Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What things do your colleagues do in work that drive you crazy?

• 10-11-2010 11:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭

1. A lad in my place cooks 3 day old fish in the microwave everyday for his lunch and the smell makes me feel sick!

2. another lad gets up from his desk every 10 mins to make coffee and then acts like a meerkat when somebody comes in through the door of the office!

3. One guy I hate insists on coming over and having the same conversation he has had with me the day before, he won't take a hint and fuck off.

4. My boss's footsteps are in stealth mode, I can never hear the her coming when I'm on the internet (even whilst writing this!)

5. People keep fucking with the air con!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

You're not a team player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 hybridmouse

Loud popping and chewing of gum or belching in a quiet office. Gah! Nasty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Jabber on the phone to her friends about.. How like awesome that.. Like night.. like was. Like totally cool, but she can't like believe how like he didn't text her back like.. (MAYBE BECAUSE YOU'RE A BITCH EH?)

"FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They ask me to do some work.

Imagine that. The cheek of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Rating female colleagues from 1-10

orourkeda wrote: »
    They ask me to do some work.

Imagine that. The cheek of them.

You shouldn't take that, tell them to shove their job sure you can walk right into another one........oh wait scratch that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Another guy keeps buying stupid sh1t on ebay and getting it delivered to his desk in work and then bragging about how great it is (mostly dumb ass movies and memorabilia)

oh...another one...

Two lads in work sit within 3 seats of each other but they always ring each others extension when they need to talk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Take credit for my work in meetings :mad:

As for my boss?
    Going forward feelingstressed you need to touch base with me first so organize some facetime with me before COB after my power lunch

He thinks he sounds smart.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

I work with a guy that is our very own David Brent (The Office). He tells the most inappropriate stories, I think mainly because he’s a 40ish bachelor that has either never gotten it or hasn’t in a very long time. He makes very women feel so uncomfortable, it’s gotten so bad that when he comes over to our table for lunch most of the women leave.
    Ugh he makes my skin crawl just thinking about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Getting there

Loud constant sniffing....over and over

JUST BLOW YOURNOSE ALREADY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

alexa5x5 wrote: »
    I work with a guy that is our very own David Brent (The Office). He tells the most inappropriate stories, I think mainly because he’s a 40ish bachelor that has either never gotten it or hasn’t in a very long time. He makes very women feel so uncomfortable, it’s gotten so bad that when he comes over to our table for lunch most of the women leave.
    Ugh he makes my skin crawl just thinking about him.

I have a female boss like that - but she is married with kids??? go figure...
    Skin already crawling - thanks for the reminder...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Mascarpone

Um, talking sports non-stop and the weather:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭medici

Colleagues telling me to "go home", "get out of here", "you're not getting over-time for that you know" as they pass by at exactly 5pm on the way out the door...knowing - KNOWING that the job I've got to do is a big one that'll take another hour or two to complete.....

It might sound like friendly banter - and probably intended to be as well - but damn it can get irritating....!

I hate people saying..."That should only take you an hour to do"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

when the guy in the desk next to me becomes a drummer and uses pens to to hit anything nearby......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

What do people in work do that annoys me....

Turn Up! ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Take credit for my work in meetings :mad:

As for my boss?
    Going forward feelingstressed you need to touch base with me first so organize some facetime with me before COB after my power lunch

He thinks he sounds smart.....

Only one thing for it- create a game of Bull**** Bingo for you and your co-workers in the office:

make up a few bingo cards with all of these God-awful "morkeshing" speak words, distribute, tick off the phrases as the boss utters them (just don't jump up and roar BINGO in his face if you win) :D
    It's a great way to pass a slow day and get a bit of camaraderie going in the office. I've played it at achingly awful sales meetings, only thing that keeps me sane!

As for me, well I mostly work from home and sometimes I would be glad of a few annoying colleagues to give me something to bitch about :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

the part timers in my place take the metro home from the canteen after their lunch and my lunch is after theirs so when i go to relax and read the paper........there is none!!!!

i like to read when i eat

is that too much to ask?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭medici

medici wrote: »
    Colleagues telling me to "go home", "get out of here", "you're not getting over-time for that you know" as they pass by at exactly 5pm on the way out the door...knowing - KNOWING that the job I've got to do is a big one that'll take another hour or two to complete.....

It might sound like friendly banter - and probably intended to be as well - but damn it can get irritating....!

