Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do girls think it's easy for guys to get laid at clubs?

• 11-11-2010 4:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 elpipe

I am talking about an average guy going to a club, chat up a stranger, taking her home and have sex with her. Do you think that is easy to do?

And please say if you are a guy or a girl if you answer.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

How is this a PI for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 elpipe

Oryx wrote: »
    How is this a PI for you?

Well, girls seem surprised at how few girls I have slept with and I sense that they think "hmm, I wonder what's wrong with him".

Or do you know somewhere else I should post this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

a lot of girls i know complain that guys dont approach them- i hate how its "expected" that the bloke should do this. i dont know about others but ive always found it quite difficult to try chat up complete strangers. varying degrees of success. i find a lot of girls just arent approachable and some can be complete b*tches even if youre completely friendly and polite and then go off an complain. it takes balls to approach strangers and is no easy thing to do (for me anyway)

if girls think you have a problem cos you havent slept with many, in their eyes, they are the ones with the isse. sound like a bunch of skanks to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Speaking from a girls perspective, I'd be far too shy to chat up a guy, admitately I always let him do the approaching, merely because I'd be freaked by rejection if Im being honest, and secondly because I'd feel really silly doing it. Having said that Ive made eye contact before to look more friendlier, but thats about it really with strangers. Obviously if Im at a house party or whatever Id strike up conversation if it was a group setting or one on one. But I guess it shyness really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Speaking from a girls perspective, I'd be far too shy to chat up a guy, admitately I always let him do the approaching, merely because I'd be freaked by rejection if Im being honest, and secondly because I'd feel really silly doing it. Having said that Ive made eye contact before to look more friendlier, but thats about it really with strangers. Obviously if Im at a house party or whatever Id strike up conversation if it was a group setting or one on one. But I guess it shyness really.

Pics or GTFO

This sounds suspiciously like the "How do you get laid" bloke. The one that wanted a 10 step program..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Sykk wrote: »
    Pics or GTFO

What?

sorry mods if thats off topic, but I actually dont know what the above poster means?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Ah. Welcome to After Hours.
    You may assume the position........now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Depends upon the girl. Everyone is different. I'm not into one night stands with randomers. When I go to pub, club, or bar, its to be with friends, and if there's a good DJ or live band, then to dance. So if they are like me, save your one-liners and free drinks for someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I often find myself laid in nightclubs. Especially if sambuca or aftershock is involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

In general, Ive found Irish women very unapproachable.

Perhaps its the culture or whatnot but talking to a foreign girl is so much more comfortable as they are not so quick to shoot you down because of the ego game etc. They are very welcoming and will have a great conversation with you even if theyre not interested...as opposed to the Irish way of making you feel like a right tit to inflate their own worth.

Ive traveled and lived in all corners of the globe and take it from me, Irish women, for the most part, are nothing but dolls. Some are beautiful to look at but hallow inside. There is no sex appeal whatsoever and the longer you stay in Ireland, the more you start to see this self-righteous, holier than thou attitude attractive.

I suggest you approach a foreign woman, OP. Much happier girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Ah. Welcome to After Hours.
    You may assume the position........now.
    Ive been here yonks.You said I wouldnt have to do that anymore :(

What?

sorry mods if thats off topic, but I actually dont know what the above poster means?

Was a joke, your post wasn't off topic :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Perhaps its the culture or whatnot but talking to a foreign girl is so much more comfortable as they are not so quick to shoot you down because of the ego game etc. They are very welcoming and will have a great conversation with you even if theyre not interested...as opposed to the Irish way of making you feel like a right tit to inflate their own worth.

Ive traveled and lived in all corners of the globe and take it from me, Irish women, for the most part, are nothing but dolls. Some are beautiful to look at but hallow inside. There is no sex appeal whatsoever and the longer you stay in Ireland, the more you start to see this self-righteous, holier than thou attitude attractive.

Prepare for an onslaught of misogynist claims.

Ive been here yonks.You said I wouldnt have to do that anymore :(

And who exaclty said you could take off your gimp mask ????

Back in the spanking box for an hour with you!!! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Pretty much exactly the same as this! I'm really quiet at the best of times, so i literally wouldn't be able to go chat to some random bloke in a pub.
    If a fella came up to me and started chatting though, i'd definitely try make the effort at some decent conversation. But usually when i'm out, there's just as many,if not more, men in the group than women so it's not too often i get someone come up to talk to me.

What?

It means pics or get the fcuk off. Once you mention you're a woman here, expect it to happen :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

You can find me in the club, bottle full of bub
    Look mami i got the X ,if you into takin drugs
    Im into havin sex i aint into makin love
    So come give me a hug if you into getting rubbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Gonna go out on a limb here and say if people are shy about talking to a bloke they maybe might not be interested in sex with him after the club.:D

alwaysadub wrote: »
    It means pics or get the fcuk off. Once you mention you're a woman here, expect it to happen :)

PI mod stamped me with an infraction... Behind enemy lines.. ALL TO THE PI FORUMS! :pac:

Gonna go out on a limb here and say if people are shy about talking to a bloke they maybe might not be interested in sex with him after the club.:D

You are forgetting the effects of 17 zambucka's taken for dutch courage after the shyness sets in and before the goinghomeness sets in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

I don't mean to impress you but I'm Batman!

BOHtox wrote: »
    I don't mean to impress you but I'm Batman!
    http://toomuchfreetime.eu/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/im-batman.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

What utter bull. If a man comes up to a woman and starts talking to her in a club or pub setting, it's fairly obvious that he would like this to potentially lead to sex at some point. If the woman isn't interested in having sex with him, it doesn't mean she isn't interested in having sex with anyone, it's perfectly likely that she's there for the same reasons he is, so why the fuck should she waste her time talking to him rather than try and achieve her end of having sex with someone she finds attractive. Even if she's not there to have sex, she's probably not there to talk to strangers who stare at her tits. And maybe she's not in the mood to make small talk with someone she finds boring, or stupid, or anything else.

It might be a cultural thing, it might be a confidence thing (not being brave enough to tell a local to eff off). It might be that they didn't grow up with leery, beery, generally ugly Irish men everywhere and the novelty of the accent hasn't worn out enough for them to be sick of it. It might be that not every country has a culture of going out to get laid, some people do it just to socialise generally, so she mightn't make the (usually correct) assumption that a guy who's talking to her wants to sleep with her.
    Prepare for an onslaught of misogynist claims.

Happy to oblige, there's a few other terms I'd throw out but I'm not in the mood for a ban.

Sykk wrote: »
    PI mod stamped me with an infraction... Behind enemy lines.. ALL TO THE PI FORUMS! :pac:

Oh, was this originally in PI? Ya can't be sayin stuff like that in there sure,you need to be in a cool forum like AH! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

What utter bull. If a man comes up to a woman and starts talking to her in a club or pub setting, it's fairly obvious that he would like this to potentially lead to sex at some point. If the woman isn't interested in having sex with him, it doesn't mean she isn't interested in having sex with anyone, it's perfectly likely that she's there for the same reasons he is, so why the fuck should she waste her time talking to him rather than try and achieve her end of having sex with someone she finds attractive. Even if she's not there to have sex, she's probably not there to talk to strangers who stare at her tits. And maybe she's not in the mood to make small talk with someone she finds boring, or stupid, or anything else.

Bloody hell.

Orizio wrote: »
    Bloody hell.

Misogynist! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

I think you've just proved his point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Ah Coppers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Merzbow

What utter bull. If a man comes up to a woman and starts talking to her in a club or pub setting, it's fairly obvious that he would like this to potentially lead to sex at some point.

And Irish girls wonder why guys are afraid to chat them up ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

elpipe wrote: »
    I am talking about an average guy going to a club, chat up a stranger, taking her home and have sex with her. Do you think that is easy to do?

It's as easy as a guy/ girl wants to make it. It's a silly question really.

