Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mad things you'd get up to in school.

• 13-11-2010 2:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭

Letting off stinkbombs in the hall was a favourite.I let some off one day and the principal called a meeting to try and find out who was responsible.Happy days.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Egging and flouring a birthday boy/girl....Loads of trouble in secondary school over stuff like that....all the people that would have home ec that day would be called in to be questioned!!!! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭mp22

darkdubh wrote: »
    Letting off stinkbombs in the hall was a favourite.I let some off one day and the principal called a meeting to try and find out who was responsible.Happy days.
    In the olden days a meeting with the head generally involved a cane (they were to be avoided at all costs)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Being learned proper.........:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

At a given signal we'd all remove our jumpers simultaneously..not against the rules but the teachers hated it because it implied advance planning and malice.

Other times we'd move our desks forward a couple of feet so that when the teacher came in he'd be squashed agianst the blackboard by the first row of desks.

Somebody took the screws out of the teachers stool once in 3rd year,when he leaned back the wooden part fell off and he clobbered the back of his skull off the rim of the blackboard..he then staggered out of the class in search of help while the rest of us feigned concern.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

Freebasing cocaine in the jacks.

Ah...happy days.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

smuggling in porno mags, when such "filth" was banned in holy catholic ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

fryup wrote: »
    smuggling in porno mags, when such "filth" was banned in holy catholic ireland
    In secondary school we went one up on that.We had an hour study time every week where the class would be left alone in a room.There was a VCR and tv in the room and some bright spark brought in a hardcore porn video one day which the whole class watched.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,533 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I have a vague memory of primary school where we would throw plastic sticky worm/centipede things in the air and they would stick to the ceiling.
    Some of them would stay stuck there for months before finally falling down at some random moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

We were in a boarding school with notoriously narrow corridors in the dorms and we used to play 'rugby' which usually involved four people running at each other as fast as they could with no room to get out of the way........we didn't even have a ball..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Ciaramb92

Wetting tissue and throwing it on the bathroom ceilings.. can't remember the name of them..!

Setting up a little shop in 1st class and later 3rd class. Got into trouble the second time with the principal (who remembered me doing it in 1st class, though I didn't know she knew). Had to give everyone the money back..! :P

The rivalry we had with the school across the road (this was in Northern Ireland, it was a protestant school) and the joint sports days we had to have!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Ditching school and smoking joints in the bathroom and then going back to class stoned out of my head laughing frantically in the teachers face (thought I was so badass :rolleyes:) so embarrassing now. :o

Being in art class and and getting this really sticky tape and putting it on my friend Jack's eyebrows and then him ripping it off and being left with a smooth forehead :D I had to colour his eyebrows in with my eye pencil :D

Pushing my math teachers car across the school carpark and hiding it behind a tractor and then watching him look for it haha!

Too many things to write down but so many memories :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

The school got white boards and temporary markers.

I happened to spot the exact same markers in a shop except the ones I saw were permanent markers.

I bought a few of them and swapped the refills around. Was great fun to see the teachers try to wipe the board after using the modded markers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If you finished your work early you were to put your arms on the desk and lay your head down and stay quiet

Of course the same teacher would shove you and give out when you fell asleep :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭evillive

a pal of mine from secondary school get to gether for pints 2/3 times a year and invariably the conversation turns to the old days and we end up in tears of laughter - now the class wasnt agressive or smart per se - but we did give the teachers a bit of a hard time

one class had this timber box about 6' wide, 6' long and no more that a foot high, with a table and chair that the teacher would teach from - one of the lads didnt fancy class that days so climbed in till breaktime - in there for 2 classes with the teacher sitting above his head and at the mercy of the rest of us - respect to the guy though, i think they guys name was ken - all we did was kept saying - 'where's ken' 'i'm sure ken is around somewhere' we pissed ourselves

or the fights with the plastic bags of milk - perfect if you just hit the wall right and sprayed everyone - of course if it was you who got soaked by the end of the day your army surplus parka smelled to high heaven of sour milk

i remember lighting a pals arse with a lighter when he was reading, great fun til the next day when he returned the favour by sticking a lighter to my hair and setting my beavis and butthead mullet or whatever it was up in smoke

we used to have these 6/8 person long desks at the back of the class and everynow and then everyone 20+ would pile up from one side squashing some poor unfortunate up against the wall

dossing was out of the question for me as my old man worked directly across the road from the place :(

kids these days wouldnt survive that stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Sticking a mop or toilet roll down the toilet and flushing the toilet repeatly

Pushing the metal pencil cases off the top off the table onto a tiled floor

Pee shooting bits of paper to the ceiling

Fireing big blobs of soggy toilet roll to the celing.

Sticking chewing gum to the teachers chair

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭Imbatman

robbing a travellers pony and riding him straight through the main corridor and out the back door,not the brightest thing to do we had the travellers and the teachers out for our blood but they couldnt prove it,we had cut holes in our wollen caps to hide our identity,balaclavas with pom poms,oh the shame:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Cutting the bottom off people's school bags (usually those United, Liverpool or Arsenal bags) with a craft /Stanley knife and leaving it back in place so the bottom came off and everything fell out when the person picked up the bag to walk off.

Melting pens and rulers with a Bunsen burner and trying to stick them to the wall in science

Having a "game" where the last lad out of the school gates got a hiding from everybody. Cue much holding back of people and jostling at the gates.

Letting off fire alarms

Bringing a load of bricks to school from a building site once and building a pyramid on the nun's desk and feigning complete innocence when she saw it. Quite a surreal one that, in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 retro child

in crumlin cbs we would play ball in the yard. tere was a stairs leading down to a door surrounded buy a railings in the yard!!

if you kicked the ball and it whent down the pit god help you!!!

the spit pit as we called it, some times we would lock the gate and the fella couldnt get out, what we didnt do to you down in that pit , spits, cans of coke, half eatin sambos all landing on your head, ya the good owl days in cbs crumlin!!

wouldnt happen now days but it made you hard!! lol :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Pivot Eoin

There was a hole in the wall between two classrooms in our school, probable about half a foot in width. It was quite lowdown and at the bcak left corner of the class under the desk. When we were in 6th year business, the first years were usually next door. We used to grab their legs and try pull it through the whole for the craic!

Great times!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

stovelid wrote: »
    Cutting the bottom off people's school bags (usually those United, Liverpool or Arsenal bags) with a craft /Stanley knife and leaving it back in place so the bottom came off and everything fell out when the person picked up the bag to walk off.

Melting pens and rulers with a Bunsen burner and trying to stick them to the wall in science

Having a "game" where the last lad out of the school gates got a hiding from everybody. Cue much holding back of people and jostling at the gates.

Letting off fire alarms

Bringing a load of bricks to school from a building site once and building a pyramid on the nun's desk and feigning complete innocence when she saw it. Quite a surreal one that, in fairness.

Weird.... I think you were in my class...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Weird.... I think you were in my class...

Nah, you just went to an 80s working class school. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭hamlet1

we had three rows of desks and each row would hum in turn just to drive the nun mad.
    we had a lovely but very innocent maths teacher and a new girl from the usa.she used sit in class with a ton of sudocreme on her face cos she had an ""allergy"".great fun till the head walked in and saw her!

pushing those metal geomtry boxes off the desk was always fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Remember some lad brought a litre bottle of vodka in during 1st year and gave us all some in our water bottles,first time most of us were ever drunk and none of the teachers twigged it,I distinctly remember being in Irish and laughing my head off at the funny accents on the tape we used to answer questions from,was langers drunk!

In 2nd or 3rd year all of us ''mathematicaly challenged'' kids were seperated from the good students and were given this rotten bastard christian brother for a teacher who had no interest in trying to teach us and just roared at us about manners during every class.

We all got sick of him fairly quickly,so the whole class just decided to hide whenever we had a class with him,was very funny watching him look for us and slowly get angrier and angrier as the days passed,principal eventually found us and lo and behold we had a new maths teacher 3 days later,reckon they couldn't trust the auld codger with us after that!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Crazy mad stuff.

changing the sticks of chalk for fizzle sticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

throwing rubber stoppers and whiteboard markers at an old **** of a teacher while he was writing on the blackboard. This might seem scummy but in the days of corporal punishment he was a particularly brutal man, my mates dad told us how he walloped a lads head off the radiator in the classroom once.... I he deserved what he got.

One day a lad got a mechanical drawing compass and walloped the wall beside him (purposely missing)... small payback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭mandyarms

Putting all the footballs in the toilets...innocent times :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Dark Phoenix

humming in groups so when one group got caught and stopped the others took over so the teacher spent ages tryingto find the real culprit.

one of the girls discovered how to lock the class room doors from the outside so she would do that and we would all innocently say we couldn't get into class meaning the teacher went off to get the keys and we got another few minutes of doing feck all.

compiling lists of things that did and didnt burn using the bunsen burner

siffing tippex not because it actually made you high but because it drove the adults mad

at least once a year some lad would super glue the front gates of the school shut

there was a group of girls in PE who would cover their mouths with their jumper and spray deodorant down their thoat. It left a manky white stain on their jumper and seemed to do something for them but it didnt for me

• Registered Users Posts: 7,674 ✭✭✭DirtyBollox

years ago on a weekend someone put their own lock and chain around the school gates. cue traffic jam as people cant get in for a while on monday morning.

next weekend everyone had a go. there was the U bike locks the curly bikelocks, normal chains with chubb locks on them and much more. took them about 4 hours to cut and snip all the locks off and get us into school. the next weekend they had cameras put up watching up and dow the street, both sides of the gate and up and down the school drive.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

There was a brand of ****ty combination lock that loads of people used for their lockers. It was a piece of piss to open them, just pull on the lock while twiddling the dials from 1 to 1000 (and most people locked them with just a slight clockwise turn anyway). We took a couple of dozen of them off one day and swapped them around. Mass panic.

Then there was the Reverend with his 2CV which we managed to lift up and carry to the middle of the hurling pitch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Turning the desks around, facing away from the teacher (never did it myself though)