Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you feel about pro video gamers?

• 14-11-2010 3:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭

Do you consider finding out who is the best at a strategy game a legitimate sport just like finding out who can run the fastest?
    Why don't most people find being able to make 300 tactical desions in a minute as impressive as being able to run 100m in 10 seconds. My view is that convential sports are more accessible because they are easy to understand with very basic rules so anybody can follow what's going on.

"First of all I'd like to say I have a great respect for NesTea not just because he won the tournament but because this guy had the courage to do what he wanted to do and proved he was right.I'm saying this because too many people even in Korea consider playing games is a waste of time.I, myself, was unemployed for 2 years *laughs*, bout a year and a half before I joined GOM.All I did was play games at home and my friends would say that I'm wasting my life.Well...uhm..who's laughing now ?. I asked them " Can you honestly say that you like your job " and I asked them " Do you have a fan who draws a fanart just for you ? ". That shuts them up.*

So everytime you feel ashamed of being a nerd and your friends, teachers, neighbours and even parents think gaming is a waste of time you'll remember there's no such thing as wasting life as long as you have the courage to do what you like and be passionate about it.You'll remember , if NesTea listened to all those critics he wouldn't be standing there with a trophy and you'll remember that even if you feel nobody around you supports you that I, Jay, Artosis and Tasteless, everyone in GOM will support you."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If they don't go near my Jelly Babies, live and let live!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I say fair play to them. Who knows, maybe in 100 years time pro video game playing might be the "premiership" of sports (with money to match) and sports that involve physiciality might be considered nothing more than a juvenile throwback.

(from a decreasingl-rare person who follows both video games and real sports).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Best. Job. Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Nothing wrong with it - if someone's very good at something, theres no reason they shouldn't profit from it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭[Rasta]

Im jealous of pro gamers, I wish I was one. My problem is I don't have the dedication to do repeat something for 1000s of hours. I just get bored so quickly. I generally play games until I reach a certain 'proness' within the game, if I would want to get better I would need to spend 15 hours a day gaming. But thats just a bit too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

bonerm wrote: »
    I say fair play to them. Who knows, maybe in 100 years time pro video game playing might be the "premiership" of sports (with money to match) and sports that involve physiciality might be considered nothing more than a juvenile throwback.

(from a decreasingl-rare person who follows both video games and real sports).

I don't think that will ever happen. I don't follow soccer but I watch the world cup and can understand what's going on straight away. It's not really possible in a large strategy game.

But I do hope the snobby way of looking down on gamers goes away, it's strange how someone can admire a grand master chess player but look down on a more complex game like civ5 or star craft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Lara Croft ruined my wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Virgins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

In summary, continue to be a waster and you might be enough of one to get a job out of it.

SugarHigh wrote: »
    I don't think that will ever happen. I don't follow soccer but I watch the world cup and can understand what's going on straight away. It's not really possible in a large strategy game.

But I do hope the snobby way of looking down on gamers goes away, it's strange how someone can admire a grand master chess player but look down on a more complex game like civ5 or star craft.

Then games will change and evolve into something that is easier to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

If you're skilled at something, then why not be able to become the champion in your field?

Unless it's illegal of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

When it comes to pro gaming there is Starcraft and Quake. I don't play Starcraft, but no amount of playing time would elevate me to the position of these guys. These peeps have probably been playing Quake for 13 years or so.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHo4l-qmGHI
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iPfaQJuWGvU&feature=fvw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

They work harder than most of us do at our jobs and the cash that can be earned seriously diminishes if you don't consistently come first.

It's not like players at Liverpool who rake in thousands despite playing sh*t.

You'll also find that a lot of the high ranked players aren't your stereotypical nerds (a lot are) but are simply sharp and disciplined people.

Here's an idea of what 300 actions per minute looks like. Even just try pressing random keys that fast, it's pretty hard yet this guy is pressing every key with a thought out intention and overall strategy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

Lara Croft ruined my wrist.

Was that from the controller or something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Starcraft is huge here in Korea with at least 2-3 channels dedicated to showing it 24/7. The kids adore pro-gamers and they make a fortune at it (afaik).

One of my friends likes to play it, and spends 6-7 hours a night in a pc room dedicated to gaming (of which there are thousands here). He likes to refer to it as a sport, but it's not a sport. sitting in front of a computer screen playing war games is and never shall be classed as a sport...ffs the lad is about 5ft4 and 17stone, how could he be a sports player??

Kold wrote: »
    They work harder than most of us do at our jobs and the cash that can be earned seriously diminishes if you don't consistently come first.

It's not like players at Liverpool who rake in thousands despite playing sh*t.

In fairness, to be the worst player in the premiership (let alone Liverpool) takes probably more talent, dedication and effort than most of us will ever understand.

(Ali Dia notwithstanding).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

Larkin91 wrote: »
    If you're skilled at something, then why not be able to become the champion in your field?

I'm good at ploughing.

bonerm wrote: »
    Then games will change and evolve into something that is easier to follow.

FPS games are easy to follow and The new COD game is insanely popular so I could imagine that becoming mainstream but I just don't ever see strategy games making it, even chess was kind of a niche interest.

cloneslad wrote: »
    Starcraft is huge here in Korea with at least 2-3 channels dedicated to showing it 24/7. The kids adore pro-gamers and they make a fortune at it (afaik).

One of my friends likes to play it, and spends 6-7 hours a night in a pc room dedicated to gaming (of which there are thousands here). He likes to refer to it as a sport, but it's not a sport. sitting in front of a computer screen playing war games is and never shall be classed as a sport...ffs the lad is about 5ft4 and 17stone, how could he be a sports player??

Is chess a sport or just a game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

League of Legends high ELO is fun as hell to watch.

SV wrote: »
    In summary, continue to be a waster and you might be enough of one to get a job out of it.

So is the only thing that separates a waster from someone who isn't is money?

Chess is a sport and is officially recognised by the International Olympic Committee.

So is the only thing that separates a waster from someone who isn't is money?

That doesn't quite make sense.
    I think I know what you're trying to say though, and yes, it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

Here's an idea of what 300 actions per minute looks like. Even just try pressing random keys that fast, it's pretty hard yet this guy is pressing every key with a thought out intention and overall strategy.

This is totally false. Anyone that is typing at 60+ wpm is typing well-defined, intentional keys at a faster speed than that. Strategy games come down to knowing the game as well as your native language, which is pretty sad. I think that, even though they're called "strategy games", FPS games and other games often have more strategy and dynamic thinking required.

I have as much respect for pro FPS gamers as for any other sport. Don't put words into our mouths TC... why not ask us the question instead of assuming what we think. I think it's more to do with popularity and people not knowing about it rather than people not respecting it or thinking it's stupid. Why come in loaded with stereotypes of us yourself on a mission to change our minds?

Anyway, I'm not sure about strategy games, as a lot of it comes down to "knowing what to do and being able to get it down fast". It's more like an amassing of knowledge of game mechanics and calculations... with FPS games and real life sports the game mechanics are simple and open to all, you just have to utilize them to the best of your ability.

Put it like this: If you saw a pro video of a RTS game and saw what to do, then in that situation you'd know exactly what to do and provided your opponent wasn't far more skilled than you, you'd win easily. If you saw some pro do some stuff in an FPS or a real life sport.... you still wouldn't in your wildest dreams be able to do it, you could only make a weak attempt at imitating it.

A part of the reason for the games not being as popular is complexity, as you say. People want a game where they can watch a ball going up and down the field or court for hours at a time and where they can shout obscenities at the referee and cheer when their side gets a score. Soccer is the only sport I ever watch anymore, apart from ladies tennis sometimes, I think it is a complex and strategic sport. But of course, even "nothing" spectator sports like running and jumping and darts and bowling, deserve some respect, just as videogames deserve respect, no sport is inherently ridiculous.

That doesn't quite make sense.
    I think I know what you're trying to say though, and yes, it is.
    So someone who does nothing but **** 5 times a day but then wins the lotto they stop being a waster?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Anyone who makes parallels between pro quake players and soccer players needs to think again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

no sport is inherently ridiculous.
    You've obviously never watched a speed-walking race:p

squod wrote: »
    Anyone who makes parallels between pro quake players and soccer players needs to think again.

Why? Being a pro Quake player takes more skill, talent and dedication than being a pro soccer player (only partly because there are so many pro soccer players).

Two of the original members of SK gaming are now professional footballers, I think there is another guy who became a pro basketball player. There is a large overlap between people who are good at FPS games and good at real-life sports, because they require the same type of skills of learning what works and getting incredibly good at it... unlike so-called "strategy" games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Keep it up then...you're on the right track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Why? Being a pro Quake player takes far more skill, talent and dedication than being a pro soccer player (only partly because there are so many pro soccer players).

Two of the founders of SK gaming are actually now professional footballers. There is a large overlap between people who are good at FPS games and good at real-life sports, because they require the same type of skills... unlike so-called "strategy" games.

He should watch a few Quake duels. Plenty of money to be made if you play at a pro level. Just to note, boards.ie started off as an Irish Quake forum. Don't diss de Quake.

Pro gaming is not for me though. Would not have the patience to play for hours every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

NERDS

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

I think it's funny that the second guy has an optimus keyboard. [A keyboard where the letters on the keys are replaced by the action they represent]. He obviously already knows what keys map to what! X)

I agree that rts/mmorpg games are often less tactical/strategic than fps games. A bit of cunning can often let you beat players who are faster and more accurate in fps games. I don't think that's true very often in games like starcraft or WoW.

Naikon wrote: »
    He should watch a few Quake duels. Plenty of money to be made if you play at a pro level. Just to note, boards.ie started off as an Irish Quake forum. Don't diss de Quake.

Wow, I never knew that. Yeah, Quake is the best, no other FPS game comes close to the sheer complexity and skill required for Quake. The more casual FPS games most people play nowadays have nothing on Quake.

Here's a video of the holder of the Intel Exteme Masters in Quake commentating on one of the games in the final.

Naikon wrote: »
    Pro gaming is not for me though. Would not have the patience to play for hours every day.

You'd almost definitely never make it anyway even if you played every single second for the rest of your life, nobody here would.

Some people don't seem to get it that you can't just become a great player at a complex game like Quake just by playing all day. You will be toast, ESPECIALLY in Quake. It doesn't matter how much you play... there will be thousands of players that could easily beat you. If it depended just on practice it wouldn't be worth anything.

Also, all of the world champion quake players, are quite physically fit. You don't have any fatties on the world stages of Quake, they just wouldn't have the reaction speed, accuracy, or the wellbeing to compete at the highest level.

in my opinion, which is what you're asking, no it's not a sport. If you can sit down for the entire length of the game and exert no physical energy, then it's not a sport.

If you are giving chess a status of sport then you will have to give scrabble, connect 4, monopoly and tiddly winks the status too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Why? Being a pro Quake player takes more skill, talent and dedication than being a pro soccer player (only partly because there are so many pro soccer players).

Two of the original members of SK gaming are now professional footballers, I think there is another guy who became a pro basketball player. There is a large overlap between people who are good at FPS games and good at real-life sports, because they require the same type of skills of learning what works and getting incredibly good at it... unlike so-called "strategy" games.

Pretty much my point. The 'are now' part is the clincher. They got old, slowed down, then played ball games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

cloneslad wrote: »

Clearly you've never watched pro darts games.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Clearly you've never watched pro darts games.

Andy fordham...legend till he lost all the weight :)

darts is a pub sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I'd do it if I could, the guys who play in LAN competitions rake in thousands from ad sponsorship and deals with graphics cards companies and controller manufacturers for using their products. Theres a whole community of people who play Call of Duty and Battlefield and the like online with their own youtube channels (even a few boardsies do) and its a great way to learn how to play the games and improve your own skill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

We see esports already has a huge following over in Korea and I think it's only a matter of time before it becomes a more widely recognised and respected form of sport. You have organisations like MLG that have tournaments in America and have a pretty substantial fan base. I don't understand why people are so against the idea, why already have things like Poker being played at a profesional level and there is huge money to be made, how is esports any different?

So someone who does nothing but **** 5 times a day but then wins the lotto they stop being a waster?

Did they gain the money through **** 5 times a day?

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Keep it up then...you're on the right track.

Hello Mr Gamer, please..continue to do what you do. You contribute to society oh so much :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Vargulf

Hello Mr Gamer, please..continue to do what you do. You contribute to society oh so much :D
    Says yer man with 6000+ posts.

seanbmc wrote: »
    We see esports already has a huge following over in Korea and I think it's only a matter of time before it becomes a more widely recognised and respected form of sport. You have organisations like MLG that have tournaments in America and have a pretty substantial fan base. I don't understand why people are so against the idea, why already have things like Poker being played at a profesional level and there is huge money to be made, how is esports any different?

Marketing...

That and accessibility - any group can get together for a game of poker and banter. eSports is the highest level of gaming so more serious (less banter). With poker, you can hit a lucky hand (soccer, you can get rewarded for effort, etc) - eSport titles are less forgiving.

MLG is doing well with sponsorship deals and Korea is a no-brainer. Gotta put the ground work in first though before being massive.....a lot of organisations were going for the quick buck and instant gratification.

🤪

SuperInfinity your idea of simply watching what a strategy player does in a certain situation and then just copying him is pretty dumb. There are 10^123 game trees in chess which is more than the number if planets in the universe, good look memorising them all:D

It's also been said that no two game if "Go" are the same out of all the millions played.

Vargulf wrote: »
    Says yer man with 6000+ posts.

Right?

Not sure if you know how this concept of time and averages works but..yeah
    doesn't really stop me working or contributing to society though! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I dont understand how people can find the time to play computer games tbh
    I've got nothing against them and used to love playing the playstation but you have to spend hours upon hours at a game, and often end up staying up way too late. There's not a hope in hell I could do that now what with having to work and do general jobs that need doing every evening

Some people have time to play games...some do not - just like any hobby. For example, some people watch the X Factor 2 (?) hours a week, others play games. Some people do not have the time for hobbies because of other commitments.

Most pro players are very young - "retirement" usually comes in mid-20s. Mainly because there isn't enough structure so it is more of a risk to depend on it as you gain commitments rather than when you are young and have the novel chance to travel around the world, meet new people with a common interest and play video games.

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Right?

Not sure if you know how this concept of time and averages works but..yeah
    doesn't really stop me working or contributing to society though! ;)

Pro gamers do work, hence the whole "pro" part of it, they get paid for what they do. Thats like saying a pro footballer is a waster as all he does is kick a ball around a field for 90 mins a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

The commentator loses it at the end, but the skill and nerves it takes to do that in the semi-final of the biggest tournament in the world when one mistake will cost you the match is something to be admired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Biggins wrote: »
    If they don't go near my Jelly Babies, live and let live!

*steals Jelly Babies*

If you can get paid to do something you really love then more power to you.