Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neil Prendeville!

• 03-11-2010 9:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭

WTF was he thinking? Actually don't answer that!....this is not good for his reputation and career....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

http://examiner.ie/ireland/aer-lingus-to-complain-radio-hosts-sex-act-to-gardai-135321.html

Its a career killer most certainly. Whatever about his reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Agreed its disaster of a situation.However i hope he don't lose his job over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Well he wont lose his job as he is more or less the top man in 96fm I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

gimmick wrote: »
    Well he wont lose his job as he is more or less the top man in 96fm I think.

He prob won't lose his job but it'll never be the same with again now - people won't forget something like this and whenever he's on his high horse they can bring him back down to earth with a bang hehe:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

dave1982 wrote: »
    Agreed its disaster of a situation.However i hope he don't lose his job over it

I hope he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Wow, I was wondering why he wasnt on this morning but didnt guess anything like this. Wonder if it was covered when they did the papers? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Since the incident Mr Prendeville left a voice message on the telephone of the young woman who was sitting beside him, in which he said: "I just wanted to apologise to you for any offence that I might have caused you." He said he had no recollection of the incident and that when he was told about it he was "shocked and horrified". "I have no recollection whatsoever. I’m in shock, you know, I really am. I took some Nurofen Plus alright, I know that, for my neck. And as you know, with me anyway there was pints and wine and stuff and Jesus I don’t know where I’d begin to make it up to you," he said on the voicemail.

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/aer-lingus-to-complain-radio-hosts-sex-act-to-gardai-135321.html#ixzz14DCnJkTI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭curly from cork

what a load of crock. in the paper he said he took neurofen. neurofen even combined with alcohol does not cause memory loss.
    deviant behaviour. needs professional help.

what a load of crock. in the paper he said he took neurofen. neurofen even combined with alcohol does not cause memory loss.
    deviant behaviour. needs professional help.

I'd be inclined to agree there - there must be something else involved. Neurofen with alcohol would not cause this to happen surely. I can't really say cos i have never taken alcohol with neurofen.....but i find it hard to believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭curly from cork

Ray Darcy on about it now. does nt really believe prendivilles " excuse "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭moceri

"I can't remember getting from the Restaurant to the Airport"

It must have been some bash at Bentleys Restaurant - as Guest of Cork Convention Bureau, Cork City Mayor and Cork County Mayor.

Was Taxpayers money used to fund the Bash. Who was he making the "Speech" to? I think the Public are entitled to some answers from the Local Authorities about this Junket. It looks like the Gravy Train is still running in Cork.

The Damaged Quay wall opposite the MERCY Hospital has still not been repaired 12 Months after the Floods due to a Funding Shortage!!!

moceri wrote: »
    "I can't remember getting from the Restaurant to the Airport"

It must have been some bash at Bentleys Restaurant - as Guest of Cork Convention Bureau, Cork City Mayor and Cork County Mayor.

Was Taxpayers money used to fund the Bash. Who was he making the "Speech" to? I think the Public are entitled to some answers from the Local Authorities about this Junket. It looks like the Gravy Train is still running in Cork.

The Damaged Quay wall opposite the MERCY Hospital has still not been repaired 12 Months after the Floods due to a Funding Shortage!!!

Very good point - yet they can afford to wine and dine in a posh restaurant in London...unbelievable:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

FYP! - Castie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

As far as I know he is not meant to be the most liked person in Cork so I'd say some people are delighted.

What is interesting in the article is how much money was spent wining and dining him and the others. Who financed the trip. Is must have cost a fortune. Looks like this sort of behaviour is still ongoing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

I always said he was a w**ker!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

moceri wrote: »
    It must have been some bash

hee, hee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Can this be made a sticky? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

Go on your GOOD THING YEA:D good old Neil Prendeville what goes around comes around

NickDrake wrote: »
    As far as I know he is not meant to be the most liked person in Cork so I'd say some people are delighted.

What is interesting in the article is how much money was spent wining and dining him and the others. Who financed the trip. Is must have cost a fortune. Looks like this sort of behaviour is still ongoing.

Not liked - yet his radio show is the most listened to in Cork - over 100,000 listeners so they can't hate him that much. He's the guy you love to hate cos he has such strong opinions about everything (opinions which most people don't share) but i always thought he had a good show tbh. Haven't listened to it in ages though cos i'm always in work by the time he starts his show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

Neil Benderville R.I.P

evilivor wrote: »
    Wow I wouldnt recognise his voice there at all :eek:

Now that I listen to it, I did hear a bit from the end on the radio this morning but I didnt know who it was or what they were talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 The Cool One

mike65 wrote: »
    what a load of cock

I don't know man, it's a hard one to call. He's always been a right handfull to deal with.

I'm here all week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Alfred123

i tried this on a Ryanair flite from London to Cork once and no one batted an eyelid.

Maybe he just misheard the safety announcements and thought it said emergency ejaculation rather then emergency evacuation :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

You'd nearly feel sorry for the smug bollix.

Actually no.

