTIGE IS LIKE THE NAMA OF COD!!!!!!!!

As you may or may not know I am now the most AVERAGE PRESTIGE PLAYER out there...YEP....PRESTIGE LVL 8.....KUDOS...you might think...FOOK THAT :eek:

Upon clicking on the PRESTIGE button and getting some warnings about this and that (really should have read them I suppose :p) I click to become part of the "BEST OF THE BEST" to get that shiny bullet symbol next to my name that says "HERE COMES THE THUNDER".......and guess what I am robbed like a fookin tourist on holliers in SOUTH AFRICA...

MONEY - GONE
    GUNS- GONE

Not even a pair of decent boots left....ffs....LMFAO....Its the NAMA of COD, after working like a mad bastard to get a gun I think will make me UBER good, I am back running around with the default MPK5 and a "CHICKEN NUGGET" by my name.

So this is a heads up to all the new COD guys out there that never played the series before (MP):p Think before you blow the lot.....

PMSL :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Yeah, you'll get that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Don't mad coz you bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

How could I possibly be bad...I am "PRESTIGE" baby.......pmsl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Batmantastic

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Don't mad coz you bad.

This.

But, I do see the OP's frustration.. Did it actually reset your CoD points aswell?! That's jacked.

I guess the thunder came in and robbed yo wife, and yo kids, and yo moneys!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

This.
    That's jacked.

yea dawg

fo so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Batmantastic

KamiKazi wrote: »
    yea dawg

fo so

Hahahaha that is pretty jacked that they reset the money you've earned. I know that they give you custom slots but is there any other reward for prestiging then?

Na I aint sayin they a gold digga....I just sayin that Im broke broke......

Everything resets....Money the lot.....and all the slots are custom are they not. I mean you can pretty much change everything anyways so what else can there be.

Ah well, just gonna have to go down the "COD:WELFARE OFFICE" and ask for a FAMAS till I back on my feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Hercule

enfield is the best/most reliable gun in the game tbh - get that early and be happy

Yeah, I did notice that....very little recoil if I remember. Just have to open up a can of whup ass with the MPK5 I suppose....but better get cherryghost riding as shotgun. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Hercule wrote: »
    enfield is the best/most reliable gun in the game tbh - get that early and be happy

mmm not sure about that the galil is pretty dam good with the supressor

Do you actually lose damage with the supressor....does not seem like you do to me. Only the sound changes....I think its more range that gets nerfed.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

In fairness, what did you think prestige would do, give you a shiny new emblem for nothing?

That's what hax are for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Do you actually lose damage with the supressor....does not seem like you do to me. Only the sound changes....I think its more range that gets nerfed.

It is probably damage over range drops quicker (as takes 4 bullets at 50 metres instead of 60 kind of thing). Shooting someone point blank would be the same.

Earning money back is the killer you get far far less for doing the same thing....Dang I got shafted!!!!

Still, I got my FAMAS back.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Least you got a extra custom class slot :P

lmao....only cost me 55K in COD dosh and every weapon bar 4!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Before people prestige, they should spend every CodPoint on all the emblems they can buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Hecklar

haha, Hate that, I swore id never do that again after previous cod games.

What level do ya have to be at in this one to prestige? is it 50 or 75? im only a mere 30 somthin at the moment.

Yeah LVL 50 to prestige in this COD, I did not know WTF this was all about....the prestige that is. I just taught it was the next step to take and that I might lose the perks and that to make it a tad harder thats all. Fair enough taking weapons but taking the money is just pure "PIKEY-ism"

Unlocked the FAMAS again last night thanx FOOK! So at least I have something decent to fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

Do the pro versions of perks go away as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

cypharius wrote: »
    Do the pro versions of perks go away as well?

yes

Im playing absolutely crap since iv PRESTIGED.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭kk887

how about the face print? will it reset as well? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Mr Marston

AnneFrank wrote: »
    mmm not sure about that the galil is pretty dam good with the supressor

I don't know how people use the suppressor. I tried it the last two days. It takes an extra bullet or two to get what are usually classed as "long range kills".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭raheny red

Mr Marston wrote: »
    I don't know how people use the suppressor. I tried it the last two days. It takes an extra bullet or two to get what are usually classed as "long range kills".

To avoid coming up on the enemies radar........

Anyway, before you prestige and throw away all your money are you better off unlocking all the emblems on your guns before you hit prestige?

Its a pure GAME RAPE man I am telling you....everything goes. Face paint, Perks, Money. This game would SCALP ya if dandruff had a going rate!!!

Game has mad bugs still, the unlocks that come with prestige are not working for me like the unique playercards that unlock with every lvl prestige. I am lvl 22 prestige and none have unlocked for me yet :mad:

At least when I die I look good going down......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

So what happens if you don't prestige. Do you go up to level 51,52 etc?

I'll be damned if i'm giving up my M16.

No....I think you just stay lvl 50 and just keep getting money. I never played the other CODs so I am not sure.

If you play the game an awful lot just prestige you will get everything back...and if you really good at the game deffo do it as you wil be getting points left right and centre no probs. And be back with all the stuff in no time.

shawpower wrote: »
    Before people prestige, they should spend every CodPoint on all the emblems they can buy.
    raheny red wrote: »
    Anyway, before you prestige and throw away all your money, are you better off unlocking all the emblems on your guns before you hit prestige?

Guys, you lose everything when you prestige except emblems (layers, images and backgrounds).

So all guns, attachments, camo, perks, grenades, challenge progression etc that you've unlocked and bought are lost and will have to be unlocked & bought again from P1L1. Also, you lose all your COD points. You'll end up at zero funds when you start again.

So before you prestige, spend all your money on buying the layers, images and backgrounds. The layers are expensive to buy them all, and there are over 480 images and over 180 backgrounds to choose from. So make use of your COD Points before you lose it.

weiland79 wrote: »
    So what happens if you don't prestige. Do you go up to level 51,52 etc?

I'll be damned if i'm giving up my M16.

If you don't prestige, you just sit at level 50 for ever. You can work your way through all the challenges etc, and have access to every gun in the game, but your XP doesn't go anywhere and you're money eventually will become useless as you'll have nothing left to buy.

If you prestige, you have to go through the pain of levelling up again, but you get access to extra custom slots at the odd prestiges; 1,3,5,7 etc, so you can have up to 10 different weapon loadouts. You also now get access to prestige gamemodes (basically identical but only against players who have prestiged). You also get new Icons, that appear beside your gamercard in the lobby. Lastly, at the higher prestiges, you get Facepaint*, Clan Tag colours, Golden Camo for your weapons, and "Final Riddled Background" at 15 - whatever that is!? (source: http://callofduty.wikia.com/wiki/Prestige_Mode#Call_of_Duty:_Black_Ops)

Also, you get the M16 and MP5K from Level 1 by default so won't have to go without it.

* I'm not sure what difference this Facepaint is to the normal stuff you unlock at level 31... Anyone?
    :Edit: Apparently this is Face Tattoos, so I'm guessing you can get creative with them, similar to the emblems??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

I usually Prestige a few times but don't think I will in this iteration of the game. There is way too much to lose and its bloody hard to get the pro versions of the perks :eek:

I'll probably press the button when a double xp weekend come around. Anyone know when there is one due ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

claiva wrote: »
    I usually Prestige a few times but don't think I will in this iteration of the game. There is way too much to lose and its bloody hard to get the pro versions of the perks :eek:

I'll probably press the button when a double xp weekend come around. Anyone know when there is one due ?

I think its the opposite, 20/21 hours to prestige , once you know what you have to do to get pro it doesnt take that long. As for cash its easy to make , with the contracts.

claiva wrote: »

The first one in MW2 was around April when they released the first map pack. Haven't heard any dates for BOps yet. One date to keep an eye out for though is Thanksgiving; Thursday 25th November. It might feature double XP as it's a big holiday in North America. Stuff like Labor Day, and Remembrance day also had double XP, so it's possible if unlikely.

Shammy wrote: »
    I think its the opposite, 20/21 hours to prestige , once you know what you have to do to get pro it doesnt take that long. As for cash its easy to make , with the contracts.

Yeah, I'd agree with Shammy. Only 50 levels to prestige, so I don't see why you wouldn't. Get a few free custom classes at least before you settle down.

I think 20/21 might be a bit ambitious. I was speaking to a mate of mine who's prestiged twice so far. He's a pretty strong player with a k:d of about 1.8/1.9 or so. He said it's taken him just over 23 hours both times. Then again, he did say that he might have been slowed down a bit both times. The first prestige was nearly finished by launch day as he got the game 4 days early, but this meant he was in with randoms the whole time, rather than in parties. So the W/L side of things suffered. And w/l is way more important in this game than k:d due to the huge XP bonuses you can get from winning games. The second prestige happened when he was getting horrible matchmaking - lots of horrible lag games v US teams/hosts etc.

So maybe by running in strong parties and when matchmaking improves, that 20/21 hours might be possible. But I'd be happy with a 24 hour target to start with. Currently on level 38 after about 12 hours, so I'd guess I'm on target...

One other point about spending COD points before you prestige. I've just seen a video by TmarTn, where he says that custom reticles dots and custom reticle colours (dot and lens) do not reset after you prestige. So if you buy a Red Radiation Symbol reticle for the Galil, you'll have it again after you prestige when you unlock the Galil, but not for any other weapon.

That's not 100% confirmed, but could be worth spending all your excess COD points by buying all the reticles in the game, before you prestige.

That's not a bad idea in fairness, as I find some of them quite good, and an improvement on just the plain RDS...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

That's not 100% confirmed, but could be worth spending all your excess COD points by buying all the reticles in the game, before you prestige.

That's not a bad idea in fairness, as I find some of them quite good, and an improvement on just the plain RDS...

That's alota reticules if you're buying all the good ones for your favourite guns. Some ones are really good though, the triangle, and square with crosshairs spring to mind, big big improvement on the old RDS as you said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

Yeah, I'd agree with Shammy. Only 50 levels to prestige, so I don't see why you wouldn't. Get a few free custom classes at least before you settle down.

I think 20/21 might be a bit ambitious. I was speaking to a mate of mine who's prestiged twice so far. He's a pretty strong player with a k:d of about 1.8/1.9 or so. He said it's taken him just over 23 hours both times. Then again, he did say that he might have been slowed down a bit both times. The first prestige was nearly finished by launch day as he got the game 4 days early, but this meant he was in with randoms the whole time, rather than in parties. So the W/L side of things suffered. And w/l is way more important in this game than k:d due to the huge XP bonuses you can get from winning games. The second prestige happened when he was getting horrible matchmaking - lots of horrible lag games v US teams/hosts etc.

So maybe by running in strong parties and when matchmaking improves, that 20/21 hours might be possible. But I'd be happy with a 24 hour target to start with. Currently on level 38 after about 12 hours, so I'd guess I'm on target...

k/D aint everything buddy the scores we've been getting from headquarters the last few days are unreal! even anne frank ! and look at his k/D :p

joke anne dont hate me

I think 20/21 might be a bit ambitious..

Not really , i'm nearly sure it took me 22/23 hours to prestige , most games would have been mtdm , a few dom and a few hq .

Lets just say we had a strong party of 6 that played hq , i'm averaging 383 ponts per minute (i think), we could easily break the 20 hours with that.

sierra117x wrote: »
    k/D aint everything buddy the scores we've been getting from headquarters the last few days are unreal! even anne frank ! and look at his k/D :p

joke anne dont hate me

Yup Kev is ranked in the top 5 in my friends leaderboard for hq .:)

God. I'm suffering severe withdrawal symptoms. I clocked 12 hours online up to Saturday, but have only played 2 games online since then. I got stuck into the Single Player on Veteran, and that took up a lot of hours on Sunday.

So I'm gagging for some games. Didn't know HQ was that good, and with no noobtubes and reduced grenade damage, it opens this gamemode up fully as a fun gamemode. :)

I completely agree k:d isn't the most important factor in levelling up. W/L is way more important now, as is getting objectives. So I'm not surprised at Kev doing well, as he's all about the objective! :cool:

I just meant that if you could rock a 1.5 or 2:1 k/d, that on top of the other bonuses it'd be even quicker. I'm only about 1.2 at the moment, but it was improving over time.

Shammy, I knew that Dom and S&D were top dogs for XP in MW2, but good to know that HQ is now up there too.

I'll be online for a little while this evening, so hope to get into a party for a while...

sierra117x wrote: »

joke anne dont hate me

ha ha thanks for that Sierra !!!!All that matters to me is i win the games,i cap flags and get headquarters and generally stay close enough to positive in tdm,could be better though obviously !!Perhaps i should open my eyes more and lay off my medicinal green !!! :)

Yup Kev is ranked in the top 5 in my friends leaderboard for hq .:)

Thanks Sham i'm running with a good team, :)

Shammy, I knew that Dom and S&D were top dogs for XP in MW2, but good to know that HQ is now up there too.

I'll be online for a little while this evening, so hope to get into a party for a while...

The problems with dom , i find are that you run out of points , while at the start everyone seemed to play the objective , now it seems people use it like mw2 to get kills.
    With snd , only 1 person can plant /defuse a bomb and there are only 5 people to kill a round.
    With hq , everyone can capture the points, and defend. You will never see a huge difference in the points in the winning team, maybe 1,000 but the bottom person still scoring at least 3,500 xp .

The problems with dom , i find are that you run out of points , while at the start everyone seemed to play the objective , now it seems people use it like mw2 to get kills.
    With snd , only 1 person can plant /defuse a bomb and there are only 5 people to kill a round.
    With hq , everyone can capture the points, and defend. You will never see a huge difference in the points in the winning team, maybe 1,000 but the bottom person still scoring at least 3,500 xp .

It's funny. In a lot of the games I've played in Domination, I find that because of the spawns being so unpredictable, it's harder for teams to spawn trap so it means flags change hands more frequently.

What game type has the highest XP award? I use to always play demolition but realised that headquarters dwarfs it in terms of XP. Is HQ the best for XP? Cheers in advance.

Snd would be the highest , you can get sh!t loads of points depending on your skill.

AnneFrank wrote: »
    ha ha thanks for that Sierra !!!!All that matters to me is i win the games,i cap flags and get headquarters and generally stay close enough to positive in tdm,could be better though obviously !!Perhaps i should open my eyes more and lay off my medicinal green !!! :)

when we're playing an objective game id rather be the player with the 7 captures (like you there last night ) than the fella with 30+ kills .
    in saying that its my curse to kill lots . * sigh * a hard curse to bare but one i bare nonetheless:rolleyes:

Snd would be the highest , you can get sh!t loads of points depending on your skill.

depends on how you think about it though as an individual you can get huge scores on S&D. whereas in HQ as a team we've been all getting scores of 3 or 4k plus per game on average . finally you'd have to take into account how long each game can last . you can get some snappy fast games of both depending on how well your playing

Cheers. I only enjoy S&D when drunk or having a bit of craic on it with the lads, otherwise I find it boring so gonna stick with HQ where I usually get between 8,000 and 12,000 XP per game.

Fair play , thats some amount of points , the most i've gotten out of hq is 5450 xp in a game .

Are you talking about just the HQ bonus XP, or the amount you've gotten in total with Kills, challenges etc? Presume the first part...

Just what you get in game , sure with bonus's and challenges you can go 20k /30k xp depending on the ones you get.