Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you any good at DIY?

• 07-11-2010 10:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

It's widely assumed that men are naturally good at DIY and women aren't, but is it actually true?

We sent RobitTV out on the streets of our nation earlier on this week & he found that this is not always the case. Some men claimed to be good at it, whilst others admitted that they could not even change a plug*.

And the ladies seemed to fare about the same.

So lads, are ye any good at fixing things, or just breaking them?

And ladies, are ye any good at doing it yourselves?

* = Seriously dudes, you lose your man card for that

DIY.... are you? 156 votes

Male & great at screwing things
    0% 0 votes
    Female & a whizz with a power tool
    71% 111 votes
    Male & pathetic
    17% 28 votes
    Female & helpless
    10% 17 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Yep i'm quite good at DIY. Know a fair bit of electrical stuff cos of my job, had actually thought about becoming a sparks at one stage.
    Am handy with a screwdriver too.
    Don't know anything bout plumbing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

whilst others admitted that they could not even change a plug*.

Well thats my man card revoked :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Defiantly useless.

My da used to try and teach me stuff but I'd imperiously wave him away with a impeccably cuffed sleeve and ride off on my Vespa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Yep i'm quite good at DIY. Know a fair bit of electrical stuff cos of my job, had actually thought about becoming a sparks at one stage.
    Am handy with a screwdriver too.

So you have to get a man in to sort out your leaky pipes then? :D

I think if you go into advanced settings, you can change the thread title if you have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I'm actually really handy at stuff. I did a woodwork class in TY, so I know how to use tools. I can build flat pack furniture and set up and fix technological dealies.

I will admit that my downfall is that I can't really lift very heavy things, or well I don't attempt to cause I'm not a fool.

But I can hang the pretty pictures on my walls all by myself :)

Add- I am a whiz with a power tool ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

My style is usually try and fix something until it's completely obliterated.

I think if you go into advanced settings, you can change the thread title if you have to.

Where are the advanced settings?

(me not so advanced)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Jeez..

I learnt how to wire a plug in first year in a convent school.. :p

I would be pretty handy and give most things a go..

Wouldn't really attempt major electric or plumbing, but any other jobs I'd give them a go..

Better me trying than waiting months for himself to get around to it.. :)

So you have to get a man in to sort out your leaky pipes then? :D

Yep. Tried bleeding the rads before, but flooded the place, so don't try anymore :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

kinky !

"Care to see my selection of "hand tools" ! ;)"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

Rewiring plugs is not a problem, and I'm becoming skilled at peering at the fusebox and saying "hmmmm..." when one blows ;) plumbing is something I need to learn more about though. My carpentry skills extend as far as assembling flat-pack furniture!

I don't own any tools, but a butter knife can be used as a handy alterative to a flathead screwdriver. So i'm resourceful, too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'm great with DIY and fixin stuff.
    Sure whenever there's a problem with the interwebz, Al Gore gives me a shout to fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Leelaa22

my parents are away and I plumbed in the new washing machine all by myself!!! The tiler came and was well impressed :D

Where are the advanced settings?

(me not so advanced)

I dunno, i only said that to make myself look smart:pac:

Go into edit,and click go advanced. The thread title should appear*

*Not my fault if it doesn't though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'm not great at making stuff, cept for flatpacks, but I'm good at fixing stuff

Most of it is common sense, just figure out how it works and what's stopping it from working
    Then get out the duct tape and fix it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Yeah am pretty ok with on the ol DIY and have enough tools, jigsaws , drills ,screwdrivers,extension cords and assorted tools of one kind in large toolbox to get through most average household jobs and put the flatback wardrobes up (thanks to cordless drills ) .I put a garden fence up a few years back ( still hasn't fell down :pac: ) and finished off painting my hallway last week .I also changed a plug on an iron yesterday .:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead's a brilliant handyman. Have just finished painting the upstairs room and it looks great. Getting stuff done gives Pighead an enormous sense of well being (Porklife!)

I dunno, i only said that to make myself look smart:pac:

Go into edit,and click go advanced. The thread title should appear*

*Not my fault if it doesn't though...

It's OK - I just took my laptop apart & rearranged a few bits & that seemed to have solved the problem!

Pighead wrote: »
    Pighead's a brilliant handyman. Have just finished painting the upstairs room and it looks great. Getting stuff done gives Pighead an enormous sense of well being (Porklife!)

Mrs Pighead didn't get to paint the room then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I'm female and good at screwing DIY household...erm maintenance...!

I can decorate and do minor electrical and plumbing stuff. Once in another house the kitchen fitter bloke fitted a counter top not flat.

It got on my nerves so I removed the counter, the unit, the sink, the under sink plumbing and erm 'planed' down the unit and then replaced all the under sink/dishwasher/washing machine plumbing which was busily entangled in the unit. Replaced it all, worked perfect no leaks! (I had craftily drawn a picture of it all beforehand)

I also did coving, parquet flooring, all types of decorating including preparing the walls (the worst bit) filling all the damaged bits with caulk etc Sanding, stripping (oooer!!) Nitromorsing! Painting, wallpapering! Mosaic tiling!

After I moved out of that house of horrors I moved into a .....new build !!!

You better believe it!

(I can also do basic car stuff like jump start it/put in oil/water and change the wheel)

Thats it! oh yeh I can make flatpacks!! easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

i'm a carpenter
    and if i couldn't do anything around the house i'd be pretty worried :D

i'd do nearly everything except major electrical work anything else i'd do myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

i can build flat pack, change a ballcock, paint a room (without streaking), wire a plug, install a washing machine, install a cooker, use most power tools and i know what they do to, i even bought my own tool sets!

I'm fairly handy myself... I did all the work in our house when we moved in, from floors to plumbing. The only thing I didn't do was the tiling in the bathrooms because it seemed like a huge amount of work!

My proudest achievement though, was laying a patio & building a concrete base for the shed, mainly because I got to use cement mixer & a con saw (the king of power tools!).

I roared like a lion when I finished the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Leelaa22

i can build flat pack, change a ballcock, paint a room (without streaking), wire a plug, install a washing machine, install a cooker, use most power tools and i know what they do to, i even bought my own tool sets!

I can do 4 of them, I think we have the right to feel pretty sumg with ourselves :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Mrs Pighead didn't get to paint the room then?
    We came to an arrangement after hours of intense negotiations. Don't want to get into the in's and out's of said negotiations but lets just say this poster won't be filling his own hot water bottle tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Unfortunately, I'm not the worst at DIY, car stuff, PC/Mac/Web/Electronics stuff, and can setup guitars, so I'm constantly hounded to do stuff for people. Saying no is also difficult, I need to learn how. In future, I'm just going to tell people I'm useless with that sort of stuff, waaaay easier :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I'm fairly handy myself... I did all the work in our house when we moved in, from floors to plumbing. The only thing I didn't do was the tiling in the bathrooms because it seemed like a huge amount of work!

My proudest achievement though, was laying a patio & building a concrete base for the shed, mainly because I got to use cement mixer & a con saw (the king of power tools!).

I roared like a lion when I finished the job.

me too..

except for the roaring bit at the end.. :rolleyes:

Unfortunately, I'm not the worst at DIY, car stuff, PC/Mac/Web/Electronics stuff, and can setup guitars, so I'm constantly hounded to do stuff for people. Saying no is also difficult, I need to learn how. In future, I'm just going to tell people I'm useless with that sort of stuff, waaaay easier :D

You might want to change your username too while you're at it so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I'd class myself as brutal with most things DIY related. I can do some basic stuff like change a plug, light car maintenance (changing oil, tyre, jump starting etc) but that would be the extent of it. I had to put a flatpack wardrobe together before and it took me five hours before I called in some help of the male variety.

The mother is brilliant though. She tiled the bathroom herself, did the wooden floors downstairs and can hang doors.

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I'd class myself as brutal with most things DIY related. I can do some basic stuff like change a plug, light car maintenance (changing oil, tyre, jump starting etc) but that would be the extent of it. I had to put a flatpack wardrobe together before and it took me five hours before I called in some help of the male variety.

The mother is brilliant though. She tiled the bathroom herself, did the wooden floors downstairs and can hang doors.

Hanging doors is fairly tricky. I did the ones in our house, thinking it would be a doddle. I went through about 4 doors before I worked out why they wouldn't close & only then I got the hang of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Unfortunately, I'm not the worst at DIY, car stuff, PC/Mac/Web/Electronics stuff,....

Oh were including techie geeky nerdy stuff??
    Caus im dam good at that! :D
    Anything wrong with a Computer, i can fix! :)

/please dont ask me to fix your pc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I'm a girl. You have flat pack furniture? I can make it. I could build an entire house out of flat pack.:cool:

I also laid a floor with my dad.

I'm a girl. You have flat pack furniture? I can make it. I could build an entire house out of flat pack.:cool:

I'm not sure that would comply with Building Regulations. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Pighead wrote: »
    We came to an arrangement after hours of intense negotiations. Don't want to get into the in's and out's of said negotiations but lets just say this poster won't be filling his own hot water bottle tonight.

I hope that you remembered to cover up your wife's radio before you started painting, or there will be much confusion and sniggering in the neighbourhood.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,543 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I heard Prendeville is good at DIY ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I'm not sure that would comply with Building Regulations. :p

Would the way I do it. I'm that good!:cool::pac:

I also laid a floor with my dad.

They make flat pack houses in Sweden and you can order them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I'm a girl and can do quite a bit around the house. Only time I'll not give something a go is when I physically can't move/lift something, although I usually only give up after doing myself an injury out of sheer stubborn-ness.
    Oh, and I don't do electrics. Cos I don't know anything about it and it can kill me. (Electricity is scary magic stuff that I don't understand)

But I've painted, tiled, shelved, click-floored, skirting-boarded, plumbed, unblocked, assembled.....oh, and I once took apart the dishwasher out of frustration and fixed it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

I am well able to screw things in tight.

But, I haven't handled a screwdriver in years :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    I am well able to screw things in tight.

But, I haven't handled a screwdriver in years :cool:

I've been waiting 3 pages for a massive tool pun. Yours will do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Im okay with cars. managed to change whole suspension and exhaust system on the car using axle stands and can do the general servicing of stuff, plugs, coolant, oil etc.

Used to build lots of ****e with wood and nails when i was a kid haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I try my hand at most things in DIY, even though I'm in I.T.

In my first house I replumbed the kitchen and bathroom, converted all the single sockets to double sockets, bit of carpentry, painting and wallpapering, attic insulation etc. I installed an infrared sensor on the porch door too, but am a little wary of electrics in general more for the fire risk later if you don't do it right.

I tried some DIY on a fuel line leak on an Opel Corsa once, and it exploded a week later when I turned the ignition. It was like an assassination attempt!
    So some things, like fuel line leaks and surgery on small animals should never fall under the DIY category.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

I've been waiting 3 pages for a massive tool pun. Yours will do!
    You give me too much credit.

I never said it was massive :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm not a master
    but far from a disaster.
    I know how to screw if truth be tolt
    and know how to equally quickly bolt.
    I'm good with wood
    And know I could!

My poem is crap and I know it
    ...But whats a man to do?
    When it come to words and rhymes
    I seriously don't, have a clue!

So leave me alone with my screwing
    and my drilling wood,
    A happy better man I'll be
    Drilling where I oughta should!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

I'm pretty good at it. I don't swerve too much and rarely leave the road. Oh I thought you said DUI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I'm not too bad at DIY/electrics/plumbing/soldering/etc. I would have said I'm pretty basic, compared to my parents but compared to many posters on this thread I feel like Mrs Fixit.:P

I mostly stick to electrical and plumbing though because they are the types of things that need to be done when they need to be done, iykwim. When it comes to stuff that I'd like done but aren't urgent it takes me a very long time to get around to it. I just find a lot of DIY sort of tedious. Probably because when I was growing up my parents were always in the middle of big household projects. Growing up with them ensured I can do the majority of household jobs but I rarely do, as I can't stand it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭BillShorey

Why do DIY when you can pay others to do it for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

Shít flows downhill and paydays on Thursday.
    Congratulations, your a qualified plumber.