JohnK wrote: »
    Maybe he just misheard the safety announcements and thought it said emergency ejaculation rather then emergency evacuation :P

LOL!:D

To be fair, I do feel sorry for his kids. Christ can you imagine the horror of having to face school with that :eek:

leahyl wrote: »
    Not liked - yet his radio show is the most listened to in Cork - over 100,000 listeners so they can't hate him that much. He's the guy you love to hate cos he has such strong opinions about everything (opinions which most people don't share) but i always thought he had a good show tbh. Haven't listened to it in ages though cos i'm always in work by the time he starts his show

Listenership can be companies etc also. People may not want to listen to him but are made to.

I am just saying what I heard from my Cork friends.

What I want to know is who funded this trip over. Who are the Cork bureau>

NickDrake wrote: »
    Listenership can be companies etc also. People may not want to listen to him but are made to.

I am just saying what I heard from my Cork friends.

What I want to know is who funded this trip over. Who are the Cork bureau>

Oh yeah i know you're prob right but i know a fair few people who claim they can't stand the guy but yet regularly listen to his radio show at home....:D

JohnK wrote: »
    To be fair, I do feel sorry for his kids. Christ can you imagine the horror of having to face school with that :eek:

Yeah it's very tough and embarrassing for his wife and kids. Didn't think he'd be that stupid to be honest

leahyl wrote: »
    Yeah it's very tough and embarrassing for his wife and kids. Didn't think he'd be that stupid to be honest

They really must have been wining and dining them in London. Does not reflect to well on the Cork Bureau.

To be honest we don't really know who he was directing it at and why he did it.

Intoxication really isn't a defence and not looked too kindly on as an excuse in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Mits

When I heard this story I could not stop laughing. It's always good to hear somebody is having a worse time than yourself.

I think its a great story. As he is a radio presenter it will more than likely just raise his profile, after the current whoha is over.

Maybe he should try and get in touch with Tiger Woods for details on the sex counciling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Unfortunately I don't think Neil has the deflective skills of Letterman or Hugh Grant. This will be with him for life.

I've often taken Nurofen Plus after or before a few pints and never have I ransacked my dignity in public like that.

I have the feeling that this incident is really just the tip of a very dirty iceberg.

Edit: haha just read on twitter -

'Neil Prendeville responds - Yes that was my snake on a plane.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

They're deleting any facebook comments on the show's page. But on the plus side, tossed salad is on the menu at the Boardwalk today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭panthera

ahahahahahahahhahahahhahahahahaahhaa! i tried not to find it so funny. but he was so serious!!!!!!hahahahaha:D:p
    what a langer!! 'i'd taken three painkilling tablets'...............;)......sure neil!!

Ah lads come on now! Ye are so mean:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

panthera wrote: »
    what a langer!!

you said it.

Just listened to the statement he made. He said he hopes people will learn from it. Not to mix painkillers and alcohol.

He has some cheek!! He should have stated he hopes to learn from it. Trying to bring other people into it is pretty disgraceful.

The makers of the painkillers may also be interested in some of his statements. He did state in a manner of speaking that they caused him to loose control of his mind. Very serious alegations.

This could get very messy. Pardon the pun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

His show has now deleted their entire wall in an effort to censor negative comments. Everything since it was setup. Once cute hoor posted this up, it's deleted now, but it's pretty funny :

attachment.php?attachmentid=133504&stc=1&d=1288782676

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Could never stand listening to this guy, in the few times I listened in he always came across as arrogant, judgemental and condescending. I heard his statement this morning and I cannot believe he is making excuses for his behaviour, he made it out that we should feeling sorry for him!! Instead of making excuses he should have just came out and apologised and admitted he shouldn't have done it. This will come back to haunt him forever! Only ones I feel sorry for are his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

His solicitor, Gerald Keane, is on Today FM talking to Ray. He's blaming the pain killers too, complete bull imo

Trying to put a legal slant on it. His defence would be he was not in control of his mind. Legal defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Mits

I do feel sorry for the other passengers but I would have loved to see their reaction.

I hope the Gardai do a crime scene reinactiment on crime line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭panthera

'the paper alleges he was in a compromising position on an aer lingus flight'!!:D

His show has now deleted their entire wall in an effort to censor negative comments. Everything since it was setup. Once cute hoor posted this up, it's deleted now, but it's pretty funny :

attachment.php?attachmentid=133504&stc=1&d=1288782676

People can still post. But they are deleting them as they come. (pardon for the pun)

Surely they cannot man that wall 24hours a day. Should be some beauties tonight,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭sok2005

What an ol rogue! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Was looking at his photo in Marrakesh in one of the free sheets and he looked totally out of it, IMO.

Personally, I can't blame him for losing his mind, it's a high pressure job and one hears the very worst of the bad, nothing like what gets on air. Hearing the minutia of detailed despicable, depraved acts of sex and violence has to have Psychological effects on one's own mental health.

I worked for him for a while, but would not know him well, he was sound out, kind and caring.

I am also shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Paddysnapper

He's just proved to me what I always thought he was w****r:eek: