Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rhodesian ridgeback for foxing/rough shooting

• 11-11-2010 3:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

Hi lads just wondering if any of ye knew of someone using this breed for hunting in Ireland successfully be it for foxing or rough shooting. Im considering this breed or a weimaraner. Are they easily trained to retrieve? I know they were used to hunt lions just wondering are they good on smaller quarry?
    I know it would be an unusual breed to see working in this country but was out sunday and just had 4 month old doberman pup with me for exercise/socialisation and i knocked cock pheasant in field of rushes, spent couple mins lookin for him with no sign when dob came out off rushes with tail wagging and dragging the pheasant.
    So it got me thinking if its in the dob to hunt surely it would be as easy if not easier train the ridgeback. Thanks in advance for your replies/comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

How can you compare a Weimaraner and a Ridgeback? :rolleyes: Nor is there any similarity between what a Ridgeback does in lion hunting and retrieving birds or quartering ground.

The Rhodesian Ridgeback is specifically mentioned in the Control of Dogs Regs. – it must be kept on a short strong lead by a person over 16 years who is capable of controlling it and must be muzzled whenever it is in a public place.

The only reason to have one in Ireland is if you are contracted to go out after those savage man-eating mink, mentioned in the other thread.:D:D
    P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Ridgbacks are very easy to train and very obedient dogs. Growing up my oul lad used to bread kerry blues and ridgbacks for showing. Made a fair few champions along the way too. me and the brothers used to ride them around like horses!!If your thinkin about gettin one think very hard as they are feckin huge things that need alot of space and a lot of exercise.

Dunno how ya would fair with one for huntin foxes and birds, prob no bother trainin them but if he decided to bolt on ya one day you could end up in a world of trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Thanks for your replies lads. I was looking for info on if they were bein used for hunting for foxing or rough shooting in this country as i have heard of them bein used successfully in aus and the states.
    I am also familiar with the control of dogs act as i own a doberman personally and at the home place there is a german shepherd and a japanese akita all off which are on the list and all off which would lick you to death rather than bite you. Its all how they are trained/socialised. Fear off these dogs all stems from hollywood portrayal off them being vicious, that and ignorance. A small yappy dog is more likely to nip you.
    The akita loves to be brought hunting rats and as i said the dob was showing an interest in hunting(it could be the diluted weimaraner thats in him from down through the lines of the dobs) and i was wondering had anyone any success here with the ridgeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I'd go with a Wiemarnar - A RR-back sounds like overkill on many levels:eek:;)

Thanks birdnuts ill prob go with the weimaraner was just interested in the ridgeback breed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

I heard off a breeder last year that a weimaraner will not stay within 40 yards of you like a good spaniel will. This means they will be flushing pheasants out of your shotguns range. As the other lads say they need a serious amount of exercise to keep they happy.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I was over birdwatching at lough Boora recently and I met a couple who had one. I did not notice a muzzle, I did notice the ridge and commented to the owner that it was a magnificant example of one. She was pleased.

The main quality required in a retriever is a keen nose, and a mouth theat will cup a bird without damaging the meat

I'm not sure if a RR would do this to a bird, however they are a beautiful dog. Not very friendly to strangers though.

The onely dog I met had the sterotypical aloofness upon meating strangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

I've only heard of them being crossed with grayhounds to make a good fox lurcher!
    Apart from this, cant see them being ideal for any type of hunting really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Weimaraner, unless your hunting lions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

why dont you just stick with the doberman pup he looks more promising, seems to know what it's all about:cool:.
    if you get a ridgeback he might work well for feral/domestic cats without a collar:D;)

ssl wrote: »
    Weimaraner, unless your hunting lions...

Grand Duke Karl August of Weimar.The Weimaraner breed was originally bred for hunting Lions. Today's breed standards developed in the 19th century, although dogs having very similar features to the Weimaraner have been attested as far back as 13th century in the court of Louis IX of France

Maybe a Ridger is not that odd!

Grand Duke Karl August of Weimar.The Weimaraner breed was originally bred for hunting Lions. Today's breed standards developed in the 19th century, although dogs having very similar features to the Weimaraner have been attested as far back as 13th century in the court of Louis IX of France

Maybe a Ridger is not that odd!

Tack, Wiki is notoriously inaccurate. ;) Not too many lions around Weimar:D:D

Anyone using a Ridgeback for hunting is irresponsible IMO.
    P.

