Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest Riots

• 03-11-2010 4:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1103/education.html

it was bound to happen.

I'm strongly against rising fees, as is anyone who's daddy doesnt own an island, but this is not the way to do it.

the problem with having a protest of this size is the number of idiots who want to riot will increase in ratio with the number of people who just want a peaceful protest to make the issue known.

This has done damage to the image of students in Ireland that will take years to reverse if it's ever reversed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Gman1

Nekro Man wrote: »
    This has done damage to the image of students in Ireland that will take years to reverse if it's ever reversed

No it hasnt. the students today have done what many people wish to do. In France, if the public dont like something they march, they then take it further and riot, and in the majority of cases the government folds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Nekro Man wrote: »

I'm strongly against rising fees, as is anyone who's daddy doesnt own an island, but this is not the way to do it.

I'm pro fees and my daddy doesn't own an island and I'm certainly not the only one.

The march was fair enough, but the what happened on Merrion Row was embarrassing and damaging imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

'Riots' is a bit strong. A small group of people caused a bit of trouble. It was too be expected really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Gman1 wrote: »
    No it hasnt. the students today have done what many people wish to do. In France, if the public dont like something they march, they then take it further and riot, and in the majority of cases the government folds.

You ll find that most workers and parents will strongly disagree with the protest element today. Let alone the fact you 'v pissed off any worker working near Stepehns Green, Baggot Street, Pearse street etc plus the numerous schools in that area that have a entire road blocked off to them preventing them from getting home like they would on a normal day.

Here's a hint this isn't France and it never will be this situation is a bit different then theirs. This country is staring into the brink and it DESPERATELY needs revenue. Protesting and causing havok like today in which a clean up will end up costing the tax payer even more money is going to mean that every tax payer will be spitting on the students telling them to shut the **** up that they aren't struggling to pay a mortgage with a bank breathing down their neck.

Stev_o wrote: »
    You ll find that most workers and parents will strongly disagree with the protest element today. Let alone the fact you 'v pissed off any worker working near Stepehns Green, Baggot Street, Pearse street etc plus the numerous schools in that area that have a entire road blocked off to them preventing them from getting home like they would on a normal day.

Here's a hint this isn't France and it never will be this situation is a bit different then theirs. This country is staring into the brink and it DESPERATELY needs revenue. Protesting and causing havok like today in which a clean up will end up costing the tax payer even more money is going to mean that every tax payer will be spitting on the students telling them to shut the **** up that they aren't struggling to pay a mortgage with a bank breathing down their neck.

No need to get pissy and moany about it.

This isnt France, but the government dont care about people protesting. It doesnt bother them. But when marches get heated, they are heard much more than a peaceful one.

Peaceful marches go on all the time, and **** all happens to help those people out. Action needs to be taken, and voices need to be heard. The peaceful way isnt working, so another method needs to be used.

This is France, but the government dont care about people protesting. It doesnt bother them. But when marches get heated, they are heard much more than a peaceful one.

Peaceful marches go on all the time, and **** all happens to help those people out. Action needs to be taken, and voices need to be heard. The peaceful way isnt working, so another method needs to be used.

How much sympathy do you think people during these times are going to have for a bunch of rowdy students marching over an extra grand in registration fees that only half are liable for in the first place?

This is France, but the government dont care about people protesting. It doesnt bother them. But when marches get heated, they are heard much more than a peaceful one.

Words can't even comprehend how wrong you are.

Maybe emigration is for you?

Words can't even comprehend how wrong you are.

Maybe emigration is for you?

Just because I have a different opinion doesn't mean that I am wrong.

You can stay indoors, and not say anything. Let the government do what they like.

lol wut

You can stay indoors, and not say anything. Let the government do what they like.

Ill actually go vote and do something actually productive instead of wasting police time by trying to assault them and generally cost the tax payer even more money.

OK, voting is one way to get rid of a bad government. But we will have to wait for a general election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

You do know it's possible to march without assaulting anyone, as 99% of people today did.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

face1990 wrote: »
    You do know it's possible to march without assaulting anyone, as 99% of people today did.

While I know that the vast majority were probably as peaceful and respectful as can be, the media were always going to focus in on the rowdy minority and portray them as the majority.

face1990 wrote: »

99% is a bit of random number.

Im sure the main march that went through the approved route had no incidents but how can you explain the incidents that resulted when the march when to the Dail and the Dept of Finance which led to the incidents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Nothing wrong with peaceful sit ins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭lithiumoxide

Regardless of whether or not the disruption was due to aggravation by either the protestors or the gardaí, or if it was even necessary in the first place, I think it's safe to say that it has highlighted the protest and the reasons behind it.

It has shown that some people - rightly or wrongly - are prepared to take action that step further. The government ministers will, I'm sure, keep an eye on this kind of behaviour, as it's potentially "inspiration" for other groups to step up their action in a similar fashion.

I should say that I don't think violent action like this was called for by the students in their fight against the hike in registration fee. One can easily p1ss off a government by continued sit-ins, mass chaining to gates, a sit-in/down on O'Connell St (or any of the main traffic arteries through town)... All you need to do is use your imagination! But causing injuries like this is not needed.

I also think that today's protest and unfortunate events reinforce the fact that we're in crisis, and that we're fast approaching a "tipping point" of sorts.

Regardless of whether or not the disruption was due to aggravation by either the protestors or the gardaí, or if it was even necessary in the first place, I think it's safe to say that it has highlighted the protest and the reasons behind it.

It has shown that some people - rightly or wrongly - are prepared to take action that step further. The government ministers will, I'm sure, keep an eye on this kind of behaviour, as it's potentially "inspiration" for other groups to step up their action in a similar fashion.

I should say that I don't think violent action like this was called for by the students in their fight against the hike in registration fee. One can easily p1ss off a government by continued sit-ins, mass chaining to gates, a sit-in/down on O'Connell St (or any of the main traffic arteries through town)... All you need to do is use your imagination! But causing injuries like this is not needed.

I also think that today's protest and unfortunate events reinforce the fact that we're in crisis, and that we're fast approaching a "tipping point" of sorts

That's a giant contradiction.

The country is in a **** whole, the worst it's ever been in and your suggesting shutting the down the hub of the city centre thus effect every day commerce :confused:

How about people start putting their heads together and trying to work together in solving this problem because it matters not if we get a change of government because neither FG nor Labour have come out suggesting any better alternatives then what the present government is doing.

That's a giant contradiction.

The country is in a **** whole, the worst it's ever been in and your suggesting shutting the down the hub of the city centre thus effect every day commerce :confused:

It was an example of how to take serious action without getting violent. I wasn't suggesting that it should be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭MrPirate

So, while I was peacefully attempting to get people to do a sit-in just outside the Dept of Finance, I managed to catch the best part of 20 minutes of the initial attacks by the riot police.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWpTDmbl7vE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0FXR4u510x0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cMbtk1CN-Xc

What you don't completely see in the videos though is the amount of people being pulled out with bleeding heads, busted lips, noses, etc. You see a good few, but not as many as I actually saw.

Funny, it seems RTE only focuses on the injured guarda. Typical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Stopped watching, got fed up with the plank yelling "fcuk youuu!!!!"

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Stopped watching, got fed up with the plank yelling "fcuk youuu!!!!"

T'was one of the guys either right behind me or to my right, couldn't see. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

MrPirate wrote: »
    So, while I was peacefully attempting to get people to do a sit-in just outside the Dept of Finance, I managed to catch the best part of 20 minutes of the initial attacks by the riot police.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWpTDmbl7vE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0FXR4u510x0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cMbtk1CN-Xc

What you don't completely see in the videos though is the amount of people being pulled out with bleeding heads, busted lips, noses, etc. You see a good few, but not as many as I actually saw.

Funny, it seems RTE only focuses on the injured guarda. Typical.

So you were the one filming, apparently saw lots of injured people but were somehow unable to turn the camera to capture the same ? Now that's funny.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    So you were the one filming, apparently saw lots of injured people but were somehow unable to turn the camera to capture the same ? Now that's funny.

If you could read I clearly said you see some of them, but not all. When you're in a jam packed situation were you actually can't move due to a few hundred people right behind you, you can't exactly move around too easily. Plus, I was trying (For the most part) to keep my camera relatively unnoticed because I have heard plenty of situations where the police would tell the filmer to put the camera away, to the point where they actually take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Right... I'm half-way through the first vid - is there any point in watching any further or is it the same ****e? Does anything actually happen or do people continue to just stand there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

More hearsay, 'I heard'. I doubt very much they had any interest in your, or any of the many of other camera phones pointed at them, in such a situation. With the crowd behind you as you say why didn't you get any footage of those hurling projectiles, or would that be too impartial for you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

the riots were completely separate from the rest of the march, I walked the whole thing and heard nothing of the rioting till I got home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Landa2

Hurling projectiles at the heavily armored riot police, in comparison to the t-shirt and jean clad students being shield and baton rushed.. yeah i can see what you mean there.. As for impartial, think about that statement.. this person was protesting against the government yet you expect him to take an impartial stance with his recording habits..

One thing i would like to point out is the disgrace of a organisation that is the USI, disowning all members that were involved in anything outside of listening to their speech..
    RTE wrote:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1103/education.html

Mr Redmond said the occupation of the Department of Finance by a number of protestors was not representative of the USI.

He said that many of the clashes with gardaí occurred during the USI address to protestors on Merrion Square.

Gary Redmond said the actions of protestors engaged in a sit-down protest outside Leinster House were also not condoned by the USI.

Now i can understand their dismay at the protest turning violent in places but disowning members involved in peaceful sit-down protests.. What.. Im lost for words on this..

Finally i will say one last thing, those in here that condemn all outside of the main protest outside of Leinster House, I was outside there in many of the years gone by since 2003, each year it was a great event where we showed our stance on fees.. In 2003 i payed €630 to go to college, now.. You can protest all you want but no-one is listening.. If this is the way we are to continue we may as well bend over right now, grab our ankles and prepare for the next 2 years..

Oh and because i can see it coming, the last time it wasn't the students that stopped fee's it was the Green Party, who threatened to pull out of coalition which would have caused Fianna Fail to loose power.. Just to get that out of the way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭YourName

I was there as a photographer and this had absolutely nothing to do with the peaceful march. I don't expect much more from the media but they did exactly as I expected, and basically only reported on this group of around 800 people out of what some people are reporting as around 35000 people who were in the whole demonstration.

It was full of the socialists party and Eirigi, from what I was reading from the flags and the people there, they then went with loud speakers down to the Dail and begged more people to come down, they had planned to come here all along because they were there before the actual demonstration made its way to the stage at Merrion Square.

It was mayhem there, however in fairness to the Guards, they dealt very well with it, a bit heavy handed I must say but in fairness there was no other way, there were people there who were there only to cause mayhem.

When the first police horses arrived it caused a bit of a stir, and infuriated some people bent on causing mayhem, but I felt it could have all ended well with time, there were being eggs thrown, but I didn't see it going on much longer to be honest, people were getting bored and leaving, but I think the Guards were under pressure to get things moving, and once the riot police showed up, all hell broke loose, they did it all to the book, and moved the crowd well, and out of the place, yes people fell, got injured, but what do you expect when your lying on the ground having a "peaceful protester" when there's riot police and garda horses on front of you, there's nothing peaceful about that.

So to end this big long post I just want to say that this was not caused by the students of Ireland whatsoever, and the Guards did well in a hairy situation, a bit overkill with the riot police because there wasn't even a riot, but they nearly caused one, but a decision they took, an cleared the place out.

/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

How about people start putting their heads together and trying to work together in solving this problem because it matters not if we get a change of government because neither FG nor Labour have come out suggesting any better alternatives then what the present government is doing.

Im happily shocked to see a number of my DCU students have their heads screwed on about this countries situation.

FM104 now: all about the student protest.

There are people on saying they went to cause trouble.. "coz uv de goooov-ment!"... And that's the extent of their argument.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

Off topic conversation about the English language removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Landa2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Landa2 wrote: »
    Looks pretty much like what I heard, the vast majority of protesters were civil but a small minority behaved like thugs. The Gardai reacted to the latter and unfortunately some of the more civil ones got caught in the cross fire.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭annoyingbeast

the students stood up and were counted for, they used force which showed the government there anger, hopefully the government understand.
    the fact is that theres been dozens of demonstrations and strikes in this country and the goverment havent listened, so the people have responded, if the government doesnt listen there going to have escalating violence on there hands, they serve the people and should do what they say.

another thing i would like to point out is the disgrace of a organisation that is the USI, disowning all members that were involved in anything outside of listening to their speech..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

the students stood up and were counted for, they used force which showed the government there anger, hopefully the government understand.
    the fact is that theres been dozens of demonstrations and strikes in this country and the goverment havent listened, so the people have responded, if the government doesnt listen there going to have escalating violence on there hands, they serve the people and should do what they say.

another thing i would like to point out is the disgrace of a organisation that is the USI, disowning all members that were involved in anything outside of listening to their speech..
    The government shouldn't be listening to the protesters, if they have any sense at least. A reintroduction of fees to some degree is required in order to continue funding third level education in a manner which ensures we remain a viable local for outside investment. I certainly don't agree with fees payable up front in full but solutions such as those found the UK would be beneficial to everyone and would ensure no one is excluded from the system.

Many of the marchers on the day, however, were explicitly against fees in general which will only end up hurting them in the long run as third level funding and, as a result, standards within the system begin to fall and their degrees become less valuable.

As for the force used, violence is never the answer in situations like this. Both the people of the country and indeed the opposition will have several opportunities to get rid of the government over the next couple of months and they should be acted upon in the appropriate manner. Any other kind of action would not only damage the country internally but also internationally, a situation which no rational person would welcome.

Makes perfect sense to me, I'd disown them too. They went on an offshoot from the offical peaceful march which was seemingly orchestrated by a bunch of fringe groups and embarrassed the rest of the student body.

Whatever about the heavy handedness of the Gardaí it still doesn't make the actions of the others any less reprehensible .