Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bailout megathread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Covered on Bloomberg too.

Cheerio Croke Park deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Cheerio low corporation tax?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

tunney wrote: »
    Cheerio Croke Park deal.

I think you'll be dissapointed with the changes that are implemented though. For some of the begrudging people who are fixated with seeing their neighbour Pat the Guard and Mary Teacher's pay cut. I'd say they will be quite disappointed with the result.

It will still be the government deciding which cuts to choose out of the list.

That old saying be careful what you wish for applies here i think. examine your own circumstances and be weary.

changes wrote: »
    I think you'll be dissapointed with the changes that are implemented though. For some of the begrudging people who are fixated with seeing their neighbour Pat the Guard and Mary Teacher's pay cut. I'd say they will be quite disappointed with the result.

That old saying be careful what you wish for applies here i think. examine your own circumstances and be weary.

Would the budget still have to be around 6 billion if we get a bailout?

How can a 15 billion adjustment be made without touching PS pay and pensions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Anyone know what we can expect from this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭OMD

mathie wrote: »
    Cheerio low corporation tax?

Why would the Croke Park deal go (within the next year). The budget is done at this stage and 6 billion cuts are planned. This will probably worsen the economy even more than it is at the moment. Why would further cuts be imposed this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Are you happy about this? Or was that a mistyped smiley?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

the real begrudging people are the public servants who have this sense of self entitlement that means we have the best paid police /teachers in Europe the least efficient police/teachers in Europe. everybody knows that the croke park deal is in its death throws and i have no doubt that our politicians will when they have someone else to take the rap ie imf be quite happy to help it on its way , the alternative would not be acceptable to irish people or europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

The govt should have made some real cuts 2 years ago, maybe then this wouldn't be happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

if its true then thats 17-19 grand per person here

cheerio Europe :D I for one welcome our new overlords :P

I wonder how Merkel feels about bailing out the Brian's who probably earn more than her ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

Can we quit with the "begrudging" crap. My sister is a teacher and my brother is in the civil service. I don't remember either of them being called begrudgers when they wanted benchmarking. It seemed fair back then that the PS should get the benefit from the good economy. To suggest that it is fair that they adapt to the bad economy as well is not begrudging.

Can we please stop with the public/private stuff

anyways this gives us a longer rope to hang ourselves with, rounds of champagne and cheese anyone:D

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    Can we please stop with the public/private stuff

anyways this gives us a longer rope to hang ourselves with, rounds of champagne and cheese anyone:D

Where are you getting the rumours from? Besides a twitter page. Is it this EU statement people are talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

I really hope this is not true.

We are so close to collapse/reform now.

This would be like stabbing us through the heart at the final hurdle:(

OMD wrote: »
    Where are you getting the rumours from? Besides a twitter page. Is it this EU statement people are talking about

dont shoot the messenger, there are discussions now on other sites like thepin, bloomberg and irisheconomy.ie all on this subject

if this is true then this forum is the place to discuss any implications of this bailout.

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    dont shoot the messenger, there are discussions now on other sites like thepin, bloomberg and irisheconomy.ie all on this subject

if this is true then this forum is the place to discuss any implications of this bailout.

No I mean what is the basis for the rumour? Where is it coming from? Has the source any credibility?

Germany, France and the UK are to make a joint statement......, so Fianna Fail..."The Republican Party".....have managed to give the UK a say in running Irish affairs after hundreds of years of fighting lol

just an observation

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

you left out the main one, sheer Irish greed.

If all of this can be smashed to smithereens, I for one will welcome it.

10 year bonds now 7.15%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

If that's the case, then I'll be the first to celebrate.

Surely a bailout means the gravy train is just going to continue?

We need to collapse first, then get a bailout, non?

Pardon my ignorance but wouldn't a bailout from the EU extend all that stuff you mention above and not put an end to it?

No I mean what is the basis for the rumour? Where is it coming from? Has the source any credibility?

I dunno :) just seen the chatter this morning

anyways maybe the lads at Dept. Of Finance are fooling about spreading rumours in order to pushdown the rate /tinfoilhatoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭FergusF

According to a 'spokesman for the Dept of Finance' that is...not sure if this is a reliable source, surely if some sort of deal was being hammered out the gov't would want to keep it quiet until it was signed...

Reuters link here http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSWLA789520101112

It would appear that the ambiguity of the default on bondholder debt might have been the reason for the rapid increase in Irish spreads.

Merkel's statement clarified that any default on bondholder debt would only apply to debt taken on in the future, and not current debt.
    This clarification appears to have calmed the markets.

Or maybe I'm reading this wrong?

Thanks.

So the gubberment can say 'Sure it wasn't us who cut your social welfare it was dem evil lads in Europe.'

They're like cornered rats now.

mathie wrote: »
    Thanks.

So the gubberment can say 'Sure it wasn't us who cut your social welfare it was dem evil lads in Europe.'

They're like cornered rats now.

Yeh thats why IMF have such a reputation, the people who ****ed up the countries they have to sort out endup blaming them, same will happen here with respect to whoever bails us out. Hmm didnt Morgan Kelly write about rise of Euroscepticism? we already have people blaming europe for everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

I'm afraid that at this point we can expect a new rumour every day - we've had "rumoured IMF bailout", we've had "rumoured inability of Irish banks to get overnight deposits", now we have "rumoured EU bailout".

Eventually something will be true, but it's hardly worth hopping around like mice on a griddle until then.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Scofflaw wrote: »
    I'm afraid that at this point we can expect a new rumour every day - we've had "rumoured IMF bailout", we've had "rumoured inability of Irish banks to get overnight deposits", now we have "rumoured EU bailout".

Eventually something will be true, but it's hardly worth hopping around like mice on a griddle until then.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

I heard it was Cowen in the library with the candle stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

Ireland is in the headlines in Germany, here is an article (in english) in Germany's most influential magazine:

http://www.spiegel.de/international/europe/0,1518,728582,00.html

cordially,
    Scofflaw

The EU statement seems to be doing the trick though (at least a bit)
    10 year bonds now 6.43% (down from 7.15% a half hour ago and 9% yeaterday)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭NewDirection

Where are you getting these figures from?
    Link please

Where are you getting these figures from?
    Link please
    http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/quote?ticker=GIGB10YR:IND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭NewDirection

Does that not say the bonds are at 8.3% or am I being stupid?

Would help if you read the right number, 8.3%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

The actual figure is 8.326%. You are reading it wrong. The reduction in the rate is 6.406% from it's high.

yes they were at 9% yesterday

rumour or no rumour it seems to have knocked things down

the question is for how long? before the bears return to savage ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

tunney wrote: »
    Would help if you read the right number, 8.3%

leave him alone, its one d brians , dr not good with figures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Already mentioned

Sorry. Read figure at top of page

cordially,
    Scofflaw

best post on this thread.

It is one downside in this age of "instant media" that when "information" is divulged, speculation becomes rife.

……………………………………..________
    ………………………………,.-‘”……………….“~.,
    ………………………..,.-”……………………………..“-.,
    …………………….,/………………………………………..”:,
    …………………,?………………………………………………\,
    ………………./…………………………………………………..,}
    ……………../………………………………………………,:`^`..}
    ……………/……………………………………………,:”………/
    …………..?…..__…………………………………..:`………../
    …………./__.(…..“~-,_…………………………,:`………./
    ………../(_….”~,_……..“~,_………………..,:`…….._/
    ……….{.._$;_……”=,_…….“-,_…….,.-~-,},.~”;/….}
    ………..((…..*~_…….”=-._……“;,,./`…./”…………../
    …,,,___.\`~,……“~.,………………..`…..}…………../
    …………(….`=-,,…….`……………………(……;_,,-”
    …………/.`~,……`-………………………….\……/\
    ………….\`~.*-,……………………………….|,./…..\,__
    ,,_……….}.>-._\……………………………..|…………..`=~-,
    …..`=~-,_\_……`\,……………………………\
    ……………….`=~-,,.\,………………………….\
    …………………………..`:,,………………………`\…………..__
    ……………………………….`=-,……………….,%`>–==“
    …………………………………._\……….._,-%…….`\
    ……………………………..,< `.._|_,-&``................`\

hinault wrote: »
    best post on this thread.

It is one downside in this age of "instant media" that when "information" is divulged, speculation becomes rife.

Thats the world we live in

And since our finances are in such a sorry state (thank you FF :rolleyes:) we are at the mercy of speculators

We either acknowledge and discuss these events or bury our heads in sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

That's really an amazing indictment of the rational markets view, given that was already the case.

not actually amazed really,
    Scofflaw

That's really an amazing indictment of the rational markets view, given that was already the case.

not actually amazed really,
    Scofflaw

No sorry. I misquoted the rate. It is down to 8.3%