If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

[CoD Black Ops] - MegaBitch thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

LakesKeane wrote: »
    haha! I love the way Remi sneaked in "Fly-by" tea bag also :pac::pac::pac:

Don't say you were just crouching. . .. :D

I was being careful goin around the corner. I swear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭War Machine 539

I have found Black Ops to be a strange one . . . . . . . I want to like it more than Modern Warfare 2, I really do, but I dont.
    Two reasons, sniping is redundant and weak and I always snipe, making my games not very fun. I find myself picking up assault rifles instead of using my pistol and using that more. The hit recognition for ALL lof the Sniper rifles, for me has been quite bad. Maybe its me, cant rule that out, but Im not the only person with this complaint. Even on Hardcore, I hit a definate headshot with the PSG-1, and it did not drop the target. I had to hit him again to put him down. This happens to me consistently.

Secondly, the assault rifles are MASSIVELY overpowered. First time I used an assault rifle, was a a Steyr, I got 11 kills I needed for a gunship, In maybe two minutes, not bragging, I was very lucky, but they were so powerful.

A sniper rifle in a game should be a one shot deal, in the interest of balance.

Other then those two complaints, Im rather enjoying it! Sticks and Stones especially!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

I have found Black Ops to be a strange one . . . . . . . I want to like it more than Modern Warfare 2, I really do, but I dont.

Exactly how I feel :(

But I'm sure when all the issues are sorted I'll get back into the game but for the moment I wont be playing it online till the lag issues are sorted as its next to impossible for me to had a decent game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Two reasons, sniping is redundant and weak and I always snipe, making my games not very fun. I find myself picking up assault rifles instead of using my pistol and using that more. The hit recognition for ALL lof the Sniper rifles, for me has been quite bad. Maybe its me, cant rule that out, but Im not the only person with this complaint. Even on Hardcore, I hit a definate headshot with the PSG-1, and it did not drop the target. I had to hit him again to put him down. This happens to me consistently.

Secondly, the assault rifles are MASSIVELY overpowered. First time I used an assault rifle, was a a Steyr, I got 11 kills I needed for a gunship, In maybe two minutes, not bragging, I was very lucky, but they were so powerful.

A sniper rifle in a game should be a one shot deal, in the interest of balance.

Other then those two complaints, Im rather enjoying it! Sticks and Stones especially!

There's no way assault rifles are overpowered. You'll lose 8 outta ten times in a fair gun fight in close quarters against any decent player with an smg/shotty. They dominate at medium range, but at long range you do have to control you shots and burst fire to control the recoil.#

You're dead on about the snipers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,183 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I got a fright earlier.

I had major connection issues and once I was dropped from a TDM and ended up in the Zombie menu. :confused:

I was playing away a few minutes later in FFA when I got "You have just been promoted to Level 4"

WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was on level 28. I went mad for around two minutes, got booted from the server numerous times only to come back to my original score.

Thing was I still had all my weapons, attachments and perks even though I was on level 3.

Weird. :mad:

BTW, Happened with COD4 II as well. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Thought I'd be coming to this thread to complain but I simply cannot fault this game, I've had no lag, no dropshotting, no BS. One or two lunges but in-fairness has been flawless for me so far. Fair enough the sound can be poor but feck it!

Must be your ISP's lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

ardinn wrote: »
    SOUND IS A DISGRACE! FOOOOKIN TERRIBLE - thump thump thump tin tin ping.

MW2 - BOOM ARAT TAT TAT TAT TAT EXPLOSION BOOM BANG CRASH

The silenced weapons in particular sound like pea shooters, ting ting tinging off a tin can. Even the suppressed weapons in MW2 had some bass to them. And the sound of the choppers overhead, or lack thereof, is ridculous, how that passed quality control is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

Flecktarn wrote: »
    Thought I'd be coming to this thread to complain but I simply cannot fault this game, I've had no lag, no dropshotting, no BS. One or two lunges but in-fairness has been flawless for me so far. Fair enough the sound can be poor but feck it!

Must be your ISP's lads :)

Who you with ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭War Machine 539

One more thing, Knifing, whats the craic with it? I have knifed so many times and it goes, are you ready for this? RIGHT THROUGH THE ****ER YOUR TRYING TO KILL! Who then proceeds to 180 and knife you. Treyarch, fix this game.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Lagging proper for the first time since MW2 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Just get rid of knifing all together tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Kersmash wrote: »
    Just get rid of knifing all together tbh.

Zactly, its a first person shooter, not first person knifey-spoony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

Had one retard tonight using a full auto FAL in Search and Destroy. Thought I'd seen the last of that! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

And all tha killstreak ****...and just play the game already!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hardcore team deathmatch - the race to find a corner and sit in it and wait on the one person not doing the same to wander by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

anyone else having this happen??i get it all the time on jungle its happening with the rc car aswel it just dissappears beneath the map and blows up

Had one retard tonight using a full auto FAL in Search and Destroy. Thought I'd seen the last of that! :rolleyes:

You used the FAL yet? you can tap it very fast.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Just got it yesterday for the pc and straight away the new button layout sticks out, its ****e and awkward!! So had to change them all back to the mw setup.

Lag isnt too bad, quiet choppy but supposably i need a new processor.

Thas all I gots to say about the game. Liking it alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

krudler wrote: »
    Zactly, its a first person shooter, not first person knifey-spoony.

Maybe just make the ballistic knife the only way of stabbing/meleeing someone?
    There are times in close quarters where you see an enemy just after running into them and vice versa, you swing around to find the other, both fail trying to knife each other, fail again and then he knifes you. Watching the killcam it's like 2 retards trying to fu...you know how that ends. :o

Played 5 games after coming home.

2 gun games, finished 2nd in both. Sick of finishing runner up in gun game because of how useless I'am with the ballistic knife :rolleyes:

Went over to TDM and played as bad as I have ever done so in BO.
    Couldn't aim even with an SMG. Just about braking even on 2 and not able to on the 3rd game. Irritating.

I'll just blame cold hands :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Played 5 games after coming home.

2 gun games, finished 2nd in both. Sick of finishing runner up in gun game because of how useless I'am with the ballistic knife :rolleyes:

Went over to TDM and played as bad as I have ever done so in BO.
    Couldn't aim even with an SMG. Just about braking even on 2 and not able to on the 3rd game. Irritating.

I'll just blame cold hands :pac:

Me too :D

Last night, four mercenary TDM games, all of which I played worse than I've done since I got the game. Best I did was 7-7 (K-D), worst I did was 2-14 (K-D). Disaster :( I don't know if it was lag or what (didn't seem that laggy) but it was awful. I gave up after four games.

Also, voting for the previous map :mad: I hate that option. There are maps I love but playing the same one twice in a row, particularly after a disastrous previous game is pants.

r3nu4l wrote: »

Last night, four mercenary TDM games, all of which I played worse than I've done since I got the game. Best I did was 7-7 (K-D), worst I did was 2-14 (K-D). Disaster :( I don't know if it was lag or what (didn't seem that laggy) but it was awful. I gave up after four games.

Also, voting for the previous map :mad: I hate that option. There are maps I love but playing the same one twice in a row, particularly after a disastrous previous game is pants.

Yes! Who would do such a thing...

8e4ed3d2b2af.gif

Only do it for Summit though :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Yes! Who would do such a thing...

8e4ed3d2b2af.gif

Only do it for Summit though :p

Played nuketown 4 times in a row, they shoulf put a cap that after you replay the same map once, you can only vote for random/the generated map.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I was playing the prestige mode and i had to play nuke town 4 times in a row

ugh ugh ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Nuketown is a disgustingly poor map. Would maybe suffice for teams of 3 on 3, but anything more than that and it's broken.

I agree with this...

Nuketown is fine. Not my favorite by any means but it's something different and tbf it wouldn't be a COD game without a cluster**** of a map in there.

Mainly as I posted that elsewhere but seriously, it's true. I enjoyed Rust. I enjoyed Shipment. Pure and utter chaos, it's a good change of scenery IMO.
    Having the map 4 times picked in a row is farcical though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

r3nu4l wrote: »

Just out of curiosity, around what time was this at? I also had some of my worst games on BO yesterday evening, but stuck with it and went from getting a ratio of 0.5 - 1.0 a game, to an average of 1.5 -2.5 a game after an hour or so, which is above average for me. Wondering if there was something up with the servers yesterday for awhile, because I did notice a few times that it was quite laggy, though I had full bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭craze7

I can't believe you can't play the wager match games in private! Wtf like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

mle1324 wrote: »
    Who you with ?

Vodafone, it ain't mobile in case you might think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Just played about 5 "whole" games out of about 10-12 lobbies. Some of the wonderful excuses vary between the host migrating, players dashboarding, lobby no longer available and my personal fave the connection lost symbol.

If only treyarch spent more time coming up with ways to fix/prevent games not being completed than elaborate techspeak to cover up for their shortcomings.

The whole matches haven't exactly been great fun either, some rubbish teammates (0-7, 0-13 & and an assist!) meant I joined into a canine feeding frenzy and in another game, a teammate used me as cover for their rc-xd, whilst I had ninja and ghost. I think the standard for winning a Darwin award just became a whole lot higher.