Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fighting the Elements!

• 02-11-2010 5:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭

As i was walking to the gym today, it was very windy and i was thinking im glad im not running tonight!

but following that thought, i wondered how on earth can you train correctly duning the winter time?

as we are into winter now and even if the weather does not get any worse(even though it will), it will at least stay bad for longer.....and that makes running very difficult!

we are now in a time where running for most poeple will be done in the dark, possible wet and windt nights....

if say you wanted to go for a leisurely jog, its not too bad, just wrap up etc, and off you go....but if you wanted to do a tempo run or an interval session....life gets tricker, running with the wind aids you, and running into the wind resists you, how how do you strike a balance?

run indoors on a tredmill?
    do laps of a track in the hope that the winds cancel each other out?
    wait a day or 2 until the weater eases?

and in another few months we will potentially be looking at snow/ice to worry about when running.....

these are not ideal solutions if your trying to follow a particular plan...
    so, how do you combat the weater when trying to run, or is it even an issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

seanynova wrote: »
    As i was walking to the gym today, it was very windy and i was thinking im glad im not running tonight!

but following that thought, i wondered how on earth can you train correctly duning the winter time?

as we are into winter now and even if the weather does not get any worse(even though it will), it will at least stay bad for longer.....and that makes running very difficult!

we are now in a time where running for most poeple will be done in the dark, possible wet and windt nights....

if say you wanted to go for a leisurely jog, its not too bad, just wrap up etc, and off you go....but if you wanted to do a tempo run or an interval session....life gets tricker, running with the wind aids you, and running into the wind resists you, how how do you strike a balance?

run indoors on a tredmill?
    do laps of a track in the hope that the winds cancel each other out?
    wait a day or 2 until the weater eases?

and in another few months we will potentially be looking at snow/ice to worry about when running.....

these are not ideal solutions if your trying to follow a particular plan...
    so, how do you combat the weater when trying to run, or is it even an issue?

Try to base you sessions on effort rather than sticking rigidly to times. Take wind into account. If you are running with wind on your back for majority expect that splits are gonna be quicker. Same with the wind in your face. if your effort is the same the times wont be as important and use these rather as secondary.

For example you are running 400s in 77 usually but there is a strong head wind on home straight dont be suprised if you are hitting 79s or 80s as long as you are still feeling the same effort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

My advice would be to have some flexibility in your training programme, if your heading out for a tempo/interval session and the conditions are lousy, go for an easy run instead and do the tough session the next day, day after etc, chances are the weather will improve by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

I'm doing the Waterford 1/2 in Dec so haven't really got a choice but to try and do something over the next few weeks. Was pretty windy heading out at lunchtime today but for some reason what I thought was a near gale force running against it felt more like a gentle breeze when I was coming back :)

Got some of the Lidl Winter running gear so am at least some way prepared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭maria74

Have to say I didnt go out this eve because of the wind! Not running that long but have run in the rain and the cold but the wind today put me off.:(

Was thinking the same thing tho..what will I do if it continues..not into the treadmill but....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I was supposed to head out this evening too and do 3 miles but the weather is just f*****g awful so I didn't go. Hopefully it will be better tomorrow. I realise we are heading into the winter and while I don't expect it to be warm and sunny, it would be nice if it wasn't lashing rain and gale force winds.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I'm only running a few weeks, but I've just wrapped up warm the last few nights and gone out anyway. No rain yet, but the winds are a pain (especially if they're against you while you're going uphill), I've found. I've no access to a treadmill or anything like that so if I want to run I just gotta suck it up I guess :P. Plus, it's kinda fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

It's never as bad once you get out there. I find it is always worse thinking about it but once you are out there the wind and rain is just another challenge (well it was tonight;)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Great fun tonight - had Shanganagh Pk to myself running around with my head torch watching the rain hit me @ 90 degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

geld wrote: »
    It's never as bad once you get out there. I find it is always worse thinking about it but once you are out there the wind and rain is just another challenge (well it was tonight;)).

Exactly.;)
    I found the below about 6 months back, so I kept it as not everyday will be calm and mild.

Enjoy your running

“I was grand once I got out”
    It’s lashing outside but I’m warm and dry. It’s raining big, fat, wet drops against the kitchen window
    From where I’m sitting, with a cup of coffee in hand, I can see my running gear in a bag and I’m wondering how on earth I could possibly get it out of the bag and onto me.
    The kids are messing about in the kitchen and they want to know why Daddy is going out in the rain. I’m asking the same question. I could always do this tomorrow and it wouldn’t make that much difference. Would it? I won’t get finished before the match anyway.
    What’s the forecast for tomorrow? We all know I won’t make the Olympic team at this stage anyway.
    Ah feck it! Where’s the rainproof jacket? I’ll be grand once I get out there. I will. I hope I will anyway.
    When I open the door it’s bloody freezing. Cold as well as wet – perfect. Shut-up, shut-up, shut-up – get out the door.
    The first few strides are a bit of a shock to the system. I’m stiff and slow at the start. The first heavy drops of rain sink straight through the ‘rainproof’ jacket and meet shivering pink shoulders.
    I splash away from my comfortable kitchen wondering whether I’m the only lunatic in the country that inflicts this sort of behaviour on themselves, and whether it’s possible to get trench foot from running through puddles.
    Once I’m out of the house – almost despite myself – things start to improve a little. The legs begin to loosen, my head settles a bit and I relax into the run. I’m wet but I really can’t get a lot wetter. What harm can it do anyway? Hopefully, I won’t dissolve.
    I’m away from the house now and going properly. I’m thinking about everything and anything, but mostly nothing. A car clips by and dumps a big dirty puddle all over my legs. I smile. Sure who cares at this stage? I have my shields up and I glide on.
    A glance at the watch tells me I’m half done and I turn for home. I have to take the hat off and I’m amazed at how warm it is. The rain is soft and cool on my face and it makes me feel clean. There might be hope for me yet. If I got out today – in this muck – maybe I’m not a complete wimp. The last mile after the shops is beautiful. I’m acting like a kid and I looking for water to run through – the deeper the better.
    I was grand once I got out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

A question I have in relation to this whole debate is

"Just how comparable is treadmill training to road training"?

(Sorry for hijacking!)

As winter has arrived and the dark evenings are upon us, running in the evenings is just not viable for me at the moment. I live in a rural area and I am female, so my usual rural country roads are just not safe, so I have decided to join the gym.

I went today, (I was previously a treadmill virgin) and completed my required 4.5 miles. But I actually found it much easier (I did set the incline to 2 and 3) but I was still faster and found it easier (and more fun than I thought!)

Is this normal and how do we adjust treadmill times to represent "real" road times?

And before the "real" runner critisise, I know it isnt ideal training, I really do. And I would prefer to run outside as its much healthier but it isnt possible. I do plan to do my LSRs outside at weekends though.

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

I think the "I was grand once I got out" expires after about an hour/hour and a half, then it just becomes miserable.

3 hour spin today was fairly horrible but I was grand once I got home.

I don't blame you for not running outside in a rural area in the dark. I didn't run for a few days over the weekend because I was down the country and there was no-where suitable nearby where I felt safe to run in the dark. I'm so glad I live in a well-lit part of Dublin for running outdoors! :D

I've no experience with treadmills at all though, so I can't answer your question sorry :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

In a similar style to Abhainn's earlier post. I arrived home this evening and had a mug of tea whilst the kids larked around the kitchen, doing homework and looking for batteries to play Wii. It was dark outside and where I live in the country dark means bloody dark. No streetlights to light the way. A strong wind was blowing and the rain was coming down at an angle. I don't know why but I automatically went and got changed and geared up for the elements. Fluorescent yellow wind sheeter, lidl flashing reflective lights on the arms and headtorch on. Out I went and down the hill. Felt good from the outset. The wind seemed to be with me. Turned onto a less used backroad with the intention of heading out 4k. Splish splashed through some puddles that the light didn't pick up. Ran with decent energy and at the turn I surprised myself with an avg sub 4:30 min/k pace. Expected a headwind on the way back, but it didn't quite materialise. Pace picked up. Clicked through 2 4 min kilometres on the way back. Headed through the village and up the short hill to the gaff. Just over 8k and 4:17 pace all in. Happy days. A soak in the bath later and a buzz of adhrenaline. The mug of tea after the run felt good.

Get out there and make the most of it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I did an hour run this evening. It was windy and rainy but was not that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

If you dont get out and run bad in bad weather, you wont race well come good weather.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭marchino

agree with all the positive posts/posters.
    I'am in the country too and got out in the hight of it, teeming streaks of rain and high winds. as a previous poster said, it was an automatic thing to go and get the gear on!

suprize suprize!! i had a great session.
    7mile in total with interval/fartlek thrown in.

Again unless genuinely dangerous, its all a mental thing/battle with ones home comforts!!
    as the trademark for the nike runners i wore, says ''just do it''

Lets get ireland up and running, fit and healthy!
    as another brand Aasics says ''sound mind, sound body''

keep running!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

tis amazing how much of it is in the head. I've had to take 2 weeks rest post DCM after picking up an injury, and was thinking last night how much I'd love to head out into the elements, then I wondered if I had no injury would I be sitting there procrastinating?

Also much respect to those in dark rural areas for not using that as an excuse, I live in a perfectly well lit area but think if I was faced with conditions like last night in a rural area i's be left warming my ass grove in the sofa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Evening times are a killer for going out training in winter. The dinner's in, the kid's in bed, it's dark and miserable out and it's very cosy inside. It takes a lot of willpower.:(:(

I'm avoiding all of this and gettin up an hour or more earlier in the morning and heading straight out.. You've less time to think about how cosy it is inside, your mind doesn't wake up to the fact that it's rotten weather outside until you're already up, dressed and halfway out the door. There's far less traffic on rural roads at 6.30 or 7 am than there is at 9pm. And best of all, you've your day's training done and back in the house for 7.30 when the wife and child are just waking up. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

I went out for a run yesterday at around 2pm, was looking forward to a bit of an "adventure" given the conditions. I hadn't planned to do much, just another post-marathon jog, planning to focus on form more than anything else.

When I got outside, form went straight out the window as the rain was coming down so hard on the wind that I had to get my head down 90 degrees just to avoid the pain of the drops pinging against my face!
    I headed down towards the beach, straight into the westerly wind, a comfortable force seven I reckon. The sea looked amazing, churning up. I ran a little bit of shoreline before heading onto a side road, and ended up doing a tough but very enjoyable five miles. Arrived home wet but feeling fantastic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Does anyone change the time of their runs in winter?

Will probably start running in the mornings now instead of the evenings.

Interesting interview on Ray Darcy this morning about the importance of getting out in the natural sunlight during the winter. Worth a listen on playback.

Anyone in the Wicklow area is welcome to join myself and Slogger for a run on Carrick Mountain this evening.
    Bring a headtorch (I have a spare) and black bag for your clothes afterwards :p.
    Meeting in the car park opposite the pub in Glenealy @ 5:40.
    After that you won't complain about going for a run down the road when it's raining ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Anyone in the Wicklow area is welcome to join myself and Slogger for a run on Carrick Mountain this evening.
    Bring a headtorch (I have a spare) and black bag for your clothes afterwards :p.
    Meeting in the car park opposite the pub in Glenealy @ 5:40.
    After that you won't complain about going for a run down the road when it's raining ;)

Jaysus that was tempting.... sadly still on "a break" and in Tan Land right now and you even had a spare head torch:rolleyes:. Blast:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Runonewon

I planned an 8 miler last evening ,as my shins are giving me a hard time since the marathon i have to train on grass.The rain over the last few days has destroyed my training track,so training has inadvertantly become much more challanging.trudging thru wet,sticky mud really ups the ante during my run,it takes me back to my youth when cross-country was almost compulsary,Thurles,Sligo Racecourse,Ballyhase,Claremorris and Santry always give me palapatations,dredging in the dirt.... not cool.There is a feeling of pleasent exhaustion that only comes from getting down and dirty "on the country" on a cold winters evening.

Due to a dentist visit at lunchtime had my first run in the dark last night, was pretty warm & I regretted wearing a running jacket, no doubt that will change :) Only real disappointment is that the riverside walk & park I used to start with when I leave work are locked up early now so have to use the pavement instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I am based in Illinois, so get much rougher winters and wind chills (brrrr!) This morning was only -1C (worse with wind chill) but it gets much, much worse than that. Friday will bring at least -6C. It is still pitch black when I run at around 6am and no sunrise until around 7:15 this morning anyway. :) I'll just deal with it, coldgear all the way!

This is a definate one for me...I hate the wind! Can do light rain but the wind...NO!
    I went yesterday on way home from work because I find once I get home I cant face the wind/rain and the motivation goes. Mornings ideal (before I have time to think of excuses/see the weather)

It is getting so dark so early tho..I ran from Kinsealy (Co Dub) to Malahide and on way back it was really dark (btw 5pm-6pm). Wont be doing that one again. Bit nervous running alone along the road, even with the cars.

So short runs during wk (around lit town) and then LR at weekend me thinks for the winter.
    Been a bad week..wind and rain GO AWAY!

If it's very windy try and use a shorter loop (4 x 2k for example) so you are distributing the effort or run out against the wind.
    If it doesn't kill you it will make you stronger ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Does anyone change the time of their runs in winter?
    Was able to do a lot of my runs earlier in the day when I was in college, but with my full-time job and commute now I'm left with the choice of running at 8-9pm or else get up at 5.30am to run. I hate mornings, so the evenings win.

Weather forecast keeps talking about floods and gales this weekend...not looking for my planned LR, in morn or eve!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I've let the weather keep me inside all week. I'm forcing myself to go out first thing tomorrow and Sunday morning come what may. I think the bad weather is due to arrive on Sunday night by which stage I will have my run finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

After an injury at DCM i was in my element doing a little 20 minute tester in the howling winds and rain last night, really enjoyed it even though i got a few strange looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

After an injury at DCM i was in my element doing a little 20 minute tester in the howling winds and rain last night, really enjoyed it even though i got a few strange looks.

Try 2 hours in it! My son was collected at about 6 and as I opened the door the wind and rain came in along with a distinct chill. Option A had come and gone. Get up at 5AM and get it done before the house wakes. Yes, I got up but after putting on have my gear I basically sat down and stared into space for 15mins. I was wrecked and chicked out of it. Back to bed and a promise to myself that I'd do it later when the little one had been collected. So back to 6pm and I could hardly close the door when he left. I figured it was a just punishment for my weakness that morning. I kitted up and debated the running (light not waterproof) vs the cycling (heavy waterproof). I put on compression socks and a pair of running socks over them and went with the running jacket. I figured I'd be too warm in the cycling one :rolleyes: It was windy and cold but the rain was light for the first hour so I skipped along happy that I had faced the elements. Then the rain came. There were no other runners out and I wondered if they knew something I didn't. For the next 30 mins I puposely sought out more sheltered routes. It meant running along a river bank on wet leaves. I didn't mind as I had trees to my right blocking most of the cross wind. I also noticed the dark ripples up around the trunks of those trees. The river was no more than a foot from the top of the bank and 4-5 feet from my feet. If it burst along that route I would surely be swept off the bank and onto the road below. Such were the games my mind was playing on me.

13m down and I said to myself, just 20 minutes to go, come on! At this stage I was done trying to keep my heart rate in Z2. The running jacket was less than useless and I was now cold as well as soaked through. My shoes with the pairs of socks were sloshing with every step also soaked from the puddles I gave up leaping over about 3 miles ago. I don't know how many branches I ran into but I didn't care enough to duck anymore. I knew however that I was out of shelter and the last couple of miles home were directly into the wind. I had also decided against leggings :rolleyes: Running into the wind for the next 2 miles was a plain old slog. I wanted to pick it up to get home faster but in truth my bare raw quads were frozen stiff and had just the one pace in them. If it had been juust windy it would have been tough but a satisfyingly good workout. The cold rain just added misery. The final mile is a drag and I felt every step last night. I was delighted to see my door but couldn't close my fingers to knock on it! I've never appreaicated someone making me a hot chocolate so much. It was more of a duel with the elements than a training run. I wouldn't say I won. However I did live to fight another day and there will be many of them over the winter. This battle has set me up nicely to deal with those. Bring em on :)

^^That almost sounded like you enjoyed it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

For the next 30 mins I puposely sought out more sheltered routes. It meant running along a river bank on wet leaves. I didn't mind as I had trees to my right blocking most of the cross wind. I also noticed the dark ripples up around the trunks of those trees. The river was no more than a foot from the top of the bank and 4-5 feet from my feet. If it burst along that route I would surely be swept off the bank and onto the road below.

Was that on the condell road in Limerick by any chance? Sounds the exact same as my run there yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Was that on the condell road in Limerick by any chance? Sounds the exact same as my run there yesterday.

Yep. It was a grand bit of shelter. A bit eerie looking right and seeing the river so high though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Tec Diver

I managed a run on Sunday morning. Not windy or wet, but it was 4 degrees. Having relocated from Sydney just the week before it was a bit of a challenge, but I got it done. Another one in the bank. I actually don't mind running in the rain too much, but there isn't a lot of paths around us, just dark lightless roads...I bought a high viz sleeveless jacket at the weekend!

Eoin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I have no idea what you guys are talking about.

I ran Saturday morning in nice weather; decent temperatures, no wind.
    Same again on Sunday. There was a rain cloud, but it missed me by a small margin. :)

This morning I got a bit wet and it was windier than during the weekend, but I've seen much, much worse.

Storm, what storm? Either I slept through it or it never really arrived. Mrs TFB forced me to put all the outside furniture into the shed on Sunday, thinking it would be blown away otherwise but I think the weather forecast had everyone worried that it would be much worse than it actually was.

Was out for a bit of a run at lunchtime today, was tough going running into the wind but then when I was coming back a nice big branch had been blown down blocking the path in the 15 mins since I'd passed that spot earlier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

No way I'm going out in that wind and rain. My wife isn't too happy with the alternative, I've moved the treadmill in to the sitting room, the only room left in the house with a bit of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

Just back in from a run, what an evening, was doin a crab impression into a crosswind at one stage, v tough until last 2 miles, wind and rain at my back, put the sails up and coasted home, very happy i braved it, deserve a dirty pizza i think for the effort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Woddle wrote: »
    No way I'm going out in that wind and rain. My wife isn't too happy with the alternative, I've moved the treadmill in to the sitting room, the only room left in the house with a bit of space.

You won't train for a Spring marathon on a treddie- get out into those element's, there's a tough winter to get through, and you need to stick to the plan on the harsh weather days.

(I know a few others with treaddies in the sitting room too, so you're not alone!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Yeah, some wind out there today, felt like running uphill at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Blueskye

Very windy in Cork tonight but lovely out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

You won't train for a Spring marathon on a treddie- get out into those element's, there's a tough winter to get through, and you need to stick to the plan on the harsh weather days.

(I know a few others with treaddies in the sitting room too, so you're not alone!)

Would have been better off, hated every minute of it. And I ain't just training for a spring marathon, I want my place back on the WWR team, also I think there should be trials as I'd imagine your going to have an awful lot of applicants :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

So glad i did my tempo last night no way i could of done it in that would of been pointless, either too hard or too easy. Some wind out there, esp as where i run is right on the coast with no shelter. just an easy recovery thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭MaroonTam

Went out intending to do a 6 miler (3 out and back), had to cut it to a 4 as it was solid head on the way out. First mile going out 8:10, same mile coming back 6:46 with a lower heart rate! thats windy :eek:

Woddle wrote: »
    Would have been better off, hated every minute of it. And I ain't just training for a spring marathon, I want my place back on the WWR team, also I think there should be trials as I'd imagine your going to have an awful lot of applicants :D

Applications are being taken for C, D & E teams from Jan. ;)
    Was windy out there tonight alright - happy home now.

Wow. Just back from my Week 6 Day 2 run from C25k and that wind really made it uber difficult going up hills :eek:. Glad I went out though, it was a rewarding session.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Braved the elements myself. And you know what? It wasn't that bad. Not that bad at all.

I had Sandymount Strand to myself save for two other female runners. Didn't have to dodge pedestrians. Felt fantastic to know that you're out running while everyone else is bunkering down. Inspiring almost.

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Braved the elements myself. And you know what? It wasn't that bad. Not that bad at all.

I had Sandymount Strand to myself save for two other female runners. Didn't have to dodge pedestrians. Felt fantastic to know that you're out running while everyone else is bunkering down. Inspiring madness almost.

FYP:)