Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoD Beers

• 04-11-2010 1:13am
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok here we go,

It's been talked about enough so I just figured I would get the ball rolling.

All the threads lately remind me of being a kid and being afraid to approach a girl at a little disco... Everyone seems to have been itching more and more to know each other so what better way than over a few beers.

I'm not going to propose any places or dates, just curious to see how many people would be up for it and if it's worth pursuing the idea further.

And remember guys...

beer-funny.jpg

========================================================
    EDIT: By the way, this includes ALL platforms.
    I'm sure Xbox and PS can build a bridge for one night!
    ========================================================

Beers? 41 votes

Yay
    0% 0 votes
    Nay
    100% 41 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

I'd be up for a cork one. Maybe a Dublin one i had enough notice, could make it an excuse to go up an visit the missus ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

x43r0 wrote: »
    I'd be up for a cork one. Maybe a Dublin one i had enough notice, could make it an excuse to go up an visit the missus ;)

*Sure bring her along :)

I'm sure if enough people get back we could agree on a middle meeting point to whatever suits the majority

*I may creep on her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

I'd love to go to one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

She works in Dublin so i make the trip up every two weeks or so. If there were beers on somewhere I could prob pop in.

Can do cork beers whenever tho

x43r0 wrote: »
    She works in Dublin so i make the trip up every two weeks or so. If there were beers on somewhere I could prob pop in.

Can do cork beers whenever tho

If you're going to be in Dublin for a few days I'm sure one of 'em would suit peoples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

This poll will close on 12-02-2011 at 01:15
    ^^ since when has that happened to polls :confused:

On Topic:

Say it'd be pretty good to have CoD beers, not too close to release date of BO though or they'll be no one there :P

^^ since when has that happened to polls :confused:
    They asked me when I wanted the poll to close and I figured if I left it balnk it would close soon so I just stuck with 100 days :) Round figure an all that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

If you leave it blank it stays open indefinitely I think. not sure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I'd be interested - any excuse really ;)

(I'd also be most interested in seeing if certain people are as belligerent in person as they are when posting here anonymously) :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Definitely up for it, though it really does depend mostly on where it is.
    *cough* Galway/Limerick *cough*

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Was thinking about this every now and again over the last week or two. I'd be up for it. Where and when depending of course.

I was class rep for my year in IT(ie: organise sessions for the entire Science 1st year :) and everyone said I did well in that) so have a few contacts, so I could possibly sort something out around Dublin/Wicklow if needed.

edit - we should wear tuxedos and crash Shammy's house when he least expects IMO, I'll bring punch and pie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

everlast75 wrote: »
    I'd be interested - any excuse really ;)

(I'd also be most interested in seeing if certain people are as belligerent in person as they are when posting here anonymously) :P

ill go dressed as a witcher so ill just call you a camper and then run away really fast

ps im game for going anyway but if i get meself sorted out with a place after christmas you can all just come drink in mine . there'l be cod . and beers . and possibly pizza

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

I would but I'm washing my hair that night.

Quite a decent response on this so far :)

Seeing as I'm not one for actually organising things I'm happy to pass the torch over to *Ade if he's willing (man enough) to take the role :p

*As long as he's not too busy beating people with the BanHammer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Nice the mod has settled it , Limerick it is , 2 hours from dublin (try and disguise your accents:D) an hour from Cork and an hour from Galway .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Wont be able to make it.not working and what with xmas coming up,black-ops and an exam at the start of december im up to me tits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

I'd be interested alright. Obviously the location is key I assume the majority rules? For me it would probably need to be this month as December is mad with nights out, parties and all that malarky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    Wont be able to make it.not working and what with xmas coming up,black-ops and an exam at the start of december im up to me tits
    Enigma IE wrote: »
    I'd be interested alright. Obviously the location is key I assume the majority rules? For me it would probably need to be this month as December is mad with nights out, parties and all that malarky.

No dates mentioned lads , i'm assuming it would be after chrimbo that might suit everyone ? only 7 weeks to Chrimbo everyone is busy with exams , christmas do's , presents etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Shammy wrote: »
    No dates mentioned lads , i'm assuming it would be after chrimbo that might suit everyone ? only 7 weeks to Chrimbo everyone is busy with exams , christmas do's , presents etc etc

No Snow.....no Show !!!!

Nice the mod has settled it , Limerick it is , 2 hours from dublin (try and disguise your accents:D) an hour from Cork and an hour from Galway .
    so where all staying at your place ? if we're playing the box im taking the pink controller . actually screw that im staying with blacky and clive ( whats he like naming is gamertag after his actual name) wanna get a little bit hhhhhhhhiiiiiiiiiiiiggggghhhhhh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Deffo up for this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Sound.If I had enough notice would try and make it.Wouldnt mind a trip outside the pale either

Maybe Ade could edit the poll (if possible) soon to the 3 provinces (+Magill) where people would prefer to have the beers and a before/after xmas option for each?

Seems before xmas is too close though.

Leeg17 wrote: »
    Maybe Ade could edit the poll (if possible) soon to the 3 provinces (+Magill) where people would prefer to have the beers and a before/after xmas option for each?

Yea I'd be happy with this, saves creating a separate thread again down the line.

I thought I'd be able to edit the poll at a later date, turns out I can't :(

Once it's made it can't be edited unfortunately.

why dont we just all add our names preffered locations and dates and they can be added to a single post like on the shared gamertag thread ?

e.g.

sierra, adam , yer man over there
    dont care where
    anytime after christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

sierra117x wrote: »
    why dont we just all add our names preffered locations and dates and they can be added to a single post like on the shared gamertag thread ?

e.g.

dont care where
    anytime after christmas

Good idea in theory, but in reality will be difficult to get a consensus!!!

Name: Blacky / Brian
    Preferred Location: Dublin but would travel somewhere if enough going
    Time: Probably after xmas at this stge.

sierra117x wrote: »

e.g.

dont care where
    anytime after christmas

Adam eh,heres mineAnne/AnneAnywhere outside my atticAnytime post 1945

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Will do in a bit.

Neil / xxELKATSUMOTOxx
    Dublin but if enough people going will travel.
    Anytime really

Fingers crossed this takes off and isn't just put on the backburner :)

Lee / Ith_mo_Spas
    Galway/Limerick ideally, the big schmoke scares me!

Lee / Ith_mo_Spas
    Galway/Limerick ideally, the big schmoke scares me!

ha ha nothing to be afraid of Lee !!we're all oirish !!!

You're only Oirish if you drink Heino, paid with Daddy's wages as an awrchitect.

ha ha no heino for me !!Guinness all the way :)

AnneFrank wrote: »
    Adam eh,heres mineAnne/AnneAnywhere outside my atticAnytime post 1945

yeah dont start calling me that though ill get confused :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Jevan / Jev N
    Dublin preferably but might consider travelling
    December or after, depends on the weekend though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Could we possbly have this in Mcdonalds to suit all ages? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

Could we possbly have this in Mcdonalds to suit all ages? :pac:

hahhhahaha man up Floyd. you need to start preparing your liver for the big bad world of drink!:D

I'm willing to travel aswell! wherever, whenever, whatever! twud be good to match the faces to the names!

EDIT: WHO VOTED NO???????? shame on ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Benrobjohn

Whats happening? Has this fallen by the way side? I'd be up for it just tell me where and when!:D

I think most people agreed to have it after xmas, as before then was too soon. Probably end Jan/start Feb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

Reckon somebody's local organised so we can get a couple consoles in there too ;)

Of course ill be wiggling my way in with my Justin Beiber haircut and library card :D

Bump :pac::)

why the bump sure its not even christmas yet

Well maybe the good Mod could change the first post to include a poll of where/when it'll be held. We can decide now before Xmas.

i need a weekend anyway ive no time off work left till april . other than that i dont really mind the wheres and whens

As before, I'm game for any night. Just need a bit of notice for work.

Maybe Ade could throw up a new poll like Lee said and people can vote on a time and place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

The alcoholic in me is wondering what happened to this? :P

Well buddy now that you've mentioned it...

We all agreed we would arrange it after the New Year, well guess what lads, it's the new year! So, let's get the finger out and begin organising a good night out!

What say yee!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Beer

Tallon wrote: »
    Beer

Concurred!

Location!?