Tack, Wiki is notoriously inaccurate. ;) Not too many lions around Weimar:D:D

Anyone using a Ridgeback for hunting is irresponsible IMO.
    P.

why is that?
    i used to use my german shepherd on occasion, he was grand as long as he was not at your heal when you lef off a shot, it used to cause short term deafness in him, if he was out infront of me there was no problem;)

johnner1 wrote: »
    why is that?

Why? It's like using a .375 H&H for bunnies.:rolleyes:

By law the dog has to be on a short lead when in public.There are justifiable reasons why it is on the ‘Dogs’ list. These are from an owner’s site :-

The breed is usually friendly toward family and friends but does not really care for strangers.

He is a strong willed dog that often stands his ground, and it is very important that he understands that his owners are the dominant members of the family. Timid people or ones that tend to allow the dog to rule the house should consider a different breed.

A devoted and loyal dog to his family, the ridgeback can be aloof and possibly aggressive toward strangers. When taken outside, the ridgeback should be leashed or kept in a secure yard with a tall fence since some dogs are not too fond of strangers.
    http://www.petplace.com/dogs/choosing-a-rhodesian-ridgeback/page1.aspx

P.

fair enough, but a ridgeback or shepherd for that matter if out hunting in the field on private property with the land owners permission dont have to kept on a lead;)

i was once cornered in a bus shelter at around 2.30am by a large dog ridgeback about 20 years ago while walking my way home from a disco:D
    i will never forget the agression of the dog only for a car that sounded it's horn and distracted him i might not be here to tell the story :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,055 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

;) Not too many lions around Weimar:D:D

Big game hunting in Africa was massive, there would have been a huge number of German ex-pats and colonies and their dogs, I have come across Weimaraners in Africa and India, could be recent imports though.

I have experience with the Ridgebacks, they are fairly standoffish with strangers, but no more standoffish than my Weimaraner. Very very similar dog in temperament. I guess their size and strength has then on that list, but in the right hands they are an amazing dog.

I don't know about the hunting aspect, the one I dealt with retrieved with enthusiasm and was not at all afraid to chase cats and squirrels, dunno if that's any help.

Why? It's like using a .375 H&H for bunnies.:rolleyes:

By law the dog has to be on a short lead when in public.There are justifiable reasons why it is on the ‘Dogs’ list. These are from an owner’s site :-

The breed is usually friendly toward family and friends but does not really care for strangers.

He is a strong willed dog that often stands his ground, and it is very important that he understands that his owners are the dominant members of the family. Timid people or ones that tend to allow the dog to rule the house should consider a different breed.

A devoted and loyal dog to his family, the ridgeback can be aloof and possibly aggressive toward strangers. When taken outside, the ridgeback should be leashed or kept in a secure yard with a tall fence since some dogs are not too fond of strangers.
    http://www.petplace.com/dogs/choosing-a-rhodesian-ridgeback/page1.aspx

P.

More than wiki P.
    http://largedogbreedz.com/large-dog-breed-directory/weimaraner/weimaraner-breed-origin-and-history.html

A mate of mine was breeding Weimaraners 25 years ag when they were almost unheard of here.
    Rhodesia or now Zimbabwe has developed a fine animal.

I have a friend who has an alaskan malamute which is not on the dangerous breeds list. Yet it would whip many a German Shepard. So dangerous breeds aside.........

.375 on bunnies, not my cuppán tae but I have popped many a bunny with the .308 (head shots of course):D

on topic......
    I've heard of a breeder near me with RR's, I might ask santa for a pup!

Mate of mine used a german shepard to flush out birds for him. all dogs will hunt, just some are specialists.
    It depends on the owner what dog suits best.
    Some pointers won't go in water, some retrievers won't stop running about when you want them to keep still.

Oh... forgot to mention, they make a cracking guard dog. Noisy, brave, fast and strong, probably a consideration with gun theft and general burglaries on the rise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

okay enough of all the wikipedia links and stuff lads we can all use google :D
    the way i see it is simple these dogs are bred or were for specific types of hunting none of which are applicable to ireland :rolleyes: . the other thing that seems to have been forgotten is that most of these dogs have been bred for show and or protection work i very much doubt if any breeder of gsd or dobermans or rockies or rrb use them for hunting and certainly would never take hunting ability into account when breeding a litter here in ireland
    so why not stick to proven working breeds and pick a pup from a proven working bloodline within that group you'd have a much better chance of getting what you want than trying to think outside the box inmho

landkeeper wrote: »
    okay enough of all the wikipedia links and stuff lads we can all use google

Yeah, lots of copying and pasting. My experiences are with real RR... not a show or protection or hunting bloodline, just a few enthusiasts.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Yeah, lots of copying and pasting. My experiences are with real RR... not a show or protection or hunting bloodline, just a few enthusiasts.

I have hunted with labs, springers, pointers, weimarners and a terriers.

The weimarners were the best followed closely by the pointers, except the weimarner would plough through water

Really... that's amazing. I didn't know they were that good. I must have a look on youtube and see what exactly they are like doing what they were designed to do.

I'd say you'd last eight seconds with my fella before blowing his head off. (kidding)... he's a companion dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

The RR is the Navy Seal of dogs. Brilliant for hunting but probably overkill for hunting bird game. Deer, Wild Boar sure. Probably better to go wth a mote traditional retriever type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

Ridgbacks are very easy to train and very obedient dogs. Growing up my oul lad used to bread kerry blues and ridgbacks for showing. Made a fair few champions along the way too. me and the brothers used to ride them around like horses!!If your thinkin about gettin one think very hard as they are feckin huge things that need alot of space and a lot of exercise.

Dunno how ya would fair with one for huntin foxes and birds, prob no bother trainin them but if he decided to bolt on ya one day you could end up in a world of trouble

My Dad had one when I was very young living in Rathdowney, Laois. Me and my sis used to ride him around like a donkey !! But woe betide anyone who tried to come upto our house uninvited, imagine a very big agressive dog that can eyeball you sitting in your car without getting on its hind legs, very unnerving :eek:

But on another note he used to bring it shooting along with the munsterlander, not sure how it was on retrieving but would hunt up and flush game !!

Would love to have one but if I was only allowed one dog think I would go for something more shooting specific, pointer, springer, lab etc

.375 on bunnies, not my cuppán tae but I have popped many a bunny with the .308 (head shots of course):D

I'd have expected nothing less.:rolleyes:
    P.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by pedroeibar1 viewpost.gif
    wink.gif Not too many lions around Weimarbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

Big game hunting in Africa was massive, there would have been a huge number of German ex-pats and colonies and their dogs, I have come across Weimaraners in Africa and India, could be recent imports though.

At times I wonder why I bother. :rolleyes:
    I’ve not read such a BS thread in a long time. He to whom the Weimaraner is attributed per Tacklebud - (Karl August, Grand Duke of Saxe-Weimar-) lived 1757 to 1828. At that era there were a few German installations in West Africa – roughly where Ghana is today - and those were shared with the Brits and Dutch. At that date most of Africa was a blank page, German expats were few and far between, and the few that were in West Africa were interested in trade, mainly slaves, not hunting. The Ridgeback was a much later development, late 1800’s.

Anybody bringing an unmuzzled, unrestrained RR onto land is asking for trouble and they would deserve what they get. It is sad that the dog would be the one to suffer.

I’m out of here.
    P.

The RRB makes for a serious guard-dog - I know from some scary experiances with a near neighbour(Its a long storey but lets just say I called "unexpectededly"):(.

PS: The brother was telling me about a chap who hunts with a giant Poodle and swears its the best dog he ever had - No joking!!

Birdnuts wrote: »
    The RRB makes for a serious guard-dog - I know from some scary experiances with a near neighbour(Its a long storey but lets just say I called "unexpectededly"):(.

PS: The brother was telling me about a chap who hunts with a giant Poodle and swears its the best dog he ever had - No joking!!

Poodle are a great gundog, most would not recognise on that was not shaved.
    Mate of mine is a dog breeder and he has made several labadoodles Poodle lab crosses and they are savage gundogs

Although P will probably disagree !!

Really... that's amazing. I didn't know they were that good. I must have a look on youtube and see what exactly they are like doing what they were designed to do.

I'd say you'd last eight seconds with my fella before blowing his head off. (kidding)... he's a companion dog.

Any of them I have seen were very well trained, they are a seriously intelligent dog.
    I had a pointer that had a great nose, soft mouth but would not go into water

Poodle are a great gundog, most would not recognise on that was not shaved.
    Mate of mine is a dog breeder and he has made several labadoodles Poodle lab crosses and they are savage gundogs

Yes - they were bred originally in France prior to the French Revolution by the aristocracy for that very purpose. Its just today people associate them with some of the more extreme elements in the showdog industry.

PS: It would be funny all the same turning up at a crowded serious shoot with a stratigically shaved, pink dyed, poodle:D

Poodle are a great gundog, .....

Nope. Only have a problem with BS, never disagree with fact. Look at http://www.fieldandstream.com/blogs/hunting/2010/04/chad-love-finest-gun-poodle-around

When Birdnuts mentioned 'giant poodle' I immediately thought of the Irish Water Spaniel as they are more frequently seen.

FWIW, Jeremy Clarkson has a labradoodle, but it is about as useful on a peg as he is:D:D
    Rs
    P.

I’ve not read such a BS thread in a long time. He to whom the Weimaraner is attributed per Tacklebud - (Karl August, Grand Duke of Saxe-Weimar-) lived 1757 to 1828

You are right, you shouldn't bother, German East Africa 1885 had no Germans, and the Weimaraner dog simply ceased to exist then. They all disappeared and then came back again on Tuesday last week.
    Anybody bringing an unmuzzled, unrestrained RR onto land is asking for trouble and they would deserve what they get.

Been there, done that, agility training, nothing happened, fun all round and we deserved all we got, that Kerry blue and the RR wrestled for ages while the Setter wagged it's tail... And... I didn't consult google before doing it!!! :eek:

Nope. Only have a problem with BS, never disagree with fact. Look at http://www.fieldandstream.com/blogs/hunting/2010/04/chad-love-finest-gun-poodle-around

When Birdnuts mentioned 'giant poodle' I immediately thought of the Irish Water Spaniel as they are more frequently seen.

FWIW, Jeremy Clarkson has a labradoodle, but it is about as useful on a peg as he is:D:D
    Rs
    P.

Poodles comes in 3 sizes and different colors - I'm not sure how that affects their hunting prowess. Are there many Irish Water Spaniels in this country ATM??

PS: Isn't Obama's dog a labradoodle??:)

Rs
    P.

I'll get you a labadoodle if you want one ;)
    Jeremy clarkson would not have the patience to train a dog, he would just shout at it.

I'd like a RRB as when I saw it in Lough Boora Parklands it reminded me of a lion, it was perfectly blended in with the rushes and winter earthy colours.

Poodles comes in 3 sizes and different colors - I'm not sure how that affects their hunting prowess.

Me neither, but they allegedly make good police and guard dogs, the big ones I mean, excellent for obedience too from what I have seen.
    Are there many Irish Water Spaniels in this country ATM??

I meet a guy in his fifties with four in Dublin, he trains them for hunting and retrieving, little bags of sand that he hides and the dogs find them. I'm sure you guys know what he's at.

Why aren't they more popular?? - I've heard there pretty headsrong and hard to handle ie. a bit mad;)

Dunno, I'd say pedroeibar knows though. He's like a computer encyclopedia that fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Quote:
    Originally Posted by pedroeibar1 viewpost.gif
    wink.gif Not too many lions around Weimarbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

I’ve not read such a BS thread in a long time. He to whom the Weimaraner is attributed per Tacklebud - (Karl August, Grand Duke of Saxe-Weimar-) lived 1757 to 1828. At that era there were a few German installations in West Africa – roughly where Ghana is today - and those were shared with the Brits and Dutch. At that date most of Africa was a blank page, German expats were few and far between, and the few that were in West Africa were interested in trade, mainly slaves, not hunting. The Ridgeback was a much later development, late 1800’s.

Not quite P.
    The place you are on about is Cameroon or Togo,only other places the Germans had was German SW Africa,now Namibia and German E Africa.The Germans got into the rush for Africa pretty late in the game so they didnt get the pick of the place like the Britis or French.They most certainly DID NOT share anything with the others. Nor would they have been into slavery,it was illegal in Germany since the 15th century.
    But we digress...
    Most definately the RR is a later creation,andit is highly unlikely that the Weirmarner was bred for lion hunting.It is certainly a component in a Dobermann[rottX weirmarner = Dobermann].Frankly the Germans arent sure what the Weimarner s ancestory is..But it is a lot older than the Wiki bit there.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Didn't Germany have a colony in modern day Tanzania/Malawi around 1900:confused:

Thanks for all the replies lads. Didnt mean to open such a can of worms. I was interested in a particular dog and enquired as to its abilities in hunting in this country, didnt intend starting a bs thread as one member commented. Also again im well aware of how a dog on the dangerous dog list should be handled and again its not the dog its the owner and how its trained and socialised. If you stick a dog in an enclosed space and not bother bring it out and get it used to different noises and enviroments and people it ll turn, be it a rottie or a poodle.
    Ill prob go with a weimaraner bitch but ill keep bringing the dob aswell, exercise is good for him and hes showing an interest. Thanks for the positive comments

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

This thread has more than run its course and the OP has gotten his answer. Thread closed.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo