If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Events & gig buddies

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Scarinae wrote: »
    Sure, didn't our Lord himself on the cross pause for a nice cup of tea before giving himself up for the world? :pac:

This is going to be epic! :D
    83ste wrote: »
    Got my ticket too.

This may need its own thread - dying to spam everyone with quotes!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

The Good Ship has a super secret headliner this Bank Holiday Monday, might be worth heading along for a look, only £4 in advance, £5 on the door...

http://www.thegoodship.co.uk/whats-on/events/26-may-14-the-good-ship-comedy-club-presents-the-good-ship/

A quick google of the review quote tells me it's
    Hal Cruttenden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Lovebox in Angel is featuring Nas celebrating the 20th anniversary of Illmatic.

Also did ye know you can get standing tickets in Shakespeare's Globe for a fiver??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Anyone going to Hyde Park to see Soundgarden & Faith no More next month?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

Any trip-hop fans in the house? UNKLE are playing a one-off show this Friday at the Southbank. Looks quite tasty.

Reekwind wrote: »
    Any trip-hop fans in the house? UNKLE are playing a one-off show this Friday at the Southbank. Looks quite tasty.

Seen them a few yrs back, awesome live!! It's a rare treat!

Yeah, big fan but never seen them live. So very keen on this if anyone is interested.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,201 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I've already seen it, but if anyone is interested in seeing Ghost Stories, Time Out have half-price tickets (£19.50 down from £39).

So apparently there's some kind of Twitter-powered treasure hunt in London this weekend. There are worse excuses to wander around the city in the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭exiledelbows

Apparently you can pick up £2.50 tickets to Arcade Fire next Thursday in Hyde Park here: https://bst-hydepark.axs.com/event/29zi6iw3i5nbw9xv/price/0fb7b452645

I'm still waiting on my confirmation, but this suggests they'll honour them: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/british-summertime-hyde-park-joyous-music-fans-keep-2-50-tickets-sold-error-1454443

Anyone going to Black Sabbath in Hyde Park next Fri?? Mainly going for FNM & Soundgarden though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Zippy1991

Guy I sit beside in work is trying to shift 4 tickets to this.

£25 each.

Think the RRP is £55.

Just in case there's any Irish interest!!

PM me and I can put ye in touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Zippy1991

Hi just asked him!

Apparently he got them for free.

Zippy1991 wrote: »
    Hi just asked him!

Apparently he got them for free.

In that case il give him a tenner for all four!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

http://www.irishpost.co.uk/entertainment/shane-macgowan-tops-bill-for-paul-mcguinness-benefit-gig

Hi lads,

A number of months a member of Shane McGowan's former band (The Popes) was struck by a hit and run and left with serious brain injuries. Shane is hosting a benefit gig in Camden Town for him. I know Paul and the Popes quite well and this is definitely a worthy cause and a chance to see some fantastic bands as well.

http://www.musicglue.com/londonirishcentre/events/12-jul-14-tedfest-london-london-irish-centre/

London Irish Centre presents:

Tedfest London

Saturday 12 July @ London Irish Centre, London

The London Irish Centre are hugely excited to announce that we will be hosting Tedfest London this July!
    A very special London pop-up visit from the annual Irish Tedfest event, Tedfest London takes place on Saturday July 12th right here in Camden.
    Featuring:
    • The Lovely Girls contest
    • Ted's Got Talent
    • The Craggy Cup: Priests v Nuns 5-a-side
    • The Audience Without Dermot
    • The Craggy Island Céilí
    • Music from Tedfest Housebands
    • Matchmaking with Nellie
    • A Treasure Hunt!
    • DJ Sr Scratchy
    • The Prizeless Quiz
    • Galway Toilet Duck Winner 2014
    All this, and there might even be a few cups of tea as well.
    Tickets are £30 and available here:
    http://www.tedfest.org/tickets.php?Action=Tickets
    Get 'em fast as this will be a sold-out event.
    For more information contact info@londonirishcentre.org
    For those that are going to this, does anyone know if there's a dress code? I mean, do people generally turn up in costume? (And I don't mean as one of the Supremes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭83ste

Got an e-mail from them this morning strongly encouraging costumes.

Bugger. I'd better get myself a 'I shot JR' t-shirt quickly then...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Reekwind wrote: »
    Bugger. I'd better get myself a 'I shot JR' t-shirt quickly then...

You should go as the Dancing Priest!

I do have the moves. It may be that or Eoin McLove, with his happy face

I got my nun costume today, not sure if any of the nun characters are distinctive enough for me to be a particular one though. Unless someone knows where I can get some Easter Eggs in July?

Just cover your face in chocolate, they'll know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I got my nun costume today, not sure if any of the nun characters are distinctive enough for me to be a particular one though. Unless someone knows where I can get some Easter Eggs in July?

feckin hell. i had a pointless competition with a friend of mine the week after easter to get as many discounted easter eggs as possible. i got 16. i've eaten one.
    i knew they'd have their moment of glory!

feckin hell. i had a pointless competition with a friend of mine the week after easter to get as many discounted easter eggs as possible. i got 16. i've eaten one.
    i knew they'd have their moment of glory!

No way, are you going to Tedfest as well?

My nun costume arrived today too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

Only seeing this now :(

Are there tickets left? I can't get onto the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

No way, are you going to Tedfest as well?

yep. i'll bring one along for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Misticles wrote: »
    Only seeing this now :(

Are there tickets left? I can't get onto the site.

Think it might be sold out :( I am 50/50 whether I can go at the moment but if I cant you are welcome to my ticket. I'll let you know tomorrow

I'm also taking part in the lovely girls competition...