Also - just thought of this - the complete opposite scenarios:

When someone else is staying late and if you're rushing out the door on the dot of 5pm....and as you pass them they say something like:

"Leaving already...?

"The bit of time off is grand isn't it...?"

etc etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

Well so far today. . . .

1. Someone keeps leaving the doors open on the corridor down to the stores and the place is fcukin freezin

2. Hey d1ckheads when you finish the coffee let them know more needs to be ordered.

Point 2 is probably the reason why Point 1 is annoying me so much aint had my daily fix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

aaaaaaand when people put the wet spoon into the sugar after it was in tea or coffee and you get lettle clumps of brown sugar in the bag. that one keeps me awake at night. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

As I'm walking out the door at the stroke of 5pm the manager says "You're leaving?". I say "Uh-huh, it's 5 o'clock, why?". He says "Everyone else is staying later." I say "They're staying later because they're incompetent. They can't get 8 hours work done in 8 hours" and leave him there stammering as I stroll to the whiskey house.

Fcuking Penis-heads.

I like a treat on Fridays, might get something from Marks and Spencer's and a smoothie too. :)

Sit in the canteen and await the comments
    "M&S, oh li di da you must be on big money. Get a bonus this year? Can I do your job?"

Leave me alone!
    It's right up there with "no recession in your house"

Misery like company, people want to drag everyone to their own level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭chrisp2281

Rating female colleagues from 1-10

That's not annoying. Let's them know their place :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I used to work with a guy that was the loudest eater I have ever heard. And he used to chew with his mouth open. I used to shudder every time he took out a packet of crisps, I used to be able to hear him chomping even though my desk is 15ft from his and I had the radio on :mad:.

Also, when he wasn't busy (which was all the time) he used to just stare over at me. It was beyond creepy. Thank God he left (even if it wasn't his choice!) :D

I had a mug, Notre Dame Football which I ordered from the states and cost me 15 dollars

I thought I could leave it in the canteen.
    Well I was a fool :rolleyes:
    It was swiped by lunchtime

My enquires are ongoing

I hold equal contempt for people who steal my food from the fridge. Even putting a sticker on it and labelling it won't save it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

One particular woman who sits opposite me is very annoying, her crimes consist of;
    Making loud sucking noises on her lollipop, more annoying when you realise she's talking to a customer on the phone. She was given out to about it so has stopped.
    Listening to voicemail & dialling numbers on loudspeaker and not going to the handset until someone answers. It's her little way of saying "look I'm doing something".
    Eating crap at her desk and seeing how filthy it makes her keyboard and screen. People have seen the state of herkeyboard and mouse and have gagged.

But the biggest overall annoyance I have about colleagues driving me crazy is
    THEM BEING STUPID PRICKS!!

Listening to voicemail & dialling numbers on loudspeaker and not going to the handset until someone answers.

:mad::mad::mad::mad:
    I feel your pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

Spraying deoderant at their desk and stinking the place up.

Not saying anything if I hold a door open (this applies to colleagues I dont know)

Making an absolute mess in the toilets. There are some dirty animals out there.

People constantly saying "Aw god this day is dragging" or "its such a long day compared to yesterday" shut up ta fvck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Jackob

I have a list, invariably its the same person every time:mad::mad:

1) Throwing teabags in the sink ,not the bin:confused:
    2) Never, ever, putting their dirty cups in the dishwasher, leaving me to
    do it.
    3) Using my scissors for cutting their nails, gross, and I dont mean fingernails!!
    4) Having to listen to them clearing their throat constanly, sickening.
    5) Leaving my office door open constantly despite being asked to close it on the way out!
    6) In general, being totally condascending as I am the only girl here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

• she rants at her husband on the phone...she's doing it right now...if I spoke to my hubby like that he'd kick my a$$! :eek:
    • When she eats an apple she munches through it like a horse.
    • When she's talking to a client she says asop instead of ASAP...or on the QC instead of on the QT
    • She listens to no-one, it's her way or no way.
    Basically i just sit here hiding behind me screen all day :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Jackob wrote: »
    I have a list, invariably its the same person every time:mad::mad:

1) Throwing teabags in the sink ,not the bin:confused:
    2) Never, ever, putting their dirty cups in the dishwasher, leaving me to
    do it.
    3) Using my scissors for cutting their nails, gross, and I dont mean fingernails!!
    4) Having to listen to them clearing their throat constanly, sickening.
    5) Leaving my office door open constantly despite being asked to close it on the way out!
    6) In general, being totally condascending as I am the only girl here.

Dishwashers? Sinks? scissors? What kind of an office to you work in! :D

We have a kettle and a toaster and that's it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I asked to get moved away from a girl that used to shout across the room at another girl about coronation street, x factor, desperate housewifes, eastenders it was just crazy. Top of her voice covering everything that happened :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

People not making sure that when they flush their fat log actually goes down the drain and doesn't stay there waiting to greet me. Somebody here must be eating bricks or something because this is pretty regular. The smell of stale poo is rancid.

Huh........that's pretty much it, to be honest. This place ain't that bad compared to other stuff on this thread.

FatherLen wrote: »
    the part timers in my place take the metro home from the canteen after their lunch and my lunch is after theirs so when i go to relax and read the paper........there is none!!!!

i like to read when i eat

is that too much to ask?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

He's taking the paper to the jacks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

Small talk with someone you couldnt give a shoight about can be a pain in the ass sometimes. Lets say 2 of you are making tea or coffee:

C:"Whats the craic?"

M:"Ah feck all the usual"

C:"Any plans for the weekend?"

M:"Nah nothing really, you?"

C:"Nah"

M:"Ah ye sure ye might as well"

C:"Good luck"

M:"meh"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭azwethinkweiz

chrisp2281 wrote: »
    That's not annoying. Let's them know their place :D

That was pretty inappropiate? :eek:

The coffee being all stuck in the sugar is annoying as hell. Also, there are 2 or 3 people here who are so LOUD. I can hear them right now even though i have my headphones in... it can be so distracting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Thinking that we're friends just because we work together.
    Here's a little heads-up for ya missy - it's not by choice that I spend 8hrs a day with you, so that does not give you the right to ask me personal questions, tell me all the details of your trip to the doctor, or telling me all about last nights' argument with your boyfriend.
    Ive even gone as far as pretending to be so engrossed in my work that I can't hear sentences that start with "OH MY GOD wait till I tell you..."
    I simply do not care. I have zero interest in your life. None.

That was pretty inappropiate? :eek:

The coffee being all stuck in the sugar is annoying as hell. Also, there are 2 or 3 people here who are so LOUD. I can hear them right now even though i have my headphones in... it can be so distracting!

i was joking of course ;)

In all seriousness, people trying to sound important in meetings. Just because you use big words, it does not make you intelligent. In fact I would say the opposite is true. Talk normally and please stop going around in circles

The following phrase should also be a sackable offence:

In this climate . . . :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Oh. and another thing.
    If my phone vibrates and you hear it but I don't - please don't hand it to me, telling me I've got a message. And then stand there grinning at me as if you expect me to tell you what the message says.
    My phone is my business, I keep it on vibrate so that nobody else has to hear it ringing, so stop watching it for me. I'll check it when I'm good and ready.

If my direct Dial rings in the office, it is for me.

Don't pick it up after 1 ring and then look at me like i'm a weirdo when I say that you should not answer the phone after 2 seconds.

(I am in sales and some of my clients have my direct dial. We can all answer each others. It's meant to be for when someone is on the phone or when they are away from their desk)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Breathe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

How do you fill your kettle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Jackob

Ok I guess I should stop moaning!! Its a pretty cosy set up to be honest!!, luxurious in fact!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

In no particular order:

Mouthbreathing.

Staring at me with their mouths open (single middle aged men mostly- I'm a girl)

Eating loudly (*VOM*)

Going "umumumumum" in staccato bursts when on the phone

Being smelly (i.e. wearing same shirt for a week or two weeks in some cases)

Aglomerado wrote: »
    In no particular order:

Staring at me with their mouths open (single middle aged men mostly- I'm a girl)

What are you wearing to work that they have their mouth open?????? I would imagine it is not too conservative if you are getting that reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

chrisp2281 wrote: »
    What are you wearing to work that they have their mouth open?????? I would imagine it is not too conservative if you are getting that reaction

Fairly conservative (i.e. no bewbs on show), it reminds me of that episode of Father Ted where the writer comes to stay in the parochial house and Fr Jack jumps out of bed roaring "WO-MAN!"

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Being on the phone constantlytalking to friends and relatives.
    Coming into my office at lunchtime, I can't lock my door and the feckers still come in and don't leave when they see I'm eating my lunch.
    Always being late, and not staying later accordingly, starting to do work with 15 mins to go, then telling everyone loudly how it will have to wait till tomorrow as you vowed thisd year you wouldn't stay later then you're paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭TurkeyBurger