Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wearing of the Poppy! Should Irish citizens wear it?

• 08-11-2010 11:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭

After watching the x-factor over the weekend I saw that the Irish contestants were all wearing the red poppy. I don't personally see why not, given the vast number of Irish men who died in world war one, but there may be some people who will think differently.

Should they 365 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    28% 104 votes
    Meh, whatever like
    71% 261 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

Oh Jesus not again.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Oh no, not again! I still have nightmares about last years thread, it just wouldn't die!

Yes, we are essentially British and should be grateful for all they have done for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Sorry folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The X Factor and a poppy thread - Christmas is on its way! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

I will now summarize the rest of this thread for those who have started reading it here.

Yup ya boya, go Celtic

Sorry old boy but what did you say? Irelands a republic? Are you sure

Gerry, martin, gerry, martin

**** rangers

so on so forth.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

dclane wrote: »
    After watching the x-factor over the weekend I saw that the Irish contestants were all wearing the red poppy. I don't personally see why not, given the vast number of Irish men who died in world war one, but there may be some people who will think differently.

The poppy is also associated with the men who died while in Ireland fighting the Irish. That is why people have a problem with it. Xfactor contestants are told they have to wear them.

The young fella Eoghan Quigg revealed after the show that he was told wear it or leave. I myself would shove it clean up Cowells behind!

And if people are complaining about this thread, why are ye after joining it!?!?!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

People can do whatever they want as long as it doesn't do anyone any harm.

That applies to wearing a poppy, but not so for appearing on the X-Factor. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Big Mary wasn't wearing one i think??.
    It's a fashion accessory on British tv that people put on without thinking .
    Personally i'd wear the Nazi symbol for all those brave SS troops who died.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Well we all live on the British Isles don't we? So why not.

/runs for cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Every bloody year this...

Look, respect our war dead however you see fit and let others do the same and don't trash one another for whatever form you choose.

The end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

not this can of worms again

. . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . ,.-‘”. . . . . . . . . .``~.,
    . . . . . . . .. . . . . .,.-”. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .“-.,
    . . . . .. . . . . . ..,/. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ”:,
    . . . . . . . .. .,?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\,
    . . . . . . . . . /. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,}
    . . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`^`.}
    . . . . . . . ./. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:”. . . ./
    . . . . . . .?. . . __. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :`. . . ./
    . . . . . . . /__.(. . .“~-,_. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ,:`. . . .. ./
    . . . . . . /(_. . ”~,_. . . ..“~,_. . . . . . . . . .,:`. . . . _/
    . . . .. .{.._$;_. . .”=,_. . . .“-,_. . . ,.-~-,}, .~”; /. .. .}
    . . .. . .((. . .*~_. . . .”=-._. . .“;,,./`. . /” . . . ./. .. ../
    . . . .. . .\`~,. . ..“~.,. . . . . . . . . ..`. . .}. . . . . . ../
    . . . . . .(. ..`=-,,. . . .`. . . . . . . . . . . ..(. . . ;_,,-”
    . . . . . ../.`~,. . ..`-.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..\. . /\
    . . . . . . \`~.*-,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..|,./.....\,__
    ,,_. . . . . }.>-._\. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .|. . . . . . ..`=~-,
    . .. `=~-,_\_. . . `\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . .`=~-,,.\,. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .\
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . `:,, . . . . . . . . . . . . . `\. . . . . . ..__
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .`=-,. . . . . . . . . .,%`>--==``
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _\. . . . . ._,-%. . . ..`

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Abortions for some, poppys for others!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

GOD WINS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It felt like we needed a poll...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

After watching the x-factor over the weekend I saw that the Irish contestants were all wearing the red poppy.

Yeah, it's called poppy fascism and they now have no choice but to wear these symbols of British nationalist warmongering when on British TV (Dara Ó Bríain said as much in his interview on RTÉ Radio 1 a couple of months ago). And I suppose if some Paddy joined the British Army to partake in the suppression of indigenous populations (that includes the Irish, by the way) then all this British colonial warmongering suddenly becomes a good thing worthy of being commemorated by Irish people?

Jesus wept.

Yes, we are essentially British and should be grateful for all they have done for us.
    marco_polo wrote: »
    Well we all live on the British Isles don't we? So why not.

This is why I love the poppy brigade; they can neatly encapsulate centuries of British imperialism in Ireland in one single solitary symbol of British jingoism and warmongering. Thank you for your honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Tongue in cheek is hard.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Rebelheart wrote: »
    This is why I love the poppy brigade; they can neatly encapsulate centuries of British imperialism in Ireland in one single solitary symbol of British jingoism and warmongering. Thank you for your honesty.

I can see that one went right over your head.

biko wrote: »
    It felt like we needed a poll...

Can we make opium from these poppies? I have Joe Duffy on speed dial..

It terrifies me what children are being taught in school if this is how they see the world!!!

They are the Islands of Great Britain AND Ireland. Not all one and the same!!!!!

We are not "essentially British" we have been have different for centuries. We are similar. Tigers and lions are similar, but you wouldn't call them the same!

punchdrunk wrote: »
    Tongue in cheek is hard.

Are you sure that's a tongue in your cheek?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Nijmegen wrote: »
    Every bloody year this...

Look, respect our war dead however you see fit and let others do the same and don't trash one another for whatever form you choose.

The end.

Amen to that. /thread.
    wolfpawnat wrote: »
    It terrifies me what children are being thought in school if this is how they see the world!!!

They are the Islands of Great Britain AND Ireland. Not all one and the same!!!!!

We are not "essentially British" we have been have different for centuries. We are similar. Tigers and lions are similar, but you wouldn't call them the same!

Hopefully they are being taught properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

I don’t agree with it at all. It is a personal choice of course, i just think its not something Irish people should do. I will await the flurry of ‘my relatives died fighting for Britain in WW1’ to which i can reply well they were nothing but traitors. I myself have had two great grandfathers fight in this war and this is how i view them. I think the fact it is forced upon you if you are in the UK on TV for example is ridiculous. Of course people should be able to refuse wearing it, there is nothing that could make me wear one if it was requested, the x factor should be ashamed if it is forcing them to wear it.

It is a symbol of oppression to many, Irish people fighting a foreign powers wars both in Ireland and abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Poppies for Somme, miniature tricolour flags for others.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭alandublin15

i vill not tell you again.
    ve have vays of making you vear our national social symbol.

anyway, already solved this - if in the uk you steal one, everyones happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Yeah, it's called poppy fascism and they now have no choice but to wear these symbols of British nationalist warmongering when on British TV (Dara Ó Bríain said as much in his interview on RTÉ Radio 1 a couple of months ago). And I suppose if some Paddy joined the British Army to partake in the suppression of indigenous populations (that includes the Irish, by the way) then all this British colonial warmongering suddenly becomes a good thing worthy of being commemorated by Irish people?

Jesus wept.
    when in rome,even the german ambassador had one on this week,its called respect, try it,you may make friends

Hopefully they are being taught properly.

I am a diagnosed dyslexic, what's their excuse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Id consider myself a nationalist but I dont see why not considering the thousands of brave Irishmen who died.

How about we get a white poppy for our dead, and not associate with Britland (and before Fratton Fred attacks me for it, it is a joke of Britain and England!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Depends how you look at it. If Irish people who wear it want to remember the Irish dead who lost their lives in WW1 and so on, fair play.

Id consider myself a nationalist but I dont see why not considering the thousands of brave Irishmen who died.

What people do not realise is that is the basis of the Easter Lily. Everyone thinks it is a Republican symbol, but it is a lot more. It was created by a mother who lost both of her sons for Ireland. She had no political reasons behind it and it was not meant to be taken by just one group!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I was watching the F1 on BBC yesterday and I spotted that all the presenters were wearing the poppies with one exception - Eddie Jordan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

I am a diagnosed dyslexic, what's their excuse!

Does dyslexia include not knowing the difference between an exclamation mark and a question mark?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

We are not "essentially British" we have been have different for centuries. We are similar.

Firstly, I dont have a problem with the poppy but I dont wear one myself. I was in London last week and was really suprised by the lack of visibility of it on the streets of London. I know some people who serve in the army and they dont wear one.

However, we are a mirror image of the british people and are becoming more alike as time passes. We really dont differ in terms of language, culture, food, entertainment (incl. sport), shopping.

I go to the UK a lot and think the british people are really friendly and love going there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

English, Irish, whoever, shouldn't wear a poppy if they don't want to, and should be allowed to make their own choice. There is definite pressure on everyone to wear a poppy in the UK media if you are on television, this is for all nationalities, not just Irish, but if you are walking down the street without a poppy in England no one is going to bat an eyelid. Not a big deal either way.

See you all next year for some more of the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

COYW wrote: »
    Firstly, I dont have a problem with the poppy but I dont wear one myself. I was in London last week and was really suprised by the lack of visibility of it on the streets of London. I know some people who serve in the army and they dont wear them.

However, we are a mirror image of the british people and are becoming more alike as time passes. We really dont differ in terms of language, culture, food, entertainment (incl. sport), shopping.
    Not true. Gerry adams says differently. He even talks in the Irish language to prove the point.

The Rook wrote: »
    Does dyslexia include not knowing the difference between an exclamation mark and a question mark?

I am aware, I am merely emphasizing the statement :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Quazzie wrote: »
    I was watching the F1 on BBC yesterday and I spotted that all the presenters were wearing the poppies with one exception - Eddie Jordan.

He had one on, a tiny little pin badge one.

COYW wrote: »
    Firstly, I dont have a problem with the poppy but I dont wear one myself. I was in London last week and was really suprised by the lack of visibility of it on the streets of London. I know some people who serve in the army and they dont wear one.

I go to the UK a lot and think the british people are really friendly and love going there.
    and we love you as well,some irish people go to england to find their irish culture,how about a green poppy ?

getz wrote: »
    and we love you as well,some irish people go to england to find their irish culture,how about a green poppy ?

Thats what I am saying, Irish people died in that war, I want to show my respect, but I am NOT wearing that red one!

A green one, or a white one, hell even a tri-coloured one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Quazzie wrote: »

There were a few English friends of Johnny Giles talking on TLL Show on Friday. Only one was wearing a poppy. There's a lot of fascism surrounding the subject. Those choosing not to wear it are seen as disrespectful towards the people that served in the wars. As if wearing a poppy is the only way to show respect.. it's a load of shite. I remember a story about a pub in Britain been boycotted last year because they chose not to sell the things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

Those poor irish souls who joined the british army were economic migrants basically, and many of them didnt come back. There should be some recognition of them in this country, a green poppy maybe, but something because those people went through a fcuking sh1tcnut of hell that, thankfully, most of us will never know...

(...unless we were stuck in a lift for 2hours with pan pipes christmas playing in the background - lest I forget I'm in AH)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Oh Jesus not again.....

I wonder will it end like last years thread ?

There were a few English friends of Johnny Giles talking on TLL Show on Friday. Only one was wearing a poppy. There's a lot of fascism surrounding the subject. Those choosing not to wear it are seen as disrespectful towards the people that served in the wars. As if wearing a poppy is the only way to show respect.. it's a load of shite. I remember a story about a pub in Britain been boycotted last year because they chose not to sell the things.
    the only people who get worked up about it are the irish,the irish woman who ran the english village pub and would not allow a poppy box in her pub was being silly, the village had a lot of veterans living in it ,it was like a red rag to a bull,she lost all her customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

the only people who get worked up about it are the irish,the irish woman who ran the english village pub and would not allow a poppy box in her pub was being silly, the village had a lot of veterans living in it ,it was like a red rag to a bull,she lost all her customers.

It shouldn't be something that people are expected to partake in.. that's a million miles away from what it's supposed to represent. I don't think it's just the Irish who get worked up about it.. Jon Snow from Channel 4 news has never worn a poppy afaik, and each year is subjected to abuse for that fact

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1326063/Jon-Snow-poppy-fascism-row-C4-News-host-refuses-surrender.html?ITO=1490

People can just as easily respect the dead while at the same time not wearing a generic symbolic plastic flower to show others that they respect the dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

In the case of the x-factor, it's a popularity contest, so the Irish contestants don't really have a choice there to be honest. I wouldn't wear one personally and I wouldn't judge anybody for doing so, but I don't think Irish citizens should feel obliged to wear it over here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Paras. Derry. 1972. It overshadows and will continue to overshadow the involvement of all Irishmen in british forces until jusitce is finally given. Apologies are bull****. They men were murderers, plain and simple.

The poppy lauds these men and their actions. It should not be worn by an Irish person.

the only people who get worked up about it are the irish

Clearly this is arrant nonsense. Unless Jon Snow has suddenly become Irish. How do you explain that?

when in rome,even the german ambassador had one on this week,its called respect, try it,you may make friends

Ah "when in Rome", that unshakeable principle of British foreign policy for the past 400 years....:rolleyes: