Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LED GU10 Bulbs

• 09-11-2010 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

My head is wrecked trying to buy these bulbs. I am being told one thing on this site and another on that site and have no idea what I need to buy.

My question is are 40w equivalents bright enough? What wattage do I need to look at in the bulb itself? What the heck are luminares or something like that.

Please, please help before I lose all reason or my hubby kills for not buying then again.

Many thanks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

My head is wrecked trying to buy these bulbs. I am being told one thing on this site and another on that site and have no idea what I need to buy.

My question is are 40w equivalents bright enough? What wattage do I need to look at in the bulb itself? What the heck are luminares or something like that.

Please, please help before I lose all reason or my hubby kills for not buying then again.

Many thanks

I just installed a heap load of Philips 4W Master LED GU10,s in my house.Fully dimmable too.

The light quality is very very good,just as bright as a normal 50W GU10 bulb.Also the light is a nice cosy warm white.

They last for 15 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Tizzy Dongue

Thanks for the reply paddy147.

Can I ask were they expensive and where did you buy them?

Please and thank you.

Thanks for the reply paddy147.

Can I ask were they expensive and where did you buy them?

Please and thank you.

11 euro plus vat.

Eurosales Electrical Wholesalers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Tizzy Dongue

Thanks again paddy147.

Appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dave45dave

Kellihers do a Robus 3watt with 48 Leds for approx €8.50 + vat. Think this is much better value depending on how many you have.

dave45dave wrote: »
    Kellihers do a Robus 3watt with 48 Leds for approx €8.50 + vat. Think this is much better value depending on how many you have.

I also have several of the Robus 48LED lights,they are ok light wize,but they not as bright as the Philips 4w led GU10,s

Also,its very tricky to get the wire retaining clip in with the 48 LED GU10s,as the diodes stick out and get in the way of the wire retaining clip.:mad:

They also are not dimmable.

I replaced all the Robus GU10s in my house with the Phillips 4W GU10s instead.I ended up buying 40 of the Philips 4W GU10,s.

A reliable,dimmable LED GU10 is going to be "alot" more expensive, so the Philips 4W dimmable LED GU10 is actually well priced at 11 euro plus vat.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dave45dave

Totally agree with you paddy , they wouldnt be the brightest and arent dimmable , but robus have sorted out the circlip issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭indie armada

the best budget led gu-10 ive come across so far is the lumilux type.
    there a 60 led and are suitable for most conventional fittings. i would recomend these cause out of all that get sold we get very little back faulty and come in cool or warm white.
    philips seem to be a good buy and a lot of there lamps have come down in price, as stated above eurosales are philips agents and i wouldnt be afraid to ask for more discount if buying a bulk ammount, there dealing with electricians all day so will be used to it :)

the best budget led gu-10 ive come across so far is the lumilux type.
    there a 60 led and are suitable for most conventional fittings. i would recomend these cause out of all that get sold we get very little back faulty and come in cool or warm white.
    philips seem to be a good buy and a lot of there lamps have come down in price, as stated above eurosales are philips agents and i wouldnt be afraid to ask for more discount if buying a bulk ammount, there dealing with electricians all day so will be used to it :)

The lowest Eurosales will go is 11 euro plus vat,I keep on asking for a better deal,but they say that Philips Ireland put a cap on the lowest price they can be sold off at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭windyboy

Hi Paddy,

Have you any photos of the lights on?

Windyboy

windyboy wrote: »
    Hi Paddy,

Have you any photos of the lights on?

Windyboy

Ill take some photos later on tonight or tomorrow.
    The light quality is very good and a nice warm homely feeling too.

Im relaxing now with a cold beer and enjoying a nice relaxing night in with the family watching the TV.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭indie armada

paddy147 wrote: »
    The lowest Eurosales will go is 11 euro plus vat,I keep on asking for a better deal,but they say that Philips Ireland put a cap on the lowest price they can be sold off at.

trust me when i say there is not a huge profit to be made in the selling of lamps unless your selling them by the hundreds. there is not a massive profit margin and a company like philips would have to have some sort of continuity in its pricing across its whole range. most wholesalers will have a 3 prices for a product, one for a joe soap just in off the street, one for a contractor and one for another wholesaler. there is a bit more to it but i dont want to go off topic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Hey Paddy147, any sign of a few pics of the lamps on?

God,you seem to be very desperate for a picture.Theres no need to be PM,ing me about it too.:(

I,ll take a pic tomorrow and put upload it,just to keep you happy.

God,you seem to be very desperate for a picture.Theres no need to be PM,ing me about it too.:(

I,ll take a pic tomorrow and put upload it,just to keep you happy.

Dont bother yourself.:rolleyes:

I said I would post a picture today,and I will.

I do have other more important things in life,like work,paying bills,family and getting in the weekly shopping.

So dont get the ar5ehole with me buddy.Also,PMing me and annoying me about it doesnt sit well with me either.In fact it pi55es me off when someone annoys me over something.:mad:

Maybe stop PMing me about it,and if you really really are that desperate to see and want to know,then go up to Eurosales and pay for a Philips LED bulb yourself and stick it in your own house.Then you can see what its like in the flesh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

Pics of Philips 4W dimmable LEDs.

I said I would post a picture today,and I will.

I do have other more important things in life,like work,paying bills,family and getting in the weekly shopping.

So dont get the ar5ehole with me buddy.Also,PMing me and annoying me about it doesnt sit well with me either.In fact it pi55es me off when someone annoys me over something.:mad:

Maybe stop PMing me about it,and if you really really are that desperate to see and want to know,then go up to Eurosales and pay for a Philips LED bulb yourself and stick it in your own house.Then you can see what its like in the flesh.

PM on the way:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭The Sponge

Fair play for uploading those pics paddy.

Upload more when that room is finished! !:D Don't pretend your not house proud

The Sponge wrote: »
    Fair play for uploading those pics paddy.

Upload more when that room is finished! !:D Don't pretend your not house proud

Send him a PM to remind him :D:D:D:D:D

Grow up and cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭The Sponge

Paddy, putting all joking aside I hope that you realise that you have submitted some very useful information.

I have been wondering about this for nearly 2 years and now I'm pretty sure when I make the step of replacng all my bulbs (18) which ones are worth splashing out on.

Thank you! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Foleyart

Ditto from me Paddy, I have 32 to replace and will be doing so shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ZevonS

Thanks Paddy,

Do not know if they 4Watt will or will not do my extended Kitchen but may do elsewhere.
    Thank you for your efforts and pictures (Did you use a flash?) Have 38 of the GU10s and their wattage is annoying me, as the draught in this cold spell, no insulation near each of 18 lamps. Have researched Fireproof with low air flow fittings but it seems these Philips led 4W & 7W are longer than standard GU10 lamp and that may not be acceptable (I'll be fine with that).
    I do, and I am sure more here appreciate your efforts in expressing your views and posts. Have been trying for years for a good LED or replacement for 50W Hal bulb. Tried 3W last and a candle would have had more light output.

Keep up the helpful posts.
    regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ok lads, this is a strange post, a mix of interesting facts and a bit of nasty stuff.

There is no need to PM people about information that can be answered for everyone on the thread, I don't know what was in the PMs and I don't want to either but there was a strong reaction to it, as I don't know all the facts I can say if that racation was OTT. But it's a good thread so lets not ruin it please. thank you.

End of mod stuff.

The informnation is very good here thank you Paddy for the pictures. I've tried the philips lamps and agree that they are very good. I'm not a fan of lamps with huge amounts of LEDs I've noticed that they start to drop LEDs over time, and more LEDs in the cluster the more likely it is that they will fail there is an operational heat issue.

The Philips 4w master LED GU10s are NOT LONGER than a standard GU10 bulb.they are the exact same size in length.

They also use shag all juice and give off litterly no heat what so ever,so you can use fire cans or fire proof covers and insulate right up to the LED bulbs.

Oh,and I DID NOT use a flash when taking the pics of the LEDs in my house,thats their light output and brightness in real life.

I have installed 17 of the Philips LEDs in my living room,16 in my kitchen/dining/2nd living area,7 in my bathroom and ensuite,and 4 outside down the side of my house,and another 4 for my front porch lights.

The light quality for my kitchen is very very good indeed,Just as bright as an old/hot 50w bulb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ZevonS

Sorry Paddy147, made a mistake about 4W I did know the were same length, typo was thinking I'd go for the 7W as it was to be = 50W Halogen, but now would not be allowed it to protrude from the ceiling.
    Will try 4W if this weather ever clears. Thanks.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 1,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭karltimber

HI Paddy,

Thx for all the info.

Am going to pick up one of these to try out before I replace all - and they are a good price. Don't need dimmable.

question - lad in eurosales - said he had a 3w version similar to 35w
    Better to go with 4w = 50w ??
    He also said he had 25deg or 40deg - which is better - standard kitchen.

thx

k

I'd go for the philips 4W.

Well the 25deg or 40deg is an application question, the spread is dependent on the mounting height etc, but if you want to spread the light get the 40deg although 40deg still tight. if you want to punch the light somewhere get the 25deg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭fionnsda

anybody looking for cheap LED's try ebay!
    bought 6 x 60 leds 2.5w= 40w bulbs for £20
    coming from Hong Kong or china somewhere like that, 2 week delivery!

try SMD LED'S for a wider angle of light 120deg

My honest opinion on the multi LED lamps is to stay away. There is just too much going on in the cluster and individual LEDs do tend to pop leading to reduced output.

fionnsda wrote: »
    anybody looking for cheap LED's try ebay!
    bought 6 x 60 leds 2.5w= 40w bulbs for £20
    coming from Hong Kong or china somewhere like that, 2 week delivery!

try SMD LED'S for a wider angle of light 120deg

Absolute MUCK.

My mate got 10 of these ebay chinese cheapy and crappy lights,and 3 of them blew with in a week of installing them.Also the light was actually a white/yellow type cold light and not a warm white as the ebay ad claimed.:rolleyes:

Good luck with the ebay leds though,maybe you might be lucky.

Stoner wrote: »
    I'd go for the philips 4W.

Well the 25deg or 40deg is an application question, the spread is dependent on the mounting height etc, but if you want to spread the light get the 40deg although 40deg still tight. if you want to punch the light somewhere get the 25deg.

I tried both the 25 degree and also the 40 degree versions,and there is a differnence in the spread of light,the 40 degree gives a much wider spread of light compared to the 25 degree.25 degree is a much more focused style of light.

I went for the 40 degree Philips LEDs in the open plan kitchen area.
    II have a normal 8 foot high ceiling for the living/dining area and then large lean too roof/ceiling (9 -13.5 feet high) for the actual kitchen itself.

Worked well and the light quality is nice with a good spread,plenty of light to see what Im doing when preparing food and working at the kitchen or sink.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

I tried both the 25 degree and also the 40 degree versions,and there is a differnence in the spread of light,the 40 degree gives a much wider spread of light compared to the 25 degree.25 degree is a much more focused style of light.

I went for the 40 degree Philips LEDs in the open plan kitchen area.
    II have a normal 8 foot high ceiling for the living/dining area and then large lean too roof/ceiling (9 -13.5 feet high) for the actual kitchen itself.

Worked well and the light quality is nice with a good spread,plenty of light to see what Im doing when preparing food and working at the kitchen or sink.:)

Looks very impressive - did you use them in the exhaust hood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Mylow

What dimmer switches are you using with these LED's.?
    My current dimmer switches have a minimum load of 40w and maximum load of 250w. This would be an issue with most dimmers.
    (ok found this after a quick search... http://www.mr-resistor.co.uk/item.aspx?&g=18&t=871&r=391&i=7743 question answered :-)

I want to put all my lighting (and heating) on KNX system, but KNX dimmers have same issue with minimum load. If anyone is looking at going down the KNX route I would suggest sourcing it from Germany or France. Phisboro Electrical do big range of KNX parts, unfortunately dont price for Joe Public

Here is another LED that I have read good reviews about on UK Home Automation forums.
    http://www.brightlightz.co.uk/index.aspx?s=Product&p=324

I was going to do a LED group purchase with neighbours from Brightlightz. Not sure now, though Stoner says there are issues with the multi LED lamps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭fionnsda

Absolute MUCK.

My mate got 10 of these ebay chinese cheapy and crappy lights,and 3 of them blew with in a week of installing them.Also the light was actually a white/yellow type cold light and not a warm white as the ebay ad claimed.:rolleyes:

Good luck with the ebay leds though,maybe you might be lucky.