*& no jokes about easy & my username please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

humour gets everyone a lot of places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Merzbow wrote: »

Youve hit the nail on the head and its something electro~bitch has yet to grasp the concept of....that an unofficial cultural rule has developed in Irish society where men have become hesitant to approach a women out of fear.

When I go out with friends in Dublin, usually I am there for a few drinks (Lord knows its not the music :eek:). Im not there for sex but I do enjoy speaking with people and socialising for the most part. Why does electro~bitch think, as the majority of other Irish women, that a man cannot go out for the night without one thought in his mind...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Youve hit the nail on the head and its something electro~bitch has yet to grasp the concept of....that an unofficial cultural rule has developed in Irish society where men have become hesitant to approach a women out of fear.

When I go out with friends in Dublin, usually I am there for a few drinks (Lord knows its not the music :eek:). Im not there for sex but I do enjoy speaking with people and socialising for the most part. Why does electro~bitch think, as the majority of other Irish women, that a man cannot go out for the night without one thought in his mind...

So you're telling us electro~bitch is wrong for painting all men with the one brush, yet you think that the majority of women think like electro~bitch?
    That's like the pot calling the kettle black...

Merzbow wrote: »

No, I don't. The fear of rejection must be terrible, as it is for girls, which is why most of them don't do the chatting up. But after going out in clubs for years and getting chatted up by men you're not interested in who nonetheless stare at you pervertedly, keep trying to chat you up even when you've POLITELY made it clear that you're not interested, and then take the hump when you turn around and start talking to someone else/tell them to leave you alone and either directly call you or (more likely, think privately and say on the internet) that you're some kind of cockteasing, head wrecking egotistical hoor who obviously goes out with the express intention of boosting her ego by rejecting men, all based on the fact that she doesn't want to have sex with you; you get a bit sick of men assuming that's the only reason they get rejected.

Of course some girls are bitches, they're unnecesarily rude or hurtful, or take advantage of a man's interest to get free drink. But that's not the only reason a specific girl will reject a specific man, and sometimes you can only be polite up to a certain point. And just incase it's coming across like I think I'm god's gift and can't leave the house without being chatted up, that's very much not the case. I'm nothing special and don't get chatted up every single time I'm out, but it does happen and it's not always welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 elpipe

Papa Smut wrote: »
    This sounds suspiciously like the "How do you get laid" bloke. The one that wanted a 10 step program..

I am not looking for advice. All I wanted to know was if women assumes that an average guy won't have much trouble getting laid if he goes out and talk to girls at clubs. I'm just curious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Exactly - if she's such a bitch then stay at home, don't go out to "socalise".

I'll second the motion that Irish women are stuck up their own hole and women abroad are infinitely hotter and sooo much more human when it comes to interacting.

Often, saying a word to an Irish girl in a pub or club can evoke a reaction or facial expression similar to if you handed them a flaming bag full of sh*t and declared you want to abduct their firstborn... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

I'm a girl and while I haven't been on the single scene in a long time, I genuinely feel sorry for a lot of men in clubs. Seems they can't win. The amount of times I've seen nice looking fellas (and by nice looking I don't necessarily mean Brad Pitt lookalikes, I mean a standard fella who looks like he could be a laugh) try to approach a group of girls only to be shot down ratherly cruelly.

I don't know if it's just because men tend to approach alone rather than as a group and what they're approaching is a gang of women but I've seen some pretty cruel things- a guy talking to a girl only to have her friends behind his back giving a rating or shaking their heads or just openly taking the piss.

Now, I'm not talking about all women and all clubs but I've seen it a lot and I do feel sorry for men. If they approach a girl they're laughed at by her friends and I often wonder if the woman really is genuinely not interested or if she's just doing it to save face in front of her gang. Similiarly, I think that a lot of women cock-block eachother out of jealousy and don't like seeing their friends chatted-up when they're not getting any interest themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

The stereotypes are rife in this thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Juanveron..is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

can i have sex with you electro~bitch?!
    you sound like a demon in the sack!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

seanbmc wrote: »
    The stereotypes are rife in this thread.

Sometimes, just sometimes, stereotypes are there for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I think its easier to approach a group of women which has a few lads in it, you can talk to the lads, find out their connection to the girls, and then start talking to the girls too. You wont get bitchy put downs typically as you are talking to the lads there, and you get involved in the convo with the group.

Because most men come up to you and stare at your tits and think you can't tell because they're drunk and invisible. Because shouting small talk and chat up lines over loud music isn't generally something that makes sense for its own sake. Because I have been groped, grabbed and manhandled in nightclubs enough to last a lifetime. Because a man goes out, on his own, and only talks to the drunkest girls there. Because nightclubs are for the most part meat markets. Because I have a lot of male friends, who chat a girl up if they think they have a chance at sex. I don't think ALL men want to have sex with ALL women ALL the time. If someone starts talking to me in a library, in a supermarket, or even in a pub setting during the evening, then I don't say "Go away I don't want to have sex with you". But in a nightclub, late at night, based on my previous experience, pretty much any straight man who has started talking to me has been chatting me up. I'm not sure if men can appreciate what an intimidating experience it can be to have someone who's much bigger and stronger than you, up in your personal space, talking drunken bollocks to you and staring at your body, and just not taking the hint to go away. It's a situation you don't want to get into, and so you make certain assumptions based on experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 leeds87

as a fella have definitely seen that jealousy between young1s where if your dancing with 1 girl another will come up and start dancing with you aswell just because she doesnt want her friend to pull so bascially alot of women are jealous bitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I am talking about an average guy going to a club, chat up a stranger, taking her home and have sex with her.

Stay classy, OP :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

This is a kind of typical 'internet response' I think. Foreign girls aren't better and tbh, the internet is the only place I've actually seen people hold this opinion so strongly.

Most guys in clubs are there for one thing. They might be there to have a laugh with their friends, but if they're approaching a girl, it's more than likely for sex/a score. They won't be approaching women they don't find attractive.

As a girl, I know that if you don't turn them down fast, they will assume that you're into them. It's not a crazy assumption either. It's the nature of talking to someone in a club. That's the kind of environment it is.
    If you continue talking to them and then reject them later when they make a move, you will be seen as a 'tease' or to be giving out mixed signals. The fact is, when a guy talks to a girl in a club, it goes without saying that he's into her. If she doesn't dismiss him, she's reciprocating this

I'm not saying that I've never just talked to a guy in a nightclub, but it's easy to tell the difference between the fun guy entertaining and chatting to all the girls, and the guy who has specifically approached you to hit on you or chat you up.

I'm never rude to guys in clubs either. I don't see the point of being mean for no reason. If I'm not interested I'll usually just smile but give relatively blunt answers until he gets the message and leaves. Or I'll just make some polite excuse to move on.
    Some girls like the power trip I suppose. I have friends who will literally tell a guy to "get lost" or will give him some look of superiority designed to make him feel like ****.

In fairness, it does get tiring being approached constantly by guys when you're just trying to have a night out. Pretty much every girl knows the feeling of "ugh...not again".
    So I think, for most girls, it's not that they're horrible people, it's that it gets so routine that you start to forget that the guys have feelings too and might not brush off the rejection so easily.

But to answer the question :D , no I don't think it's easy for guys to get laid in clubs. The ones that do it regularly have to have a combination of looks, charm and game. I'm just glad I'm not the one having to do the approaching. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

leeds87 wrote: »
    as a fella have definitely seen that jealousy between young1s where if your dancing with 1 girl another will come up and start dancing with you aswell just because she doesnt want her friend to pull so bascially alot of women are jealous bitches.

Or she doesn't want her drunken friend to end up with some creep for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 leeds87

where did i say in the post that the girl i was dancing with was drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

leeds87 wrote: »

Hahah! That's called "saving" your friend. Poor Leeds. How embarrassing.