Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England vs Australia

• 13-11-2010 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭

England looking more like a 3N team at the moment which puts a sour taste in my mouth how their coaches are being more positive then our ones.

Scored a great try there. Ashton does what he does and scores a brilliant team try. 10-0 England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I hate how all the games are clashing. Would have loved to watch this live.

Keep us updated if you don't mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I hate how all the games are clashing. Would have loved to watch this live.

Keep us updated if you don't mind!

Im doing my best to switch between each games but this one seems to be the more appealing one so far. Mainly because it has a great atmosphere with a full house :p

JOC finally kicks 3 after 4 attempts. 10-3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

O'Connor finally nails one.

This is a f*cking cracker of a game. Ben Youngs best SH in Europe. 90 meter break should have been a try but Giteau does a professional foul and gets YC. Then Flood goes for a quick cross kick which he lands perfectly for the try but Joubert calls it back. Flood is having a mosnter game.

Yellow for Giteau after a superb run and kick from Youngs. England with a kick to make it 16-3 now.

Wow, 16-6 at halftime! Fair play England.

Wow, 16-3 at halftime! Fair play England.

Nah 16-6. Aus got a penalty at the end of the half.

Hard to see how Australia can come back if England keep this up. They're not in this match at all. England making ground with every carry and blowing Australia away in the rucks.

This would be always be the Aussie problem they'v no really giant in there backline that can give them a solid go forward ball to calm things down. Croft being doing well as ever.

Flood penalty

19-6

Sorry Thomond not sure whether you meant to post that in here or not but could you please not post updates from other matches in here? I've got the other two on record for later:)

Feck meant to post that in the general thread. Sorry! :o

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

Incredible try for Ashton there. Off an England counter-attack from their own try line:eek:

F*ck me that was the best try iv seen all year. 100 meter try by Europes best winger Ashton:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

Super Duper try!...in shock here really fancied the Aussie's

If all matches were like this one rugby would be the number one sport in the world :eek:

**** sake, why is this game clashing? :(

Incredible scoreline: 26-6!!

**** sake, why is this game clashing? :(

Incredible scoreline: 26-6!!

29-13 Beale scored a great chip through.

Nothing but attack from both sides. Great 10 minute spell of attack by both sides which Aus ended up scoring off.

Can't wait for Tuesday now.

This is unreal. People shouldn't be wasting their time on Ireland watch this brilliant game.

England look shattered at the moment.

Stev_o wrote: »
    England look shattered at the moment.

Yeah losing their shape a bit. Probably time for them to make a substitution or two now.

Beale gets in at the corner. 29-18

Another brilliant break by Cueto. Coopers trying to legally change his name to Queue Turnstills.

England 35-18. Will move up to 4th on the World rankings. Fantastic game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Very good display from England. Youngs, Lawes, Hartley all outstanding. Starting to look good in the run up to the 6N. Also very impressed with Cueto, who seems to have rediscovered himself as an attacking heads up player as opposed to a kicking drone and very, very impressed with Hape's performance at twelve. Seems that England are finally starting to come of age a little and are finally getting continuity in terms of squad and selection. I'd imagine South Africa will hold few fears for them next week.

On a completely different note; RIP the scrum, its official, now merely a means of restarting the game. Not a single completed scrum in 80 minutes of international rugby union. Has this ever happened in the history of the game??

Highlights of this on BBC3 tonight at 7:15 and repeated at 4pm on BBC2 tommorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Watching these highlights now - this is a cracker of a game.

Ashton's 100m try....just wow.

England are so far ahead of the other Home Nations at the moment it's frightening. It looks like Johnson has finally delivered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Crash wrote: »
    Watching these highlights now - this is a cracker of a game.

If only the commentator wasn't so annoying.

Morf wrote: »
    If only the commentator wasn't so annoying.

I recognise his voice, was he on Setanta before?

I can't wait for the day when someone drops the ball after doing the finger waving in the air.

Animal pace and step from Ashton. None of our wingers could do that.

Biggest difference between Ireland and England is their mentality. Any of our scrum halves (particularly TOL) would have box kicked after the turnover. Brilliant hands from Lawes to Ashton and then....BOOM.

Scary that they beat the Wallabies so comprehensively considering the mauling the Wallabies gave Wales last week.

England have the Scots and Argentina in their world cup group. In their present form they should dispose of those two and then meet NZ/France (likely France) in the quarters. Definitely dark horses for the World Cup IMO.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

A serious performance by England. Played with unreal confidence - they felt they were going to win from the get go - and apart from losing their shape for 10-15 mins in the second half they looked the real deal. Not looking forward to the 6N's this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Jesus, that try from Ashton was outrageous! From desperately defending your own line to scoring a try like that is something else. England and Johnson have copped a lot of flak over the past few seasons but it looks like they're really hitting form now. Not only hitting form but looking dangerous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

You can't really see it in that clip but what I liked most about that clip was the joy on Ashton's face the minute he got ball in space. Absolutely burnt a very quick Oz back three as well.

If England could find a world class 13 to replace hands like feet Tindall and keep improving at the same level they can win the World Cup.

Yeah I said it, its out there. I feel so dirty now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

the way lawes drew the men before passing was very good too.

it looks such a simple thing to do but is regularly messed up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

You can't really see it in that clip but what I liked most about that clip was the joy on Ashton's face the minute he got ball in space. Absolutely burnt a very quick Oz back three as well.

If England could find a world class 13 to replace hands like feet Tindall and keep improving at the same level they can win the World Cup.

Yeah I said it, its out there. I feel so dirty now.

Nah, just a flash in the pan. I always thought England might stop the Aussies again but not in this sort of fashion. There's only going to be one winner of the World Cup and they still haven't reached anything like their full awesome potential. :D

sbw14-11-415.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

There's only going to be one winner of the World Cup and they still haven't reached anything like their full awesome potential. :D

They were in same boat in '91, 95, 99 and 2007 ('03 wasn't their strongest side, in my opinion).
    There'll be colossal pressure on that team, just like the previous teams.

Don't count your chooks before they hatch, JD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Has Johnson finally turned England around and developed a gameplan for the new rules? Unlike someone else I could mention...

Slighlty off topic and I know Scotland were hammered but at least they tried to offload in the tackle. Was there one offload from an Irish player on Saturday.

The more Ireland's ineptitude develops the more one gets the sneaking suspicion that the GS2009 was a case of good fortune and less to do with fantastic coaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

JustinDee wrote: »
    They were in same boat in '91, 95, 99 and 2007 ('03 wasn't their strongest side, in my opinion).
    There'll be colossal pressure on that team, just like the previous teams.

Don't count your chooks chokes before they hatch, JD.

FYP!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

Slighlty off topic and I know Scotland were hammered but at least they tried to offload in the tackle. Was there one offload from an Irish player on Saturday.

Cronin gave a nice offload to SOB, i think.

That Ashton try though, that was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Scary that they beat the Wallabies so comprehensively considering the mauling the Wallabies gave Wales last week.

You must have been watching a different Wales vs Australia game than I saw. Australia were 'mauled' in the scrum by Wales but because they had a potent backline and Wales were toothless behind the scrum they won but they certainly didn't maul Wales.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Highlights on BBC2 at 16:00 or so.

Nah, just a flash in the pan. I always thought England might stop the Aussies again but not in this sort of fashion. There's only going to be one winner of the World Cup and they still haven't reached anything like their full awesome potential. :D

sbw14-11-415.jpg

They'll beat SA and win the 6N's and probably a Grand Slam. Look at how far they've come in 12 months, if they improve at the same rate over the next 12 then they are no flash in the pan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

I thought they would beat us yesterday but that it would be a close run thing.

You can only bow down when you are blown off the field like the Aussies were yesterday.

The game has become so brutal now. The speed of all the players and the impact and aggression at the contest area is frightening now.

England are well and truly on the rise. Where I have a great begrudging admiration for them now is that you can clearly see the path they set out on after the 6N.

It shows how quickly you can get a team humming if you have a direct and focussed plan.

If they keep building like this then they will be more than a healthy outside bet for the next WC.

As for The Aussies. Soft underbelly exposed again. We don't have the gorillas to play physical rugby 5 weeks in a row. Never helps when you miss near enough half your tackles. Still building but perhaps will end up one or two key forwards short next year.

The tight 5 woes are well documented.

9/10 lack of composure is an issue that can be sorted out with experience. I'd start Barnes at 12 to take all the pressure off Cooper.

Elsom, wonderful player, is a terrible captain though. Seems to go out of his way to antagonise the ref at the start of every game and then complains when the 50/5o decisions go against him. Would have reservations about his decision making too.

England 14 /1 for the WC :rolleyes:. SA were 16/1 last time

The tight 5 woes are well documented.

9/10 lack of composure is an issue that can be sorted out with experience. I'd start Barnes at 12 to take all the pressure off Cooper.

Elsom, wonderful player, is a terrible captain though. Seems to go out of his way to antagonise the ref at the start of every game and then complains when the 50/5o decisions go against him. Would have reservations about his decision making too.

England 14 /1 for the WC :rolleyes:. SA were 16/1 last time

They should be contenders. I think they should replace Tindall though he performed pretty well yesterday. Cueto's and Easter's performances defied belief. I had them as two of the least threatening players in the squad. Hopefully they rediscover their snail like pace in time for the six nations.

Tindall possibly has the worst hands of any outside back playing professional rugby at the moment. He looks so bloody uncomfortable with ball in hand. He's very physical and his D is solid but if they want to progress to the next level they need to find a replacement and fast.

Cueto is easily forgotten, not big not that fast but the guy just doesn't make any mistakes. Ben Youngs is pure class.

Good luck to them if they keep playing rugby like that I'll be cheering for them when they're not playing Ireland.