Well the lights i have work perfectly warm white as described would recommend to anybody out there who would like LEDS at a affordable price

white/yellow wouldn't be cold maybe your mate got the wrong lights, cool white or day white instead of warm white.

one of my Philips b22 energy saver lights blew the other day ...it was rarely on so best of luck with your philips LEDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭john.martin

Bought 32 of these bulbs on eBay and cannot recommended them enough...

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/GU10-LED-Light-Bulbs-Warm-White-60-LED-250-Lumens-x-2-/230456742946?pt=UK_Light_Bulbs&hash=item35a84ad422#ht_2244wt_1148

Really bright - 3w, 250 lumens, only drawback...not dimmable...

Bought 32 of these bulbs on eBay and cannot recommended them enough...

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/GU10-LED-Light-Bulbs-Warm-White-60-LED-250-Lumens-x-2-/230456742946?pt=UK_Light_Bulbs&hash=item35a84ad422#ht_2244wt_1148

Really bright - 3w, 250 lumens, only drawback...not dimmable...

Any pics of the lights in use??

Dardania wrote: »
    Looks very impressive - did you use them in the exhaust hood?

No the lights in the hood are not LED type,they are small G4 type bulbs.5w each.

Mylow wrote: »
    What dimmer switches are you using with these LED's.?
    My current dimmer switches have a minimum load of 40w and maximum load of 250w. This would be an issue with most dimmers.
    (ok found this after a quick search... http://www.mr-resistor.co.uk/item.aspx?&g=18&t=871&r=391&i=7743 question answered :-)

I want to put all my lighting (and heating) on KNX system, but KNX dimmers have same issue with minimum load. If anyone is looking at going down the KNX route I would suggest sourcing it from Germany or France. Phisboro Electrical do big range of KNX parts, unfortunately dont price for Joe Public

Here is another LED that I have read good reviews about on UK Home Automation forums.

I was going to do a LED group purchase with neighbours from Brightlightz. Not sure now, though Stoner says there are issues with the multi LED lamps.

Well I've tested a good few of the multi LED lamps, its just my opinion that the individual LEDs can start to pop, I know that some manufacturers have stopped providing the units with over 40 LED per lamp for this reason, i.e they were getting too many failures sent back due to LEDs popping because of heat build up due to how close the LEDs are packed in beside each other.

This is the experience of people who have sold many lamps and have had a high rate of failure on particular types and have corrected the issue by stopping production at a certain point.

If you look at the construction of the Philips lamp it has a decent heat sink built into the design with heat dissipation fins.

I'm sure that there are some decent multi LED lamps out there and I hope the the user who bought 30 or 40 of them has a good experience with them, if they last as long as they claim, then it will be a good buy.

We have installed the Philips 7W lamps in the 1000s, I'm not saying that they are the best lamp, what I am saying is that we have installed them at a relatively high volume compared to say someone installing 20 in their house. All real advice is good advice any it should all be considered but sample rates should also be considered, bad batches of good product happen.
    We never really went crazy for the multi LED lamps although we did use 2500 one them once in hotel pod bedrooms, we don't do the maintenance in the hotel so I'm not sure about how they lasted over a year. I can only pass on what has been our working experience.

What I do know is that the multi LEDs and the Master LEDs are all better than 50W halogen lamps so they are both improvements.

Fact of the matter is that with all lamps CFL, regular or LED you are always better off going with a known brand. We all know that buying any unbranded electronic item made in china from ebay presents a risk, hopefully boards users come out on the positive side of things:)

that link to another site looks good and very good prices.

so,
    whats the difference between the two items

at a very good price.

or

The 4w led Philips ones at €11 +vat at Eurosales

outside of price - whats the better item.
    Are the brightlightz ones just Asia imports.

Thx

K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭john.martin

Any pics of the lights in use??

Sorry Paddy - not to hand - just trust me you wont regret buying them - Since i bought 32 off them they charged me £6/unit+the delivery (wasn't crazy money for the delivery).

Very happy and have low electricity bills...

karltimber wrote: »
    that link to another site looks good and very good prices.

so,

at a very good price.

or

outside of price - whats the better item.
    Are the brightlightz ones just Asia imports.

Thx

K

I for one don't know the difference, it appears that these are 1W cree chip LEDs and would on quick examination appear to be similar to the Philips lamp. there is an attempted heat sink style too. I've never tried these lamps, from experience brands are better, but for the cost saving why not buy a couple of each and have them in different rooms and see which is best? make your mind up and then by the ones for the rest of the house.

Will do that so,

It's hard to know (or ask) what they're like - until tried.

will get a few of each and will take it from there.

Need approx 30 odd so will find a use for them :D and the old 50w's

thx

very good thread by the way -

K

Just bought 3 4w warm white from Brightlightz - and got free shipping !!! will see what they are like and report - with pics :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Bit late to the thread; but I got the below one's in Amazon - not sure if they ship to Ireland though as I got them delivered to by brother in England and picked up when over there. These are based on the cree type LED's too:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/GU10-High-Power-Cree-LEDs/dp/B001UHA79G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1291814596&sr=8-1

So far am very impressed - I replaced 14 GU10's that were in fittings of 2 x 3's and 2 x 4's. I replaced 35W halogen's so cannot compare to what 50w's would have been like. Mine are not dimmable either - but didn't have dimmers on halogens so not bothered.

The light if definitely very different to the Halogen and this may not be for everyone. I also reckon the light does not reach the ground as well and casts very different shadows etc. For surfaces such as sinks, cooker, kitchen table etc then they are perfect but floor seems a little darker - maybe that's cause the spread of light is not a good.

I think the light is very similar to what you would get from CFL strip lighting - or as my wife says, a football stadium - out kitchen is called The Aviva since I installed them.

The great thing is the savings - well I hope the savings anyway! Probably will be a good few years before I ever make back the ~€160 but at least we don't have to be so conscious of turning lights off etc when we are not in the kitchen - they just stay on all day now. I was actually surprised that they do heat up a bit too when on a few hours; nothing like the halogen's though.

Paddy (a do)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Quick question for the people here from a complete know-nothing when it comes to electricity.

Will those Philips 4w led GU10 lamps give off as much light as a 50W Halogen? If not, how comparable is it. Would a light fitting with 4 of the 4w led GU10 give good light?

Also, I have a fitting that takes 4 x 50 w Halogen bulbs but as soon as I replace a bulb either it blows 10 minutes later or another one blows. We only ever have a max of 3 of the four bulbs working.

Any idea what causes that?

karltimber wrote: »
    so,

at a very good price.

or

Sure that bulb is 9 quid sterling,plus postage costs,so then turn that into euro and you are probably up to at least 13 euro,if not more.So its not cheaper,in the end.Also,they are not dimmable,and they are only a 30 degree angle where as the Philips is a 40 degree angle bulb,so wider spread of light with the Philips.

The Philips 4W LED is also fully Dimmable (0-100% full brightness),thats the difference,and thats why I bought so many of them,and thats why I like them too,fully dimmable,great light quality,propper warm white and homely feeling from them.;)

Works out at 13 euro all in from Eurosales,I just bought some more this morning.

And its also keeping my money in Ireland and keeping Irish buisness going too.

And,at least if I ever did have a problem,I can go a mile up the road to Eurosales and speak to them in person,and they will look after me there and then,where as with ebay and buying from the UK or Hong Kong,you cant do that,plus you have to ship the stuff back if there are problems.

Thats the difference too.

Attached is a close up view of the Philips 4W led bulb face and led itself.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Quick question for the people here from a complete know-nothing when it comes to electricity.

Will those Philips 4w led GU10 lamps give off as much light as a 50W Halogen? If not, how comparable is it. Would a light fitting with 4 of the 4w led GU10 give good light?

Also, I have a fitting that takes 4 x 50 w Halogen bulbs but as soon as I replace a bulb either it blows 10 minutes later or another one blows. We only ever have a max of 3 of the four bulbs working.

Any idea what causes that?

Try reading back to page or 2 and 3 for a review of them and pics of the lights in use.:)

By the way,for the record too.

I dont work for Philips or Eurosales,I have nothing to do with either.

Im just a normal private home owner,with alot of downlight ligts in my house (45 in total) who has tried Robus,Cree,Luminex and ebay unbranded multi cluster LED bulbs and none of them stand up to or even compare with the Philips 4W led bulb.

Ive tried all the above and some others over the last 6 months,and am so happy with the Philips,that I will never use any of these multi cluster or 48 cluster LED bulbs again.Very very hard to get that quality of warm/homely light and also be fully dimmable for 13 euro aswell.

Enough said.

Just my 2 cents worth and what suited my needs and requirements though.:)