Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Call of Duty: Black Ops Friend Codes Thread

• 08-11-2010 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭

...think this should be still ok to post in the Nintendo forum after the recent changes but....

In anticipation of the launch tonight, How's about us Wii owners use this thread to collate the friend codes.

I can't wait for this as I still play the Reflex one just as much as I used to when it came out and I've a feeling this'll be better.

Here's hoping....

EDIT:
    Seeing as there's absolutely no info from Activision on this version - someone over at neogaff seems to have nabbed some (rubbish) screenshots and info
    http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=410718&page=6

Looks like there's downloadable content. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Twigster

so has anyone picked it up? does the wii version do it justice? better or worse than mw: reflex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Got it on release day and in short, yes, it is better than Reflex with some caveats though.

Single player game: This really is a mix of MW and WaW gameplay wise but there are some levels where the framerate is just plain awful - second prison level being the worst I've encountered.

Graphics are not too bad and there's a hell of a lot going on when that framerate drops though.

Multiplayer: I haven't been able to get online against other people yet - servers seem to be having issues (either that or it doesn't like my modem).
    What I have been able to do is play the "Combat Training" levels which are essentially the same as multiplayer with AI drones (which aren't too bad but I'm still winning all matches). As a result, I've been able to check how it feels like in multi and I can say without a doubt, that the controls are slightly better than Reflex as are graphics (much more colourful!) and level design.

So in a nutshell - it is better than reflex but wait until they get the bleedin servers online before purchase.

EDIT: Just saw the official port forwarding advice on the main site so I'll try and set this up tonight and post back results.
    Nintendo Wii Ports to forward - TCP [443, 3074] UDP [3074, 3075]

EDIT 2, the Revenge: Right, I finally got online last night - I set the port forwarding up on my eircom router and tried it again - still didn't work so in desperation, I lowered the routers firewall security level to "low" and that seems to have done it - I'm not happy with having to do this but I'll be testing it over the course of the next while to see if they can resolve it on their side.
    On the plus side, I kicked ass and was constantly in the top two in all my matches :)

BTW Here's my "Ally Code" (i.e. friend code found when you go online and in the options menu)

0260-7654-7102

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Heres my code:

3245-4570-5453

In case anyone is wondering, you can select a player in the team list, and send an ally request, so you dont have to type in all these feckin numbers!

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Heres my code:

3245-4570-5453

In case anyone is wondering, you can select a player in the team list, and send an ally request, so you dont have to type in all these feckin numbers!

I've noticed that both people don't have to put in each others ally code either - just one person does and they're connected.

Added you B-man.

Also, got the headbanger headset winging my way from here so should be all chatty chatty pretty soon: http://www.gamesbasement.co.uk/

ye but u cant send an ally request unless you're playing with/against that player. you cant just send an ally request to everyone in this thread just coz they've put up their ally code.

For example, I went on yesterday looking in my allies section expectin there to be a request from yourself, but there was nothing! :(:( :P

I'll stick ya on now anyway.

EDIT: Bollix, i put up me wrong friend code!! :rolleyes:
    3248-4570-5453

EDIT: Bollix, i put up me wrong friend code!! :rolleyes:
    3248-4570-5453

You eoinz by any chance?
    Saw some guys online during the weekend with [IRL] before their names so I'm thinking of doing the same - maybe get a load of us together for a few games :)

Still waiting on my headbanger headset from that site (dispatched on the 16th) but expect it this week sometime - I'll post up a little review of it when I have a few games under my belt. I've sent friend requests to pretty much everyone I saw that has one online so I'm guessing I won't be short of peeps to chat on it to.

EDIT: Just got my headset....looks like I'll be very chatty tonight :)

ye, im eoinzy.
    Was thinkin about puttin IRL before me name too, but then i thought that might be a clan name or something, and was worried they might get pissed off i was claimin to be a member!

Meh, sure fook it. How do you change the name anyway?

Just go into the profile after choosing multiplayer, hit the c nunchuk button and rename the profile there.

On another note, there's a Wii patch available in the next 19 hours:

From the callofduty.com forum:
    http://www.callofduty.com/board/viewtopic.php?f=74&t=338909&sid=v20kpi15pf18gk3kr7mvnvqdq3

Hey Wii gamers,

We are listening to you and continue to work on updates to the game based on your feedback. Our first update is now complete and will be available within the next 24 hours!

You must have a Wii Shop Channel account in order to download the update. Visit http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/systems/wii/en_na/channelsShop.jsp#access for information on the Wii Shop Channel.

The game will prompt you to download the update when you start Multiplayer once it is available. If you are already running the game at this time, switch to Single Player and restart Multiplayer to get it. The update cannot be downloaded from Zombies, and you will be prompted to switch over to Multiplayer in order to access it.

LIVE FIXES:

11/23
    * o Unable to connect to multiplayer without switching profiles
    * o Freezes during matchmaking when using the LAN adapter
    * o Players were sometimes kicked out af a game right before it started
    * o Changes to custom controls and options were not saving correctly (“Unbound glitch”)
    * o Wager match specific bug in Radiation that caused dead players to teleport
    * o Fixed "care package glitch" where player could get infinite number of 'Sam Turret', 'Care Package', and 'Sentry Gun' killstreaks

Ah cool, i've been googling the contents of that patch for about half an hour. shoulda known to check here!

I got it there yesterday and actually noticed it was a bit laggy! It was always perfect for me, never had a single problem, but it was a bit iffy there last night.

went to pick this up last night and they had none :mad:

how's it playing? still worth my hard earned cash?

Twigster wrote: »
    went to pick this up last night and they had none :mad:

how's it playing? still worth my hard earned cash?

Yeah deffo now that they've sorted out a lot of the connection problems. I like it a lot more than Reflex at this stage.

got this over the weekend, played the first two levels before going online, pretty good, although there were a couple of games where the lag was terrible.

my code is 1451 7121 6847, i have the two copied from above so will add you both later.

I'll add you tonight if I get playing although only one person needs to add the other in this one - no need for both to input the other code which is nice.

downloaded an update before going online last night, since then its been **** slow, anyone else have this problem?

Nope, downloaded the same one myself and if anything, things have improved, especially with the headset conversations being legible now.

havent had a problem yet and i've got over 8 hours playing time under my belt. Was just playing there this afternoon and not a slight hint of lag or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭lyndonjones

How about sticking "[Eire]" after your name???

is it possible to usethe wii speak as a mic rather than the headset?

Afraid not, I got stung on that as well....endedup getting the headset too

smokingman wrote: »
    Afraid not, I got stung on that as well....endedup getting the headset too

ah well, i didnt pay for it, went in to get a classic controller yesterday and they came out with this special edition monster hunter tri box set with the game, a classic controller, and wii speak. for €25. Nice. just thought it might have done the job.

That's a hell of a good deal, mind if I ask where?

got it in game in blanch, looked like something they had found in the stockroom, box a bit bashed and covered in dust, great deal though. i'll have a look at monster hunter when (if) i get bored with black ops :D

I have heard it's pretty good alright but you'll be a while before you get bored of Black Ops ;)

Took me ages to unpack Goldeneye after I bought that....just had to have a "few more go's" at getting the pro perks before changing games :pac:

yeah i got goldeneye for christmas, played two or three levels, back to black ops. the online in 007 doesn't have a patch on COD.

Wasn't impressed with Goldeneye online myself either but the single player is deffo worth playing through a few times.

Good game last night Twigster!
    I was just finishing up when I saw you come online.
    Finally got back to playing this after finishing the single player Goldeneye the night before.

Good game last night Twigster!
    I was just finishing up when I saw you come online.
    Finally got back to playing this after finishing the single player Goldeneye the night before.

Cheers dude, some good stuff all round. still not looked at goldeneye much, i just saw 006 get shot.....
    im enjoying my black ops sprees too much :D

Good game again last night, might be on again later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭lyndonjones

Will be online for a while in the morning anyone from Ireland wanna hook up for some multiplayer fun?

Good game again last night, might be on again later!
    Might be on around nine, trying to get hacker pro perk and only have a few more bits of enemy equipment to blow up.
    Will be online for a while in the morning anyone from Ireland wanna hook up for some multiplayer fun?
    Gotta go work I'm afraid
    Put your friend code up in case I'm online the same time as you in future though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Alright lads, added a few of ye there.

Heres my ally code - 0606 4931 7068

A word of warning, Im painfully bad at this so far, ive a best kill streak of 3 so I may be a better ally if im on the other team!

ColHol wrote: »
    Alright lads, added a few of ye there.

Heres my ally code - 0606 4931 7068

A word of warning, Im painfully bad at this so far, ive a best kill streak of 3 so I may be a better ally if im on the other team!

No such thing as a bad ally dude :-) Are you online much? Tonight?

When u start out, ur gonna be crap for 2 reasons.

1. Lack of practice.
    2. You haven't unlocked any of the GOOD guns!

might be online later, also argos are stocking the headset in their new catalogue, hopefully i'll be getting mine wednesday having reserved it earlier :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭DMBandit

Any good for sniping? I love a bit of sniping on Crossfire and Overgrown on Reflex :) I own the game but cant seem to leave Reflex at the moment.

DMBandit wrote: »
    Any good for sniping? I love a bit of sniping on Crossfire and Overgrown on Reflex :) I own the game but cant seem to leave Reflex at the moment.

if you like reflex you'll love this, i couldn't believe the difference! I'm more of a run n gun type of player but there's some ideal spots for sniping on most levels. the controls are the same so its easy to pick up.

got myself the headset today so looking forward to giving it a try later on.

New patch downloaded today...

01/25/11
    • Explosives are not visible through walls when using Hacker perk.
    • Ninja perk is ineffective at times.
    • Additional sound mix tuning for Ninja Pro users – increased ranges and volume of enemy footsteps, and removed player footstep sounds
    on concrete material types.
    • Increased headshot multipliers for sniper rifles. Sniper rifles with suppressors equipped will be ensured one-shot kill headshots.
    • Added a negative influencer to all spawn points to decrease the chances of spawning near an enemy. This will further improve spawning
    protection on top of previous updates.
    • Previous Map Spamming – players are currently able to vote for the previously played map an unlimited number of times
    • Incorrect Prestige Emblems appearing at certain levels
    • Sending out text messages to massive groups can cause the game to freeze
    • Demolition – getting a loss registered despite earning a win
    • Some players experiencing crashes when viewing leaderboards with a high number of Allies
    • Stuck in spawn spot in Cracked
    • Voice Chat breaks up at times
    • More reported cases of “unbound” controls
    • Second Chance “invincible glitch”
    • Several fixes that should improve performance/lag for host and client
    • Shorter spawn-in (black screen) times in MP matches
    • Zombie Legs – create-a-crawler

not played it yet, later on perhaps.
    also seen as this thread is growing so, it might be a good idea to put a list of ally codes in the original post for ease of finding them.

Hi twigster, I'll do that later tonight with the ally codes. Had a quick 3games after downloading the patch and deffo noticed the shorter start to games. Didn't notice anything else tho but might try again later on. Did you get the headset after all?

Did you get the headset after all?

yeah, picked it up from argos today, €25.

Sweet! On for a game now?

Hmm, Can't edit my first post on the thread...

Anyhoo, here's the current list of ally codes:
    [IRL]edza: 0260-7654-7102
    eoinz: 3248-4570-5453
    Twigster: 1451-7121-6847
    ColHol: 0606-4931-7068
    lyndonjones: 4031-5223-5658
    DMBandit: 2065-8806-3900

and while I'm at it, if peeps are having issues connecting online, here's what to do if you have an eircom router:

Go into "expert mode", then "configure", then "NAT" in the left pane.
    2247NWG-VGx4.jpg
    Click the Define Custom Service button near the center of the page.
    Put a dot into the "Port Forwarding: Range of Ports" radio button.
    Click the Next button.
    2247NWG-VGx6.jpg
    Put the below into the options here

Service Name: CoDBO1
    Global Port Range: 443 - 443
    Base Host Port: 443
    Protocol: pick TCP

Hit "Next" and do it again for the below:

Service Name: CoDBO2
    Global Port Range: 3074 - 3074
    Base Host Port: 3074
    Protocol: pick TCP

Service Name: CoDBO3
    Global Port Range: 3074 - 3074
    Base Host Port: 3074
    Protocol: pick UDP

Service Name: CoDBO4
    Global Port Range: 3075 - 3075
    Base Host Port: 3075
    Protocol: pick UDP

Go back to the main NAT page and pick the CoDBO1 option in the drop down menu and hit "Enable" - do this for the others as well (1-4) and then restart the router.

That "should" do the trick but if you're still having problems, set your firewall to "low" as a last resort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭DMBandit

I've added you all in the post above. My code is 2065-8806-3900

Double xp points this weekend.

Nice one!
    I got up to level 45 and unlocked a new gun. The Commando or something. Look forward to trying it out this weekend!

Actually crap, cant play this weekend coz i'll be down in the gf's gaf "down da country" where theres no internet! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

My AC is 4044 4910 9898.

I'll add ACs from this thread tonight.

At least I think thats correct because I cant figure out if the 3rd last digit is an '8' or '9'. Tried varying contrast on the tv and 8 seems more likely. One of the many reasons I'm not taking very well to Bl ops. I can accept that resolution on the wii will not be as good as other platforms.

Lag is crap - after getting hit, I escape a corner thinking I've survived only to die. Delayed knife deaths when I kill with my knife.

Hanoi is too dark,

Other gripes I'll leave to another day probably because I'm just not used to the layout of each map.

My AC is 4044 4910 9898.

If you add the codes in there already, we'll all see the requests and just have to click "yes" to it for us to be connected - thank fek they got rid of the need for codes to be put in either end!

I'm guessing you don't have the componant cable yeah? The one that comes with the wii is composite and there's a huge difference in the picture quality between the two.

What ISP and package do you have? If it's Eircom, try the port forwarding/firewall changes in my previous post - that might improve things.

Looking forward to seeing you on the battlefield :)

I'm guessing you don't have the componant cable yeah?

What ISP and package do you have? If it's Eircom, try the port forwarding/firewall changes in my previous post - that might improve things.

Looking forward to seeing you on the battlefield :)

Thanks,

I used youir porting instructions to solve my problem of not being able to initially connect to mulitplayer for over a week.

Yes, I am using a component cable.

ISP is Eircom. I dont think the problem with lag is with eircom because I usually have more signal bars on Bl Ops than on reflex. Lag might have been due to heavy traffic on the wii servers over the double XP weekend

1147179055.png

Thanks,

I used youir porting instructions to solve my problem of not being able to initially connect to mulitplayer for over a week.

Yes, I am using a component cable.

ISP is Eircom. I dont think the problem with lag is with eircom because I usually have more signal bars on Bl Ops than on reflex. Lag might have been due to heavy traffic on the wii servers over the double XP weekend

1147179055.png

Are you [mp]austin by any chance?

yep, sent you a AC request